Toyota Prius Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Toyota Prius.

Do you Drive a Toyota Prius? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Prius better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental TrueContact Tour (4) 90% 98% 75% 83% 97% 93%
Toyo Proxes CF2 (103) 88% 83% 82% 83% 84% 86%
Kleber Krisalp HP3 (32) 86% 86% 83% 82% 84% 89%
BFGoodrich gForce Winter (20) 85% 81% 77% 78% 83% 84%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (40) 82% 84% 78% 78% 87% 83%
Uniroyal RainExpert (132) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Federal Xtramile XR01 (2) 85% 75% 75% 80% 100% 65%
Michelin CrossClimate 2 (87) 87% 83% 74% 71% 84% 85%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (245) 86% 84% 76% 78% 73% 85%
Vredestein Quatrac 3 (48) 81% 86% 78% 75% 76% 76%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (174) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (58) 86% 81% 80% 79% 74% 72%
Avon ZV5 (112) 84% 78% 77% 77% 71% 77%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (181) 88% 84% 79% 76% 62% 83%
Nokian WeatherProof (31) 80% 84% 79% 79% 74% 87%
Michelin Primacy 3 (191) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Michelin Energy Saver (136) 83% 71% 74% 71% 85% 80%
Michelin Primacy HP (198) 85% 75% 77% 74% 77% 76%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco (49) 83% 77% 77% 74% 72% 77%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (193) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Dunlop SP Sport LM 705 (23) 78% 57% 67% 72% 80% 86%
Radar RPX20 (1) 80% 80% 80% 80% 80% 80%
Bridgestone DriveGuard (26) 84% 83% 77% 74% 47% 69%
Michelin Energy (42) 71% 65% 59% 61% 84% 76%
Bridgestone WeatherPeak (10) 86% 76% 56% 68% 40% 80%
Tigar Sigura (10) 77% 73% 72% 64% 61% 67%
Firestone RoadHawk (37) 85% 75% 71% 65% 54% 73%
Yokohama Advan dB V552 (9) 69% 61% 69% 69% 56% 80%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (137) 77% 68% 63% 60% 70% 71%
Bridgestone Turanza ER33 (21) 75% 59% 69% 61% 91% 57%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (35) 73% 66% 67% 68% 59% 68%
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 (43) 78% 61% 67% 62% 72% 57%
Triangle SporteX TH201 (25) 71% 52% 58% 55% 66% 66%
Nokian eNTYRE 2.0 (4) 63% 55% 50% 63% 83% 73%
Michelin Energy Saver AS (8) 71% 58% 71% 65% 66% 73%
Continental EcoContact 6 (93) 75% 59% 58% 61% 54% 69%
Firestone TZ100 (8) 71% 60% 65% 63% 59% 49%
Yokohama BluEarth E70 (9) 73% 63% 59% 69% 67% 45%
Bridgestone Turanza T002 (3) 85% 50% 30% 15% 65% 65%
Yokohama BluEarth S34 (3) 70% 40% 47% 43% 65% 47%
Toyo NanoEnergy R41 (1) 40% 40% 40% 20% 20% 70%
Falken Sincera SN211 (2) 50% 40% 40% 55% 30% 35%

Toyota Prius Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 94% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 easy going miles
Excellent tyres I've done almost 30,000 miles on a set just ordered another pair for front of my 2017 Prius. Improve fuel economy to average around 75 mpg. Simply the best on a hybrid such as mine weather they will be as good on a different car is another story
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-10 19:26:34
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver AS given 74% (195-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
The first set of these tyres I bought several years ago (2014) lasted about 7 years of daily commuting. I got over 60k miles out of them and was forced to replace them not because they'd worn out (they still had legal tread on them), but because they had aged to the point where they'd developed micro fractures all over the sidewalls. I've never had a set of tyres last so long. They're okay in wet weather (no aqua-planing), and the grip in the dry of the first set was absolutely impeccable. These are Low Rolling Resistance tyres and their main party trick is enhancing high MPG figures on my 2008 Prius Tspirit Hybrid. In summer, I get over 60+ MPG and over 600 miles out of just short of a 45 Litre fuel tank. My best MPG record was in the summer of 2022, achieving 69.4 MPG with a mileage of 653 miles from the 45 Litre tank. I'm presently on a new set of the same tyres, bought 2021, with the only strange thing being that on warm days, the tyres make a strange wet sound on some warm to hot asphalt surfaces - in dry weather. They sound like "slick" tyres - if that makes any sense (they don't sound like that on cold days) - otherwise, I'm very pleased with them. They're quiet and smooth on properly paved asphalt surfaces, though they'll feel harder if you pump them up to 37f /35r psi - but there's no loss of grip, regardless. They're rated to 51 psi.
tyre reviewed on 2023-08-18 18:47:39
Writing about the Bridgestone WeatherPeak given 63% (195-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2 average miles
I purchased these tires in June, 2023 at Discount Tire. At first I was happy with the purchase. The ride seemed smooth and not too noisy on normal asphalt roads. Then I drove on a grooved highway in Houston ( I10). My car ( Prius) would not track well and seemed to mildly shimmy. This would only happen on any grooved highway. Disheartening. Fortunately, Discount Tire is replacing the tires with the Ecopia model. I would have preferred the Ecopia + 422, but none were available. Hopefully, I will get a smooth, uneventful ride.
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-24 23:32:32
Writing about the Nokian eNTYRE 2.0 given 41% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20 average miles
The tires are on a Toyota Prius, and the Prius is a fairly quiet car. The first thing I noticed when driving on these tires is how loud they are. It is like sitting in a room with a noise oscillator and the volume turned up to 80dbs (decibels) inside the car. I feel like I have to yell to talk to the person next to me. That being said, they are a fairly comfortable tire, but I would not say they are as comfortable as a Goodyear and far from a Michelin. They are wearing well and would be a good tire for someone that is taking a lot of trips and high mileage. I would not recommend these tires because I believe there are tires that are better for just a smaller margin in price.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-31 15:44:04
Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 given 79% (185-60-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 average miles
I had toyo tries fitted in mat Totoyta Aqua (Prius C). I used them for 3 years. Excellent tires, really worth every penny. Brakes were good on dry and wet surfaces. the lower control arm bushing of my car got damaged but still the front tires did not wear a lot. Will definitely buy a new set. great tires.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-18 09:28:48
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate 2 given 86% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9200 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-20 22:59:19
Writing about the Kleber Krisalp HP3 given 82% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
Good tyres. Had it on a Prius 2 in Finland. It worked well even in the deepest of snow and on black ice. Compared to Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 tyres it is better in every way, except for the clear ice traction and braking. I left it on for summer as my Nordman SX2 are only marginally better in the dry, but much worse in the wet. Fuel consumption is slightly better with the Nordman tyres though and I didn't drive it in really hot weather.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-09 16:50:53
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport LM 705 given 57% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Perform nicely at dry road. Terrible at wet. It is unexpectedly slippery at wet. One good thing is that its thread can last really long. Relatively comfort compared to my F1a5, but not worth risking live for slight improvement in comfort. Vehicle stability control usually kicks in quite a few times during rainy days. Will change it soon.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-12 04:02:57
Writing about the Continental TrueContact Tour given 87% (185-65-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 15 easy going miles
Fantastic tire in its category. We had already tried all the other major tire brands/models in this category because we needed all-season tires that could work well in the rains of summer through the snow of winter and still give good fuel economy. This was the only model of tore that we had not tried so I though to give it a chance and I was shocked to find that its superior to the other major brands in this category even though its the lowest cost Continental in this category. The rain and snow grip is clearly superior, amazingly so, I was shocked to find that I could climb the steep hill that we live on with ease even with several inches of fresh snow on the ground. We were able to document several cross country trips of several thousand miles each on the tires and found that they delivered at least 3 MPG more than all the other tires we have tested, so we are extremely pleased with the amazing performance of this low cost model. PS it is rated for 80,000 miles so it also offers very long life as well.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-10 17:18:08
Writing about the Yokohama Advan dB V552 given 87% (185-65-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 31000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-07 07:51:12
Writing about the Triangle SporteX TH201 given 100% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
I wasnt expecting to find an outstanding tyre in such price. Previous tyres yokohama literally lacked grip and control after 20000kms, so i changed them at 30000km only. So far Triangles are 20000km driven on all terrains, i must say soft silent and overall great response. I will definitely buy these again for their Build quality, in such a great price.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-20 11:21:34
Writing about the Continental TrueContact Tour given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
An amazing all season tire, so good that we now have them on all our cars. We fid the wet weather performance inspires confidence, we have tried many all season tires over many years in our small car collection and this is the best all around al season tire, by a significant amount. Our records clearly show better fuel economy than all the other tires we have ever used which we found quite surprising. Performance in the snow is surprisingly good for an all season tire and is clearly the best we have ever driven, by far. We do not get deep snow here but then again we would not attempt to drive in deep snow, we would simply wait fo the roads to be plowed clear but with a reasonable about of snow these tires grip so well that we don't even notice the snow. Overall this is a comfortable, quiet, dependable, confidence inspiring tire that delivers the best fuel economy we have ever recorded and comes with a phenomenal long treadwear warranty that helps us keep out costs low.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-18 22:24:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre