Jaguar XF S Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Jaguar XF S.

Do you Drive a Jaguar XF S? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XF S better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (149) 93% 93% 87% 91% 87% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (88) 94% 90% 87% 89% 86% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (35) 90% 93% 88% 88% 83% 82%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (158) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (36) 89% 93% 88% 88% 87% 92%
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (56) 88% 83% 80% 76% 86% 85%
Tracmax X Privilo TX3 (2) 75% 75% 75% 75% 75% 80%
Triangle SporteX TH201 (10) 77% 71% 74% 66% 68% 77%
Sunny WinterMax A1 (4) 65% 63% 65% 65% 70% 78%
Pirelli P Zero (126) 85% 71% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (120) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (151) 80% 70% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Nankang NS2 (207) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 63%
Triangle TR968 (68) 54% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38%

Jaguar XF S Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 84% (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Diesel-powered car with almost 300 HP and more than 600Nw measured 245/45 / R18. These tires have only one drawback. In agile driving (dry) they have little transversal grip in curves, which causes me a continuous intervention of the electronic control system of the car, especially on the rear axle. This occurs only in joyful driving, not in quiet driving, and makes it impossible to take advantage of the car's true power, as the strong support when cornering is mission impossible. In all other respects, dry braking , loudness, precision , works really well. In the wet it doesn't have this cornering support problem and subjectively it seems (I haven't actually measured it) that you can go faster in the corners than in the dry. In fact, if I go fast in the wet, the car's DSC barely blinks on occasion, while in the dry it does not stop intervening strongly. In other aspects in the wet, such as braking or hydroplaning, it also maintains a good performance. At the moment with about 10,000 km the wear is very little so I think they will last.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-24 11:24:25
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 52% (255-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Jaguar XF Sportbrake 3.0S, currently 68k with full dealer history. Replaced all four tyres with properly marked and recommended for Jaguar, Dunlop SP's. They are ABSOLUTE RUBBISH ! DO NOT BUY !! They have done about 6K in 18 months and have severe cracks around every tread channel which were noticed about 4 months ago. The tyre dealer who put in the complaint was told the cracks are only superficial and not in any way a hazard or deflect from the performance of the tyre and the car should be driven as normal. This is very hard to believe given the apparent depth of the cracking! They certainly don't inspire confidence in using the 270bhp we bought the car for and are being changed for Pirelli's this week.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-05 21:53:32
Writing about the Tracmax X Privilo TX3 given 86% (255-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Was very weary about fitting these, but hard times forced cheap tyre. Found these tyres been very quiet, they have been great, wet grip found great at moment , when pulling away, and have found great at stopping to. Handles well giving xf some stick to
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-11 07:11:08
Writing about the Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 given 88% (285-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
A very good winter tyre, gives you more confidence in the wet and when there is a spell of cold weather. Very good in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-10 14:02:34
Writing about the Triangle SporteX TH201 given 94% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
Early days yet, but I have just fitted 4 of these to my Jaguar XF 3.0D S last week, I was very apprehensive at first after always using Dunlop Sports Maxx in my 6 years of ownership of this car, and I'm not usually the sort of person to fit 'no name cheapo's' to anything, having had experience of false economy 'ditch finders' in my younger days, but a fleet manager who I know and trust recommended these, he said he fits them to numerous fleet cars of various size and performance with no issues, as these were a 3rd of the price and I was sick of the cost of the Dunlop's I decided to give them a try.

So far I've only used them around town but up to now they feel great in wet and dry conditions, on quiet roads I've deliberately turned in hard to try and provoke under-steer at roundabouts and given the 275bhp turbo diesel a crafty prod to encourage the traction control light to make an appearance on the exits but its only shown once after deliberate provocation, generally they remain firmly planted, another positive is the ride quality is also smoother than the Dunlop's, and the 'notchy' low speed manoeuvring in cold temperatures displayed by the Dunlop's has also gone.

It remains to be seen how well they wear, and how they feel on a fast flowing 'A' road, but my experience so far is 100% positive, and I would even go so far as to say they actually feel better than the Dunlop's so far!!
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-10 08:50:23
Writing about the Sunny WinterMax A1 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Decided to fit winter tyres to Jaguar xf, which being automatic and rear wheel drive , was not clever in the snow. I could not believe the difference these budget tyres made. They coped so well during the "Beast from the East" last year, and again in the snow on a visit to north west Scotland this year. I was even passing 4x4s I was so confident in these tyres. I would definitely buy these again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-24 15:23:43
Writing about the Triangle TR968 given 28% (255-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Just bought a secondhand Jaguar XF-S V6D

Bought it in the dry, didn't 'push' it though (if only I had!!!). In the wet it was shocking - looked at the tyres - Triangle! (Had never heard of them).

Concluded that an XF-S should be much more predictable, so got a set of Pirellis, car transformed, wet/dry/noise/comfort.

£800 well spent on the Pirellis. Who on earth would put that rubbish on a fast Jaguar? Beyond belief!
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-05 13:25:43
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 93% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
Fitted these to my XFS to replace the original manufacturer Dunlop Sport Maxx. They've been on the car for 6 months now, we have 2 XFs the other one was still on Dunlops and it made for an interesting comparison, I've found the Goodyears to be a little grippier in the wet and dry and quieter with slightly improved fuel consumption over 6 months, maybe 1.5mpg better. As we actually had some snow days this past winter I would say that the Goodyears were acceptable if not brilliant in the snow, the Dunlops were really poor in comparison. The wear rate seems slightly higher with the Goodyears which in my experience has always been the case. A good compromise though for better performance. One other thing, the Goodyears have a protruding lip to give greater protection to the rims, if your other half parks as carefully as mine does then this is a real money and rim saver! Would I buy again? I just did.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-12 04:37:28
Writing about the Triangle TR968 given 19% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 easy going miles
Bought a used XFS low mileage etc drove home 100miles in the dry with a droning noise thought it maybe a wheel bearing when I got home checked tyres. Triangle - never heard of them. Day later it was raining (UK normal) 1st roundabout I get to suddenly I'm sideways only fast reactions saved the day. Just ordered a new set of Goodyear f1 Eagles anyone want a set of nearly new Triangles free. Oh sorry, I've thrown them away. At least I've saved someone's life.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-03 15:32:52
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 72% (255-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Definite improvement over the OEM Dunlops for grip, wet grip in particular. Haven't had the TC come on at all since getting this installed. I don't really push the car but you can tell that they do grip very well.

I don't feel that they suit the car. The road noise is no better (actually a bit worse over concrete sections of the motorway), comfort is improved a touch and MPG is a little worse. With a cruiser like the XFS noise, comfort and MPG would be better.

Wish I'd of gone for Goodyear Asym 3's, they'd be more comfortable, better economy and quieter while still retaining 95% of the grip (although not the handling from what I've read), however if I had an XFR (or XFR-S) the Michelin's would be the way to go. The V8 noise would help drown out the tyre noise, and would really benefit from the improved grip.

My XFS will be getting Goodyear's next time, my XK Dynamic R will be getting Michelin's (against the OEM Pirelli).
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-16 22:37:45
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 43% (245-40-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
Got these all round on my Jaguar XF the first thing i noticed was the noise , they are very noisy , wet grip is average dry grip ok , would i buy again simply no because of the loud noise they make .
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-30 12:04:29
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 72% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17000 average miles
I kept a track on the wear on my Dunlops (Dunlop SP Sport MAXX 255/35R20 97 Y XL J) - they were fitted on 14 Nov 2014 when the car had 77,734KM ... today it had 105,300KM ... so I managed to get 27,566km (thats 17,128 Miles for our UK viewers) out of them ... I'd consider my driving style as slightly competitive at the lights but not crazy aggressive. But I do like to feel the full power of the car from time to time. The car is an XF S 2009 which I mostly drive in standard D mode (the odd time I put on S mode and Dynamic but maybe once in a three month period) ... if it was summer I could probably squeeze a few more miles out of them and maybe get it to 32,000KM before they would be close to the legal minimum.

In terms of the performance of the tyre itself. Road noise levels were pretty good without being stellar. Handling was good overall, I rarely felt out of control and only lost the back end a few times in the wet.

So overall I'm neither happy nor unhappy with this wear ... I'm not sure how I should feel, but I think I'll try something else either way.

tyre reviewed on 2016-11-17 17:56:20
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre