MINI Cooper S Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the MINI Cooper S.

Do you Drive a MINI Cooper S? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cooper S better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Zeetex HP2000 vfm (6) 95% 95% 88% 90% 68% 93%
Cooper Zeon CS Sport (8) 93% 96% 86% 76% 80% 93%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (39) 97% 75% 91% 93% 74% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Falken ZE914 (97) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (55) 94% 88% 91% 92% 64% 76%
Sumitomo HTR Z III (10) 87% 80% 84% 76% 88% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (269) 90% 89% 82% 85% 74% 80%
Falken Azenis FK510 (128) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (106) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (71) 87% 83% 82% 81% 80% 80%
Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 (6) 90% 73% 77% 83% 77% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (281) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Lassa DriveWays Sport (8) 89% 85% 87% 78% 83% 65%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (32) 83% 93% 77% 74% 64% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (170) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (93) 84% 83% 76% 78% 73% 76%
Avon ZV7 (98) 85% 81% 75% 74% 71% 81%
Michelin Primacy 3 (175) 85% 80% 77% 77% 69% 81%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Momo Outrun M3 (18) 84% 72% 73% 77% 69% 82%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Nankang NS2R (52) 89% 66% 83% 85% 71% 56%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Davanti DX640 (73) 80% 72% 77% 77% 66% 81%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (74) 84% 77% 76% 79% 67% 73%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Federal 595RSR (49) 86% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Toyo R888 (35) 92% 66% 82% 82% 60% 56%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (156) 84% 74% 74% 75% 71% 74%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (23) 76% 67% 75% 74% 79% 67%
Yokohama Advan Sport ZPS (3) 83% 73% 70% 73% 70% 57%
Pirelli P Zero (137) 85% 70% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (24) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 61%
Accelera PHI R (17) 81% 53% 71% 73% 75% 78%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (26) 82% 73% 71% 73% 70% 56%
Pirelli PZero Nero (137) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Toyo Proxes Sport (14) 74% 69% 71% 68% 64% 69%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Pirelli P5000 (10) 70% 73% 59% 66% 70% 57%
Nankang NS2 (209) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (18) 89% 77% 79% 78% 80% 78%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (50) 77% 62% 67% 69% 72% 53%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (59) 75% 65% 64% 61% 65% 62%
Landsail LS988 (37) 76% 52% 59% 54% 72% 66%
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (35) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50%
Pirelli Eufori (10) 79% 59% 68% 66% 54% 39%
Compasal Smacher (5) 65% 53% 53% 55% 60% 80%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (62) 65% 45% 55% 54% 71% 56%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (135) 70% 47% 57% 55% 68% 48%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 ROF (9) 71% 60% 60% 57% 49% 46%
Wanli S1086 (6) 58% 47% 53% 62% 72% 45%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (141) 71% 54% 55% 49% 56% 32%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Forceum HEXA (9) 58% 41% 50% 38% 37% 33%

MINI Cooper S Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 90% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6250 spirited miles
These tyres sidewall damage so easily, unprovoked. Iv had to replace a tyre every 3rd month. My last one still maintained tyre pressure but sidewall had a huge slash in the inside so I couldn’t see it. Maybe i got a defective set
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-05 19:27:16
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 87% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
With b12 set-up you are looking for nothing else on the road, or you have to switch to semi slick. Grips a lot on dry roads. The only problem that you will not get the miles of a michelin, but if you want to have fun it is the right tire. Before i had yokohama advan a052 those were the top but unfortunately i didn't do them more than 4000km, so for now it's good power. I look forward to advan a09 coming out
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-04 07:58:52
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 51% (205-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
The tyres were already fitted to the car when we bought the car. Not my choice of tyres, if I had to pick them. Nevertheless here are my thoughts. Dry and wet grip were average. Nothing special. Comfort was horrible. Unacceptable for a touring tyre. This is my wife’s daily car and she can’t stand the ride. When we switch to winter tyres in same dimensions (Michelin Alpin 6) the comfort level is MUCH better. Wear isn’t bad, could be better. It bothers me that the tyres feel so hard and uncomfortable, but there aren’t any apparent benefits to this (wear, grip, noise…) maybe fuel consumption.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-24 16:42:14
Writing about the Falken ZE914 given NAN% (195-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 12000 spirited miles
Was referred to this tyre by my tyre guy. He said I would love it and he was right. Mostly drive around town but I do a few trips a year to nearby mountain roads which are great for driving. Excellent dry grip love how progressive it is. After about 20K klms still going strong. This is not an expensive tyre so get that in mind also.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-03 14:12:09
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 53% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
I bought these to replace the run flats on my R53 Mini. I had numerous unusual sidewall "punctures" meaning I had to scrap the tyres with low miles on them. The internal sidewalls crack and split after a few years, causing slow deflation. Rubbish tyre. Won't buy Avons again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-23 17:11:19
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 73% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
The tyre is a bit weird. The car might have good handling but it feels like there is no connection between the driver and the road. Its just like neutral…
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-31 14:58:06
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 90% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4 spirited miles
I can't believe just how much grip these tyres have. Roundabout at 90mph in the wet
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-01 16:19:22
Writing about the Toyo Proxes 4 given 84% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I’ve bought my Mini with these tires fitted by the previous owner, first thoughts were “the car handles very well, imagine what it can do with some proper sticky tires” I was wrong. Terribly wrong. In ten years of ownership I’ve never found a tire wich is no-where-near as good as the Proxes 4 from Toyo, at least on my car (and street spirited driving only) I know, Proxes 4 are discontinued since 2014 or maybe more, but I want to leave this review just to share my experience, because honestly, I’ve found very little information about the Proxes 4. Pros & cons: -terrible in the wet (in a straight line was ok, grip-less in corners) -AMAZING handling in the dry -superb steering feel and response -did I mentioned the handling was good?! -quite harsh on rough roads -sidewall/carcass stiffness at semislick level (AD08RS have softer sidewall) -price was fair, but you can’t buy it anymore so…
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-01 11:50:37
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 63% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
I’ve done 11000km with the AD08RS, and there is still 4 mm of thread left!! Its not a semislick by any means, I’ve driven in -3 to 38 degrees conditions, squeals when driven barely hard in corners, feedback is ok-ish but turn in is quite slow,and not very nimble in left-to-right transition, tried all the pressures possible, don’t like them, and I will not buy again. Sometimes they squeal and lock even under heavy breaking! Such poor compound, poor grip. In the wet is not bad, if warmed up. They are cheap, a lot cheaper than the old R. Tire noise is acceptable. I’m seriously tempted to throw them away and buy something else.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-30 19:13:11
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 41% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-15 04:13:15
Writing about the Nankang NS2R given 74% (205-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Just a word on these on initial fitting. I had a set put on my spare set of wheels for a track day. They came with the releasing agent still on them and in the damp it was like driving on ice. Once this layer is gone (doesn't take much, a few miles maybe) then they grip really well. BUT - don't assume you can put them on a road car and drive in the wet without scuffing the releasing agent off of them first. Now to the tyres - I ran these on my mini over the winter and other than being a bit lacking grip in frosty conditions early in the morning, they coped fine, even in the wet. Stiff sidewalls and a very 'square' profile, and not the lightest of tyres either but semi-slicks/slicks aren't light anyway due to the stiffer construction. On the track they have been fine so far. 2 track days and 1000 miles or so on the road and I've taken 2mm off the fronts (car is 200bhp roughly). I'm sure with some more spirited track work I would expect them to last another 3-4 track days for me at least.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-13 19:05:58
Writing about the Toyo Proxes Sport given 84% (205-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
These tyres are very different from anything I’ve had put on before... The dry grip is good but not amazing and is VERY predictable, no sudden losses of traction, it’s very progressive. Handling is good but because of the slightly thinner side wall, you can feel the car moving on the tyres slightly, it doesn’t change how well it sticks to the road though! Wet grip is absolutely astounding and that’s why I bought these. Round corners, there’s nearly as much grip in the wet as there is in the dry!! Straight line grip isn’t a strong point with these tyres in general, but even in the wet its nearly as good as the dry grip! In wet weather I haven’t found a grippier tyre, I am yet to find a tyre I can go round hairpin turns at 40+ mph with terential rain, haha! Despite the positives of these tyres, they wear out quickly, the rubber is very soft and I would probably say that’s why they are so good, but my set lasted me 8000 miles on the front of my R56 Mini Cooper S. I did loads of burnouts and I hooned it about on a daily basis so I’m not the best example of realistic wear on these tyres, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see them last 20’000+ miles if used properly
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-31 08:44:23
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre