MINI Cooper S Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the MINI Cooper S.

Do you Drive a MINI Cooper S? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cooper S better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Zeetex HP2000 vfm (6) 95% 95% 88% 90% 68% 93%
Cooper Zeon CS Sport (8) 93% 96% 86% 76% 80% 93%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (38) 89% 85% 84% 84% 85% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (200) 92% 90% 84% 86% 76% 81%
Falken Azenis FK510 (102) 90% 89% 83% 83% 76% 79%
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (17) 91% 79% 83% 81% 80% 82%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Sumitomo HTR Z III (10) 87% 80% 84% 76% 88% 88%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (28) 84% 93% 76% 74% 65% 84%
Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 (6) 90% 73% 77% 83% 77% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (269) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Michelin Primacy 3 (161) 86% 81% 78% 78% 68% 81%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (62) 85% 79% 76% 80% 68% 78%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Davanti DX640 (62) 81% 72% 79% 78% 68% 82%
Momo Outrun M3 (18) 84% 72% 73% 77% 69% 82%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (138) 84% 75% 75% 76% 74% 75%
Falken ZE912 (199) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Federal 595RSR (47) 87% 67% 77% 81% 73% 58%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Toyo R888 (35) 92% 66% 82% 82% 60% 56%
Lassa DriveWays Sport (5) 84% 76% 83% 68% 75% 66%
Toyo T1R (281) 83% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Goodyear Excellence (117) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Accelera PHI R (16) 81% 53% 73% 76% 73% 80%
Yokohama Advan Sport ZPS (3) 83% 73% 70% 73% 70% 57%
Pirelli P Zero (114) 84% 70% 77% 73% 61% 66%
Pirelli PZero Nero (132) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (23) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 60%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (26) 82% 73% 71% 73% 70% 56%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Wanli S1063 (78) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (43) 77% 63% 68% 70% 73% 56%
Pirelli P5000 (10) 70% 73% 59% 66% 70% 57%
Nankang NS2 (205) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 63%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (58) 74% 65% 64% 60% 65% 62%
Landsail LS988 (36) 75% 51% 58% 53% 71% 66%
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (34) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50%
Pirelli Eufori (10) 79% 59% 68% 66% 54% 39%
Compasal Smacher (4) 65% 53% 53% 55% 60% 80%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (60) 65% 45% 54% 53% 71% 55%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (128) 70% 47% 57% 54% 69% 48%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 ROF (9) 71% 60% 60% 57% 49% 46%
Wanli S1086 (6) 58% 47% 53% 62% 72% 45%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (135) 72% 53% 55% 48% 56% 32%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Forceum HEXA (8) 53% 34% 45% 31% 40% 34%

