Dunlop SportMaxx RT

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT and this tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 82%
Wear 60%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 69%

Tyre review data from 167 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 1,539,270 miles driven.

The SportMaxx RT is ranked 30th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2015 Sport Auto 235/35 R19 UHP Tyre Test - 4th of 7 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling on wet roads, short braking distance on dry roads, very low rolling resistance, low noise level
  • Negative - Relatively long braking distances on wet surfaces, slow reaction to the steering in the dry
View Full Test >>

2015 AZ 225/40 R18 Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distances on wet surfaces, short braking distance on dry roads, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Slow response to steering and a tendency to understeer in the dry
View Full Test >>

2015 EVO Magazine Performance Tyre Test - 6th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Dunlop performed consistently, but not outstandingly in any test, other than straight line aquaplaning.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         10.31kgs
205/45 R16 83W XL   E A 67 7.24kgs
205/50 R16 87W XL   E A 66 7.63kgs
225/50 R16 92Y XL   E A 67 9.35kgs
205/55 R16 91Y XL   E A 67 8.72kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL AO E B 67 8.60kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 67 9.59kgs
215/55 R16 93Y XL   C A 67 9.61kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C B 67 9.96kgs
225/55 R16 95Y XL   C A 67 9.93kgs
195/40 R17 81V XL   E B 70 8.32kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL AO C A 68 8.72kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL * B B 66 8.40kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL *RSC C B 66 9.35kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL   B A 69 9.07kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL AO2 E A 67 9.84kgs
225/45 R17 91Y AO E B 69 9.13kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL   C B 67 9.30kgs
215/50 R17 91Y XL   E A 67 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL J B A 68 9.93kgs
235/55 R17 99V XL AO C A 67 11.40kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 69 9.95kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO1 C A 69 9.73kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL MO C A 68 9.67kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   B A 69 8.90kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO E B 70 11.05kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL J B A 68 9.58kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO E B 69 9.63kgs
245/50 R18 100W MO C A 68 12.91kgs
245/50 R18 100W XL MO E B 68 12.96kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO E B 68 10.23kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO F A 68 10.90kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO E B 68 10.21kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MO1 E A 69 10.58kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E A 69 11.50kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E A 70 11.77kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL J C A 69 10.46kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO1 E A 71 12.82kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL MO E A 69 9.39kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL MO E A 68 9.64kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E B 70 11.11kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL J C A 68 10.17kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL MO C A 69 9.39kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 68 10.57kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL MO C C 70 13.89kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL   C A 69 12.61kgs
275/40 R19 101Y MGT E A 67 14.74kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B A 67 10.68kgs
245/45 R19 98Y MGT E A 68 12.17kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL MO C A 68 13.07kgs
235/55 R19 101V XL   B A 69 13.70kgs
235/55 R19 101V XL   B A 71 12.65kgs
235/55 R19 101W XL   C A 69 13.85kgs
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 70 13.40kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E C 71 12.61kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E C 71 12.65kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E C 71 12.30kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL RO1 E C 71 12.30kgs
305/25 R21 98Y XL   C A 70 13.66kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 68 11.56kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL RO1 E A 71 12.29kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL RO1 E A 71 12.63kgs
335/25 R22 105Y XL   C A 71 16.10kgs
295/30 R22 103Y XL   C A 70 14.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT

2016-07-30 - i have dunlop 225/45zr17 on my skoda suberb and i have 39000 kilometers on what millage would i expecp to get

That is excellent mileage for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT, especially if it is the front pair of tyres.


2016-10-08 - What is the correct psi for these tyres

The tyre pressure for the Dunlop Sport Maxx RT is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-01-02 - Are they run flat??

There are runflat versions of the SportMaxx RT


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SportMaxx RT Prices

Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £95.59 - £105.37 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £60.69 - £114.40 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £78.79 - £98.30 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £65.66 - £83.74 (31 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £115.99 - £132.47 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 32 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre, fantastic performance.
81 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2012   
Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Bought thee to replace a pair of dreadful Arrowspeed Performance UHP's after less than 1000 miles on them.
The Arrowspeeds were borderline dangerous on the rear, Stability control was triggering a lot and the car would sway about if changing lanes or changing direction quickly....simply can't say a good thing about them.
Dunlops have transformed the car, quieter, much more stable and very grippy in every way a nice match to the car
24 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2019   
Given 23% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (225/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 700 average miles
Just got my brand new leon at the end of August 17 ( so under 1 month) and to my disppointement it arrived with Dunlopp Maxx RT. I didn't like the bluesport model as the wear was shockingly bad but these tyres are just as awful. The handling is scary and the tyres feel really unstable in straight lines as well as corners (lack of grip) and on the motorway. No problem with the car itself. Maybe the high wear will be a good thing as I can't wait to get rid of them. I would not recommend Dunlopp Maxx rt
20 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2017   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SportMaxx RT tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SportMaxx RT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SportMaxx RT >

