Uniroyal RainSport 5

The Uniroyal RainSport 5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal RainSport 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 70%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 63%
Handling 67%
Wear 69%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 59%

Tyre review data from 33 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 144,460 miles driven.

The RainSport 5 is ranked 86th of 130 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 13th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the wet, relatively low fuel use.
  • Negative - Weak in the dry, high wear.
  • Overall - The Uniroyal Rainsport 5 has significant weaknesses in the dry with imprecise steering, low grip, and long dry braking distances. The RainSport 5 is still good in the wet, with short wet braking and high aquaplaning resistance. The tyre also has low noise, low rolling resistance, but high levels of wear.
View Full Test >>

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 19th of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test - 3rd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent wet performance with the shortest wet braking distances, fastest wet handling, high levels of comfort, good grip on gravel, and best aquaplaning resistance overall.
  • Negative - Relatively poor performance in the dry with extended dry braking and heavy understeer in dry handling.
  • Overall - The Uniroyal RainSport 5 is living up to its name by having a class leading performance in the wet, regardless of water depth, and as always, very good levels of comfort. Unfortunately, as we've found previously with the RainSport range, that comes at the expense of performance in the dry where the tyre has lower levels of grip and a heavy understeer handling balance.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R15 78V   E A 71 6.83kgs
195/50 R15 82V   C A 71 6.89kgs
205/50 R15 86V   E A 71 7.67kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C A 70 6.81kgs
185/55 R15 82V   C A 70 6.78kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 7.24kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 7.19kgs
205/55 R15 88V   C A 71 7.56kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 72 6.59kgs
205/45 R16 83W   E A 71 7.83kgs
205/45 R16 87W XL   C A 72 7.83kgs
205/45 R16 83V   E A 71 7.83kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 72 6.85kgs
205/50 R16 87Y   E A 71 8.05kgs
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 71 9.04kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 72 7.99kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.86kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.04kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 8.49kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 71 8.28kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.44kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.91kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 8.86kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 9.54kgs
225/55 R16 95Y   C A 71 9.60kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.56kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   C A 72 7.71kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 72 7.99kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.94kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.34kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 72 8.33kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 8.58kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 71 8.59kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.20kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.09kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 10.35kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 10.35kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 10.04kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.76kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 72 8.92kgs
215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.03kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 72 9.03kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.82kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.74kgs
225/50 R17 94V   C A 71 9.82kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.93kgs
215/55 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.55kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 72 9.55kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.56kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.56kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 72 10.92kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 10.74kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 72 8.01kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 72 8.27kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.75kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.25kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 11.16kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 11.62kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.59kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.00kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 10.60kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 10.41kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.82kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.79kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 71 10.88kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 10.88kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 72 10.11kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 10.62kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 11.46kgs
235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 11.46kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 13.19kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73 10.09kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 72 8.26kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 72 9.91kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 72 10.36kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 10.95kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.29kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 12.82kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 9.72kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.17kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 11.18kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.46kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 72 12.96kgs
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.45kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 11.93kgs
235/50 R19 99V   C A 71 11.00kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 73 14.67kgs
265/50 R19 110Y XL   C A 73 16.81kgs
225/55 R19 99V   C A 71 11.37kgs
235/55 R19 105V XL   C A 72 12.06kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 73 15.05kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   C A 72 9.17kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 72 10.78kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.15kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 12.40kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 13.35kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 72 12.38kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 13.07kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL   C A 73 12.99kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 14.38kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C A 72 9.89kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 75 14.12kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 73 13.65kgs

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal RainSport 5

2019-10-31 - Hi guys.....When will you review the new Uniroyal Rainsport 5 ?

The short answer is that I don't know! We've not had any official communication about the Rain Sport 5 yet, as soon as we do the site will be update with data!


2020-05-11 - is the rainsport 5 235/35/r19 91y xl fr compatible with my porsche Boxster 3.4s

Assuming that is the side for your Boxster then the RainSport 5 is compatible. I've not tested the tyre yet, so I'm not sure if it will be a good match.


2021-05-31 - I’ve got Uniroyal rainsport 5 on my fiesta st2, the tyres are 205/40/r17 and the tyre pressure light has come on/off a few times, what pressures are correct for the front and rear tyres?

