Dunlop SP Sport 01

The Dunlop SP Sport 01 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 69%
Wear 69%
Comfort 65%
Buy again 58%

Tyre review data from 120 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 2,356,306 miles driven.

The SP Sport 01 is ranked 89th of 129 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop SP Sport 01
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/70 R14 84T   E C 69 7.13kgs
195/55 R15 85H   E C 67 7.68kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C B 67 7.36kgs
185/60 R15 84H XL   F B 69 7.84kgs
185/60 R15 84T AO E C 66 7.61kgs
225/50 R16 92V MO F A 66 11.11kgs
225/50 R16 92W MO F A 66 11.10kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL MO F B 69 9.12kgs
195/55 R16 87H *RSC F B 67 10.53kgs
195/55 R16 87T MO F C 69 9.16kgs
205/55 R16 91V AO C C 68 8.91kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   E B 68 10.92kgs
225/55 R16 95Y XL AO E A 68 10.79kgs
225/55 R16 95V XL * E C 68 10.98kgs
225/55 R16 95W * F C 68 10.95kgs
205/60 R16 92W AO F B 67 10.12kgs
245/40 R17 91W XL MO E B 68 11.00kgs
205/45 R17 84V *RSC F B 68 9.79kgs
205/45 R17 84W XL *RSC F B 67 9.73kgs
225/45 R17 91V *RSC E E 69 11.13kgs
225/45 R17 91W *RSC E E 69 11.10kgs
225/45 R17 91W MO F B 67 10.85kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL *RSC E E 71 11.10kgs
225/45 R17 91V XL *RSC E E 71 11.13kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL *RSC E E 69 11.23kgs
235/45 R17 94V XL   E B 67 10.87kgs
245/45 R17 95W XL MO E B 68 11.66kgs
245/45 R17 95W XL   E B 68 13.92kgs
205/50 R17 89H XL   E B 68 9.80kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   E B 66 10.65kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL AO F B 68 10.97kgs
225/50 R17 94W XL *RSC F B 67 13.50kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL AO E B 67 11.09kgs
225/50 R17 94W   F B 67 11.29kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL AO E C 68 11.55kgs
235/55 R17 99V XL   C B 68 12.25kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C B 67 12.29kgs
245/35 R18 88Y XL *RSC F C 67 12.26kgs
275/35 R18 95Y XL MO F B 69 12.83kgs
275/35 R18 95Y XL *RSC F C 69 13.82kgs
215/40 R18 85Y XL *RSC E C 68 10.95kgs
215/40 R18 85Y XL *RSC F C 67 10.95kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL *RSC F B 69 13.35kgs
245/40 R18 93Y *RSC E B 69 13.35kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL MO F C 70 11.60kgs
225/45 R18 91W   C C 70 9.81kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL J E C 68 12.33kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL J E C 69 12.51kgs
255/45 R18 99V XL * E C 72 13.00kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   E C 68 13.54kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   E C 70 13.54kgs
255/45 R18 99V * F C 71 13.00kgs
255/45 R18 99Y MO E C 69 12.56kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL MO E C 69 12.49kgs
275/45 R18 103Y XL MO E B 69 14.10kgs
235/50 R18 97V XL * E B 70 12.82kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   E C 67 13.36kgs
255/55 R18 109H XL *RSC E C 69 18.94kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL *RSC E C 69 12.75kgs
275/35 R19 96Y XL J F B 69 15.30kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL J E B 69 12.15kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL J C B 72 11.85kgs
245/40 R19 94Y J F C 69 12.13kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL MO E C 70 12.82kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL * E C 70 14.28kgs
245/45 R19 98Y * F C 68 13.35kgs
275/30 R20 93Y XL *RSC F B 69 14.26kgs
275/35 R20 98Y XL * E B 70 13.60kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   E B 70 15.67kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP Sport 01

2016-05-24 - What weight are these tyres in 185/55/15 size?

185/55R15 82H SP SPORT 01 = 7.5 kg
185/55R15 82V SP SPORT 01 = 7.905 kg.


2016-11-08 - are these tyres any good in winter they are fitted on my tiguan frontwheeldrive

The Dunlop SP Sport 01 is an old technology summer tyre, and as such it will have very limited snow performance. An all season tyre or winter tyre will perform better in the cold wet conditions of the UK winter.


2019-01-23 - How do l know if my Dunlop sp sport 01 tyres are runflat or not please?

They will say ROF, or runflat on the sidewall.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SP Sport 01 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £86.00 - £103.51 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £96.60 - £123.13 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 23 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport 01 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Standard fit on my Yeti, they grip well & have lasted too. The downsides are that they are noisy & getting worse now, wet weather grip has fallen away & they tram line quite markedly as they near 3mm. However,the turn-in is still razor sharp, much better than the Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance tyres that are also on the car (2 of each on @ the moment)
67 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2014   
Given 37% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (255/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
BMW X3 had them fitted when brought the car so replaced with another set my god cant hear myself think the road noise is so loud just fitted uniroyal rain 3 and I now have a much better care
20 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2016   
Given 41% while driving a Mercedes Benz S500 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
I have the Dunlop SP Sport on my S500 Mercedes - it is the noisiest tyre I have ever owned and slippery in the wet .
It made a quiet car sound noisy and uncomfortable to drive .I will never buy Dunlop again.
18 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2018   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport 01 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport 01? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport 01 >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport 01 Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (245/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
This tyre is specifically designed for the Jaguar and it definitely feels right on my car. I recently had all four tyres replaced with these and the car handles exactly as it should. The car has a fantastic sure footed and smooth ride with the expected feeling of being on rails on fast A roads. A great looking tyre too!
1 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2021   
Given 72% while driving a BMW X3 (255/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 150 miles
Just put these Dunlop SP01 BMW Star Rated tyres on a BMW E83 X3 3.0d M-Sport with staggered set-up 235/50/R18 on the front and 255/45/R18 on the rear. Can't believe it has stopped the shuddering. The shuddering seems to be a major problem with this model of car when using any other tyres except BMW Star Rated ones, and cause's major damage to the transfer case. I was very sceptical about this but decided to give it a try. The reason it cures the shuddering problem is to do with the rolling resistance and the diameter BMW have set-up this car to.
10 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2019   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 87% while driving a Citro├źn C3 (185/60 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 40,000 spirited miles
I had these tyres for about 40.000 kms and 5 years they wear well and they still grip very well. The tyre is kind of sporty and the road feedback is excellent. Now at the end of their tread they became noisy when turning fast around corners. All in all these were excellent tyres with some sporty qualities.
6 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2018   
Given 90% while driving a Skoda Rapid TSI (185/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 40,000 easy going miles
Exception set of tyres, have covered nearly 40,000 miles and are between 3.5-3mm tread left. I have checked the tyre pressures every week and run them pretty high for economy at 38psi. Handling is good still, good turn in. Getting abit louder in the wet now but still sharp and precise braking even in the wet. Minimal signs of wear or cracking. It's an older model tyre now and has been replaced, but if I can find a set of these tyres writhing a few years of manufacture I will defiantly purchase again.
Only down side is rolling resistance, compared to the newer blue response or goodyear efficient grip performance.
Still a fab tyre.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2018   
Honda Jazz (185/65 R15 T) on mostly town for 60,000 average miles
Noisy tyre squeal horrendous around corners doing 30mph with 5mm tread left all this on a Honda jazzl
5 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2018   
Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen 2007 B6 Estate 140 TDI (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
Excellent tyres all around and my tyre of choice for my B6 VW Passat estate. Good grip in the wet and dry, good wear and a fair price. I've tried Bridgestone on the same car, they didn't do nearly as well.
9 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp (235/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
Superb tyre, good in all conditions, Rear tyre's still have 5.5mm tread, front wheels down to 3mm. Less noise than Continental, or Bridgestone. Still a sharp looking tread would definitely recommend them to anybody with a Tiguan.
10 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Skoda Rapid TDI (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 29 average miles
I've NEVER had the front tyres on a front wheel drive car last more than 22,000 miles, these front tyres have covered 29,000 miles and have still got at least 3,000 miles left in them. The rear tyres look like almost new and I'm willing them to do around 45,000 miles. Well done Dunlop :)
10 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2017   
Given 47% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Had them factory fit on my new Mazda6. The worst tyre I've had. No grip esp on wet and greasy conditions. Had a few bad moments with them. Had replaced them with Nokians and it's a day and night.
4 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2016   
Given 48% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
I bought a 2012 Insignia Sports Tourer VXLine with Dunlop SP Sport 01 tyres. They are perhaps the worst tyre I can remember driving on.
On motorways the noise is dreadful, admittedly I haven't had another tyre on this car to compare it too yet though, but the tyre noise is loud enough to make conversation with a rear seat passenger difficult.
It's the wet grip that is pushing me to ditch them though. It's been a relatively dry summer, but as soon as the roads are damp I can feel the grip disappear and the few times the road has been properly wet I have the traction control kicking in when pulling away.

Overall they give little confidence in the wet. Which is odd because reviews for these tyres are pretty good - it almost makes me wonder whether they are some fake knock-offs as opposed real Dunlops.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2016   
Given 54% while driving a Mitsubishi GTO Twin Turbo (235/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Pretty average tyre at an above average price. Plenty of others to consider rather than this.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2016   
Given 46% while driving a (185/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Had these tyres fitted to the front of an MGTF I bought. The handling and feel was awful. Changed them for a pair of Avon's and the handling and steering has been transformed. I won't ever be buying these Dunlops!
2 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2016