MINI Cooper Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the MINI Cooper.

Do you Drive a MINI Cooper? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cooper better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Zeon RS3 A (3) 97% 93% 93% 90% 93% 90%
Rovelo RHP 780P (1) 90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (238) 93% 90% 86% 88% 79% 81%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 (40) 83% 91% 78% 83% 88% 85%
Falken ZE914 (99) 89% 81% 84% 80% 82% 81%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (111) 88% 86% 82% 74% 88% 87%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Neuton NT5000 (66) 88% 77% 81% 76% 84% 83%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (99) 87% 83% 81% 80% 77% 79%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (89) 85% 81% 81% 82% 78% 76%
Nankang Cross Seasons AW6 (5) 84% 80% 83% 62% 80% 78%
Delinte D7 (4) 85% 78% 78% 80% 85% 73%
Pirelli Cinturato P1 Verde (45) 83% 75% 79% 74% 84% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (175) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (32) 81% 74% 77% 73% 80% 84%
Pirelli Cinturato All Season SF2 (14) 83% 80% 77% 69% 87% 85%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (182) 88% 84% 79% 76% 62% 83%
Haida HD617 (1) 80% 90% 80% 90% 70% 80%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Uniroyal WinterExpert (5) 86% 92% 74% 74% 77% 72%
Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco (49) 83% 77% 77% 74% 72% 77%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Yokohama S Drive (65) 83% 69% 75% 77% 71% 68%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (181) 83% 73% 73% 75% 70% 74%
Davanti DX640 (94) 79% 71% 75% 73% 65% 78%
Nexen N8000 (80) 79% 74% 69% 66% 69% 79%
Toyo T1R (288) 83% 69% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Toyo R888 (37) 90% 63% 80% 78% 59% 55%
Nexen N6000 (63) 81% 70% 74% 65% 71% 74%
Fulda Kristall Montero 2 (4) 60% 83% 65% 58% 78% 55%
Rotalla S110 Ice Plus (3) 73% 73% 77% 70% 45% 73%
Goodyear Excellence (125) 79% 70% 72% 71% 72% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (27) 83% 73% 72% 74% 71% 57%
Pirelli Winter Snow Control Series 3 (10) 82% 86% 74% 78% 74% 71%
Wanli S1200 (2) 80% 65% 65% 65% 55% 90%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Landsail LS388 AS (49) 77% 69% 72% 68% 71% 77%
Pirelli P3000 (17) 74% 57% 66% 58% 65% 67%
Davanti DX390 (24) 69% 60% 62% 60% 65% 63%
Pirelli Eufori (10) 79% 59% 68% 66% 54% 39%
Nankang XR611 (21) 64% 41% 55% 54% 69% 59%
Accelera Alpha (130) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 56%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (69) 69% 38% 56% 52% 68% 62%
Autogrip Grip 200 (9) 69% 40% 47% 50% 48% 46%
Infinity INF 040 (19) 64% 33% 43% 36% 55% 42%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Mohawk M112 (28) 59% 34% 44% 40% 53% 46%
Fortuna F2900 (4) 57% 13% 23% 23% 37% 17%

MINI Cooper Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 84% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
I had these tyres on the Mini for some time and they have been very confident and competent. Given that they are a ten year old design and the tyre is still so competent, I wonder if Dunlop has improved them quietly over the years as they are very widely available at BMW/Mini dealerships still. So after hitting the biggest pot hole in the world and broke the springs and many things, the dealer had to replace my front tyres as well. They recommended the starred (bmw fitment) Dunlop Sport Maxx RT again and even though I could have got the supreme Michelin Pilot Sport 5 for a much cheaper price outside a dealership, I agreed with the dealer and chose the Dunlop again. That is how highly I rate these tyres after years of driving with them and the Dunlops are phenominal at dealing with aquaplaning!
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-09 16:00:21
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 given 79% (175-65-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
Have used the original Vector 4, the Gen 2 and now these Gen 3's on various cars over the years, and they have always been very good in the cold and wet. However, these Gen 3 are probably the best yet when it gets warm and dry, with improved breaking in these conditions.
Unfortunately though they don't seem to suit our current Mini F56 hatch, due to the persistent and noticeable tyre roar. Not sure if its down to our current model of car, or the new design of the Gen 3, but they are certainly nosier than the previous Vector 4 tread patterns, which I've used on other small sized cars with similar sized tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-13 14:58:29
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 28000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-26 04:50:26
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun given 95% (205-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
I am very impressed with the falken ecorun. they respond very well dry grip buit also in wet grip. I dont have anything to reproach so far. The Confort is amazing. I can barely hear then. I have michellin sport 4 for winter and they are a lot noisier. And the price was really good, around 95 euro/ tyre. I really recomand and probably I would buy again in the future.
tyre reviewed on 2023-05-08 05:47:09
Writing about the Davanti DX390 given 51% (195-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
I was looking for all season tyres, but local tyre place said it would be 2- 3 weeks to get them,, so he recommended these Diavanti DX390`s. Told me they are a summer tyre really, but are overall very good, well I have driven about 300 miles on them, and they are not good at all. £75.00 each isn`t cheap either, I have noticed a lot have cars have this brand of tyre, so maybe dealers are getting a good mark up to sell them, that`s the only reason I can think of to promote them. They are rubbish, and I have had a few nasty moments with them already in light rain at around 50mph, the grip is okay at first, then suddenly just lets go. I am going back to tyre depot tomorrow to complain, because these tyres are rubbish and actually I think they are dangerous. They are supposedly designed in the UK and made in China, well there is your clue, Made in China, a copied tyre pattern from a premium brand, but built like all Chinese tyres, ie poor quality.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-24 11:01:21
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato All Season SF2 given 73% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-10 03:18:01
Writing about the Pirelli Winter Snow Control Series 3 given 91% (195-55-16-)
Driving on for 1500 spirited miles
I used these for a winter in New England but didn't drive in active snow storms, only on packed snow roads. They drive well in dry and wet conditions in a cold climate and did fine on packed snow (at slow speeds). I'd buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-23 18:30:27
Writing about the Haida HD617 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 1000 average miles
It's a good tyre in handling and grip in dry and wet weather
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-06 19:11:28
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 87% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
Hello, I'm running 205/45 R17 88Y BMW-spec (star mark) PSS on my 2012 Mini Cooper R56 LCI. Contrary to my HN-spec PSS I run on my GTI this BMW-spec PSS performs great under almost all conditions, even in the rain and below +10 to 15°C (where the HN suffers). Actually it feels very much like what I'd expect from a PS4. This spec PSS has been tailored to the 2012 R56 GP as a more wet weather-friendly alternative to the Kumho V70 semislicks. The PSS has been a no-cost factory option for the GP at that time. As the PSS is well known for market-leading braking performance I'd expect the Mini to attain shorter braking distances than it did in contemporary reviews with the tyres factory fitted at that time. This PSS is quite wide and thus provides good rim protection for a stock 7.0Jx17 wheel, actually these tyres do look wide on stock 7,0Jx17 wheels (perhaps because the GP wheel is 7.5" wide). However they don't feel as stiff as the runflats our Mini came with from factory, so ride comfort is clearly superior (actually ride comfort was unbearable with runflats which was the reason to ditch the runflats prematurely). On the other hand high-speed cornering (>100 km/h) stability just isn't as good as with Conti SC3 runflats, however that's what you'd expect from a less stiff tyre. It's also stunningly quiet and wear is good too. After roughly 25.000 km/15.000 mls they lost about 25 percent of their tread depth and that includes some spirited driving and elevated Autobahn speeds. Anyhow, I'd still recommend this tyre for any R50-R59 and F55-F57 Mini running 17" wheels and as an alternative to Michelin's PS4 and PS5, Goodyears Eage F1 Asymmetric 5/6, Pirelli P Zero PZ4 and similar as this PSS seems to be the only non-runflat tyre actually specifically designed for Minis in this 205/45 R17 size. Lastly, one hint: Don't follow the exaggerated tyre pressure recommendations Mini suggested from 2011 on, driven by BMW's attempt to reduce rolling resistance and enhance fuel economy. As vehicle weight, performance and suspension geometry remained the same, stay with BMW/Mini's recommendation up to 2010, so 2,2 bar/32 PSI is just fine in case of a R56 Mini One or Cooper. It rides better and it grips better. This is in line with Continental's and Michelin's recommendations.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-24 09:17:45
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Competent tyre in both wet and dry. Excellent in aquaplaning. Wear is ok.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-15 16:34:17
Writing about the Uniroyal WinterExpert given 72% (205-60-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 34000 spirited miles
On the heavy rain you can get away with everything
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-04 02:29:16
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P1 Verde given 74% (175-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Good for an eco tyre The dry grip was as expected, a mini has fairly balanced handling and the tyre performed well. The longitudinal grip wasn't as strong as I expected with the car having no difficulty in getting a little whee spin. However the lateral cornering grip far exceeded my expectations, the tyre grips very well for an eco tyre, under high load the tread blocks feel firm, the sidewall squish is predictable and road feedback is good. Same under wet conditional, longitudinal grip isn't as good as I expected however lateral grip is far better. Under very wet (heavy stormy) conditions, the tyre shows it isn't a PS4 or a Quatrac 5. Road noise is good as well, not EV foam filled tyre good, but still good. The tyre is lasting well and as comfortable as expected. For an eco tyre, the tyre performed well.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-06 11:15:13
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre