Uniroyal RainSport 5

The Uniroyal RainSport 5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal RainSport 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 70%
Wear 73%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 65%

Tyre review data from 26 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 120,450 miles driven.

The RainSport 5 is ranked 78th of 129 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 11th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Best aquaplaning resistance, stable balanced handling in the wet.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Acceptable.
View Full Test >>

2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 13th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the wet, relatively low fuel use.
  • Negative - Weak in the dry, high wear.
  • Overall - The Uniroyal Rainsport 5 has significant weaknesses in the dry with imprecise steering, low grip, and long dry braking distances. The RainSport 5 is still good in the wet, with short wet braking and high aquaplaning resistance. The tyre also has low noise, low rolling resistance, but high levels of wear.
View Full Test >>

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 19th of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R15 78V   E A 71 6.83kgs
195/50 R15 82V   C A 71 6.89kgs
205/50 R15 86V   E A 71 7.67kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C A 70 6.81kgs
185/55 R15 82V   C A 70 6.78kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 7.24kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 7.19kgs
205/55 R15 88V   C A 71 7.56kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 72 6.59kgs
205/45 R16 83W   E A 71 7.83kgs
205/45 R16 87W XL   C A 72 7.83kgs
205/45 R16 83V   E A 71 7.83kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 72 6.85kgs
205/50 R16 87Y   E A 71 8.05kgs
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 71 9.04kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 72 7.99kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.86kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.04kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 8.49kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 71 8.28kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.44kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.91kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 8.86kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 9.54kgs
225/55 R16 95Y   C A 71 9.60kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.56kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   C A 72 7.71kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 72 7.99kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.94kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.34kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 72 8.33kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 8.58kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 71 8.59kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.20kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.09kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 10.35kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 10.35kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 10.04kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.76kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 72 8.92kgs
215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.03kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 72 9.03kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.82kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.74kgs
225/50 R17 94V   C A 71 9.82kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.93kgs
215/55 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.55kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 72 9.55kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.56kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.56kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 72 10.92kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 10.74kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 72 8.01kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 72 8.27kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.75kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.25kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 11.16kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 11.62kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.59kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.00kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 10.60kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 10.41kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.82kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.79kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 71 10.88kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 10.88kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 72 10.11kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 10.62kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 11.46kgs
235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 11.46kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 13.19kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73 10.09kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 72 8.26kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 72 9.91kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 72 10.36kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 10.95kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.29kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 12.82kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 9.72kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.17kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 11.18kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.46kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 72 12.96kgs
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.45kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 11.93kgs
235/50 R19 99V   C A 71 11.00kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 73 14.67kgs
265/50 R19 110Y XL   C A 73 16.81kgs
225/55 R19 99V   C A 71 11.37kgs
235/55 R19 105V XL   C A 72 12.06kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 73 15.05kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   C A 72 9.17kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 72 10.78kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.15kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 12.40kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 13.35kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 72 12.38kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 13.07kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL   C A 73 12.99kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 14.38kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C A 72 9.89kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 75 14.12kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 73 13.65kgs

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal RainSport 5

2019-10-31 - Hi guys.....When will you review the new Uniroyal Rainsport 5 ?

The short answer is that I don't know! We've not had any official communication about the Rain Sport 5 yet, as soon as we do the site will be update with data!


2020-05-11 - is the rainsport 5 235/35/r19 91y xl fr compatible with my porsche Boxster 3.4s

Assuming that is the side for your Boxster then the RainSport 5 is compatible. I've not tested the tyre yet, so I'm not sure if it will be a good match.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


RainSport 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £44.60 - £62.77 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £60.00 - £89.38 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £49.21 - £77.86 (46 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £66.80 - £94.72 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £64.40 - £85.12 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £84.50 - £116.76 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £98.60 - £131.93 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 92 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 207 SW Outdoor (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 800 spirited miles
Having used rainsport 3s for the past 2 years or 42.000km it was time for a change. I always change at 2 year interval October or November with 40-45k kilometres on average. I reside in northern Greece and the last time round I fancied the idea of an all season Tyre but after the fitters recommendation ended up with the uniroyals. The rainsport 3s were a revelation in winter and commendable in the summer. I always fit premium tyres and the rainsport 3s were left wanting a little bit for grip in scorching hot tarmac.
The rainsport 5s in question are on initial impressions (1200km so far) a bona fide premium Tyre in the dry, gone are the days of the soft sidewalls. The Tyre provides excellent turn in and high speed stabillity. In the wet is still king though I have never tried nokians. Don't be fooled reading tests that other premium are equally good in the wet. In deep water and poor road surfaces the uniroyals offer a sense of security above anything else.
They are also less noisy but for some reason maybe unrelated to the tyres the fuel consumption is marginally higher.
Also the experience from the 3s taught me that in very light snow to they are drivable I am not suggesting they are as good as all seasons but they provide some traction and don't have the typical wooden feel of summer tyres.
All things considered a great Tyre.
102 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (195/50 R15) on track for 200 spirited miles
Gave the Rainsport 5's a go this weekend at Oulton Park and it just so happens Storm Dennis was in full effect. So glad I did as conditions were horrendous. I was very nervous about going out on track on unknown tyres in my mid-engine MR2. I needn't be though as they were unbelievable. So much better than the Rainsport 3's I'd used previously. Wet grip 11, wet handling 11, wet braking 11. I had to reduce tyre pressures by 10 psi and was getting brake fade with track pads in they produced so much grip/heat. Highly recommended for wet weather driving. See for yourself here on my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dm8qtcGU_4&t=270s
23 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2020   
Given 68% while driving a BMW 120d M sport (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I have had these fitted to my car for two weeks. I got a good deal on them from Demon Tweaks (with a 20% ebay discount) hence why I decided to go for them, plus I had a good experience with the previous RS3 tyre on another car. These replaced a set of Goodyear Eagle Assymetric 3's so much of my review is going to be based on a comparison to those.
Firstly Dry grip, they seem very good in this respect. I cannot tell any difference between these and the Goodyears.
Wet grip. Aquaplaning resistance is excellent, probably down to the very deep treads. However on wet but not soaking roads they seem to lack traction when pulling away, and I can make the rear of the car step out under throttle which I couldn't do with the Goodyears so I don't think they are all that brilliant in this regard. Especially as the Goodyears were worn.
Road reedback is good, as is handling. They seem nice and predictable on the limit.
I cannot comment on wear as it is too early to say.
Comfort. These are XL tyres and I do find them rather firm over bumps. They are certainly not as compliant as many other tyres I have had. Noise wise they are quiet however.
Would I buy again? It would depend on whether they are on offer or not. I would be tempted to spend a bit more on a set of Goodyear Assymetric 5's as if the Assymetic 3 is anything to go by they will be a better tyre in most aspects and not much more cost. Failing that and if cost really was a factor I would go for the Falken FK510. The wife has them on her car and they are also a better tyre (and cheaper)
21 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2020   
Have you driven on the Uniroyal RainSport 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal RainSport 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Uniroyal RainSport 5 >

Latest Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews

Given 57% while driving a Citroën C4 Picasso (2013 ) (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
I'm very disappointed about this tires. I regret my Michelin energy saver +. Avoid this tire definitely.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
Bought for a volvo v50 d5 and honestly can't recommend them enough! They inspire confidence in the wet and do a grand job in the dry too. I live in the Peak District so we get plenty of rain, therefore these tyres are honestly perfect for a good price to performance level. I do a lot of motorway miles too and my aquaplaning in the wet has come down a lot with these tyres too, can't recommend enough!
5 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Kia Motors Stinger GTS (235/55 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 300 average miles
Another user has already provided a similar review (posted July 30,2020 for a BMW 330i). My experience is very similar. I bought these tyres specifically for use in the wet, and immediately found that my car (Stinger GTS) became a lot less stable. The rear feels floaty, going around corners at 50-60mph the car feels as though its losing grip (A-roads, motorways). Also on acceleration, the rear starts fishtailing. Car has done less than 500miles and I have contacted the supplier to let them know the car is not safe to drive. Will be replacing them with others tyres (Conti Sport Contact same factory fitted) asap.
10 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2020   
Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I was a fan of the previous Rainsport 3, so naturally I decided to give these a go on my car. After a few thousand miles, I have come to the conclusion that they are not as good as the previous version in any area except for wear. They are not a terrible tyre by any means, but they just don't seem to grip as well or inspire as much confidence as the Rainsport 3. I will probably look elsewhere next time.
14 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2020   
Given 88% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Had a new set of Uniroyal Rainsport 5 put on a Merc E Class Saloon, Amg line, in May 2020. Have to say fantastic tyres that inspire a lot of confidence in the wet. Driven them at motorway speeds in heavy rain, through big puddles near the central divider and never had an issue with aquaplaning. Really grippy in the wet, even round corners. Brake on the dot. Dry performance is good too, never had any issues - but they definitely come alive in the wet. Quite a bit of road noise, but that is perhaps expected for a 265/35/18 XL tyre.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a BMW Z4 3.0Si (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Had a full set of 3’s on 2 z4’s now. Original run flats were dreadful. Current Z4 is a 3litre have 5’s now on the back as the wore out first, 3’s on the front. Absolutely excellent in all ways. Used it on track (silverstone) loads of grip great handling. I got rid of the run flats as they tramlines terribly, despit what someone else says these don’t.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2020   
Given 19% while driving a Vauxhall Omega (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 400 average miles
After replacing front shocks, springs, disks and callipers I fitted the uniroyal rain tyre to my 2002 Omega. Whereas the car prior to the Umiroyals behaved as a car should the uni royals skip, tramline consistently at low speeds i.e.30 to 40 mph. High speeds they seem ok but are frightening at low speeds, do not trust them at all!!
11 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2020   
Given 10% while driving a BMW 330i (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I'm not over exaggerating, fitted to the rear of my 330i these were dangerous. Chronic lack fo stability, the car was steering from the rear at normal road speeds & lacked stability both straight ahead & around corners from the outset. I don't know why but I assume due to overly soft sidewalls. Uniroyals removed after 1000 miles & returned to supplier for investigation. Repalced with Goodyear Eagle F1's that are brilliant.
16 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2020   
Given 49% while driving a BMW 123d (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
A little disappointed with these. They provide good but not exceptional levels of grip in the wet and dry. Compared to the previous version the sidewalls are stiffer and that also has a negative effect on the ride quality. They are also quite noisy on faster roads, possibly due to the open tread pattern. They also don't inspire much confidence in spirited driving, and you can feel them skipping on the road in the dry if you try to throw the car around on corners. I think if you are coming from a budget tyre you would be very happy with them, but if you are trying to compare them to a premium summer tyre such as a goodyear or Michelin then you are going to be disspointed.
7 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2020   
Given 88% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R16) on mostly town for 1,500 average miles
I had a pair of sailsun front tyres that were fitted to my Fiesta When I purchased it,the car was terrible in the wet and often aqua plained on the front in corners.I have now put the Sailsuns on the rear and fitted 2 rainsport5 to the front, this has fixed the problem and the road noise also seems a lot better.
6 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2020   
Given 77% while driving a Ford FocusST (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Changed from eagle F1s to rainsport 5 and to be honest i am on the fence with these tyres. Dont get me wrong they are really good for grip dry and wet but the side walls feel soft, like im on a boat. Dosnt full me with confidence going into a corner like the F1s did. Disappointed after all the good things i had herd about them, i will get the use out these ones but i dont think i will be buying again unless they fix this problem.
2 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2020   
Given 88% while driving a Volvo V70 2.4 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
Good in dry, very good in wet with very good roadholding and low noise levels. Sidewalls clearly harder than previous tyres RainExpert 3's.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2020