Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 67%
Wear 64%
Comfort 64%
Buy again 53%

Tyre review data from 151 tyre reviews averaging 67% over 2,280,560 miles driven.

The SP Sport Maxx is ranked 53rd of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         12.90kgs
205/45 R16 83W   F B 66 8.75kgs
215/45 R16 86H XL   C E 67 8.40kgs
215/45 R16 86V XL   C E 67 8.40kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   F A 68 8.83kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   C C 68 8.26kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   C C 68 8.27kgs
255/40 R17 98Y XL   E B 69 11.71kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL AO E C 69 11.20kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E C 68 8.87kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E B 70 12.26kgs
215/35 R19 85Y XL   F B 68 9.38kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E B 70 13.10kgs
255/45 R19 100V MO F C 71 13.49kgs
255/45 R19 100V XL MO E C 71 13.49kgs
235/50 R19 99V XL MO F C 70 12.65kgs
235/55 R19 101V XL   E C 71 14.00kgs
275/55 R19 111V XL MO E C 70 17.77kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL J E B 71 13.71kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL J E A 72 13.71kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J F B 71 13.54kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J E B 71 13.14kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J F B 71 13.54kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J E B 72 11.86kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E B 70 13.20kgs
315/35 R20 110W XL *RSC E B 69 20.21kgs
255/40 R20 101W XL MO E C 70 14.28kgs
275/40 R20 106W XL *RSC E B 68 17.75kgs
295/40 R20 110Y XL RO1 E C 70 17.02kgs
275/50 R20 113W XL MO C C 71 17.58kgs
275/50 R20 109W MO E B 70 17.21kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL   E A 72 18.50kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL *RSC E A 72 19.79kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL   E A 70 16.05kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL *RSC E A 70 16.62kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL RO1 E C 70 15.50kgs
275/40 R21 107Y XL RO1 E C 68 15.32kgs
295/30 R22 103Y XL   E A 71 14.65kgs
305/30 R22 105Y XL   E A 71 16.04kgs
265/35 R22 102Y XL   E B 70 14.27kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SP Sport Maxx Prices

Size Price Range  
215/45 R16 £95.00 - £102.55 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £82.44 - £82.44 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R20 £147.99 - £187.67 (26 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 25 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Reviews

Given 48% while driving a Mercedes Benz A45 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
chunks of rubber flew off the inside edge on the motorway. Car had no faults and was well serviced. The rest of the tyre had 5-6mm across the tread. Took them all off and replaced with Pirelli as no taking the risks of dangerous tyres. Seen a few other threads with this happening so not a one off. Poor show Dunlop!
121 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2017   
Given 82% while driving a Mercedes Benz S500 (275/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
Just replaced Pirellis on my S Class 550L. Asked the dealer what were best for comfort and noise and these were recommended. Very pleased with them so far. Can't believe how much improvement there is over the Pirellis especially in comfort. The S Class is very refined anyway, but much smoother now. Will have to wait to assess wear.
31 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2018   
Given 72% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (275/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
275 40 18 are a rip off size made so made it a mission to compare makes. These are equivalent grip to Contisport 5 which came with the car from new, but much quieter. Grip of the Dunlops and Contis In wet or cold weather on RWD is poor spinning out of junctions with normal driving - POOR.

Had Hankook Evo 117 on previously, average wearing but WAY better traction no wheel slip - will be buying the Hankooks again
20 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2017   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport Maxx >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Reviews

Given 52% while driving a Jaguar XF S (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Jaguar XF Sportbrake 3.0S, currently 68k with full dealer history. Replaced all four tyres with properly marked and recommended for Jaguar, Dunlop SP's. They are ABSOLUTE RUBBISH ! DO NOT BUY !! They have done about 6K in 18 months and have severe cracks around every tread channel which were noticed about 4 months ago. The tyre dealer who put in the complaint was told the cracks are only superficial and not in any way a hazard or deflect from the performance of the tyre and the car should be driven as normal. This is very hard to believe given the apparent depth of the cracking! They certainly don't inspire confidence in using the 270bhp we bought the car for and are being changed for Pirelli's this week.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2021   
Given 56% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
These tyres (205/45R16) have all cracked on the edge of the first inside tread groove after 12K miles, even though the car is in regular use. Very poor indeed.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 67% while driving a BMW X5 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 37,000 easy going miles
Easy driving on overall nice roads and it's now time to replace all four tires after 59,500 km. I've read a lot of reviews about rough driving on Run Flats but I bought mine from a friend and could not tell the difference since. I'm still contemplating whether to go Run Flats or normal. But I will not be buying these Dunlops again because of a few times I've slipped on conditions It should not have slipped. I would say grip is the weakest point of these tires based on my experience.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR 1.2 (215/45 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 55,000 easy going miles
Original equipment on my Seat. Very low wearing: after 4 years and 55000 km of (quiet) driving on far from smooth roads, I can still rely on 30% of tread before reaching the marker, and rubber shows no cracks at all. Very good grip on dry, not as much on wet. More sporty than comfy. I'll change them for aging, not for wearing, and I'll stay with Dunlop.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2020   
BMW X6 M (315/35 R20 R) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Driving in dry conditions and little to no issues as soon as it’s wet they are dangerous! Exiting islands and car loses grip and actually slides on all 4 wheels! Tyre wear is hopeless 30% worn in 3000 miles only, car just had first MOT so mileage exact
5 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2019   
Given 74% while driving a Lexus RX300 (235/55 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 3,000 easy going miles
Using them on lexus RX300 2004 4x4
Very quiet pattern, comfort is noticeable. But, feel a bit of vibrations as need to have them again balanced.
this summer did not almost rain, can not provide valuable feedback on water.
5 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (225/40 R18 N) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
The overall grip inspires confidence plus the low noise level is noticeably better than my previous Yokohamas.Very pleased so far.
4 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2019   
Given 69% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Had these Tyres as stock, as for tyre specs - nothing special. Quite good handling, braking and waterproofness but bad ride comfort.
As stock Tyres these are fine.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR 1.2 (215/45 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
Just changed the fronts on my Seat Ibiza FR got 24,000miles out of them so cannot complain on how well they last. The car sticks to the road. I can however spin the front wheels from a if I am a bit sharp when pulling off.
Decided to keep with them despite the cost £90 each. This is more down to the odd size.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2019   
Given 57% while driving a Audi A1 (215/45 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 8,200 spirited miles
Hard ride and high road noise. Reasonable dry grip (poorer in the wet) and handling, with fairly poor road feedback. Replaced with Continental Premium Contact 2 which seem much more compliant and grippy, slightly quieter, and offer a smoother ride.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Skoda Skoda Superb MK1 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 17,000 easy going miles
Great tyre, well priced, very quiet on all roads and made the car handle very well when needed.
10 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2017   
Given 59% while driving a Honda VTR 1000 FireStorm (180/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 2,650 spirited miles
Had these on my 99 Honda Firestorm.
Ok tyre but a bit sloppy in the wet and feel numb and dull in the
Dry. Not a bad tyre by no means but little feedback and only mid-level grip.
Ok for mile munching but can be a little noisy at times.
Tyres have about 1/3 life left in them but I'm looking at changing already as I'm beginning to lose faith in them especially as winter is coming!
2 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2017