Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco

The Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Kinergy Eco 2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 75%
Wear 72%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 70%

Tyre review data from 46 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 720,364 miles driven.

The K425 Kinergy Eco is ranked 39th of 199 Summer Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 ACE Mid Range Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

View Full Test >>

2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 5th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, particularly good in the dry
  • Negative - None mentioned
View Full Test >>

2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16 - 16th of 19 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks in fuel consumption and noise
  • Negative - Weak in the wet, high wear
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T OE E C 68 5.22kgs
155/70 R13 75T OE E C 69 5.21kgs
185/55 R14 80H REP C B 70 6.71kgs
165/60 R14 75H REP E C 69 5.87kgs
165/60 R14 75H OE E B 68 5.68kgs
165/60 R14 75H OE E C 69 5.94kgs
165/60 R14 75T REP E C 69 5.87kgs
175/60 R14 79H REP E C 69 6.31kgs
185/60 R14 82T REP C B 69 6.63kgs
185/60 R14 82H REP E B 69 7.18kgs
195/60 R14 86H REP C B 69 7.43kgs
155/65 R14 75T REP E C 69 5.65kgs
165/65 R14 79T REP E C 69 6.09kgs
175/65 R14 82H REP C C 69 6.60kgs
175/65 R14 82T OE B C 65 6.24kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL REP C C 69 6.82kgs
175/65 R14 82T REP E B 69 7.06kgs
175/65 R14 82T REP E B 69 7.10kgs
185/65 R14 86H REP C B 69 6.95kgs
185/65 R14 86T REP C B 69 6.96kgs
185/65 R14 86T REP C B 69 6.94kgs
165/70 R14 81T REP E B 69 6.63kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL REP E C 69 6.19kgs
165/70 R14 81T OE E B 69 6.50kgs
165/70 R14 81T OE E E 69 6.38kgs
165/70 R14 81T OE B C 64 6.10kgs
175/70 R14 84T REP E C 69 6.54kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL REP C C 69 6.80kgs
185/70 R14 88T REP E C 69 7.00kgs
195/70 R14 91T REP C C 69 7.65kgs
175/80 R14 88T REP E C 69 7.11kgs
175/50 R15 75H OE E C 69 6.44kgs
195/50 R15 82H REP C B 69 7.30kgs
175/55 R15 77T REP C B 69 6.68kgs
175/55 R15 77T REP E B 69 6.73kgs
185/55 R15 82H REP C B 70 7.02kgs
195/55 R15 85H REP C B 69 7.79kgs
195/55 R15 85H REP C B 69 7.56kgs
175/60 R15 81H REP C B 69 6.71kgs
175/60 R15 81V REP C B 69 6.71kgs
185/60 R15 84H OE C B 69 7.33kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL REP C B 69 7.41kgs
185/60 R15 84H REP E B 69 7.47kgs
185/60 R15 84H OE C B 69 7.40kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL OE B B 69 7.29kgs
195/60 R15 88V REP C B 69 7.78kgs
195/60 R15 88H REP C B 69 7.75kgs
195/60 R15 88H REP C B 69 7.78kgs
205/60 R15 91H REP B B 71 7.95kgs
205/60 R15 91V REP B B 71 8.34kgs
145/65 R15 72T REP E E 69 5.54kgs
165/65 R15 81T REP E E 69 6.37kgs
175/65 R15 84H OE C B 69 7.47kgs
175/65 R15 84T REP C C 69 6.98kgs
175/65 R15 88H XL OE C B 70 7.47kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL REP C A 69 7.61kgs
185/65 R15 88H OE C C 70 7.52kgs
185/65 R15 88T REP C B 69 7.37kgs
185/65 R15 88H REP E A 69 7.94kgs
185/65 R15 88T REP C B 69 7.39kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL REP B B 69 8.77kgs
195/65 R15 91H OE C C 71 8.13kgs
195/65 R15 91H OE B B 69 7.67kgs
195/65 R15 91T REP C A 69 8.17kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL REP A A 71 8.02kgs
195/65 R15 91T REP C A 69 8.26kgs
195/65 R15 91T OE B B 69 8.51kgs
195/65 R15 91T OE E C 71 8.80kgs
195/65 R15 91H OE C C 71 7.79kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL REP C A 69 8.93kgs
195/65 R15 91V REP C A 69 8.34kgs
195/65 R15 91H REP C A 69 8.17kgs
195/65 R15 91H OE C C 71 8.11kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL REP C A 69 8.77kgs
195/65 R15 91H OE C E 70 7.92kgs
205/65 R15 94H REP B B 71 8.66kgs
205/65 R15 94V REP C B 71 8.73kgs
205/65 R15 99T XL REP B B 71 9.21kgs
215/65 R15 96H REP C B 71 9.32kgs
195/55 R16 87V OE E C 69 8.53kgs
195/55 R16 87H REP C C 70 8.18kgs
195/55 R16 87V REP C B 70 8.27kgs
205/55 R16 91V REP C A 70 8.54kgs
205/55 R16 91V REP C A 70 8.72kgs
205/55 R16 91H REP B B 70 8.55kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL REP B B 71 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 91H REP B B 70 8.60kgs
205/55 R16 91H OE C E 71 8.66kgs
205/55 R16 91V REP C A 70 8.71kgs
205/60 R16 92H REP B B 71 8.56kgs
205/60 R16 92V OE C C 71 9.29kgs
205/60 R16 92V OE C C 70 9.10kgs
205/60 R16 92H REP B B 71 8.88kgs
205/60 R16 92V REP B B 71 8.99kgs
205/60 R16 92H OE C C 71 9.00kgs
215/60 R16 95V OE C A 70 10.39kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL REP B B 71 10.39kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL REP B B 71 10.26kgs

Questions and Answers for the Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco

2017-05-19 - Hi, I see that there are 3 versions listed for the size 195/65 R15 91T, each with a different weight. How come? Thanks a lot.

Different speed and load ratings, plus different manufacturing plants can result in different tyre weights.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


K425 Kinergy Eco Prices

Size Price Range  
165/70 R14 £41.20 - £62.50 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £51.80 - £110.50 (26 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/60 R15 £52.00 - £67.36 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £45.70 - £148.10 (55 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £50.77 - £94.80 (38 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 17 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Toyota Prius (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 13,000 average miles
Been satisfied with these tyre,but not good wear on front tyres,down to 4mm after 13K MILES,not very good.
203 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2016   
Given 41% while driving a (195/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
These are the worst tyres I have ever had in my whole life and I have been driving for decades. I googled the reviews on these before buying them. However, nobody mentioned the noise level ! And they are not cheap tyres either. I cannot bear the noise inside the car since I got these tyres. Everybody is asking me what happened my car - the noise is horrific in the cabin - particularly at speed on the open road. You have to shout at each other just to talk. The noise is so unbearable that I am considering replacing the tyres with a known brand, even though these tyres are new and only have 1000 done on them. Also, even though they are new, the noise is progressively getting worse. Regarding other aspects, they are fine, but my driving is a misery since I got them. All in all, I think nobody should buy these tyres and this is the first time I have ever reviewed anything. But be warned. Only a deaf person could be happy with these tyres.
45 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2018   
Given 53% while driving a MINI Cooper (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Not wanting the poor ride quality of run-flat tyres when ordering a new Mini I specified the smallest 16inch wheels as they came with high profile conventional tyres.
What I did not know was that the tyres would be eco tyres. Oh dear the Hankook Kinergy Eco tyres are like concrete. Similar in feel to run-flats.
Please be aware that nearly all the tests are from German magazines and they seem to accept a restless uncomfortable ride on anything other than autobahns.
I would never buy or recommend these tyres if you are interested in ride comfort. On most British A and B roads I consider them unfit for purpose..
36 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2018   
Have you driven on the Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco >

Latest Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco Reviews

Given 88% while driving a Citroën c2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Tyres seem best I've had grip good no problems. I drive hard and gently. Best tyres i've had
2 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2020   
Given 94% while driving a Hyundai elantra (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 31,000 average miles
Hankook Kinergy Eco was a good overall tyre. I have use these tyres for about 6 years. I've changed them this week due to the age, not because of wear problems. The wear of the tyre it was really good. The sidewall was pretty strong, and the dry handling was good. To be noticed that the tyre it's not made for fast driving, but in the corners the car using these tyres was really stable. The speed coefficient it's H, and I was able to test the tyres at 210 kph. No vibration, the car was really stable at that speed also. From what I know, now it's available a new generation on the market, Kinergy Eco 2. I do not know much about this new gen, but the first gen I can really recommend, especially if you do a lot of miles.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2020   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 76% while driving a Suzuki Swift (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 6,820 average miles
In my opinion, a very good tire. It adheres very well on dry road surfaces and is very quiet. My car's fuel consumption is also very favorable to it. Compared to your knowledge, the price is good! The only drawback is that you lose a bit of grip on wet roads!
13 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2019   
Given 66% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
Until 2 years ago, I'd only owned fast petrol hatchbacks. To save on running costs I switched to a diesel estate; so my view on noise may be unfounded.
I am writing this after having driven on Hankook Kinergy Eco K425s for nearly 2 years and over 20,000 miles.

