MINI Cooper S Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the MINI Cooper S.

Do you Drive a MINI Cooper S? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cooper S better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Hankook Ventus Prime 4 (18) 94% 93% 87% 90% 94% 89%
Cooper Zeon CS Sport (8) 93% 96% 86% 76% 80% 93%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (42) 97% 75% 91% 93% 73% 71%
Zeetex HP2000 vfm (7) 96% 92% 88% 72% 68% 90%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Falken ZE914 (97) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (70) 94% 88% 91% 92% 64% 75%
Sumitomo HTR Z III (12) 86% 80% 85% 78% 82% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (285) 90% 88% 81% 84% 74% 79%
Falken Azenis FK510 (134) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (107) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (99) 89% 85% 82% 84% 75% 80%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (83) 87% 83% 82% 81% 79% 80%
Lassa DriveWays Sport (9) 90% 87% 88% 79% 85% 66%
Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 (6) 90% 73% 77% 83% 77% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (283) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (35) 83% 93% 78% 75% 65% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (172) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Michelin Primacy 3 (182) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Momo Outrun M3 (18) 84% 72% 73% 77% 69% 82%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Nankang NS2R (54) 89% 66% 83% 85% 72% 56%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Hankook Kinergy 4S2 (20) 81% 81% 71% 69% 74% 83%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (108) 84% 82% 76% 76% 68% 74%
Avon ZV7 (105) 85% 80% 74% 73% 67% 80%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Davanti DX640 (83) 80% 71% 77% 75% 67% 81%
Federal 595RSR (50) 87% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (76) 84% 76% 76% 79% 67% 73%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (169) 83% 73% 73% 75% 70% 73%
Toyo R888 (36) 90% 64% 80% 80% 59% 57%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (147) 84% 71% 76% 76% 69% 63%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (27) 83% 73% 72% 74% 71% 57%
Yokohama Advan Sport ZPS (3) 83% 73% 70% 73% 70% 57%
Pirelli P Zero (140) 85% 70% 77% 73% 60% 65%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (24) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 61%
Pirelli PZero Nero (138) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (27) 72% 66% 72% 70% 78% 70%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Toyo Proxes Sport (16) 74% 66% 69% 65% 66% 69%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Pirelli P5000 (10) 70% 73% 59% 66% 70% 57%
Nankang NS2 (210) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (18) 89% 77% 79% 78% 80% 78%
Accelera PHI R (19) 76% 49% 66% 68% 68% 73%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (60) 75% 64% 64% 61% 65% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (54) 74% 61% 67% 68% 73% 51%
Landsail LS988 (37) 76% 52% 59% 54% 72% 66%
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (35) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50%
Pirelli Eufori (10) 79% 59% 68% 66% 54% 39%
Compasal Smacher (5) 65% 53% 53% 55% 60% 80%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (63) 66% 46% 55% 53% 71% 55%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 ROF (9) 71% 60% 60% 57% 49% 46%
Wanli S1086 (6) 58% 47% 53% 62% 72% 45%
Tomket Sport Series 1 (4) 53% 43% 47% 53% 63% 57%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (141) 71% 54% 55% 49% 56% 32%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Forceum HEXA (9) 58% 41% 50% 38% 37% 33%

MINI Cooper S Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 4 given 68% (205-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Decent tyre for the road. Average near the limit. Quite bad at the track. Buy if you want a good tyre for the road. By no means a high performance tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-18 18:37:42
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 59% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-16 20:58:05
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 61% (195-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Dry: good dry performance for an all season tyre, I have not had to do any emergency stops but have done some fast cornering and the tyre does lean onto the sidewall but is good for an AS tyre and feels fairly rigid although this may be because I have a tyre with a higher load and speed index than the car requires.

Wet: performance here is very good and stays very good when it gets cold as you would expect from an AS tyre, handling in the wet is also very good.

Snow: these tyres *almost* feel like a full winter tyre in the snow, amazing traction on fresh and compacted snow, I was able to climb steep hills in a front wheel drive car with these following my brother driving will full winter tyres and neither of us had any slip and I was also able to stop fully on a snow covered hill.

Ice: ice performance is good but here is when you see the tyre lose out to a full winter tyre. You can stop on ice covered hills and not slide which is amazing as when i got out of the car I almost fell over as it was so icy. But when trying to climb hills on ice they aren't amazing as my front wheel drive open differential car couldn't climb even a few feet up an ice covered hill. Granted it was basically sheet ice so I wasn't expecting it to get up but I suspect a full winter tyre would have done better.

Wear: This is the main reason I won't be buying this tyre again. They have been on for only 8000 miles and are approaching 4mm which is where their snow performance will drop off and as I'm using them as a winter tyre this is quite important. I will be switching to something like the Goodyear Vector 4 seasons Gen-3 to get better wear.

Comfort: very comfortable tyres but sill offer good feedback for an AS tyre Noise: very quiet in this size, much more so than my summer set with UHP tyres but that is to be expected.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-28 16:12:26
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 71% (205-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 average miles
Dry: They are very good tyres for dry performance, good steering response and make the car feel more darty than with some previous UHP tyres I've had.

Wet: Whilst good in the wet when new, as soon as these tyres near 4 then 3mm their performance starts to dramatically reduce in both wet handling and braking as they seem to be less able to key into the surface. This is especially prevalent when it is cold too.

Wear: They wear reasonably well but I will now be switching to the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 for the promised wear benefits as these only lasted me 16k (about 10k of this I reckon is motorway so not wearing much at all) on the front axle of a hot hatch and when on the rear they barely wear.

Comfort: Whilst fairly comfortable they are defiantly not the most comfortable tyre I have used and you can still feel a lot of the road surface through the steering wheel etc.

Noise: At 72dB which is the rating for my size they are quite loud but perfectly fine over smooth tarmac. However on uneven or rough road they are very loud and I wouldn't recommend for a quiet tyre
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-28 15:59:32
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 46% (205-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
I had these on my car when I bought it used and after driving on them for a short amount of time realised they were incredibly uncomfortable when combined with the stiff suspension of a Mini and 18 inch wheels. So swapped these runflats out for some non-run flat Continental Premium Contact 6 which is still a stiff sidewall tyre but as it is not a runlet made the ride much more comfortable. The wet performance is another large reason why I got rid of these tyres as especially when it was slightly colder and wet they have terrifyingly small amount of grip when new and the lack of performance is even more obvious when worn! My recommendation is do not fit and go for the latest Michelin Pilot tyre as that's what I'm moving to now after the Continental's not amazing performance.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-28 15:49:00
Writing about the Tomket Sport Series 1 given NAN% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Decent enough tyres. They worked out cheap for my Mini S, and handle nicely. I'd say if you had tyres fitted "that immediately fell apart" I'd either be going back to the garage or to the manufacturer as tyres don't just fall to pieces? I'm genuinely perplexed by that review? I shall update this one if it does fall to pieces, but if it does, then I shall be getting a refund, as tyres falling apart obviously isn't a normal thing for them to do. I'd expect a full refund or replacement for non-falling to pieces ones. Sorry, I don't understand that review. Were you racing it? What we're the details of these tyres just "falling to pieces"? I've never seen or heard of a tyre doing anything like that, unless the car has sat for 10 years.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-22 15:03:37
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 90% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6250 spirited miles
These tyres sidewall damage so easily, unprovoked. Iv had to replace a tyre every 3rd month. My last one still maintained tyre pressure but sidewall had a huge slash in the inside so I couldn’t see it. Maybe i got a defective set
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-05 20:27:16
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 87% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
With b12 set-up you are looking for nothing else on the road, or you have to switch to semi slick. Grips a lot on dry roads. The only problem that you will not get the miles of a michelin, but if you want to have fun it is the right tire. Before i had yokohama advan a052 those were the top but unfortunately i didn't do them more than 4000km, so for now it's good power. I look forward to advan a09 coming out
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-04 08:58:52
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 51% (205-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
The tyres were already fitted to the car when we bought the car. Not my choice of tyres, if I had to pick them. Nevertheless here are my thoughts. Dry and wet grip were average. Nothing special. Comfort was horrible. Unacceptable for a touring tyre. This is my wife’s daily car and she can’t stand the ride. When we switch to winter tyres in same dimensions (Michelin Alpin 6) the comfort level is MUCH better. Wear isn’t bad, could be better. It bothers me that the tyres feel so hard and uncomfortable, but there aren’t any apparent benefits to this (wear, grip, noise…) maybe fuel consumption.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-24 16:42:14
Writing about the Falken ZE914 given NAN% (195-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 12000 spirited miles
Was referred to this tyre by my tyre guy. He said I would love it and he was right. Mostly drive around town but I do a few trips a year to nearby mountain roads which are great for driving. Excellent dry grip love how progressive it is. After about 20K klms still going strong. This is not an expensive tyre so get that in mind also.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-03 14:12:09
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 53% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
I bought these to replace the run flats on my R53 Mini. I had numerous unusual sidewall "punctures" meaning I had to scrap the tyres with low miles on them. The internal sidewalls crack and split after a few years, causing slow deflation. Rubbish tyre. Won't buy Avons again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-23 18:11:19
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 73% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
The tyre is a bit weird. The car might have good handling but it feels like there is no connection between the driver and the road. Its just like neutral…
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-31 15:58:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre