Bridgestone DriveGuard

The Bridgestone DriveGuard is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 26 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 338,860 miles driven, and 1 tests with an average result of 1st.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 74%
Wear 47%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 53%

First On MarketJanuary 2016
Wheel Size15 - 18"
Width185 - 245mm
Profile40 - 65
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripA - A
Noise (dB)69 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The DriveGuard is ranked 104th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Tests Included

1

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

1st

Average Result

1st

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 Mid Range Tyre Test
1st of 10 tyres
  • Very precise steering in wet and dry, good grip
  • Noisy compared to the best in test (but good for a runflat!)
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/65R15 95 V XLCA71
185/65 R15 92 V XLDA69
185/65 R15 92 V XLCA69
16 inch
205/60R16 96 V XLCA71
215/60 R16 99 VCA72
205/55 R16 94 W XLCA70
205/55R16 94 W XLCA71
205/60 R16 96 V XLCA70
17 inch
225/45 R17 94 Y XLCA70
225/50 R17 98 Y XLCA71
225/50R17 98 Y XLCA71
225/45R17 94 Y XLCA71
215/55R17 98 W XLCA71
18 inch
245/45R18 100 Y XLCA72
225/40 R18 92 Y XLCA70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Bridgestone DriveGuard >>

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone DriveGuard

2016-06-20 - When will the Drive Guard be available in size 245 / 50 R18, and the cost? Also what run flats are available in All Season Tyres, for the size above?

We haven't been notified of a 245/50 R18 Driveguard, but Bridgestone are expanding their range all the time so keep an eye on the "sizes" tab. Likewise, all season tyres in that size are very hard to find.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone DriveGuard Reviews

Given 96% while driving a MINI Cooper Coupe (195/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Only recently fitted but these tyres have transformed the drive quality of my Mini Coupe. Highly recommended as a run-flat option.
Helpful 158 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2016
Given 56% while driving a BMW 330i (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 miles
This is very grippy tire for both wet and dry conditions but lacks comfort. It is also very noisy tire. When I was riding on bumpy roads, I realised how bad this tires as comfort wise. I changed to Yokohama Advan Sport V105s, however new ones are not run flats but very satisfied with comfort and handling.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2022
Given 57% while driving a BMW 118i Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
If you want a tire that is NOT SECURE, that it will only last 6,000 miles, then buy a Bridgestone DriveGuard tire. Its innovation and technology are so good that despite the fact that neither the tire nor the rim have any visible signs of damage, the tire is unusable a year after it was purchased. It's a real shame to spend money on expensive tires that turn out to perform so poorly.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2022
Have you driven on the Bridgestone DriveGuard tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone DriveGuard? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone DriveGuard >

Latest Bridgestone DriveGuard Reviews

Given 56% while driving a MINI mini countryman cooper s (225/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
When new, they were more quiet but became louder over time. The handling was always a little soft with a delay between turn on and response. I hoped to trade some performance for wet and snow traction but these tired did not deliver. I am replacing them early because after about 50% tread, they started to hydroplane badly. My highway speeds were greatly reduced in the rain after a few white knuckled moments. While I've driven worse on the snow, these were not good. I'll be looking for a different option.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2023
BMW (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
I am dissapointed with a quick wear. After 12.800 miles my back tire is close to 1.5 mm For a mid range tire it is such a bad product. Rear tires should last for around 40 K and not 13K. I will avoid this tyre make for sure.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 73% while driving a BMW 320D (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Need to replace fronts after about 10k miles due to side wear (tracking checked and confirmed ok)
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2020
BMW (205/55 R15) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
Am shocked worn to 1.5mm evenly in 1 year/ 9000 miles, for a known brand this is dreadful. not worth it
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2019
Given 93% while driving a Toyota Prius (225/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
When I first got this car it was 3 years old and I kept it on the original Bridgestone tyres up until approx 2 years ago I will say that the Drive Guard has transformed this car. The only downside is the ride is hard but you feel like you have control and when you hit a pot hole it seems to just glide over them. I do not think they are noisy and I have found that since fitting these the car has no over or under steer and where you point it it goes. Also Tyre wear is good for this type of tyre (less than half worn on front wheels at this millage) and Yes I will replace them with same when they are worn.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2019
Given 43% while driving a BMW F31 318d x drive (205/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 20,000 easy going miles
Worst "premium tyre" I have experienced!

This tyre is a disaster!
They came mounted on my BMW F31 318d x-drive, when we bought it as a "newer" second hand car (3 years old).

The road noice is horrible as soon as you drive the car on tarmac that is the slightest rough in surface. They generate a very loud and disturbing low frequency noice.
In fact they are louder than a second set of 18" rims/tyres with the dimension of 235/40-18ZR (Michelin Pilotsport 3) we have for this car!

The dry and wet grip is not impressing at all.

The comfort is not good but not as bad as the noice....

The wear of the tyres is the only upside, there is about 6 mm left after about 30000 km (two summer seasons - I use winter tyres in the winter season), but honestly is the "good" wear rate a bad thing thus you will have to live with these bad tyres a long time. The car is driven smooth and with a lot of high-way use.

I would not recomend these tyres to anyone and will not buy again!


Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2019
Given 61% while driving a BMW 118d (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 8,000 spirited miles
driven 8000 miles and only a few mm left on the tyre very disappointing
Helpful 54 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2018
Given 59% while driving a BMW 320D (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Had 4 of these fitted on my BMW 320 diesel touring. they feel really good handling, give you confidence on the road with a great grip. Down side is they wear quite quick and a year later and 10k miles trey are down to slicks. Not buying them again.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2018
Given 56% while driving a BMW 520d (225/50 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 8,000 easy going miles
Bought/fitted these tyres an 4th January, 2018. Completely BALD by the end of October, 2018 having covered 13,078 klms (8,0126 Miles) of gentle driving on the rear of our BMW 520D E60. We have two cars, this 9 year old low mileage 520D for longer comfortable journeys and hybrid Yaris for shorter / town journeys so the 520D only gets used on longer, occasional journeys mostly driven by my wife - both of us are more interested in MPG these days than MPH. They were bought to replace a set of Pirelli tyres because of the superior grip of these Bridgestone Drive Guard in the wet/frost etc. On this front, they did score well, better and more responsive grip/steering in poor winter conditions but in fifty years of driving, I've never had a set of tyres wear so quickly and so completely. I do some work/standing in for a local car dealership and customers often ask for recommendations for tyres (we sell BMW Audi Merc, Jaguar etc) Bridgestone WON'T be featuring on my recommended list :-(
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2018
Given 79% while driving a Dacia Logan (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
I fitted a set of Bridgestone Driveguard on my father's 2005 Dacia Logan, found the tyres at a very good price. The car drives exactly as it should, the noise from the tyres is really low, the grip is also very good in any road conditions. Unfortunately, the front tyres(it s a fwd car) are used more than half of their profile in only 15.000km(aprox. 10.000 miles) which is very unplesant compared to the last set of tyres fitted on that car, some cheap Matadors which lasted more than 45.000km(~30.000 miles). In conclusion Bridgestone Driveguard are good tyres as long as they last,but their poor lifetime makes me think twice in buying them again.
Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2018
Given 84% while driving a BMW 325i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
very good comfort for run flat tire,very good grip on wet and dry.Would buy them again
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2018
Audi (215/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 6,250 average miles
recently fitted on a Audi A4 1.8T quattro. With amost 3,500 km on a monthly basis ( 10,000 km tll now) most of them on the national highway E95 of Greece I am extremely satisfied. ESP is enabled very rarely.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2018