MINI Cooper S Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the MINI Cooper S.

Do you Drive a MINI Cooper S? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cooper S better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Hankook Ventus Prime 4 (29) 93% 92% 88% 89% 87% 87%
Cooper Zeon CS Sport (8) 93% 96% 86% 76% 80% 93%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Nexen N Fera SU4 (67) 91% 88% 84% 79% 80% 88%
Zeetex HP2000 vfm (7) 96% 92% 88% 72% 68% 90%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (43) 95% 73% 91% 93% 72% 70%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Falken ZE914 (98) 89% 81% 84% 81% 82% 82%
Sumitomo HTR Z III (12) 86% 80% 85% 78% 82% 87%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (88) 93% 88% 90% 92% 64% 74%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (307) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Falken Azenis FK510 (142) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (108) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (111) 89% 85% 83% 85% 75% 79%
Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 (28) 89% 80% 78% 80% 78% 83%
Nexen N Blue 4 Season (21) 77% 82% 74% 77% 77% 83%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (97) 87% 83% 82% 80% 77% 79%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 (6) 90% 73% 77% 83% 77% 80%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (37) 82% 79% 80% 82% 82% 85%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (36) 83% 93% 78% 75% 66% 81%
Lassa DriveWays Sport (10) 88% 85% 84% 78% 84% 65%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (174) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (88) 85% 78% 79% 78% 76% 81%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Michelin Primacy 3 (191) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Nankang NS2R (58) 89% 66% 82% 84% 72% 56%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Federal 595RSR (50) 87% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Hankook Kinergy 4S2 (30) 80% 79% 69% 72% 76% 78%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (44) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 72%
Momo Outrun M3 (19) 82% 69% 73% 76% 69% 81%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (134) 83% 81% 74% 74% 67% 74%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (80) 84% 76% 76% 79% 67% 72%
Toyo R888 (36) 90% 64% 80% 80% 59% 57%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (180) 83% 73% 73% 75% 69% 74%
Davanti DX640 (93) 79% 71% 75% 73% 66% 79%
Avon ZV7 (120) 83% 78% 73% 72% 61% 79%
Toyo T1R (288) 83% 69% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Goodyear Excellence (125) 79% 70% 72% 71% 72% 73%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (158) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (27) 83% 73% 72% 74% 71% 57%
Yokohama Advan Sport ZPS (3) 83% 73% 70% 73% 70% 57%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (30) 73% 64% 73% 72% 79% 68%
Pirelli PZero Nero (140) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Toyo Proxes Sport (20) 75% 65% 71% 67% 69% 72%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (25) 77% 68% 74% 71% 70% 60%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Pirelli P Zero (156) 84% 69% 75% 72% 58% 64%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Pirelli P5000 (10) 70% 73% 59% 66% 70% 57%
Nankang NS2 (211) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (18) 89% 77% 79% 78% 80% 78%
Accelera PHI R (26) 76% 53% 69% 70% 64% 74%
Autogrip P308 Plus (4) 73% 60% 58% 58% 73% 73%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (60) 75% 64% 64% 61% 65% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (60) 73% 59% 67% 66% 73% 49%
Landsail LS988 (37) 76% 52% 59% 54% 72% 66%
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (35) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50%
Pirelli Eufori (10) 79% 59% 68% 66% 54% 39%
Tomket Sport Series 1 (5) 60% 53% 55% 60% 63% 57%
Compasal Smacher (5) 65% 53% 53% 55% 60% 80%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (64) 66% 46% 55% 54% 71% 55%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 ROF (9) 71% 60% 60% 57% 49% 46%
Wanli S1086 (6) 58% 47% 53% 62% 72% 45%
RoadX RXMOTION U11 (24) 63% 37% 48% 43% 74% 55%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (143) 72% 54% 55% 48% 55% 32%
Forceum HEXA (10) 60% 40% 51% 41% 37% 39%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Mohawk M112 (28) 59% 34% 44% 40% 53% 46%

MINI Cooper S Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Autogrip P308 Plus given 64% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
For the price of this tyre they are an overall great tyre, they have performed much better than expected. No they aren’t a proper performance tyre but that being said they have enough traction on a 200bhp Mini Cooper s that they don’t get wheel spin in any gear apart from 1st even in the wet. I have pushed them reasonably hard over the last few years and they have still got about 1.5mm of usable tread left but have started to perish around the edges of the tyre. They are very quiet for cruising compared to previous tyres Ive had on the car, and the comfort is decent too.
Would I buy these again, if it wasn’t going on a performance car, then yes I definitely would.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-27 11:46:29
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 given 47% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 9000 spirited miles
Four Tyres fitted to a mini cooper s to replace Goodyear eagle 3. Really disappointed. Not that great in the dry, and terrible in the wet. Just flashing traction control lights. After just 2 years and 6000 miles all four Tyres were advisory on the MOT with cracking down all the treads. Now replaced.
tyre reviewed on 2023-12-06 12:20:08
Writing about the Nexen N Blue 4 Season given 77% (195-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Used the N’Blue 4S tires for almost a year now. They replaced a set of summer and winter tires.

