Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 67%
Wear 63%
Comfort 64%
Buy again 52%

Tyre review data from 161 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 2,438,302 miles driven.

The SP Sport Maxx is ranked 65th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         12.90kgs
205/45 R16 83W   F B 66 8.75kgs
215/45 R16 86H XL   C E 67 8.40kgs
215/45 R16 86V XL   C E 67 8.40kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   F A 68 8.83kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   C C 68 8.26kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   C C 68 8.27kgs
255/40 R17 98Y XL   E B 69 11.71kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL AO E C 69 11.20kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E C 68 8.87kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E B 70 12.26kgs
215/35 R19 85Y XL   F B 68 9.38kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E B 70 13.10kgs
255/45 R19 100V MO F C 71 13.49kgs
255/45 R19 100V XL MO E C 71 13.49kgs
235/50 R19 99V XL MO F C 70 12.65kgs
235/55 R19 101V XL   E C 71 14.00kgs
275/55 R19 111V XL MO E C 70 17.77kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL J E B 71 13.71kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL J E A 72 13.71kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J F B 71 13.54kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J E B 71 13.14kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J F B 71 13.54kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J E B 72 11.86kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E B 70 13.20kgs
315/35 R20 110W XL *RSC E B 69 20.21kgs
255/40 R20 101W XL MO E C 70 14.28kgs
275/40 R20 106W XL *RSC E B 68 17.75kgs
295/40 R20 110Y XL RO1 E C 70 17.02kgs
275/50 R20 113W XL MO C C 71 17.58kgs
275/50 R20 109W MO E B 70 17.21kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL   E A 72 18.50kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL *RSC E A 72 19.79kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL   E A 70 16.05kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL *RSC E A 70 16.62kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL RO1 E C 70 15.50kgs
275/40 R21 107Y XL RO1 E C 68 15.32kgs
295/30 R22 103Y XL   E A 71 14.65kgs
305/30 R22 105Y XL   E A 71 16.04kgs
265/35 R22 102Y XL   E B 70 14.27kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

2023-08-29 - I currently have these Dunlop Sports Maxx directional tyres on my Skoda Fabia Monte Carlo 1.0 TSI 110BHP. But on the rear passenger Tyre im getting a humming sound around 30 to 45MPH . Its not a wheel bearing as i had this replaced thinking it was a bearing. Can you advise how to get rid of this noise ? Its just on 1 tyre

If the tyre has stepping or another wear pattern that can cause noise, it will be difficult to correct without replacing the tyre. You can try swapping the tyre to another position on the car, doing a full rotation (cross rear left to front right and rear right to front left) might help wear the tyre more evenly.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
255/35 R20 £187.46 - £193.60 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 11 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Reviews

Given 48% while driving a Mercedes Benz A45 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
chunks of rubber flew off the inside edge on the motorway. Car had no faults and was well serviced. The rest of the tyre had 5-6mm across the tread. Took them all off and replaced with Pirelli as no taking the risks of dangerous tyres. Seen a few other threads with this happening so not a one off. Poor show Dunlop!
Helpful 152 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2017
Given 60% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,200 spirited miles
Bags of grip wet or dry but a little lacking in feedback. Positive when pushed but during motorway cruising they like to follow imperfections on the surface so you are almost constantly correcting. I plan to replace then fairly soon after a little over a thousand miles. Not a bad tyre but they turn a long drive into a chaore.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2023
Mercedes Benz GL320 CDI (275/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 5 average miles
Just bought them to replace Michelin Latitude Sport. Both are MO. For now they are ok. Will update in a few km. 275/55 R19 111V MFS MO
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2022
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport Maxx >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Reviews

Given 40% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 easy going miles
Fitted on new car had to replace at 20k, although plenty of tread and careful driving. Tyres developed small air leaks all over tyres due to cracking.
Will never buy Dunlop again!
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2023
Given 51% while driving a Jaguar XF S (255/35 R20) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
I had a 4wheel alignment when these tyres were fitted. For motorway / straight line driving, without sudden lane changes these tyres have been good and quiet. However, with a rear wheel drive car, with high torque I've found these tyres to break traction faster in both wet and dry than previous Continental Contact Sport 5. Wet handling has not provided the same confidence as the Continentals too. Comfortable tyres on a smooth good surface, but you have to be alert if you want to make quicker manoeuvres on the motorway or on fast A / B roads. I'd say performance has been consistent over the life time of the tyre, so not noticing reduced performance with wear. Sadly I'll be happy to swap these soon for another brand soon.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 39% while driving a Audi Q5 (255/40 R21) on a combination of roads for 6,500 easy going miles
Extremely dissatisfied with the quality of this product. Only had the tyres 3years. Having to change as tread has worn away, only driven 6500 miles in the last 2 years as the car was parked whilst working from home during covid. Do not recommend this product for Audi Q5 drivers.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2023
Given 67% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
These tyres were very good brand new. But in time lost way more performance in dry than any of my previous tyres. It's still about 5mm left and I'm losing confidence in these to the point that I was way more confident in driving my winter tyres in dry in spring when it was about 10-15 degrees Celsius and tyres are the same age. Good thing they are losing grip quite progressively so there is no snap, but losing it way to early. Nope, never again.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2022
Given 43% while driving a Skoda (215/45 R16) on mostly town for 37 easy going miles
These tyres came with my 2015 Skoda Fabia, very unsporty car in SEL trim so cannot say much about the dry performance/feedback these tyres provide as it's generally a sloppy A-B car. I will focus my review on the older set, which are original to the car and are now 6 years old - They were originally 3 years old when I bought the car and have been exceedingly noisy, and after nearly 5 years have started to crack on the surface of the tyre, and longer cracks on the tyre wall. More expectedly, the tyres now loose grip on roundabouts in the wet as they are 6 years old with 4.5mm of tread remaining. They were fitted to the rear of the car for 28,000 miles and have been on the front for roughly 9,000 miles - so as for mileage wear these have been excellent, but age wear has been poor. The fresher set which are now 4 years old, are yet to crack and have always been much quieter. No idea how many miles these have been on the car for. I would not recommend these tyres only due to the excessive noise and cracking on the original set, and reading the reviews cracking seems to be common after only a few years.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2021
Given 52% while driving a Jaguar XF S (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Jaguar XF Sportbrake 3.0S, currently 68k with full dealer history. Replaced all four tyres with properly marked and recommended for Jaguar, Dunlop SP's. They are ABSOLUTE RUBBISH ! DO NOT BUY !! They have done about 6K in 18 months and have severe cracks around every tread channel which were noticed about 4 months ago. The tyre dealer who put in the complaint was told the cracks are only superficial and not in any way a hazard or deflect from the performance of the tyre and the car should be driven as normal. This is very hard to believe given the apparent depth of the cracking! They certainly don't inspire confidence in using the 270bhp we bought the car for and are being changed for Pirelli's this week.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2021
Given 56% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
These tyres (205/45R16) have all cracked on the edge of the first inside tread groove after 12K miles, even though the car is in regular use. Very poor indeed.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2021
Given 67% while driving a BMW X5 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 37,000 easy going miles
Easy driving on overall nice roads and it's now time to replace all four tires after 59,500 km. I've read a lot of reviews about rough driving on Run Flats but I bought mine from a friend and could not tell the difference since. I'm still contemplating whether to go Run Flats or normal. But I will not be buying these Dunlops again because of a few times I've slipped on conditions It should not have slipped. I would say grip is the weakest point of these tires based on my experience.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2020
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR 1.2 (215/45 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 55,000 easy going miles
Original equipment on my Seat. Very low wearing: after 4 years and 55000 km of (quiet) driving on far from smooth roads, I can still rely on 30% of tread before reaching the marker, and rubber shows no cracks at all. Very good grip on dry, not as much on wet. More sporty than comfy. I'll change them for aging, not for wearing, and I'll stay with Dunlop.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2020
BMW X6 M (315/35 R20 R) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Driving in dry conditions and little to no issues as soon as it’s wet they are dangerous! Exiting islands and car loses grip and actually slides on all 4 wheels! Tyre wear is hopeless 30% worn in 3000 miles only, car just had first MOT so mileage exact
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2019
Given 74% while driving a Lexus RX300 (235/55 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 3,000 easy going miles
Using them on lexus RX300 2004 4x4
Very quiet pattern, comfort is noticeable. But, feel a bit of vibrations as need to have them again balanced.
this summer did not almost rain, can not provide valuable feedback on water.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2019
Given 96% while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (225/40 R18 N) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
The overall grip inspires confidence plus the low noise level is noticeably better than my previous Yokohamas.Very pleased so far.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2019