Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 53 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 607,060 miles driven, and 8 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 76%
Wear 64%
Comfort 64%
Buy again 50%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size16 - 18"
Width195 - 245mm
Profile40 - 60
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)68 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The SP Sport Maxx TT is ranked 55th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP Sport 01 and this tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop SportMaxx RT.

Tests Included

8

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

7th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2011 Autobild Max Performance Summer Tyre Test
7th of 10 tyres
  • Good tires balanced without ups and downs, good aquaplaning safety reserves and short braking distances on wet and dry roads.
  • Slightly less grip in wet conditions, moderate ride comfort.
View Full Test >>
2011 Auto Zeitung Max Performance Tyre Test
3rd of 14 tyres
  • The agile Sport Maxx TT speaks to the sporty driver
View Full Test >>
2011 Auto Express Ultra High Performance Tyre Test
7th of 10 tyres
  • The now dated Dunlop Sport Maxx TT had a “middle of the road” performance, not excelling in any area but not failing in any area other than rolling resistance. The replacement to the Dunlop Sport Maxx TT should be an exciting tyre.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
225/55R16 95 WCB70
205/55R16 91 WCC69
195/55R16 87 WDB68
205/55R16 91 WCC71
17 inch
225/60R17 99 VDB71
225/60R17 99 VDC71
225/45R17 91 WDC70
245/40R17 91 WDC69
225/50R17 94 WCC70
225/45R17 91 YCB71
225/45R17 91 WCB70
235/55ZR17 103 W XLBB72
18 inch
245/50R18 100 WDB71
215/45R18 89 WDC68
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT >>

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT

2016-04-07 - I have a Ford Focus that recommends 31psi for my Dunlop 235/40 18ZR tyres. The supplier recommended 35 psi as they are low profile .any suggestions on what are the best pressures

The Ford pressure will have been recommended based on a low profile tyre for that particular vehicle, but it doesn't always mean it's correct for your driving style. We'd suggest trying both pressures and seeing which you prefer, all while keeping an eye on the tyre to ensure it is wearing evenly at your chosen pressure.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £82.44 - £126.05 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £129.10 - £129.10 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 10 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Mazda 3 2014 (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 32,000 spirited miles
18s came on the Mazda 3 premium. Drove them to 51000km before retiring them, mainly because I hadn't rotated the tires and the wear became disturbingly uneven- but it still had some treadlife. Switched to the ContiSportContact 5 and although a little wider at 225 and lower profile at 40, feels about the same. However, I did notice the Contis had worse breaking distance--but it could be new tire issue. Also the Dunlops felt lighter probably because they are old now with less rubber--could contribute to the braking distinction. I switched also because the Dunlops are overpriced where I am and wanted to try something else. But yeah, even at 51000km, they were still solid in the dry and fine on wet highways if you lookout for puddles. They did start to squeak if you push them in turns at around 35-40000km.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2023
Given 81% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
came on new mazda3 2014
they are pretty good
now with more than 20000 km if you push the car
they start show the wear of the tire if they come a bit hot (more than normal)
im very please with the over all performance and i was going to buy again if they was a bit more silent.
Helpful 109 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2015
Given 63% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2018 (215/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 29,500 spirited miles
These come as brand new factory tires with my car back in 2018. In its early life, both dry/wet grip and cornering were pretty good but when the mileage neared 13000-15000 miles the grips were lost significantly. For some reasons (that I still have no idea to date) the price of this is whole lot higher than PS4, Potenza RE003 and GY Eagle F1; this is the main reason that I won't buy this again. I've already made an order for Continental MC6, will get these installed next month.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2021
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT Reviews

(215/55 R17) on for 0 miles
Driven with Michelin, pirelli, Bridgestone, Falken...but Dunlops are the worst ever. Waste of money. Compromises everything about the car. Bad handling. Zero comfort. Never to buy again.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Honda 1.8 iVTEC Es (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
Great tyres that work well on the 1.8 civic. No complaints as they have not only lasted well but you get great feedback and no roll so great for handling.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 67% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (215/45 R18) on mostly town for 37,000 average miles
pretty much sporty tyres, not as comfortable with hard sidewalls for daily but did ok, good fuel economy, a bit noisy but mazda3 has poor noise isolation, very good wear with 37k miles and 6 years still with 3mm tread but the sidewall started having cracks so would not pass MOT, in last year I noticed that wet grip was weaker than before. overall I am satisfied with what these tyres did. I am now changing to Goodyear F1 asymmetric 3 which I found for good price
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2021
Given 44% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
You need a column for appears. The appearance of these tyres is HORRIBLE. Picture a formal one car bulge out the side of the tyre, no fancy grip design, just straight lines and a big bulging stupid looking tyre. I never thought appearance of a tyre would matter to me until i seen these ugly ass tyres. The Grip looks so basic that im worried about driving in wet with them. AVOID. Not worth the money.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2020
Mazda (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Well originally fitted on Mazda 3 BN 25SP GT Hatch, so fare lasted 32.5K Miles and still going pass the service and expected to last for another 4.3K making over 37K Miles in total, think that is a good score as I'm heavy footer when to comes driving, accelerating and cornering. Have to say I did put nitrogen from begging and think it make a different.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2019
Given 57% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
These are the Mazda 3 stock tyres.

Poor dry grip, enough for average driving in highways but not recommended for spirited driving.
On wet conditions are a completely disaster, dangerous on sharp curves, very poor braking and handling.
Average comfort, bad fuel consumption and very expensive for what these tyres offer.

Not recommended at all.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2018
Given 47% while driving a BMW 328i (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Runflats fitted to BMW 328i (2013). Noisy, harsh ride, poor handling and steering. Grip was OK when fully warmed up in the dry but not good in the wet. Overall, the performance was so bad that I scrapped the tyres after 6000 miles even though plenty of tread left. Michelin non-runflat are much nicer in all respects.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2018
Given 94% while driving a BMW 320d efficient dynamics (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 17,000 easy going miles
These tyres came as standard on my BMW 320 D estate. Now done 17,000 miles and plenty of tread left. I've driven across Europe over the Alps down to Southern Italy and found them great in the heat and in torrential thunderstorms at motorway speeds.
We've just had heavy snow and freezing conditions. I drove the car over Ilkley Moor on black ice, up and down some really steep gradients with no problems while other cars skidded into ditches. Far better in the snow than I expected from a rear wheel drive car.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2018
Mazda 3 2014 (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
These tyres came fitted on my car. I have covered close to 35000 miles on them over the past 3 years and all I can say is the wear rate has been fantastic. My last service noted that both front tyres have 3mm left so I expect them to hit close to 40000 miles before they are worn out completely to the legal limit. Tyres I've had in the past from different brands seem to wear out at about 25000 miles so I'm more than happy with these Dunlops. Grip levels have never been an issue apart from one cold winters morning where the car skidded easily on corners so I would say they are not the best for icy/wintery conditions but feel great in the dry/wet. The tyres do have a heavy feel on turn in when new but this soon disappears as the tyres wear. A lot of reviews say this tyre is noisy, from my experience I would say they are no noisier than any other tyre I've driven on, they aren't silent but they are by no means noisy. They have quite stiff sidewalls so are more suited to a sportier driving style and road feedback is good. Overall I would recommend this tyre but I think I'll try Michelin pilot sport 3s next just out of curiosity to see if there is a difference in noise/ grip and because of the rave reviews those tyres get. I'd happily buy these again in the future if the Michelins disappoint.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on August 25, 2017
Given 60% while driving a Mazda 3 2014 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Came stock with my Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2014. The tires grip really well and have very linear progressive feel. Grips really well in dry and wet condition. Seems to last well. The problem is road noise and comfort. These are the worst tires for that, it is so noisy it is unbearable, probably has to do with the bad noise insulation in the Mazda 3 as well, but still. Will not buy again.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2016
Given 63% while driving a Mazda 3 2.2D 150 (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Mazda 3 sport 2.2 fastback(64 Reg) Had this car almost 2years now I'd have to say if it wasn't for the noise that comes from the tyre I'd buy these again but theyre so loud I have to turn music up loud just to drown out the road noise as I do mway & Dual carriage ways
..shame coz the grip & tread work really well it's just way too loud to buy again..so I'll be going elsewhere when they need replacing .
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2016
Given 53% while driving a Mazda Mazda 2.2D Sport 150 (215/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 easy going miles
Have a mazda 3 fastback sport nav 2015..the tyres 215 45 18 came with car when buying it ....have to say overall great tread & great in comfort & holding the road and grip and performance however the only downside is there very noisy on most roads above 50mph to the point where I have to really turn up the music or speak loudly if with company..probably wouldn't buy again just toooo noisy as I do mostly dual carriageway driving .
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2016