MINI Cooper S Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Accelera PHI R given 100% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2 average miles
I recently purchased four Accelera Phi R 205/40 R17 tires for my 2012 Mini Cooper S, and have driven on them now for about 2,000 miles. I decided to make the switch from the expensive, original run-flat OEM tires and thought I would experiment with a non-run-flat, off-brand, budget tire. The total cost for the four tires with professional installation, road hazard warranty, and an alignment was less than $425 US. This is a bargain compared to run-flat or even non-run flat brand name tires. I also purchased a spare tire that I obtained from a Mini Cooper non-S from a local junkyard at about the same time for less than $20 since the Mini Cooper S does not come with a spare tire, and the non-S does. The first thing I noticed is that the ride is quieter and less harsh. I do have a sport package trim so a harsh ride is unavoidable. I am used to this since my last vehicle was an E90 BMW with a sport package, and the ride is similar. I will trade a smooth ride for a better handling vehicle in this scenario. They handle great on dry terrain and surprised me in the first rainstorm. I do not understand how people are claiming they have no traction in the rain. I experienced no hydroplaning issues accelerating and stopping quickly on them was no problem. Perhaps when I put more miles on them they will lose their wet grip. I cannot recommend if I would buy these again in the future since I have not had them for very long, but so far so good.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-13 19:39:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 97% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
By a long way, the best road tyre that I've ever used. Just give so much confidence in all conditions, and brilliant in the wet. Not sure I'd buy any other road tyre. They replaced some excellent Falkens, but a different level. Cost a fair bit, but well worth the money (especially when Michelin do the odd offer). Tyre wear has been excellent so far, no concerns here.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-05 20:44:27
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 77% (205-55-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40000 spirited miles
Fitted these tyres to Mini Cooper S using 15" tyres and they were great. Dry and wet handling is great, especially after the changes to the suspension and proper wheel alignment with proper corner weighting. You could really pushed the car to the limit and when they do understeered, you could really unwind the wheel and it would tuck in again. Great value for money vs performance. Quite playful too, could invoke lift off oversteer with these tyres. It hasn't got the outright grip compare to Potenza RE002, but you don't really need it with Mini Cooper S because the chassis with proper alignment and coilover is fun will smaller less grippy tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-19 17:55:39
Writing about the Lassa DriveWays Sport given 63% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-07 17:07:05
Writing about the Kenda KAISER KR20 given 42% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
Purchased a Mini Cooper S with these fitted on the front (brand new). Two weeks on I have just ordered some different ones. In the dry they are okay, fairly comfortable with okay road noise. However, in the rain they are lethal! No grip whatsoever, just driving at normal speeds and the traction control is working overtime to keep me on the road.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-01 19:13:58
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun given 94% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Purchased my Mini Cooper S with Pirelli P-Zero Run Flats, absolutely awful - no confidence at all, any slight bump would dramatically unsettle the car to the point where I could feel the car slide sometimes. Swapped to the Falken ZE310ís for a cost of £300 for all 4. WOW WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! My Mini has been transformed, Chuck it into bends now and it just grips, no sliding or any noise of the tyres struggling. Occasionally wheel spin in 1st gear but thatís understandable from a FWD car running north of 200bhp. Covered around 1000 miles so far and itís so much better on the road all round, whether youíre cruising or flying down back lanes, the tyres have got your back and I would 100% recommend them to anyone.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-24 12:11:43
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 90% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
Purchased my MINI Cooper S 6months ago and was shocked to see the prices of PS4 for MINI fitment in my country. 215/40/18 is gonna set be back about $1040 SGD after "discounts". Was given the option of Falken FK510 through recommendation but was hesitant to go ahead as I normally go ahead with either Michelin, Goodyear or Pirelli. Thank god I made the leap of faith.

Going through corners spiritually and having an average rpm of 4k for acceleration on a daily basis with 20,000km done and these tyres are only down at 60%.

Dry handling is amazing for its value, just a tad bit less grippy comparable to PS4 but it's really negliable. Still till date one of the best handling summer tyres I've fitted on.
Wet handling is fault less. Minimal pull towards the side for Aquaplaning even at 90kmph.
Comfort too is an immediate difference after changing out Stock Tyres (Pirelli P7 Runflat). But yeah, runflats comfort are horrible.
Will definitely fit them on again if the prices for PS4 is still more than S$50/piece.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-05 17:28:06
Writing about the Sumitomo HTR Z III given 87% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18 spirited miles
Running theses on my 2002 MINI S. These tires are perfect for spirited driving and fantastic in heavy rain. I like them so well I’m on my 8th set on this car! I get about 23-28,000 miles on a set. Ran Pirelli (run flats) Kumho, and Coopers. Sumitomo’s are by far my favorite. BTW....277,000 miles on my MINI
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-22 12:24:47
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE070 given 89% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 spirited miles
Great tyre used for the every day commute, weekend B-road thrash and even on the track. I fitted a full set back in July 2018 and have only changed due to going for Cup 2’s. These tyres have proved to be very capable on track with astonishing good grip levels at the price point (well under other sport tyres). 100% will buy these again!
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-22 13:59:11
Writing about the Momo Outrun M3 given 0% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Excellent tyres for the value. 50% cheaper than Yokohama’s Advan and really good at 160 km/h speed. Also amazing at 130 km/h turns.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-30 14:33:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre