Volkswagen Golk Mk5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golk Mk5.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golk Mk5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golk Mk5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (291) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Altenzo Sports Comforter (21) 89% 80% 78% 82% 85% 85%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 Ecopia (16) 87% 82% 75% 81% 81% 83%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (35) 83% 93% 78% 75% 65% 81%
Viking ProTech HP (14) 83% 78% 78% 73% 82% 75%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (48) 89% 82% 80% 79% 74% 72%
Pirelli CINTURATO P6 (17) 87% 82% 82% 64% 71% 69%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Michelin Energy (42) 71% 65% 59% 61% 84% 76%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (51) 74% 68% 62% 61% 64% 55%

Volkswagen Golk Mk5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 given 87% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
Best wet grip ever! Short stop during braking on wet. Very good grip on dry. Wear and comfort is ok. Much better tyre than Sportiva, Sava, Fulda, especially in wet conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-27 15:22:11
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Best tyre for that price! Love it
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-14 15:24:08
Writing about the Viking ProTech HP given 91% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 spirited miles
I fitted these tires to replace the previous Bridgestone Ecopia.I noticed immediately a good yield in the wet. I was impressed by these tires I had essentially chosen for the very low price. the only flaw I noticed is that they seem a bit too soft. high comfort level
I recommended to all my friends and I think that next winter I'll try even those winter.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-08 15:32:41
Writing about the Altenzo Sports Comforter given 96% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
I am driving in Czech Republic, roads are covered by rough tarmac with many inequalities here. I am very satisfied with these tyres, so I am buying them again. You can check are roads here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jt0dzvBWKas
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-19 13:51:41
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS given 73% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
SO, I don't normally do reviews, but i have found Tyre reviews very helpfull in choosing the right rubber to fit to my car.

I own a Honda S2000 and will only ever fit good quality tyres, such as Dunlops Asysmetric 2s. I don't fancy dying in a ditch anytime soon!

Now i also own a golf mark5 for comuting and munstering the miles. I drive this car like my dad. So, I'd been sadled with the budget tyres fitted to the car when i bought it, but now was the time to renew.

I want cheap tyres that would look after me in the winter months in the Uk. I found these Salium tyres for £56 a corner. Not bad; and thereiews weren't to bad either.

So I've done over 3000miles now and i have to say i am impressed. They grip as well as expected in the wet and in the dry. You get plenty of warning if your starting to hit the limits because your drivig like a spanner.

Only downside is they a bloody noisy. Now the old Golf is no limo and is quite noisy, but these tyres on the wrong road surface; hurt. That coming from someone who has a sports exhaust on the S2000 and VTEC.

I just need to whatch the wear but at the price who reallycares about wear.

All in all these are a great budget buy if you don't mind the extra noise the all season tread pattern give. Give them a go I say and see what you think.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-31 12:26:36
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 61% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
very noisy tyre sounds like a wheel bearing had failed, would not buy again at any price ,glad when they were worn out so i could get rid of them.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-22 14:49:05
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 39% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I had these fitted to replace some Michelin Pilot Sport 3s. I was not pleased at all initially when they just looked saggy and under pressure, one side more than the other! When stationary car actually rocks side to side if you push on the car's wing. I returned to the fitters to check the pressures...apparently ok. The car handles much worse, vague and lifeless in comparison to the Michelins.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-12 21:02:33
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 Ecopia given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
No problem dry Grip, but disappointing Wet Grip. Snow Grip "zero"
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-04 16:29:44
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P6 given 100% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 470 average miles
Pirelli P6 Cinturato size 195/65R15 91V driven on VW Golf MK5 1.4 S

Excellent tyres, very good grip!

I have driven with these for more than 2-3 thousand miles and the road holding is very good.
Comfort levels are superb and they are very good at absorbing small bumps, as you can hardly sometimes notice them go over pot holes.
No tramlining correction required 100% straight and true.
Wear indication review for me would be too early to say, as they are still as good as new at present.
As all tyres, these will need to be run in before they can be used at its optimum levels.

I make regular journeys to London from West Yorkshire and these have been very impressive on the motorway. They are always glued to the road and are even better when you push them to 90-100mph and maintain those levels of speed, as it seems to me they become hot and become easier for handling.

In the wet I can rely on these, as there are no signs of loss of control even with sudden quick lane changes etc...

To prolong the life of the tyre it is recommended to swap the front axle tyres with the rear axle tyres after 5 thousand miles.
Would I buy again? This depends on the longevity of the tyre, if these tyres can last me till around about 25 thousand miles from new, then my answer would be a YES!

Highly recommended on the vehicle and size I use.
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-28 17:11:25
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 55000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre, no weaknesses after 5,000 km.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-22 17:14:23
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-23 09:24:48
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 3 given 64% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly town for 200 spirited miles
After reading the reviews I decided to buy these over the Conti Sport Contact 2s. Wish I went for the Contis now. It's a great tyre but it's not as good as the Michelins it replaced. Car doesn't feel as stable on the limit but the grip in the wet is slightly better than the Michelins. I'm not sure if it doesn't suit the Golf Mk5 or whether it's the tyre. Don't get me wrong it's a good tyre with grip, just not as much as I was expecting.
tyre reviewed on 2010-04-25 23:31:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre