Hankook Kinergy Eco 2

The Kinergy Eco² has been developed for modern small, compact and mid-range vehicles and, like its predecessor, a focus has been placed upon safety, fuel economy and driving comfort. An initial launch range of 52 sizes will cover demand in the 13- to 16-inch rim diameter size bracket.

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 67% over 184,100 miles driven, and 5 tests with an average result of 9th.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 58%
Handling 66%
Wear 68%
Comfort 65%
Buy again 63%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size13 - 17"
Width145 - 215mm
Profile50 - 80
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)67 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Kinergy Eco 2 is ranked 117th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco.

Tests Included

5

Best Result

4th

Worst Result

14th

Average Result

9th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test
8th of 11 tyres
  • The Kinergy Eco2 is stable in evasive situations, very quiet, low rolling resistance.
  • Weak braking in the dry and wet, low grip during wet handling.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
155/80R13 79 TDB70
155/80R13 79 TDB70
155/80R13 79 TDB70
14 inch
175/65R14 82 TDB70
165/70R14 81 TCC70
175/65R14 86 T XLAC67
165/70R14 85 T XLCA71
175/65R14 86 T XLCA71
175/65R14 82 HCA70
185/70R14 88 TCB70
185/60R14 82 HCA70
165/70R14 81 TDB70
165/70R14 85 T XLCA71
185/70R14 88 TCC70
185/70R14 88 HCB70
165/70R14 85 T XLCA71
175/65R14 82 TDB70
175/65R14 86 T XLCA71
185/60R14 82 TCA70
185/70R14 88 TCB70
185/60R14 82 TCA70
185/60R14 82 HCA70
175/65R14 82 HCA70
165/70R14 81 TDB70
175/65R14 86 T XLCA71
165/70R14 81 TDB70
15 inch
185/65R15 88 HAB70
195/65R15 91 TCB71
185/65R15 88 HBB69
195/65R15 91 TCB71
185/65R15 88 TCB70
195/65R15 91 TCB71
185/65R15 88 TCB70
185/65R15 88 TCB70
185/65R15 92 T XLCA71
185/65R15 88 TCB70
195/65R15 95 T XLBA72
195/65R15 91 TCB71
195/65R15 95 T XLAB68
195/65R15 91 TAB69
195/65R15 91 HBB69
185/65R15 88 HCB69
185/65R15 92 T XLCA71
195/65R15 95 T XLBA72
195/65R15 95 T XLBA72
195/65R15 91 TCB71
195/65R15 91 TCB71
185/65R15 88 TCB70
185/65R15 88 TCA70
185/65R15 88 HCC70
195/65R15 91 HBB70
185/65R15 92 T XLCA71
185/65R15 88 HBB68
185/65R15 88 HBB70
16 inch
205/55R16 91 HCB71
205/60R16 92 HBC71
205/60R16 92 HAB71
205/55R16 91 HBB71
205/60R16 92 HBB70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Hankook Kinergy Eco 2 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Hankook Kinergy Eco 2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
165/60 R15 £80.12 - £89.99 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/60 R15 £87.99 - £119.99 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/70 R13 £79.60 - £79.60 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £67.99 - £89.16 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £70.57 - £90.35 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 29 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Kinergy Eco 2 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Volvo V40 1.9D SE (195/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Went for these on my Volvo after being extremly satisfied with Ventus tyre from the same manufacturer.
Had them for about 2000 miles so far and the tyres are excelllent. Driven them in every kind of condition (from sunny hot day to very bad rainy weather and even some frost). Was worried due to some claiming bad grip in wet weather but quite the opposite I found them very good in the wet. Very happy so far, the price is great and would definitely recommend them.
Helpful 161 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2019
Given 44% while driving a (175/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 28,000 average miles
they are some okay tires , it came factory from the car . it is a really noisy tire .but the rolling resistant is quite good , it's very fuel efficient. the cornering we're nimble but it's not really that grippy. the comfort were also quite bad , it's very hard feeling as if you can feel every bump getting amplified .
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2023
Given 95% while driving a Chevrolet optra (195/60 R15) on mostly town for 100 average miles
the tires are new and i have used them for about 3 weeks now. i have only used them on dry conditions on relatively well paved roads. The dry grip is good. I could say that there was relatively quiet driving conditions. The price is the most expensive of tires of the same specs, but I have faith in this Korean brand.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2023
Have you driven on the Hankook Kinergy Eco 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Kinergy Eco 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Kinergy Eco 2 >

Latest Hankook Kinergy Eco 2 Reviews

Given 37% while driving a Nissan Sentra (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Started getting a LOT of road noise and wear at only 15k miles. I do NOT recommend this tire!
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2024
Given 70% while driving a Toyota Yaris Mk4 Hybrid 1.5 (XP210, M15A FXE) (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
A decent tyre, slightly above average in all areas but nothing stand-out. Ran the fronts down to 3mm (Rears still at 5-6mm), where they started to loose performance noticeably in the wet and cold, becoming more prone to triggering the traction and stability control systems than before. Replaced the fronts with the same tyre as they were fantastically good value - £57 each! Now back at 10mm of tread, the tyre's performance is much better and sure-footed again. The fronts lasted just over 20,000 miles.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 77% while driving a Mazda 323F BG 1.8 (175/70 R13) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Fitted these tyres when I bought my car as the tyres that were on it were 20 years old. Bought these tyres as they were the only one with a H speed rating for this tyre size instead of a T rating. I must say that I'm quite happy with them. I have driven them in varying conditions, from warm summer days to heavy downpour and frost (no snow or ice, at max a little patch of ice due to frost, but no whole layers). I have never noticed any sort of grip loss. The tyre communicates quite well when you have reached their limits, even tho you reach that limit quite fast in corners, but that's perhaps also due to the tyre size, in that they don't have a lot of width. Which is why I bought a new set of rims on which I am going to fit another set of Hankooks, but this time, as this size has more choice, an actual performance tyre (ventus v12 evo2). I love driving on the limit and so I'm hoping to get more out of it with wider rims and actual performance tyres, which these weren't. Tho I must say it hurts a little because even after 1.5 years and about 10000 kms they still look new. So overall I would recommend this tyre for this tyresize, they have been splendid.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2022
Given 79% while driving a Peugeot 108 (165/60 R15) on mostly town for 7,000 easy going miles
Bought a set of those to replace the Continental EcoContact 5 that were fitted from factory to the car and were not really satisfied with even when they were new. With the Hankook the car felt a lot better. Grip in dry was significantly improved and the car didn't slip when starting from a standstill. Wet grip is ok but not superb, although I'm sure it's the roads in my city that are in bad condition that cause the low grip. I don't drive the car aggressively but I had to make occasional evasive maneuvers and emergency braking to which the tyres responded safely. The only small disadvantage is the comfort, they feel a little more firm than the Contis. Comfort was also reduced further at temperatures below 10 C. Wear after 1 year and 10.000 Km is non existent, the tyres still look like new. I live in northern Greece were the roads are not very grippy and do not cause a lot of tyre wear. I would definitely buy them again and would recommend to anyone driving a small city car like the 108, the C1, the aygo or anything similar.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2022
Given 46% while driving a Hyundai Avante (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 16,000 spirited miles
Not confidence inspiring in wet weather because wet braking is weak
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2021
Given 53% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
These were on my Kia Ceed when i bought it. They haven't lost a lot of thickness over the years so they'll probably last a long time. They perform well in dry conditions. Not good in wet conditions but the worst thing about them is that they are very noisy. I have Continental Winter Contact in the winter and it is very noticeable when I change to these in spring that they are much more noisy than my winter tires. Also they often loose grip when i accelerate from a stand still and I don't trust them on having grip in an emergency situation. So even though they have more years in them I'm scrapping them.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2021
Given 85% while driving a Toyota Yaris Mk4 Hybrid 1.5 (XP210, M15A FXE) (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Switched to these from the 205/45R17 Bridgestone Ecopias that came with my Yaris Mk4, when I downgraded to 15" rims - Actually wanted Ventus Prime 3's but the dealer apparently has trouble reading beyond the manufacturer name. It's sad how little main dealers seem to care these days. Was expecting garbage from an Eco tyre, but have been pleasantly surprised! It's early days yet, but had to pop in a quick review just because the difference in road noise between the 17" Ecopias and the 15" Hankooks is stark! I don't know how much of this is down to the rim size drop vs the tyres, but the Ecopias were brain-drillingly horrible in terms of road noise, esp. on older tarmac and concrete-slab roads, while the Hankooks have been blissful on all surfaces so far! So far grip and handling don't seem too much different; If anything the car seems a bit nippier off the line and brakes a bit better, but doesn't seem to hold its momentum as much. Not tried it in the wet yet! Hopefully it continues like this as it wears, but so far it seems like another good tyre from Hankook!
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2021
Given 72% while driving a Hyundai i30 (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
I'm not happy with these tires. In dry weather, dry road, low speed the abs was activated even though it's the H speed category and they are almost brand new (less than a year old). This never happened with michelin or continental tires to me. Since they are unreliable on dry, I wonder what I have to expect on wet... I don't know about other hankook models, but thisone is not premium at all.
Helpful 65 - tyre reviewed on May 2, 2020
Given 69% while driving a Hyundai Accent (185/60 R14) on mostly town for 9,500 easy going miles
Had them for over 2 years now with 15000+ km driven on them. The wear is definitely noticeable compared to tires from the past, but the grip and comfort you get for the price point, it's worth it to change them a season earlier than usual.
Helpful 64 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2019
Given 71% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I've had these tyres for almost two years and I can say for sure I've made a good choice. In around 8000 miles, done in different summer conditions (extreme hot weather and pouring rain), these tyres didn't let me down.
Dry grip is good and I allows for fast cornering without worries. What really impressed me was wet grip and braking, which are a plus for these tyres. Dry braking is also good. The tyres stick to the road and they never squeal even on brutal braking in emergency situations, even though they are fitted on a car without ABS.
Overall conclusion: good tyres for the price range. However, do not expect them to behave like high performance tyres. If you own a powerful car and enjoy spirited driving, there are better (and more expensive) options to choose from.
Helpful 57 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2019