Latest Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

Given 56% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
I'm having two set of this tyres. On a suv 235/55 r19, on a sedan 225/45 r17. The wear is surprisingly very good, both of tyres around 30.000 kms (19000 miles) and more the half of the thread left (5-6mm!) The only concern is the noise.. In the firs year it was exceptional good. The next year it was good. This is the third season, in this season, it is unbearable. On highway speed (around 90 mph), if the asphalt is not brand new, we cant talk. The radio cannot be loud enough. So its terrible. I'm trying to survive this year, and next year i will buy another brand.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2021   
Nissan (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
On wet surface ----useless... These are very good on dry conditions / Highway - for city useless...
0 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen e Golf (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
Fitted as std equipment to my eGolf, initially I was pleased with these tyres. Dry grip is good, noise is very low. However one rear punctured quite easily, the other rear developed a slow puncture which could not be located. Despite a new valve, rim clean and refit the air loss persisted. The fronts began to develop cracks in every tread and at 12000 miles were worn . I replaced the set with Michelin E primacy. I’m unlikely to purchase Dunlop again.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2021   
Given 87% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
I bought the Sport Maxx RT’s on my A6 to replace the P Zero’s that were OE fit. The Dunlop’s are far superior imho because they warm up much quicker than the P Zero’s and don’t understeer like the Pirelli’s. The are quieter, grippier in all weather especially the wet, but as far as longevity goes all I can say is so far I’ve put 13000 miles on them and they still look like new. I think the P Zeros were quite a hard tyre as I got nearly 40000 miles out of them and they used to understeer a tad in cooler weather or in the wet compared to the Dunlop’s.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2021   
Given 57% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 2,500 average miles
These tyres came stock fitted on my new Skoda Octavia Estate. The tyres have simply terrible grip on greasy wet roads from a standstill in colder temperatures, wheels spinning with average pressure on the throttle and forget about a quick start. Dry performance is better as expected, wet and dry braking times are decent enough. The road noise is however pretty bad. Can't wait to change them out for Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2's.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2021   
Given 73% while driving a Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I had some cheap GT Radial Champiro FE1 and the grip was poor. Beside bad handling the car was bad at braking, after i change the to the Dunlops, the car change totally, much better grip in the dry and much better handling. And breaking got much better too. So for this size of tire. This is a tire i can really recommend.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Side grip is very bad,on the wet road they are very,very good,brakes are solid
1 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2020   
Given 59% while driving a Subaru WRX Limited (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
I live and drive an above normal amount across Colorado. I have these tires fitted to my 2018 Subaru WRX Limited (Vehicle is stock). These tires were the O.E.M. fitment from Subaru. While they are sporty and do fit the vehicle’s driving dynamics, they leave a lot to be desired. Straight line, high speed grip was a little floaty at first but as the tire wore this settled out. At highway speeds the tire tends to try and track any ruts in the road which causes constant steering input to stay centered in your lane. At city speeds, as the tire wore down, it began to track more aggressively in these ruts resulting in an increasing amount of steering input. Driving in the mountains, spiritedly of course, the tire felt on the limit well before you reached that limit. There was a vagueness when you turned in on what would be the acceptable speed for a corner, regardless of previous speeds entering the same corner. This vagueness was consistent throughout the life of the tire. In the wet, the tires performed admirably. Significantly less grip in the wet when cornering, but no aquaplaning issues. On highway in the wet, the tires were stable and relatively predictable when encountering aquaplaning through deeper water. In the snow you are better off walking to your destination. The road noise was a bit loud, and when encountering bumps and cracks in the road you felt every millimeter of rebound. At 25,000 miles I expected a bit more life from these tires, seeing as majority of the mid-to-outer tread was still well within the legal limit. However, the inside edge of the tires began wearing suddenly and rapidly causing a light grey band of wear to appear which also began a slight squeaking noise. Upon checking my alignment, finding nothing abnormal, and resetting the alignment even more accurately, the tires continued this odd wear pattern. In summary, these tires were acceptable tires fitted from the factory, but with the staggering amount of options available with better characteristics I would not purchase them. They are no cheaper than any Michelin, Goodyear, or Continental offering, which would be the only reason I would repurchase them. These tires will do when you first purchase your vehicle and start to learn its characteristics. But once you’ve achieved a certain proficiency with your vehicle, the next step up in tires is a necessity.
3 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2020   
Given 66% while driving a Audi A7 S Line 245ps (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Tyres have developed cracks (some span 1/3 of the tyre) when the tyre wear indicator shows plenty of life left in the tread. Investigating more there appears to be some quite severe cases of tyre failure. Worryingly, my tyres developed the cracks on the inside tyre walls so were unnoticeable until I removed them to change Xenon bulbs. No idea how long they have been like that
9 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Nissan Skyline V35 (225/40 R19) on mostly town for 12,000 spirited miles
I got these tyres as a temporary substitute when I changed my wheels. They were excellent in the dry and very good in the wet. The Dunlops also made the car quieter overall. Very little noise. I noticed too that the more they wore, the stickier they got. The sidewalls on these isn't as hard as the previous tyres, but the all out grip was impressive none the less. I would definitely buy a new set, but the price and availability make it hard to get.
11 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Positive : Good at dry and wet handling, good performance, low fuel consumption, quiet.
Negative: high price, very very low wear. (tire almost done at 13000 miles). For this reason, i dont buy again.
13 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a BMW 320D (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Tyre with excellent performances.
Will definetly buy them again.
8 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2019