I don't have the data for your vehicle, however you should be able to find the pressure sticker inside the door shut on either the driver or passenger door.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


RainSport 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £61.52 - £88.00 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £48.89 - £75.00 (43 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £68.59 - £84.49 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £64.79 - £80.04 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £102.99 - £119.96 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £110.79 - £140.00 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 92 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 207 SW Outdoor (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 800 spirited miles
Having used rainsport 3s for the past 2 years or 42.000km it was time for a change. I always change at 2 year interval October or November with 40-45k kilometres on average. I reside in northern Greece and the last time round I fancied the idea of an all season Tyre but after the fitters recommendation ended up with the uniroyals. The rainsport 3s were a revelation in winter and commendable in the summer. I always fit premium tyres and the rainsport 3s were left wanting a little bit for grip in scorching hot tarmac.
The rainsport 5s in question are on initial impressions (1200km so far) a bona fide premium Tyre in the dry, gone are the days of the soft sidewalls. The Tyre provides excellent turn in and high speed stabillity. In the wet is still king though I have never tried nokians. Don't be fooled reading tests that other premium are equally good in the wet. In deep water and poor road surfaces the uniroyals offer a sense of security above anything else.
They are also less noisy but for some reason maybe unrelated to the tyres the fuel consumption is marginally higher.
Also the experience from the 3s taught me that in very light snow to they are drivable I am not suggesting they are as good as all seasons but they provide some traction and don't have the typical wooden feel of summer tyres.
All things considered a great Tyre.
107 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (195/50 R15) on track for 200 spirited miles
Gave the Rainsport 5's a go this weekend at Oulton Park and it just so happens Storm Dennis was in full effect. So glad I did as conditions were horrendous. I was very nervous about going out on track on unknown tyres in my mid-engine MR2. I needn't be though as they were unbelievable. So much better than the Rainsport 3's I'd used previously. Wet grip 11, wet handling 11, wet braking 11. I had to reduce tyre pressures by 10 psi and was getting brake fade with track pads in they produced so much grip/heat. Highly recommended for wet weather driving. See for yourself here on my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dm8qtcGU_4&t=270s
27 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2020   
Given 68% while driving a BMW 120d M sport (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I have had these fitted to my car for two weeks. I got a good deal on them from Demon Tweaks (with a 20% ebay discount) hence why I decided to go for them, plus I had a good experience with the previous RS3 tyre on another car. These replaced a set of Goodyear Eagle Assymetric 3's so much of my review is going to be based on a comparison to those.
Firstly Dry grip, they seem very good in this respect. I cannot tell any difference between these and the Goodyears.
Wet grip. Aquaplaning resistance is excellent, probably down to the very deep treads. However on wet but not soaking roads they seem to lack traction when pulling away, and I can make the rear of the car step out under throttle which I couldn't do with the Goodyears so I don't think they are all that brilliant in this regard. Especially as the Goodyears were worn.
Road reedback is good, as is handling. They seem nice and predictable on the limit.
I cannot comment on wear as it is too early to say.
Comfort. These are XL tyres and I do find them rather firm over bumps. They are certainly not as compliant as many other tyres I have had. Noise wise they are quiet however.
Would I buy again? It would depend on whether they are on offer or not. I would be tempted to spend a bit more on a set of Goodyear Assymetric 5's as if the Assymetic 3 is anything to go by they will be a better tyre in most aspects and not much more cost. Failing that and if cost really was a factor I would go for the Falken FK510. The wife has them on her car and they are also a better tyre (and cheaper)
24 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2020   
Have you driven on the Uniroyal RainSport 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal RainSport 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Uniroyal RainSport 5 >

Latest Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Audi A4 3.0 TDi quattro remapped (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Really like this tyre Dry grip, its not the best outright grip and when giving it full the brakes you can feel the unusual tread pattern is ideally suited to heavy braking however cornering and forward traction feels very good and the its a tyre i really like driving on, always lets you know what its doing i feel and never catches you out. Big improvement over the rainsport 3 i feel in the dry. Wet grip is very good on these tyres never have an issue with grip at all. Good for everything in the wet, really cant say more than that. Comfortwise the tyre I'd say is pretty average noise wise but i like the comfort of them my audi has slightly crashy suspension and these really have softened them up a bit. tyre life seems pretty good as well looking at them now after 5000 miles and ive got 5.5 mil left which for my driving is pretty good.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2021   
Given 61% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
Got them for my Focus, thy stick great in wet,they do the job in dry,as long you don't push them to the edge.cos of the soft edges. One thing however is so bad ,and that is wear... I've done 16 000 km /10 000 miles,and they are gone. One mil away from wear indicator, meaning they won't last two seasons. So if you do low mileage,good buy,but if you drive a lot of km as I do,buy something more durable.
3 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 57% while driving a Audi A3 2.0 TDI 140 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
This is the second summer I am driving with rainsport5, i had bigger expectations. The tires are very slippery on dry road, I haven't driven before with such slippery tires. On wet road the tire is good, even better than on dry. The plus is that they are silent and doesn't wear much. I have around 20K kilometers with them. To be honest I wouldn't buy this tires again, I just feel the car insecure with them. P.s. I've changed a lot of things on the suspension, because I thought that the problem was with the car, but with winter tires it's different. Wouldn't reccomend, it's not worth the price.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2021   
Given 30% while driving a Ford Focus ST 225 (2003 2007) (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have heard alot of storys with these tyres so thought would give them ago and to be honest never again the car is running power and as soon as you boot it it just lites the front up at 4k with the limiter been at 7200 so u do the maths with that on in the dry and in the wet it is even worse would never be getting these again round corners the car feels like its floating and braking not that good either my opion anything like this you go with either the ps4 f1 supersports potenza sports or semi slick track tyres
6 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2021   
Given 34% while driving a BMW 330e (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought them for the rear on my BMW 330e instead of Conti Sport contact 4 RunFlat tyres. Handling is terrible. The car behaviour change massively when u past over 70mph car is like on ice. Tracking icon flashing very often. Not recommended for BMW in my opinion. Need to change them for premium brand unfortunately. However Fuel consumption is impressive 3.9l average after 1000 miles instead 5.5l on Conti. Still have RunFlat tyres on the front
5 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2021   
Given 39% while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Not a great tyre, handling is vague, grip average and they wear fast. Noise wise they are ok and they cope with standing water well but traction away from the line and on turn into corners is poor. They have taken the fun out of driving the car.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2021   
Given 57% while driving a Citroën C4 Picasso (2013 ) (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
I'm very disappointed about this tires. I regret my Michelin energy saver +. Avoid this tire definitely.
5 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
Bought for a volvo v50 d5 and honestly can't recommend them enough! They inspire confidence in the wet and do a grand job in the dry too. I live in the Peak District so we get plenty of rain, therefore these tyres are honestly perfect for a good price to performance level. I do a lot of motorway miles too and my aquaplaning in the wet has come down a lot with these tyres too, can't recommend enough!
8 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2020   
Kia Motors Stinger GTS (235/55 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 300 average miles
Another user has already provided a similar review (posted July 30,2020 for a BMW 330i). My experience is very similar. I bought these tyres specifically for use in the wet, and immediately found that my car (Stinger GTS) became a lot less stable. The rear feels floaty, going around corners at 50-60mph the car feels as though its losing grip (A-roads, motorways). Also on acceleration, the rear starts fishtailing. Car has done less than 500miles and I have contacted the supplier to let them know the car is not safe to drive. Will be replacing them with others tyres (Conti Sport Contact same factory fitted) asap.
12 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2020   
Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I was a fan of the previous Rainsport 3, so naturally I decided to give these a go on my car. After a few thousand miles, I have come to the conclusion that they are not as good as the previous version in any area except for wear. They are not a terrible tyre by any means, but they just don't seem to grip as well or inspire as much confidence as the Rainsport 3. I will probably look elsewhere next time.
15 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2020   
Given 88% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Had a new set of Uniroyal Rainsport 5 put on a Merc E Class Saloon, Amg line, in May 2020. Have to say fantastic tyres that inspire a lot of confidence in the wet. Driven them at motorway speeds in heavy rain, through big puddles near the central divider and never had an issue with aquaplaning. Really grippy in the wet, even round corners. Brake on the dot. Dry performance is good too, never had any issues - but they definitely come alive in the wet. Quite a bit of road noise, but that is perhaps expected for a 265/35/18 XL tyre.
4 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a BMW Z4 3.0Si (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Had a full set of 3’s on 2 z4’s now. Original run flats were dreadful. Current Z4 is a 3litre have 5’s now on the back as the wore out first, 3’s on the front. Absolutely excellent in all ways. Used it on track (silverstone) loads of grip great handling. I got rid of the run flats as they tramlines terribly, despit what someone else says these don’t.
4 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2020