Vredestein Sportrac 3

The Vredestein Sportrac 3 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Vredestein Sportrac 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Vredestein Sportrac 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 80%
Wear 76%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 85%

Tyre review data from 60 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 658,266 miles driven.

The Sportrac 3 is ranked 27th of 189 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 ACE Touring Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 14 tyres

View Full Test >>

2011 Finnish ECO Touring Tyre Test - 3rd of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Great in the wet
  • Negative - Not as good in the dry as the top 2
  • Overall - Sporty drivability and excellent wet performance give the Vredestien a strong 3rd place.
View Full Test >>

2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 195/65 R15 - 1st of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced tyre, scores well in all safety related tests. Top marks on wet roads.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Vredestein Sportrac 3
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Sportrac 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Vredestein Sportrac 3 Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Renault Laguna I (195/65 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 13,000 spirited miles
I have them for 20 000km so far very predictive and very progressive in grip loss in both braking and speedy turning providing very good feedback. I would say that they are even better than my winter tyres on wet surface in the 5C to 10C weather temperature range.I don`t have any complains about road noise. Unfortunately i think Sportrac 5 is coming on their place so they will be no longer available , so sad , cause they hold really steady in corners that i believe is because of the tread design with the big side contact surface :(
1 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2013   
Given 100% while driving a Volvo 850 T5 Estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
Best tyre money can buy.

Nothing else need be said!
1 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2014   
Given 86% while driving a SEAT (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I have been running these Sportrac3's for around 8000 miles or so now and they are excellent, really good in the wet and have never had any concerns whatsoever. They corner well with a lot of positive feedback and when hitting deep puddles after the recent wet spell that we have just endured these tyres were faultless, no sign's of aquaplaning.
In the run up to winter late 2013 I was touring over to the lakes and the temp suddenly dropped to just above freezing, when I had pulled over for a quick stop, out of interest I felt the tyres they had warmed up nicely, most other summer tyres would still be rock hard at this point!

Its a shame they are being slowly phased out for the new Sportrac5's as I have them fit on my partner and daughters cars also - A great tyre and would definitely buy again.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2014   
Have you driven on the Vredestein Sportrac 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Sportrac 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Vredestein Sportrac 3 >

Latest Vredestein Sportrac 3 Reviews

Given 49% while driving a Alfa Romeo 155 (205/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I used them whole spring and summer in Georgia.
negative sides: noisy like wheel hub bearing is out, no stability and screaming when cornering in summer.
positive: perfect traction in rain, perfect stability in water, avoiding aquaplaning
I still have this tires but not going buy again
0 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Toyota Starlet Glanza V (195/50 R15 V) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
This is a pretty good tyre, and would recommend it to all the people who drive normal/sportive. Very safe tyre in wet. I now run 8000 km with it on my (starlet glanza V) and the profile is now 3.5mm at the front and 5.6mm at the back. And now put the front to the back. And now considering to buy 2 new Bridgestone potenza re002 because the side wall of the vredestein is not stiff enough when you are doing quick cornering. Long corner grip is superb.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2013   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 80% while driving a BMW 120d (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
These tyres are great. Having bought a RWD and living in the Pennines, I went for something that performed well in the wet and these are just the job. I frequently push the car quite hard and have never felt with these tyres that control is an issue. Personally, I don't find them noisy at all(others have commented to the contrary). The ride is nice and at high speeds, they hug the road like a best friend, in both wet and dry. Can't fault them at all. I'll be replacing them for winter though - silly not to.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 22, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk4 1.9 GTTDi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyres. So good i am on my second set. I do over 40k a year mainly motorway driving.
Awesome in the wet- breaking distance much better than my last set ( pirrelli p7) and no problem with aquaplanning. The tyres were even pretty good in the snow. I have gone through a lot of quality tyres but these are far superior in the wet and great dry grip too. Have never had a problem with the noise - dont find them much louder than any of the others.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2013   
Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Had 2 of these on my VW Sharran.
Good handling in wet/dry.
I drive pretty fast on motorways.
But 1 note!! As other have noticed: NOISE!!
If you're after a quite tyres- don't choose these.
After 8000 or 10000 I thought the same thing, that my bearing wheel has gone.

Good tyres, but noise let them much down for me.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2013   
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Had 4 of these put on my 2.0 TDi Passat 2 years ago and i can honestly say that they are an excellent tyre. The grip is excellent though marginally better in the wet (i live in the north of Scotland so no issues there). The only downside is the noise. They were noisy from the outset but as they have worn the noise has increased dramatically, so much so i thought my wheel bearings had gone. 22K later and im now replacing them as a set as the fronts are down to minimum and i cannot bear the noise from the rears. I would use again but nobody currently has them in stock locally and Kwikfit are doing me a deal on Falken ZE914's.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2013   
Given 100% while driving a Toyota Avensis (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
excellent
0 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5) (205/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
Superb tyres, good wet and dry performance, great milage, 35k miles with one front to rear swap at 18k miles. Changing now to Snowtrac 3 for the winter.
Wouls have again without question.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2012   
Given 91% while driving a Citroën C4 Grand Picasso (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5 easy going miles
These really make the difference. I changet the origimal Michelin tyres (only 35 000km)and I'm really impressed. On wet road it's even better. They do have a model with board protection and I recomend it.
The only issue is how many km will use them....
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2012   
Given 99% while driving a Vauxhall Astra Coupe 2.2 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
These tyres have been the best I've tried so far (out of Falken 452, Michelin Primacy and Toyo T1R).

The grip in wet and dry is outstanding, and above average grip in the snow as well.

Can't comment much on road noise or rolling resistance, since I couldn't give two flying hoots about these things haha.

From what I can see on this site, everyone seems to have the opinion that tyres wear too fast (the ratings are rarely above 75%). My fronts are down to 3mm after 20000 miles (many of these motorway to be fair). In my opinion, for tyres with such awesome grip, this is unbelievable.

Suffice to say, unless something spectacular comes out, I will be sticking with Vredesteins for the foreseeable future.

Get them now!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2012   
Given 93% while driving a Suzuki Ignis 1.5 GLX VVT 4Grip (185/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
Running these boots for two and a quarter years now and have just replaced like with like. They cope will with all driving conditions well even snow. I found them to be very capable over the last two winters we've had in the UK. They've worn well but I'm not lighting up the tyres at every getaway or throwing the car around corners but if you want to press on they are very reliable and give very good feedback. In combination with the 4 wheel drive a very useful package.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2012   
Given 73% while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (205/45 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Had Sportrac 3s on the front axle of my Fabia vRS for over a year now and they're ready for changing after about 10,000 miles so the wear rate is pretty poor although I do drive fast.

They're a bit noisy as with all directional tread patterns, noticeably more so than the Klebers it had on beforehand, but they do look nice. Very good in both damp and wet, and not bad in snow either if you have more than about 3 mm of tread on them. They're a tad vocal in the dry when pushed very hard.

They can be hard to get hold of in the UK, I ordered my pair from mytyres.co.uk (out of all the online tyre retailers, I've found they have the biggest range), which actually came from Germany and were £85 a corner.

They also take a while to run in, to begin with they felt a bit fidgety, I could feel the treadblocks moving around when pushing hard, I was worried I'd made a mistake but a few hundred miles on they're fine - I think it's due to the deep tread they come with.

Now I don't know what to replace them with, if they lasted longer they'd be perfect. Have ruled out Toyo T1R because they're not great in the damp, Rainsport 2s are excellent but have a soft sidewall, wear fast and can drone on some cars. Falken 452 I would like to try, but it is now out of production. Perhaps Falken ZE 912?
0 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2012