Mercedes Benz S500 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mercedes Benz S500.

Do you Drive a Mercedes Benz S500? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a S500 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (284) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Michelin Primacy 4 (99) 86% 82% 77% 78% 84% 85%
Davanti DX640 (73) 80% 72% 77% 77% 66% 81%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (120) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (151) 80% 70% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (131) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%

Mercedes Benz S500 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 54% (275-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
These tyres lasted for only 8000km of calm and moderate driving! Worest tyres i ever bought! I will never buy them again!!!
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-29 07:33:27
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 69% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 17000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-20 17:34:07
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 88% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
After 10 years or running only UHP (Ultra High Performance) tires on my W221 S class, I switched to the Primacy 4 on 235/55/17 17" wheels.

The reason, is that I moved to a region where the roads are generally "Mad Max" status, potholes, and generally horrible road conditions. The P zero 275/40/19 which I had on the car previously was of course "sporty" and excellent handling, but we needed to replace this with something that is soft, and able to absorb the most horrible impacts on these roads.

I can suggest the Primacy 4 if you are looking for a comfortable, safe, and quiet tire.

I was afraid to buy this tire because of the other reviews stating it's " too soft" etc - the tire is not " too " soft at all, it's a comfortable, safe tire that won't let you down. It's not the tire for doing insane maneuvers at 200 mph, but if you're a safe and normal driver, it's the * perfect * tire for every day, comfortable, with predictable handling.


tyre reviewed on 2019-09-11 14:44:44
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 41% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
I have the Dunlop SP Sport on my S500 Mercedes - it is the noisiest tyre I have ever owned and slippery in the wet .
It made a quiet car sound noisy and uncomfortable to drive .I will never buy Dunlop again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-12 06:55:45
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 82% (275-40-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
Just replaced Pirellis on my S Class 550L. Asked the dealer what were best for comfort and noise and these were recommended. Very pleased with them so far. Can't believe how much improvement there is over the Pirellis especially in comfort. The S Class is very refined anyway, but much smoother now. Will have to wait to assess wear.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-07 12:16:33
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 96% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
had these tyres on now for 2500 miles and driven in both wet and dry conditions at speeds up to 95mph in my 2 ton Mercedes S500 S Class limo the tyres have proved to be excellent dry and wet grip at all speed up to my fastest never feeling anything but planted but then this is a heavy car so I am amazed that the wear is only 0.2 to 0.3mm max on these tyres. At he current wear rate (Pot Holes permitting) that is a projected 30,000 miles of wear or better from these tyres. These tyres are also very quiet compared with continentals I replaced
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-27 14:12:12
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 98% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Had continental tyres on which these replaced and I cannot tell the difference from grip or braking as they feel the same however the tyres are far quieter and more comfortable and at less than half the continental price I am well pleased. Contis cost £226.50 EACH which is £906 per set, I just paid £360 for a set of Davanti DX640’s. OK so the tread depth is 7.2mm new not 8mm as the contis are, but for the price I can buy 2 sets and still have change. That is Vale for money not tyre snobbery.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-16 11:52:01
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 36% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
very noisy on my Benz s500.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-02 05:15:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre