Dunlop SP Sport 01

The Dunlop SP Sport 01 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 124 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 2,414,316 miles driven.

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 69%
Wear 69%
Comfort 65%
Buy again 59%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size16 - 20"
Width225 - 275mm
Profile30 - 60
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripA - D
Noise (dB)69 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The SP Sport 01 is ranked 96th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop SP Sport 01

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
225/55R16 95 YDA70
17 inch
225/45R17 91 YDC71
225/55R17 97 YDC70
225/50R17 98 Y XLDB69
235/55R17 99 VCB71
18 inch
225/60R18 100 HCD71
245/45R18 100 W XLDC71
225/60R18 100 HCC71
235/50R18 97 VDB71
255/55R18 109 H XLDC71
255/45R18 99 VDC72
19 inch
245/40R19 98 Y XLCB72
20 inch
275/30R20 93 YDC71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Dunlop SP Sport 01 >>

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP Sport 01

2016-05-24 - What weight are these tyres in 185/55/15 size?

185/55R15 82H SP SPORT 01 = 7.5 kg
185/55R15 82V SP SPORT 01 = 7.905 kg.


2016-11-08 - are these tyres any good in winter they are fitted on my tiguan frontwheeldrive

The Dunlop SP Sport 01 is an old technology summer tyre, and as such it will have very limited snow performance. An all season tyre or winter tyre will perform better in the cold wet conditions of the UK winter.


2019-01-23 - How do l know if my Dunlop sp sport 01 tyres are runflat or not please?

They will say ROF, or runflat on the sidewall.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/50 R17 £154.98 - £154.98 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 9 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport 01 Reviews

Given 44% while driving a Jaguar XF (245/45 R18) on for 10 miles
Xf 3.0 V6 diesel 240bhp. Bought 2nd hand with a mixture of high end brands 4 different manufacturers. Swapped over for Jaguar recommended Dunlop SP Sport 01. I drive sensibly, don't thrash the car, fronts v. little wear over 10k, but the car tramlines horrendously on a badly worn road , very loud road noise all round. Rear tyres down to 3mm. after the same mileage. My previous car, an E class got 60k out of a set of Goodyears without any of the racket from the Dunlops on the Jag. Would I buy again, or recommend, definitely a big no.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2023
Given 83% while driving a BMW X3 (235/55 R17) on mostly town for 35,000 spirited miles
Fitted the SP1s to my BMW e83 x3 2006. Had them on for a good 5 years and loved them. Can’t say I noticed the noise others mention but definitely well suited to the x3 ( bmw star rated tyre). Now having Avon zv7s fitted I’d say the Dunlop is much firmer in the side wall and better copes with such a heavy car and cornering. If you’re going to fit the Avon to an x3 DONT. Can’t recommend enough that you fit any of the star rated tyres… it’s not just a marketing gimmick. Highly recommend the SP1
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2023
Given 70% while driving a Toyota Corolla Altis (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Tire came with the car I bought used. DOT is 2016 so it's been almost 6 years already. The two tires served as the rear wheels ever since while my fronts were Yokohama A.Drives. About 6 months or so ago I noticed a consistent noise coming from the rear. I chucked it to probably failing wheel bearings as I previously experienced in my other car. Since the A.Drives are down to their last treads, I exchanged the fronts and the rears as the Dunlop has about 70% amount of tread left. Oh wow! The noise I am hearing from the back has now transferred to the front. And the noise is horrible. Still the same wheel bearing like noise but much louder. It became so irritating that I have it replaced already even with that much tread left. In contrast, the Yokohamas which are down to their treadwear indicators are still so much quieter. The Dunlops being in the rear most of its life have probably not experienced too much flexing that the rubber had become hardened in an almost plastic-like consistency.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2022
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport 01 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport 01? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport 01 >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport 01 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (245/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
A fine tyre with great feedback and a quiet experience. Fantastic grip in wet and dry conditions. Many miles of spirited cross country and motorway driving confirmed why this tyre was usually the original choice on the car when it was new. The tyres bring out the best performance of the car and give complete comfort and confidence in all the usual daily driving conditions. I will not hesitate in replacing these with the same ones again.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on December 25, 2021
Given 89% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (245/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
This tyre is specifically designed for the Jaguar and it definitely feels right on my car. I recently had all four tyres replaced with these and the car handles exactly as it should. The car has a fantastic sure footed and smooth ride with the expected feeling of being on rails on fast A roads. A great looking tyre too!
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 72% while driving a BMW X3 (255/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 150 miles
Just put these Dunlop SP01 BMW Star Rated tyres on a BMW E83 X3 3.0d M-Sport with staggered set-up 235/50/R18 on the front and 255/45/R18 on the rear. Can't believe it has stopped the shuddering. The shuddering seems to be a major problem with this model of car when using any other tyres except BMW Star Rated ones, and cause's major damage to the transfer case. I was very sceptical about this but decided to give it a try. The reason it cures the shuddering problem is to do with the rolling resistance and the diameter BMW have set-up this car to.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2019
Given 87% while driving a Citroën C3 (185/60 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 40,000 spirited miles
I had these tyres for about 40.000 kms and 5 years they wear well and they still grip very well. The tyre is kind of sporty and the road feedback is excellent. Now at the end of their tread they became noisy when turning fast around corners. All in all these were excellent tyres with some sporty qualities.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2018
Given 90% while driving a Skoda Rapid TSI (185/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 40,000 easy going miles
Exception set of tyres, have covered nearly 40,000 miles and are between 3.5-3mm tread left. I have checked the tyre pressures every week and run them pretty high for economy at 38psi. Handling is good still, good turn in. Getting abit louder in the wet now but still sharp and precise braking even in the wet. Minimal signs of wear or cracking. It's an older model tyre now and has been replaced, but if I can find a set of these tyres writhing a few years of manufacture I will defiantly purchase again.
Only down side is rolling resistance, compared to the newer blue response or goodyear efficient grip performance.
Still a fab tyre.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2018
Given 41% while driving a Mercedes Benz S500 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
I have the Dunlop SP Sport on my S500 Mercedes - it is the noisiest tyre I have ever owned and slippery in the wet .
It made a quiet car sound noisy and uncomfortable to drive .I will never buy Dunlop again.
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2018
Honda Jazz (185/65 R15 T) on mostly town for 60,000 average miles
Noisy tyre squeal horrendous around corners doing 30mph with 5mm tread left all this on a Honda jazzl
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2018
Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen 2007 B6 Estate 140 TDI (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
Excellent tyres all around and my tyre of choice for my B6 VW Passat estate. Good grip in the wet and dry, good wear and a fair price. I've tried Bridgestone on the same car, they didn't do nearly as well.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2017
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp (235/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
Superb tyre, good in all conditions, Rear tyre's still have 5.5mm tread, front wheels down to 3mm. Less noise than Continental, or Bridgestone. Still a sharp looking tread would definitely recommend them to anybody with a Tiguan.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2017
Given 93% while driving a Skoda Rapid TDI (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 29 average miles
I've NEVER had the front tyres on a front wheel drive car last more than 22,000 miles, these front tyres have covered 29,000 miles and have still got at least 3,000 miles left in them. The rear tyres look like almost new and I'm willing them to do around 45,000 miles. Well done Dunlop :)
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2017
Given 47% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Had them factory fit on my new Mazda6. The worst tyre I've had. No grip esp on wet and greasy conditions. Had a few bad moments with them. Had replaced them with Nokians and it's a day and night.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2016
Given 37% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (255/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
BMW X3 had them fitted when brought the car so replaced with another set my god cant hear myself think the road noise is so loud just fitted uniroyal rain 3 and I now have a much better care
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2016