Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP Sport 01 and this tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop SportMaxx RT.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 75%
Wear 63%
Comfort 63%
Buy again 49%

Tyre review data from 49 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 533,560 miles driven.

The SP Sport Maxx TT is ranked 50th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2011 Auto Zeitung Max Performance Tyre Test - 3rd of 14 tyres

  • Overall - The agile Sport Maxx TT speaks to the sporty driver
View Full Test >>

2011 Auto Express Ultra High Performance Tyre Test - 7th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The now dated Dunlop Sport Maxx TT had a “middle of the road” performance, not excelling in any area but not failing in any area other than rolling resistance. The replacement to the Dunlop Sport Maxx TT should be an exciting tyre.
View Full Test >>

2011 AMS Ultra High Performance Tyre Test - 6th of 11 tyres

  • Overall - Joint with the Fulda, only the wet bias puts the TT ahead
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/55 R16 87V *RSC E B 66 10.36kgs
195/55 R16 87W XL *RSC E B 66 10.32kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL * C C 67 8.86kgs
245/40 R17 91W XL *RSC E C 67 12.30kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   F C 71 9.98kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL *RSC E C 68 10.90kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL MO C B 70 8.75kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL MO C B 70 8.86kgs
255/45 R17 98W XL *RSC C C 67 13.00kgs
225/50 R17 94W XL *RSC E C 67 12.76kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   B B 68 11.54kgs
235/55 R17 99Y   C C 70 10.99kgs
225/60 R17 99V XL * F B 69 13.19kgs
225/60 R17 99V XL *RSC F C 69 15.10kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   E B 68 10.55kgs
215/45 R18 89W XL   E C 68 10.30kgs
245/50 R18 100W   C B 70 13.70kgs
245/50 R18 100W XL   E B 70 14.96kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT

2016-04-07 - I have a Ford Focus that recommends 31psi for my Dunlop 235/40 18ZR tyres. The supplier recommended 35 psi as they are low profile .any suggestions on what are the best pressures

The Ford pressure will have been recommended based on a low profile tyre for that particular vehicle, but it doesn't always mean it's correct for your driving style. We'd suggest trying both pressures and seeing which you prefer, all while keeping an eye on the tyre to ensure it is wearing evenly at your chosen pressure.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SP Sport Maxx TT Prices

Size Price Range  
215/45 R18 £120.93 - £126.00 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £70.99 - £106.33 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £126.00 - £140.66 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 11 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
came on new mazda3 2014
they are pretty good
now with more than 20000 km if you push the car
they start show the wear of the tire if they come a bit hot (more than normal)
im very please with the over all performance and i was going to buy again if they was a bit more silent.
91 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2015   
Mazda (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Well originally fitted on Mazda 3 BN 25SP GT Hatch, so fare lasted 32.5K Miles and still going pass the service and expected to last for another 4.3K making over 37K Miles in total, think that is a good score as I'm heavy footer when to comes driving, accelerating and cornering. Have to say I did put nitrogen from begging and think it make a different.
15 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2019   
Given 47% while driving a BMW 328i (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Runflats fitted to BMW 328i (2013). Noisy, harsh ride, poor handling and steering. Grip was OK when fully warmed up in the dry but not good in the wet. Overall, the performance was so bad that I scrapped the tyres after 6000 miles even though plenty of tread left. Michelin non-runflat are much nicer in all respects.
7 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2018   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT Reviews

Given 67% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (215/45 R18) on mostly town for 37,000 average miles
pretty much sporty tyres, not as comfortable with hard sidewalls for daily but did ok, good fuel economy, a bit noisy but mazda3 has poor noise isolation, very good wear with 37k miles and 6 years still with 3mm tread but the sidewall started having cracks so would not pass MOT, in last year I noticed that wet grip was weaker than before. overall I am satisfied with what these tyres did. I am now changing to Goodyear F1 asymmetric 3 which I found for good price
0 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2021   
Given 44% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
You need a column for appears. The appearance of these tyres is HORRIBLE. Picture a formal one car bulge out the side of the tyre, no fancy grip design, just straight lines and a big bulging stupid looking tyre. I never thought appearance of a tyre would matter to me until i seen these ugly ass tyres. The Grip looks so basic that im worried about driving in wet with them. AVOID. Not worth the money.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 57% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
These are the Mazda 3 stock tyres.

