BMW 120d Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 120d.

Do you Drive a BMW 120d? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 120d better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (28) 86% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Fulda Kristall Montero 3 (29) 86% 88% 84% 81% 89% 89%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (58) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (236) 93% 90% 86% 88% 79% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle UltraGrip (5) 84% 86% 82% 84% 86% 74%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (312) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (245) 86% 84% 76% 78% 73% 85%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (89) 84% 78% 78% 78% 75% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Bridgestone Blizzak Ice (3) 85% 80% 85% 75% 85% 85%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (193) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Bridgestone DriveGuard (26) 84% 83% 77% 74% 47% 69%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (159) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (124) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (105) 80% 70% 70% 67% 63% 72%
Jinyu YW51 (17) 70% 67% 63% 58% 71% 70%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (91) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69%
Evergreen EU72 (48) 75% 61% 60% 60% 73% 67%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 RFT (11) 66% 57% 67% 67% 70% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (60) 73% 59% 67% 66% 73% 49%
Pirelli Eufori (10) 79% 59% 68% 66% 54% 39%
Radar Dimax R8 (37) 65% 48% 52% 52% 65% 58%
Torque TQ025 All Season (2) 65% 70% 40% 50% 50% 45%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (143) 72% 54% 55% 48% 55% 32%

BMW 120d Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 81% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-18 01:57:14
Writing about the Torque TQ025 All Season given 40% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
In the begining, whille they were brand new, they seemed nice, comfy and durable. After 4 years and 55000km, all of a sudden, they started to sound just like i was in an aircraft. I had a better look, and although they don't look bad, they are old between the canals
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-27 13:26:56
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak Ice given 88% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
I live in the Baltic state. And we have snowy and icy winters. If you drive carefully, the tyres are very good for and RWD car and you don’t get stuck on snow or ice. Sometimes they feel a little soft and you have to correct your driving direction on the motorways. But not a big issue. They are nordic winter tyres after all. Would recommend, especially for a rear wheel drive cars in countries with lots of snow and ice. And the wear of the tyre is normal.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-23 09:24:00
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 76% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-28 14:24:17
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 25000 average miles
Too much understeer, doesnt like high temperature in track.you dont have a lot of information from steering when turning fast
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-16 03:18:02
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 76% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 140000 average miles
Good tires and handling ,rft on my car comfort is ok ,not so quite I can switch for other tires to experience the difference!
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-28 02:35:28
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 97% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 120 average miles
When I got my BMW 1 series M Sport I had run flats on it and they are honestly the worst tyres I have ever had. The ride comfort was awful and so was everything else. That all changed when I replaced them with Falkens all round which were decent but after they wore out I decided to go for the GoodYear AS3s which have been awesome from day 1 in the wet and dry. I ran them for 18,000 miles and have just changed to the new Goodyear's AS5s and wow they are just fantastic, ride comfort is great, the grip is something else in both wet and dry to which you feel confident driving a little quicker without fear of losing grip. Fantastic tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-21 08:19:33
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 given 91% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Best sporty winter tyre in "regular car" tyre sizes.

Performs well all round, and allows for sporty driving by having good progressive slip near the limit. Be sensible on the public road, but know that this tyre will not pull any surprises.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-23 03:13:47
Writing about the Radar Dimax R8 given 77% (205-50-17-N)
Driving on for 8000 average miles
I have used these run flats on the front of my bmw 120d for about a year and have just bought 2 more for the rear which says it all really. These replaced bridgestones which I have used for about 7 years and were indistinguishable in usage. After about 8k miles the fronts are down to 5.5-6mm which I am quite happy with.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-06 09:24:13
Writing about the Bridgestone DriveGuard given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
These replaced 4 worn Potenzas and immediately felt a little softer and noticeably quieter. They're not sports tyres, but, as others have said, 99% of the time that's not relevant. So, generally they're OK, but as winter has set in, they feel skittish as the temperatures have become nearer zero. In today's snow they were quite troubling. I just handed back a courtesy car with Potenzas on and they felt better than the Drive Guards in the icy slush. Admittedly both are summer tyres, but the winter handling would deter me from buying again, albeit I probably saved around £20 a tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-29 08:34:28
Writing about the Bridgestone DriveGuard given 87% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Switched out the Bridgestone S001 RFTs on my BMW 120d for these DriveGuard tyres on the front (not available for the back - 35 profile). Wow, what a difference. The S001's were made of concrete. These are quieter and absorb the imperfections in the road so much better. So much more comfortable.
As a side note, I put a pair of Good Year F1 Asym 2 RFT on the back a little while after, and these are far more comfortable than the S001s too.

The only downside to these tyres is that they are touring tyres, not high performance tyres. To be honest, you can't really tell unless you have driven both though. Yes, the S001s respond slightly faster, but I wouldn't say they were any more grippy. So for the 1% of the time you get a windy B road with no traffic on it, i'd go with the S001s. But for the other 99% of the time the DriveGuards are answer if you are sticking with a RFT. You honestly won't notice unless you are driving this on a track.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-15 10:04:37
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 57% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Bought these as cheap runflats when the previous owner's Goodyear Eagle F1 assymetrics died a death from sidewall failure.

Initially liked them - I thought the tread pattern looked excellent for water displacement in the wet, but immediately noticed that road noise was worse, especially under braking.

one month in, the water 'chine' tread on the shoulders became severely feathered, causing an awful rumbling noise whenever I corner. It was so bad it prompted me to replace my front wheel bearings before I homed in on the tyres as the culprit! The road roar was especially noticeable when I took the car to Europe on holiday, the super-smooth French tarmac really made them buzz.

I tried reversing them and running them in backwards to un-feather them, which partly reduced the noise, but after putting them the right way around again for the winter they're still unbearably loud - particularly under braking, cornering at low speeds on smooth tarmacked roads.

I have to assume this is due to the tyre tread blocks having insufficient strength, I'll be replacing them. My advice: don't buy.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-21 07:49:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre