Uniroyal RainSport 5

The Uniroyal RainSport 5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 66 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 472,501 miles driven, and 11 tests with an average result of 16th.

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 69%
Wear 75%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 68%

First On MarketSeptember 2019
Wheel Size15 - 21"
Width185 - 295mm
Profile30 - 55
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - A
Noise (dB)70 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The RainSport 5 is ranked 71st of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal RainSport 3.

Tests Included

11

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

34th

Average Result

16th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 AutoBild Summer Tyre Test
18th of 21 tyres
  • Good aquaplaning qualities, safe wet handling.
  • Vague handling and limited lateral guidance on dry roads.
  • Satisfactory.
View Full Test >>

2024 Tyre Tests

2023 Tyre Tests

2022 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

Reports

  • Uniroyal RainSport 5 - Press Release
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    15 inch
    195/55 R 15 85 VCA71
    195/55 R 15 85 HCA71
    16 inch
    205/55 R 16 91 HCA71
    205/55 R 16 91 VCA71
    205/55 R 16 94 V XLCA72
    205/55 R 16 91 WCA71
    17 inch
    225/50 R 17 98 Y XLCA72
    225/50 R 17 94 YCA71
    225/50 R 17 98 V XLCA72
    225/45 R 17 94 Y XLCA72
    225/50 R 17 94 VCA71
    225/45 R 17 94 W XLCA72
    225/45 R 17 91 YCA71
    225/50 R 17 98 W XLCA72
    205/50 R 17 93 Y XLCA72
    215/45 R 17 87 YDA71
    215/45 R 17 91 Y XLCA72
    205/50 R 17 93 V XLCA72
    215/55 R 17 94 VCA71
    215/55 R 17 98 W XLCA72
    215/55 R 17 94 YCA71
    18 inch
    245/45 R 18 100 Y XLCA72
    255/35 R 18 94 Y XLCA73
    245/40 R 18 97 Y XLCA72
    225/40 R 18 92 Y XLCA72
    19 inch
    235/35 R 19 91 Y XLDA72
    235/35 R 19 91 Y XLCA72
    20 inch
    255/45 R 20 105 Y XLCA73
    245/35 R 20 95 Y XLDA72
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Uniroyal RainSport 5 >>

    Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal RainSport 5

    2019-10-31 - Hi guys.....When will you review the new Uniroyal Rainsport 5 ?

    The short answer is that I don't know! We've not had any official communication about the Rain Sport 5 yet, as soon as we do the site will be update with data!


    2020-05-11 - is the rainsport 5 235/35/r19 91y xl fr compatible with my porsche Boxster 3.4s

    Assuming that is the side for your Boxster then the RainSport 5 is compatible. I've not tested the tyre yet, so I'm not sure if it will be a good match.


    2021-05-31 - I’ve got Uniroyal rainsport 5 on my fiesta st2, the tyres are 205/40/r17 and the tyre pressure light has come on/off a few times, what pressures are correct for the front and rear tyres?

    I don't have the data for your vehicle, however you should be able to find the pressure sticker inside the door shut on either the driver or passenger door.


    2021-12-28 - does the Uniroyal RainSport 5 265/30 R20 Y (94) have rim protectors?

    I'm afraid I've not seen a RainSport 5 in that size, I'd get in touch with Uniroyal to find out about the rim protector status.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/50 R15 £63.98 - £90.96 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £63.54 - £93.22 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £86.50 - £95.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £76.00 - £96.06 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/55 R16 £99.08 - £142.44 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R18 £123.00 - £147.78 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 94 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 207 SW Outdoor (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 800 spirited miles
    Having used rainsport 3s for the past 2 years or 42.000km it was time for a change. I always change at 2 year interval October or November with 40-45k kilometres on average. I reside in northern Greece and the last time round I fancied the idea of an all season Tyre but after the fitters recommendation ended up with the uniroyals. The rainsport 3s were a revelation in winter and commendable in the summer. I always fit premium tyres and the rainsport 3s were left wanting a little bit for grip in scorching hot tarmac.
    The rainsport 5s in question are on initial impressions (1200km so far) a bona fide premium Tyre in the dry, gone are the days of the soft sidewalls. The Tyre provides excellent turn in and high speed stabillity. In the wet is still king though I have never tried nokians. Don't be fooled reading tests that other premium are equally good in the wet. In deep water and poor road surfaces the uniroyals offer a sense of security above anything else.
    They are also less noisy but for some reason maybe unrelated to the tyres the fuel consumption is marginally higher.
    Also the experience from the 3s taught me that in very light snow to they are drivable I am not suggesting they are as good as all seasons but they provide some traction and don't have the typical wooden feel of summer tyres.
    All things considered a great Tyre.
    Helpful 153 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2019
    Given 10% while driving a BMW Z4 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
    I bought a 2020 BMW Z4 and it came with 4 of these fitted. On the drive home, I thought something was broken in the suspension. The car floated around like the wheels weren't connected. At 70mph, in the dry, these were SCARY and dangerous to drive with. The car wouldn't stay straight, and jumped around in my hands. Even at 50mph, they had so little grip, you could feel the car squirming. These lasted 300 miles before I had to take them off before I ended up in a ditch. Replaced with Pilot Sport 5's and they make the car handle as expected ... AMAZING! These things are the worst tyres I've ever had on a car.
    Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2023
    Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 (245/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,500 miles
    Had Uniroyal Rainsport 5 for 33000km so I’m considering wear to be really good. Other than that I would say that tyres are good package. They are little bit slow to react compared to PilotSports or Asymmetric6. On the wet tyres are really good especially for aquaplaning. Comfort is mainly noise level for me and in this matter Uniroyals are average.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2023
    Have you driven on the Uniroyal RainSport 5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal RainSport 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Uniroyal RainSport 5 >

    Latest Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews

    Given 80% while driving a Jaguar S type 3.0 (255/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Good tyre for the price with superb wet road performance, tackles standing water with ease. Expecting the fronts to last for around 20k before replacing with the rears probably good for another 10k. Not on the same level as a Pilot sport or Sportcontact in overall performance/longevity, but quite a bit cheaper.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2024
    Given 88% while driving a BMW 330d M Sport (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
    Retired my Bridgstones after several sets as not worth the money for average performance. Switched to the Rainsports 3's all round on my BMW 330D Touring some 7 years ago, won't use any other tire. Gives me so much confidence in the wet & dry, great grip, good wear rate also when exercising the 'Horses' to a good lather. The Rainsport 5's appear just as good, won't consider anything else for the money.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2024
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 100% while driving a Peugeot 3008 exclusive (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,017 spirited miles
    Responsive handling, not much roll resistance which provides an efficient ride. Surprisingly good and reliable in all conditions
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on February 29, 2024
    Given 100% while driving a Peugeot 1.2 puretech 75 hp (225/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Good against aqua planning, safe in wet conditions and pretty impressive on dry road. Genuinely satisfied and highly recommend
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2024
    Given 95% while driving a Lexus RC300H (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    I got these to replace the OE Bridgestones fitted to my Lexus RC300h. I tend to favour comfort over on-the-limit grip because a) I only drive on public roads, not race tracks, b) speed cameras, c) have you seen the size of the potholes? and d) the strange whining noise from the front passenger seat if I start to “press on” too enthusiastically.
    From the word go, the rainsports were a night-and-day improvement over the Bridgestones. Dry grip s superb - maybe not track day superb but perfectly good for a tight exit slip road off the motorway taken a little too fast for comfort. Although these are classed as summer tyres I ran them through a very cold November and December with temps below freezing at times and had no issues at all. Similarly, the wet weather performance is quite incredible. The confidence they inspire in the wet is excellent.
    My one gripe is that the tyres have no rim protection. Er, that’s it. Everything else is a 10/10 from me. There may be “better” tyres but these do what I need them to do, they’re brilliant in the wet, good enough to use all year round, comfortable and priced very competitively. I’d get them again in a heartbeat.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2024
    Given 43% while driving a Audi (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,320 average miles
    They grip well in wet conditions, but they don’t last long. They’ve only lasted 9,320 miles
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2024
    Given 100% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
    The Uniroyal Rainsport 5 has proven to be an exceptional choice for those looking for a tyre that offers superior wet weather performance without compromising safety on dry roads. I have been driving on these tyres for several months and I am impressed by their ability to cope with weather challenges.

    In the wet, these tyres provide impressive traction. Water evacuation is efficient, providing confidence and stability even on slippery roads. I have experienced a noticeable improvement in vehicle control during heavy rain, which has made driving much safer.

    What pleasantly surprised me is how these tyres also deliver excellent performance on dry roads. Steering response is crisp, providing an agile and controlled steering feel. Cornering stability is outstanding, and the overall ride feel is smooth and comfortable. I didn't notice any understeer, although of course the tyres always have to be inflated to the manufacturer's inflation range and the car's suspension must be correct, not to mention that you can't enter corners too fast, which is always the cause of understeer.

    In addition, the Uniroyal Rainsport 5 XL tyres I chose (225/45 R17 94Y XL) for my Hyundai i30 FB N line 30th Anniversary have proven to be the right choice for my car, providing extra load capacity that translates into safe driving even with heavier loads.

    In short, the Uniroyal Rainsport 5's have exceeded my expectations by delivering outstanding performance in wet and dry conditions. They are a solid choice for those looking for versatility and safety all year round.

    I live in Asturias in the north of Spain and this is a very rainy area compared to other parts of Spain. It has a similar climate to Britain and these tyres are noticeable in wet conditions.

    Post-Data: Those of you who criticise this tyre very negatively should take a look at your navel and see if you drive too aggressively and that's why you have so many scares. Maybe you are paid by Michelin or GoodYear to kiss their asses. These overpriced brands are not a panacea.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2023
    Given 99% while driving a Mazda 3 2005 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    I bought the tires 3 years ago and have been satisfied with almost all performance tires offered by the manufacturer. I drive them most easily in city conditions on dry and wet roads, but I know how to go with them on dirt roads as well. So far I have no negative comments. Recently I had the opportunity to drive at a higher speed than allowed, the contact between the car and the asphalt was at a level despite 3 years of use.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2023
    Given 71% while driving a Hyundai elantra (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    After almost 2,000 km in a 130 CV Hyundai Elantra, my impressions differ little from those previously mentioned. Correct grip in the dry, very good in the wet (the more water there is on the road, the better they are). What I like least is that the sidewall is too soft compared to my previous Hankooks, hence its good comfort but little information about what happens between the tires and the asphalt. In short, a correct tire in the dry (without sporting pretensions) and very, very good in extreme rain. I ride them because I got them at a very good price and the duration does not matter to me because I do 6000 km a year.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2023
    Given 76% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 Estate (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Used on big comfy softly sprung E-Class Estate - perfect for this use case. Excellent on wet rainy motorways, very resistant to aquaplaning and feel good on soaking wet backroads with puddles etc - typical UK weather and roads. Quiet, soft, have lasted very well (square setup is useful so I rotate front>back regularly to even out wear). Do not confuse these with a 'sporty' tyre, they are far too soft and do not give the feedback required. I always use proper premium UHP tyres on my more sporty cars, but for a daily commuter or ling distance car, these are excellent value. Reccomended.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2022
    Given 72% while driving a Hyundai elantra (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    I've been with them for about 1000 kms and the first impressions are: Very comfortable and low noise tire. The side is somewhat soft, hence the comfort but at the cost of sacrificing feedback a bit. Good dry grip but not a sports tire at all. In the wet I have had little opportunity to test them but the little that I have tried them without problems in the absence of being able to test them in extreme rain which I think is the specialty of these tires. I decided on them because I found them at a very good price, 83 euros per tire mounted and balanced in size 225/45/17 94XL Y and I use the car much more in winter than in summer because I have a motorcycle. I will post impressions later.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2022
    Given 94% while driving a Fiat Tipo (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 37 average miles
    Fiat Tipo 2018. Mileage 25,000 km/year. I use it 80% on the highway. On dry roads, I did not notice any difference compared to other branded manufacturers. Excellent on water. Excellent value for money. Noise level is pleasant. I cannot evaluate rubber wear in a negative direction, because I change it sooner than wear.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2022