Uniroyal RainExpert 3

The Uniroyal RainExpert 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal RainExpert and this tyre has been replaced by the Uniroyal RainExpert 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 75%
Wear 65%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 35 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 249,317 miles driven.

The RainExpert 3 is ranked 54th of 139 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 7th of 47 tyres

View Full Test >>

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 12th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Best straight aquaplaning result, short wet braking distances.
  • Negative - High levels of understeer in the wet and dry.
View Full Test >>

2018 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 12th: 2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    155/65 R13 73T   E B 70 4.82kgs
    165/65 R13 77T   E B 70 5.29kgs
    175/65 R13 80T   E B 70 6.11kgs
    145/70 R13 71T   E B 70 4.86kgs
    155/70 R13 75T   E B 70 5.22kgs
    165/70 R13 79T   E B 70 5.67kgs
    175/70 R13 82T   E B 70 6.09kgs
    185/70 R13 86T   E B 70 6.76kgs
    135/80 R13 70T   E B 70 4.65kgs
    145/80 R13 75T   E B 70 5.27kgs
    155/80 R13 79T   E B 70 5.82kgs
    165/80 R13 87T XL   E B 71 6.30kgs
    165/60 R14 75H   E B 70 5.51kgs
    165/60 R14 75T   E B 70 5.51kgs
    185/60 R14 82H   E B 70 6.69kgs
    185/60 R14 82T   E B 70 6.69kgs
    155/65 R14 75T   E B 70 5.29kgs
    165/65 R14 79T   E B 70 5.83kgs
    175/65 R14 82H   E B 70 6.39kgs
    175/65 R14 82T   E B 70 6.08kgs
    175/65 R14 86T XL   E B 71 6.42kgs
    185/65 R14 86H   E B 70 6.90kgs
    185/65 R14 86T   E B 70 6.90kgs
    195/65 R14 89T   E B 71 6.97kgs
    165/70 R14 81T   E B 70 6.03kgs
    165/70 R14 85T XL   E B 71 6.05kgs
    165/70 R14 81T   E A 70 6.05kgs
    175/70 R14 88T XL   E B 71 7.11kgs
    175/70 R14 84T   E B 70 6.40kgs
    185/70 R14 88T   E B 70 7.27kgs
    195/70 R14 91T   E B 71 8.00kgs
    175/80 R14 88T   E B 70 8.04kgs
    185/60 R15 84H   C A 70 7.13kgs
    185/60 R15 84T   C A 70 7.13kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 71 7.54kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   E A 71 7.32kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   E A 71 7.32kgs
    205/60 R15 91V   C A 71 8.16kgs
    205/60 R15 91H   C A 71 8.16kgs
    225/60 R15 96V   C A 71 9.36kgs
    225/60 R15 96Y   C A 71 9.44kgs
    165/65 R15 81T   C A 70 5.90kgs
    175/65 R15 84T   C A 70 6.47kgs
    175/65 R15 84H   C A 70 6.47kgs
    185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 71 7.74kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   C A 70 7.31kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   C A 70 7.31kgs
    195/65 R15 91T   C A 71 8.18kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 8.19kgs
    195/65 R15 95T XL   C A 72 8.05kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 8.16kgs
    205/65 R15 94H   C A 71 8.59kgs
    205/65 R15 94V   C A 71 8.59kgs
    215/65 R15 96H   C A 71 9.37kgs
    205/70 R15 96H   E A 71 10.53kgs
    205/60 R16 96Y XL   C A 72 8.42kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 72 8.61kgs
    205/60 R16 92H   C A 71 8.36kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 72 8.36kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   C A 71 8.36kgs
    215/60 R16 95H   C A 71 9.87kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 72 9.87kgs
    215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 72 10.09kgs
    225/60 R16 98Y   C A 71 10.00kgs
    235/60 R16 100V   C A 71 10.79kgs
    235/60 R16 100H   C A 71 10.79kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   C A 71 10.03kgs
    215/65 R16 98V   C A 71 10.05kgs
    215/70 R16 100V   C A 71 11.56kgs
    225/70 R16 103V   C A 71 12.72kgs
    235/70 R16 106H   C A 71 12.30kgs
    265/70 R16 112H   C A 72 17.65kgs
    205/80 R16 104T XL   C A 72 12.21kgs
    215/60 R17 96V   C A 71 10.36kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   C A 71 10.09kgs
    225/60 R17 99V   C A 71 10.82kgs
    225/65 R17 106V XL   C A 72 11.03kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   C A 72 13.86kgs
    255/65 R17 110H   C A 72 15.68kgs
    265/65 R17 112H   C A 72 16.38kgs
    225/60 R18 100H   C A 71 11.62kgs
    235/60 R18 107V XL   C A 72 12.26kgs
    255/60 R18 112V XL   C A 73 15.98kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal RainExpert 3

    2016-11-30 - im running uniroyal expert 3 195/65/15 H ,they are rated @ max 32 psi.my car runs tyre pressure of 35 psi so i find the already soft sidewall like driving on jelly.i know uniroyal do this tyre in XL so harder sidewalls but i cant use them as they are only T speed rated.my question is if i use the expert 3 195/65/15 V that has a max psi of 40,will it firm up the sidewalls? lots of talk, online Just up the pressure from 32psi to 38 psi.so over the recommended max pressure !!( im not doing that thanks).also some saying dont run tyres with more psi that the car manufacture recommends..this seems to be a problem across all tyre makes so something is amiss in the world of wobbly tyres. but what is the answer? regards Tim

    We put this question to Continental directly, and here's their answer.

    Firstly the correct inflation pressure that should be used is the one given on the vehicle information plate or in the vehicle handbook for the load being carried. If the vehicle is specified on 'Standard load' tyres then fitting 'extra load' is not necessary and in any case if the laden weight remained the same then broadly the same inflation pressure* should be used and no noticeable difference is likely to be felt. If inflation pressure is increased then this can give the feeling of a 'stiffer' sidewall but having a tyre 'over inflated' distorts the casing profile, reduces the contact area and can negatively affect handling and the feel of the vehicle.

    The reason that having a more flexible sidewall may be becoming more talked about is because of the modern components used in the tyre in order to improve the efficiency, and help lower the fuel consumption and CO of the vehicle. Modern development goals include a low Hysteresis in the flexing zone of the tyre sidewall which reduces the energy absorption in this area thus improving the tyre's rolling resistance while at the same time ensuring durability and abrasion resistance. However although this may result in the 'feel' of a more flexible sidewall the handling, durability and other performance characteristics are still maintained. Another factor with this is that in many cases the fact full tread depth tyres are being fitted in place of well worn tyres would, even if the same tyres were being fitted, result in the vehicle feeling a little less precise due to the inevitable pattern movement on a tyre with deep tread depth.

    * Technically there is a small difference in the recommended pressure between standard and extra load tyres for the same load.


    2016-11-02 - Uniroyal RainExpert 3 - Is there a right and left tyre or are they all the same?

    The Uniroyal RainExpert 3 is an asymmetric tyre, so there is no left or right fitment, just and outside and inside for mounting on the wheel.


    2017-10-01 - Are uniroyal rain expert load 98 ok for a vivario van

    As long as the size and load rating matches the OE specification then the tyre is suitable.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    175/70 R13 £54.29 - £65.50 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/65 R15 £45.79 - £69.44 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/70 R15 £73.00 - £73.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/60 R18 £109.29 - £113.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 55 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Uniroyal RainExpert 3 Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
    Well these tyres have replaced my set of winters now!
    Very good in the dry for grip and exceptional in damp/greasy/wet conditions.
    I can set the quattro up in the wet for the drive to progressivly go to the rear on roundabouts and drive the car out onto the straights no drama or fuss when I want.
    Deal with standing water very well.
    Wear masked by AWD but I think 12K from the most worked axel [front] easily achieveable.
    Not a "sports" tyre so if thats what you want then look elsewhere but rather a safe set of hands...
    Helpful 136 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2016
    Given 81% while driving a Audi A4 1.8T Quattro (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 33 spirited miles
    On my second set. First lasted 3 years, weekly commute from Perthshire to Norfolk and driving around A47 etc staying alive..
    Thus have driven in ALL conditions.
    Tyres do wear, on mine it's the fronts that suffer the greater wear say 60/40 front to rear.
    Tyres like the hot spells in Norfolk air temps in 30+ no ideas of road surface temp but they didn't enjoy being worked hard during that period but OK if capn sensible appeared....7/10 dry grip score during that period of hot temps..
    Tyres are a bit noisy on some surfaces but hey....

    Positives.
    Confidence inspiring. They just get on with the job of the day, mundane or not. Wet conditions and standing water at motorway speeds are always a danger. These mitigate that danger [be aware that hitting 6" deep standing water in any tyre will not end well!] dry and wet grip more than adequate. Despite quattro I do not push, in the wet to the same extent as the dry.
    Braking. Despite British drivers on British Roads, Duals and Motorways I have yet to trigger ABS in extremis, car does a good impression of bikers "stoppies" too.
    Handling/Feedback Tyres let you know by sound and feel when your getting close. With full time quattro the dynamic change when centre diff operates can be felt but no understeer just a reduction in torque feedback on steering wheel.
    These softish tyres come into their own in these circumstances. I imagine that they work equally well in either front or rear drive configuration.
    All in all bloody good, more focused rubber will outperform them, but really, when bangs per buck come into it, it's no contest from my POV...
    Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2018
    Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Golk Mk5 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
    Best wet grip ever! Short stop during braking on wet. Very good grip on dry. Wear and comfort is ok. Much better tyre than Sportiva, Sava, Fulda, especially in wet conditions.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2021
    Have you driven on the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal RainExpert 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Uniroyal RainExpert 3 >

    Latest Uniroyal RainExpert 3 Reviews

    Given 60% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
    Decent tyres, a bit noisy... but I have been burned by my experience with this tyres and I would like to warn others. If you get in need to substitute an Uniroyal tyre, be prepared to huge trouble. As soon as a new line comes out, spares for the old one disappear from the market. I have some practically new Rainexpert 3 tyres and I am now forced to throw them away, because the Rainexpert 5 line has come out (just one year ago) and it is now impossible to find a spare for the Rainexpert 3. This is ridiculous. In the past I have been able to easily find replacements for Michelin, Pirelli, Nokian, Hanhook tyres that had been replaced by a newer line many many years before, and now I am having the car stuck for over a month because just because Uniroyal (and evidently their father company Continental) does not think it worth supplying spares for items that were bought only quite recently. How reliable! So yes, my tyres have run only for 2000km, but this is already an end of life review.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2022
    Given 100% while driving a Nissan SUNNY (175/70 R13) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Excellent tyres. I got these as a birthday gift, believe it or not, last year and they absolutely changed the ride and handling characteristics on my Sunny for the better. I always knew with a good set of tyres it will be a good handling, quiet and comfortable car, but I was totally shocked when I fitted these. The wet/damp grip is phenomenal, the best I've had so far. In these conditions, they really do shine. There is no squealing or loss of traction, even with some fairly quick and less forgiving getaways from junctions. Even when you give it a little more around a corner, the cars feels like it's on rails. I feel very safe using these in the rain. I really enjoy driving in damp conditions now, as the tyres really show their worth. I think the designers at Uniroyal hit the nail on the head. The dry grip is honestly amazing too, but they seem a little more at home in the damp, which is more often than it is dry in the UK and most of Northern Europe. There are no traction issues in the dry and I can rarely get these to squeal, even when I do dump the clutch a bit to get going. It still handles like it's on rails in the dry and the traction is perfect. The road noise generated from these tyres is pretty low and they offer nice comfort too. Before my car had cheap nasty tyres with very soft sidewalls. The ride was bumpy and very unsettled sometimes. Now it is smooth and made the car even more comfortable than it already was (reasonably forgiving suspension, comfy seats). They have lasted me a good while now and are still in great shape. Nowhere near the halfway mark yet! For the price, you really can't get anything better. I have family who now use Uniroyal and say the same thing, a little cheaper than the big boys, but keeps them humbled.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 200K Advantgarde Cabriolet (245/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
    These tyres were fitted to the rear of a Mercedes CLK 200 Kompressor. It is a staggered set up with 225/45 17 Uniroyal Rainsport 3’s on the front. All fitted at the same time, but the rears lasted just under 13,000 miles with the fronts still showing plenty of tread. The rears had worn slightly on the insides more, as the tracking was very slightly out. I wanted tyres where wet grip was the priority. These tyres were fantastic. Quiet, they were compliant, excellent wet grip and aquaplaning resistance. Even in wintry conditions, they were almost as good as an all-season tyre. I was not bothered about the wear rate, and accepted these must be a softer compound.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2022
    Given 69% while driving a Hyundai elantra (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 20,000 easy going miles
    I had them for 3.5 years and about 35 000km, and now outer edges of tires are worn to almost the point where they have no thread. They are noisy, especially on highway. They are really great on wet roads and when its raining. I bought them twice on my car but now i have decided to go for some tires that are more quiet since there is not that much rain where i live.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2022
    Given 67% while driving a Honda CRV 2.0 2009 (225/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
    The tire is not bad, decent. Little loud on high speeds. The wear is awful - 20k miles max tire life with easy driving. Little expensive for this wear, moreover this is not some sporty special tire.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2021
    Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Touran tdi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
    They are amazing in really wet weather situations. No the handling isn't great or anything, even with a lot of water under the tire, but outright wet grip is really top. In the dry, they are okay, alright, nothing special. Fuel economy seems to be a smidge worse than comparable tires from michelin, goodyear, continental etc, but nothing to worry about. They are a bit noisy with speeds above 130km/h, still comfy(65% sidewalls are pretty much always comfy, no matter the tire type). Noise isn't a problem for me, since my GF and me mostly travel at 120-130km/h speeds. When pushed to the limits in the dry, they start to squeal really badly and just smear away with a tendency to understeer. Not a tire i would put on a MX-5, Gt 86 or other sporty cars. In conclusion: Prbly the best wet tire we ever had on a car, but the rest is simply middle of the road. If you live in a very wet climate, yes. If its not raining 24/7 any other tire would prbly be a better choice
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2021
    Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 8v (175/65 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    65% 13" tyres are getting rarer in a quality brand, so unable to buy this size in Michelin, I tried these on my Polo 1.4 CL. Now I don't do many miles, but do make occasional 90 mile cross-Pennine or motorway journeys at speed. Wet weather grip and braking on these tyres is superb and very confidence-inspiring. For day-to-day running, I set the car with 30psi front/28psi rear (add 2psi all-around for motorway/load) that dials-out excessive understeer, while giving a neutral but safe handling balance. I've no complaints about dry grip that seem on a par with the old Michelin Energy, (unlike the cheap tyres fitted by the previous owner, where you didn't so much as steer the car, but made a suggestion on your desired direction. My favourite roundabout was not so much fun when it looked like I would be going over, rather than around it) they make it able to dart around sudden hazards in the road without drama, and cope with high speed cornering. Being a VW the steering doesn't communicate much anyway, but I know what's happening. The tyres give a handling balance that makes a cross-Pennine journey, with a “spirited” drive through the many swoops and dives an entertaining experience, nevertheless. Most likely not the highest-mileage tyre, but if fitted to the household’s second car, or your daughter/son’s first car the grip levels will keep them safe without too much of an outlay.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2020
    Given 83% while driving a Renault KANGOO 1.9 (195/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Haven' t used too many other brands and models but Uniroyal Rainexpert is the best everyday tyre I've used.
    What I like the most of it is - grip. Grip on wet and flooded surface is exceptionally great! Where other tyres are "floating" Rainexpert make you feel that no conditions have changed. On dry it has so much grip that it almost feels I'm driving on semi slicks. Keeps my kind of wobbling suspension Kangoo on corners like sports car.
    Using on this car a second set of these tyres. And will be using again.
    Wear of tyre is quite rapid comparing to other tyres but for me the main thing is how car hold the road. It's a safety question for me. BTW I'm using these with EBC Bluestuf compound pads. Perfect combination on Kangoo MK1.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2019
    Given 90% while driving a Hyundai elantra (185/60 R16) on mostly town for 20 easy going miles
    Handling on wet is great, they have a slight noise to them, very slight tho. We have them for a year now and after over 12 000 km they still look like new, there was no considerable expenditure on the threads.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2019
    Given 86% while driving a BMW 525i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    I run two sets of tyres on my BMW E61 525i- Michelin Pilot Alpin in the winter and Uniroyals all other times - As this is the car we use for our children safety is important & I believe that Uniroyals offer excellent grip & great value for money. As this is a family car high speed performance is not my primary concern - I would but Michelin Pilots if that was the case. They are very reassuring in wet weather & great all round performance. Wear is slightly high due to their soft compound but nothing to worry about - would buy again no problem.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2018
    Given 57% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
    Pretty disapointed with this tyre. The wear rate is atrocius and after 12000 miles they where close to the wear indicators and I drive slow and easy.
    It is a touring tyre and not a sports tyre so it is confortable but also a bit noisy due to the pattern design. The sidewalls are very soft so the steering is not very precise.
    Grip in the wet is good especially aquaplaning resistance however wet handling is nothing special compared with sporty Michelins I had before. I have to say price/quality is not good in the end because wear is high.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2018
    Given 81% while driving a Fiat Panda (155/80 R13 T) on mostly country roads for 22,000 easy going miles
    These tires were used on a day car for city and country road mainly. As with previous Uniroyal tires I've had these are well balanced on the road with consistent grip throughout their life. Grip in both dry and wet is good. The tires feel comfortable and they are very progressive. I did not feel that they gave enough feedback from the road and their wear performance was rather mediocre, especially since they were fitted on a small car.
    Overall they are very good tires and I would buy again.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2018