For the daily grind, which in my case involves motorway & v slow city traffic these tyres have been fine.
Wet grip is good, I've not had any aquaplaning.
Dry grip is good, I've not felt the car loose traction
Braking is v.good, in the few emergency stops I've had to make, the car has stopped quickly without skidding.
Snow/Ice grip is average. I could feel the car slipping when driving through the back roads, but always had enough traction to keep moving.
Road noise is poor, especially at motorway speeds. Not so bad that I wanted to change the tyres, just noisier than tyres I'd been used to.

I'm just changing the tyres now, after 2 years of use they are down to between 2.6mm & 3mm. I know you can legally drive to 1.6mm but it's also common knowledge that wet stopping distance suffers a lot, well before then.

Overall not a bad tyre for the price if your car blocks out external noise.
8 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2018   
Peugeot 207 1.4 16v (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Good tires with no obvious weaknesses. For this price, great value, more than good. With normal driving and a bit agressive, no issues on dry and wet. Recommended for 15”.
15 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2017   
Given 74% while driving a Fiat 1.2 16V (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Suprisingly good on dry, excelent on wet. Producing terrible noise in cabin. For 24 years driving experience never heard so noisy tires (Except maybe winter Debica Frigo)
Driving on this tires is beautiful experience but only when radio is set to loud.
8 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (185/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 27,000 miles
This is a second set of Hankooks for me. First one was Optimo K715, which are good tires, too, but for me, K425 Kinergy Eco are awesome! If you are normal, enjoy-driving rider, this is tire for you! Comparing the price, performances and lasting, Ecos are out of competition, an absolute champions in their category!
7 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2017   
Given 88% while driving a Honda Accord (195/60 R14 H) on mostly town for 300 spirited miles
I have fitted these to replace Michelin Energy E3A as well as Energy Saver+ (I had two sets of wheels).

K425s are very comfortable tyres. Their shock absorption is slightly better than both Michelins and vibration when driving has been reduced quite a bit. Rebound after passing the gap is managed really well, not like pogo stick and they settle quickly. Noise is very quiet compare to Michelins, too. I can hear them slightly however, they are similar to air noise when driving and not annoying at all. Even on rough tarmac surfaces, the noise level doesn't go up or change much, which is rather impressive. Comfort wise, I feel as if my car had a upgrade to more expensive saloon.

At low to mid speed range, initial turn in response is not as sharp as Michelins, or I could say mild, not like those more sporty tyres such as BS Potenza. However, once the car starts turning with adequate roll, K425s hold very well and are stable throughout the corner. Also it is easy to keep the line I aim at than Michelins. At motorway speed, K425 are easy to keep the straight line however, I feel Michelins are slightly better. On the high speed corner, K425s are excellent, similar to at lower speed as above, and I felt confident jumping into the bends.

In the wet, I haven't had much chance to push K425 but I didn't feel any uneasiness so far. As a trial, I intentionally drove only one side of tyres into large puddles on the road several times but there were no disturbance to the steering wheel, which is very different from Michelins.

Most impressive aspect of K425s is their low rolling resistance, in my case. In several occasions, when I am following the car in front with throttle off, I need to use brakes as my car keeps on going without losing the momentum than other cars in the traffic. It is evident when I am driving down hill, even if it is very slight, I could close the throttle and my car keeps on gliding. As expected, the mpg went up about 10%. This is partially because E3A has relatively high rolling resistance however, it is great news to me.

Overall, K425s are very comfortable tyres and I highly recommend considering the cheaper price than those top brand tyres - as the moment I don't feel any reason to pay more to by Michelin or Continentals. Its response when turning in is not as good as more sporty tyres however, for family car users these are safe and comfortable option.
9 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2017   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Very pleased with these tyres. I mostly drive on twisty country roads and I really push hard on them and have yet to find the edge of grip. Car is lowered on coilovers and for this size wheel i cant get better tyres! I have no tread left after this time but these lasted a couple months longer than other tyres with my driving style. Pushed them on a little in the wet the other day and although nearly bald they kept me safe. The only downside in my opinion is the flowers on the sidewall.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Toyota 2006 Avalon (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
cheaper than michelin and bridgestone but performs when new as good a michelin and better than bridgestone.
price is more competitive than the 2 above mentioned.generally very happy with hankook this being 2nd model i buy after v12 evo 2. will not give my money to the big names anymore since the price they make you pay does not correspond to the durability of the tire.
6 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2017   
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk5 1.9 TDI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,500 spirited miles
Good tyres for its price
7 - tyre reviewed on February 5, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Chevrolet sonic (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 56,000 easy going miles
I bought my car (Chevrolet Sonic 1600 automatic) fitted with these tyres and only have to replace the one set now after 56 000 miles (90 000km). This is exceptional for any tyre I have ever had on any of my cars. I am very impressed by the even wear on the tyres. The only concern is the flaking of the tyre which could be due to the previous driver's style of driving? Overall, very happy with the performance.
18 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2016