Poor dry grip, enough for average driving in highways but not recommended for spirited driving.
On wet conditions are a completely disaster, dangerous on sharp curves, very poor braking and handling.
Average comfort, bad fuel consumption and very expensive for what these tyres offer.

Not recommended at all.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2018   
Given 94% while driving a BMW 320d efficient dynamics (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 17,000 easy going miles
These tyres came as standard on my BMW 320 D estate. Now done 17,000 miles and plenty of tread left. I've driven across Europe over the Alps down to Southern Italy and found them great in the heat and in torrential thunderstorms at motorway speeds.
We've just had heavy snow and freezing conditions. I drove the car over Ilkley Moor on black ice, up and down some really steep gradients with no problems while other cars skidded into ditches. Far better in the snow than I expected from a rear wheel drive car.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2018   
Mazda 3 2014 (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
These tyres came fitted on my car. I have covered close to 35000 miles on them over the past 3 years and all I can say is the wear rate has been fantastic. My last service noted that both front tyres have 3mm left so I expect them to hit close to 40000 miles before they are worn out completely to the legal limit. Tyres I've had in the past from different brands seem to wear out at about 25000 miles so I'm more than happy with these Dunlops. Grip levels have never been an issue apart from one cold winters morning where the car skidded easily on corners so I would say they are not the best for icy/wintery conditions but feel great in the dry/wet. The tyres do have a heavy feel on turn in when new but this soon disappears as the tyres wear. A lot of reviews say this tyre is noisy, from my experience I would say they are no noisier than any other tyre I've driven on, they aren't silent but they are by no means noisy. They have quite stiff sidewalls so are more suited to a sportier driving style and road feedback is good. Overall I would recommend this tyre but I think I'll try Michelin pilot sport 3s next just out of curiosity to see if there is a difference in noise/ grip and because of the rave reviews those tyres get. I'd happily buy these again in the future if the Michelins disappoint.
4 - tyre reviewed on August 25, 2017   
Given 60% while driving a Mazda 3 2014 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Came stock with my Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2014. The tires grip really well and have very linear progressive feel. Grips really well in dry and wet condition. Seems to last well. The problem is road noise and comfort. These are the worst tires for that, it is so noisy it is unbearable, probably has to do with the bad noise insulation in the Mazda 3 as well, but still. Will not buy again.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 23, 2016   
Given 63% while driving a Mazda 3 2.2D 150 (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Mazda 3 sport 2.2 fastback(64 Reg) Had this car almost 2years now I'd have to say if it wasn't for the noise that comes from the tyre I'd buy these again but theyre so loud I have to turn music up loud just to drown out the road noise as I do mway & Dual carriage ways
..shame coz the grip & tread work really well it's just way too loud to buy again..so I'll be going elsewhere when they need replacing .
3 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2016   
Given 53% while driving a Mazda Mazda 2.2D Sport 150 (215/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 easy going miles
Have a mazda 3 fastback sport nav 2015..the tyres 215 45 18 came with car when buying it ....have to say overall great tread & great in comfort & holding the road and grip and performance however the only downside is there very noisy on most roads above 50mph to the point where I have to really turn up the music or speak loudly if with company..probably wouldn't buy again just toooo noisy as I do mostly dual carriageway driving .
3 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2016   
Given 54% while driving a Audi A3 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
These came fitted to a car I recently bought. I've found grip levels relatively low, especially under braking. The worst thing about them is the heavy feel on turn in. I've tried other tyres on the same car and they have much more bite than these Dunlops.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2013   
Given 73% while driving a Audi A5 (225/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Great tyre BUT I put 2 of these on the front of my A5 on the 1st of May this year it is now 1st November same year and they are done. I have Covered 7000 miles in the time but really.... What are they made of - what ever it is that is far too much wear in such a short space of time..
0 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2013   
Given 59% while driving a Opel Astra H GTC (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Tires have great traction no matter the road conditions. But response is horrid. On my old turanzas car turned in a lot sharper. Now it has a noticeable delay between steering wheel input and turn change with too much sidewall flex.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2013   
Given 76% while driving a Honda Civic Type S 2.2 i CDTi (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
very good tyres! more than happy with them! very good grip in the dry and good grip in wet!
0 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2013