In dry conditions, the car handles well, allows for fun spirited driving on winding roads but you can find the limits even if you are not absolutely thrashing the car. Braking performance is the most noticably worse than a set of summer tires, keep that in mind. It’s alright, and I would say very good for the price.
It’s also confident enough in the wet.
I had some snow driving experience too, and it’s surprisingly good at that for a relatively cheap 4 season set.

I am very much satisfied. It replaced a set of higher-end 4 seasons I had on a different set of rims and I am happy with them.
tyre reviewed on 2023-10-30 20:00:57
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 given 63% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-26 13:08:37
Writing about the RoadX RXMOTION U11 given 51% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
These things last forever and I didn't notice a huge difference in wet to dry conditions. That being said they are horrendously noisy and made the ride very crashy. Small potholes make it sound like you've torn your suspension off.
If I wanted something cheap to last a long while I might consider them but will avoid them if I can in future.
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-22 11:49:37
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 64% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-27 08:36:24
Writing about the Accelera PHI R given 78% (205-40-18-)
Driving on for 0 miles
I really don't see the issue with these tyres, they are fine for what you pay. Unless you are a track driver, paying more than double for branded tyres sounds like overkill. This is fine for 95% of driving. I got these after getting 2 punctures in 3 months from very badly built UK roads, and getting fed up of paying so much for a new tyre only to have it destroyed on a pothole.
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-27 00:24:05
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU4 given 70% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-15 14:26:06
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 4 given 68% (205-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Decent tyre for the road. Average near the limit. Quite bad at the track. Buy if you want a good tyre for the road. By no means a high performance tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-18 18:37:42
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 59% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-16 20:58:05
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 61% (195-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Dry: good dry performance for an all season tyre, I have not had to do any emergency stops but have done some fast cornering and the tyre does lean onto the sidewall but is good for an AS tyre and feels fairly rigid although this may be because I have a tyre with a higher load and speed index than the car requires.

Wet: performance here is very good and stays very good when it gets cold as you would expect from an AS tyre, handling in the wet is also very good.

Snow: these tyres *almost* feel like a full winter tyre in the snow, amazing traction on fresh and compacted snow, I was able to climb steep hills in a front wheel drive car with these following my brother driving will full winter tyres and neither of us had any slip and I was also able to stop fully on a snow covered hill.

Ice: ice performance is good but here is when you see the tyre lose out to a full winter tyre. You can stop on ice covered hills and not slide which is amazing as when i got out of the car I almost fell over as it was so icy. But when trying to climb hills on ice they aren't amazing as my front wheel drive open differential car couldn't climb even a few feet up an ice covered hill. Granted it was basically sheet ice so I wasn't expecting it to get up but I suspect a full winter tyre would have done better.

Wear: This is the main reason I won't be buying this tyre again. They have been on for only 8000 miles and are approaching 4mm which is where their snow performance will drop off and as I'm using them as a winter tyre this is quite important. I will be switching to something like the Goodyear Vector 4 seasons Gen-3 to get better wear.

Comfort: very comfortable tyres but sill offer good feedback for an AS tyre Noise: very quiet in this size, much more so than my summer set with UHP tyres but that is to be expected.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-28 16:12:26
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 71% (205-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 average miles
Dry: They are very good tyres for dry performance, good steering response and make the car feel more darty than with some previous UHP tyres I've had.

Wet: Whilst good in the wet when new, as soon as these tyres near 4 then 3mm their performance starts to dramatically reduce in both wet handling and braking as they seem to be less able to key into the surface. This is especially prevalent when it is cold too.

Wear: They wear reasonably well but I will now be switching to the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 for the promised wear benefits as these only lasted me 16k (about 10k of this I reckon is motorway so not wearing much at all) on the front axle of a hot hatch and when on the rear they barely wear.

Comfort: Whilst fairly comfortable they are defiantly not the most comfortable tyre I have used and you can still feel a lot of the road surface through the steering wheel etc.

Noise: At 72dB which is the rating for my size they are quite loud but perfectly fine over smooth tarmac. However on uneven or rough road they are very loud and I wouldn't recommend for a quiet tyre
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-28 15:59:32
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre