Uniroyal RainSport 5

The Uniroyal RainSport 5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal RainSport 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 70%
Wear 75%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 66%

Tyre review data from 47 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 322,407 miles driven.

The RainSport 5 is ranked 78th of 136 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 34th of 44 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Reviews SUV Tyre Test - 3rd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent wet performance with the shortest wet braking distances, fastest wet handling, high levels of comfort, good grip on gravel, and best aquaplaning resistance overall.
  • Negative - Relatively poor performance in the dry with extended dry braking and heavy understeer in dry handling.
  • Overall - The Uniroyal RainSport 5 is living up to its name by having a class leading performance in the wet, regardless of water depth, and as always, very good levels of comfort. Unfortunately, as we've found previously with the RainSport range, that comes at the expense of performance in the dry where the tyre has lower levels of grip and a heavy understeer handling balance.
View Full Test >>

2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 13th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the wet, relatively low fuel use.
  • Negative - Weak in the dry, high wear.
  • Overall - The Uniroyal Rainsport 5 has significant weaknesses in the dry with imprecise steering, low grip, and long dry braking distances. The RainSport 5 is still good in the wet, with short wet braking and high aquaplaning resistance. The tyre also has low noise, low rolling resistance, but high levels of wear.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R15 78V   E A 71 6.83kgs
195/50 R15 82V   C A 71 6.89kgs
205/50 R15 86V   E A 71 7.67kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C A 70 6.81kgs
185/55 R15 82V   C A 70 6.78kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 7.24kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 7.19kgs
205/55 R15 88V   C A 71 7.56kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 72 6.59kgs
205/45 R16 83W   E A 71 7.83kgs
205/45 R16 87W XL   C A 72 7.83kgs
205/45 R16 83V   E A 71 7.83kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 72 6.85kgs
205/50 R16 87Y   E A 71 8.05kgs
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 71 9.04kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 72 7.99kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.86kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.04kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 8.49kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 71 8.28kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.44kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.91kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 8.86kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 9.54kgs
225/55 R16 95Y   C A 71 9.60kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.56kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   C A 72 7.71kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 72 7.99kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.94kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.34kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 72 8.33kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 8.58kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 71 8.59kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.20kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.09kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 10.35kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 10.35kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 10.04kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.76kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 72 8.92kgs
215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.03kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 72 9.03kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.82kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.74kgs
225/50 R17 94V   C A 71 9.82kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.93kgs
215/55 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.55kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 72 9.55kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.56kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.56kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 72 10.92kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 10.74kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 72 8.01kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 72 8.27kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.75kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.25kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 11.16kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 11.62kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.59kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.00kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 10.60kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 10.41kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.82kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.79kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 71 10.88kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 10.88kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 72 10.11kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 10.62kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 11.46kgs
235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 11.46kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 13.19kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73 10.09kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 72 8.26kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 72 9.91kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 72 10.36kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 10.95kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.29kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 12.82kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 9.72kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.17kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 11.18kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.46kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 72 12.96kgs
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.45kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 11.93kgs
235/50 R19 99V   C A 71 11.00kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 73 14.67kgs
265/50 R19 110Y XL   C A 73 16.81kgs
225/55 R19 99V   C A 71 11.37kgs
235/55 R19 105V XL   C A 72 12.06kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 73 15.05kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   C A 72 9.17kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 72 10.78kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.15kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 12.40kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 13.35kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 72 12.38kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 13.07kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL   C A 73 12.99kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 14.38kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C A 72 9.89kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 75 14.12kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 73 13.65kgs

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal RainSport 5

2019-10-31 - Hi guys.....When will you review the new Uniroyal Rainsport 5 ?

The short answer is that I don't know! We've not had any official communication about the Rain Sport 5 yet, as soon as we do the site will be update with data!


2020-05-11 - is the rainsport 5 235/35/r19 91y xl fr compatible with my porsche Boxster 3.4s

Assuming that is the side for your Boxster then the RainSport 5 is compatible. I've not tested the tyre yet, so I'm not sure if it will be a good match.


2021-05-31 - I’ve got Uniroyal rainsport 5 on my fiesta st2, the tyres are 205/40/r17 and the tyre pressure light has come on/off a few times, what pressures are correct for the front and rear tyres?

I don't have the data for your vehicle, however you should be able to find the pressure sticker inside the door shut on either the driver or passenger door.


2021-12-28 - does the Uniroyal RainSport 5 265/30 R20 Y (94) have rim protectors?

I'm afraid I've not seen a RainSport 5 in that size, I'd get in touch with Uniroyal to find out about the rim protector status.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


RainSport 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £49.99 - £75.77 (38 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £69.00 - £86.50 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £63.59 - £81.20 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R16 £85.00 - £131.20 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £90.00 - £107.98 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £107.59 - £129.08 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 93 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 207 SW Outdoor (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 800 spirited miles
Having used rainsport 3s for the past 2 years or 42.000km it was time for a change. I always change at 2 year interval October or November with 40-45k kilometres on average. I reside in northern Greece and the last time round I fancied the idea of an all season Tyre but after the fitters recommendation ended up with the uniroyals. The rainsport 3s were a revelation in winter and commendable in the summer. I always fit premium tyres and the rainsport 3s were left wanting a little bit for grip in scorching hot tarmac.
The rainsport 5s in question are on initial impressions (1200km so far) a bona fide premium Tyre in the dry, gone are the days of the soft sidewalls. The Tyre provides excellent turn in and high speed stabillity. In the wet is still king though I have never tried nokians. Don't be fooled reading tests that other premium are equally good in the wet. In deep water and poor road surfaces the uniroyals offer a sense of security above anything else.
They are also less noisy but for some reason maybe unrelated to the tyres the fuel consumption is marginally higher.
Also the experience from the 3s taught me that in very light snow to they are drivable I am not suggesting they are as good as all seasons but they provide some traction and don't have the typical wooden feel of summer tyres.
All things considered a great Tyre.
112 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (195/50 R15) on track for 200 spirited miles
Gave the Rainsport 5's a go this weekend at Oulton Park and it just so happens Storm Dennis was in full effect. So glad I did as conditions were horrendous. I was very nervous about going out on track on unknown tyres in my mid-engine MR2. I needn't be though as they were unbelievable. So much better than the Rainsport 3's I'd used previously. Wet grip 11, wet handling 11, wet braking 11. I had to reduce tyre pressures by 10 psi and was getting brake fade with track pads in they produced so much grip/heat. Highly recommended for wet weather driving. See for yourself here on my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dm8qtcGU_4&t=270s
29 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2020   
Given 68% while driving a BMW 120d M sport (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I have had these fitted to my car for two weeks. I got a good deal on them from Demon Tweaks (with a 20% ebay discount) hence why I decided to go for them, plus I had a good experience with the previous RS3 tyre on another car. These replaced a set of Goodyear Eagle Assymetric 3's so much of my review is going to be based on a comparison to those.
Firstly Dry grip, they seem very good in this respect. I cannot tell any difference between these and the Goodyears.
Wet grip. Aquaplaning resistance is excellent, probably down to the very deep treads. However on wet but not soaking roads they seem to lack traction when pulling away, and I can make the rear of the car step out under throttle which I couldn't do with the Goodyears so I don't think they are all that brilliant in this regard. Especially as the Goodyears were worn.
Road reedback is good, as is handling. They seem nice and predictable on the limit.
I cannot comment on wear as it is too early to say.
Comfort. These are XL tyres and I do find them rather firm over bumps. They are certainly not as compliant as many other tyres I have had. Noise wise they are quiet however.
Would I buy again? It would depend on whether they are on offer or not. I would be tempted to spend a bit more on a set of Goodyear Assymetric 5's as if the Assymetic 3 is anything to go by they will be a better tyre in most aspects and not much more cost. Failing that and if cost really was a factor I would go for the Falken FK510. The wife has them on her car and they are also a better tyre (and cheaper)
27 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2020   
Have you driven on the Uniroyal RainSport 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal RainSport 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Uniroyal RainSport 5 >

Latest Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 40,000 average miles
After crashing my car due to aquaplaning, i got scared to drive under wet conditions but these tyre just grips under rain ! They lasted 35km till now and still have 3.4mm, the tyre is very comfortable, pretty quiet id say. In dry condition if u are not planning to go to a circuit theres not much differences between them and goodyears EG PE2 it understeer a bit when i am too mighty in corners. But overall very nice tyre last very long since i am driving 50% town 40% country road and 10%% highway pretty agressivly, they still lasted 40000km and still have quite a margin !! For beginers, daily drive i would highly recommend these tyre for the price, comfort and security under wet conditions which is a very important point !
0 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022   
Given 100% while driving a Suzuki Kizashi 2.4L FWD (235/45 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Excellent tyre for all seasons
0 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2022   
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 93% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Dry grip is execptional, then when it rains, that level of grip just keeps on giving! It's like the the rain doesn't even effect these tyres! Feedback and handling progression is alot better than I expected for what feels like a soft compound and soft sidewall tyre. Didn't last as long as the previous Bridgestones, however the grip level is a step above, and so is well worth the comprimise. Also as comfortable, if not more so, than a set of Michelins I have also previously had on the car. Definately recommend, definately buy again.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2022   
Given 79% while driving a Volvo 2.0 T5 Saloon (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I dont think there are many better tyres than these in the wet! Dry performance suffers a bit though. Feedback and comfort are ok. Would buy again, not bad in the snow
1 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2022   
Given 100% while driving a Ford Fiesta Zetec S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Best tyres I’ve had. Have previously used Bridgestone potenza that were excellent but wore down quickly and lost grip. The uniroyal is a far superior tyre
3 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2022   
Given 93% while driving a Audi S4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
AMAZING TYRE ALL ROUND BUT EXCEPTIONAL PERFORMANCE IN THE WET WEATHER
1 - tyre reviewed on February 9, 2022   
Given 36% while driving a Renault Clio 172 (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Conclusion: If you have a hot hatch and enjoy spirited driving, avoid these like the plague! Probably ok for a Sunday driver with a car that won't exceed 30mph anywhere. I've got Rainsport 5's fitted on my Clio 172 Turbo with Speedline 2118s so tyre size is 195-50-15's......I absolutely detest them
16 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2022   
Given 100% while driving a Citroën C4 Grand Picasso (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 11,347 average miles
Very precise steering and high cornering grip in the wet. Very quiet. Does the business on dry tarmac too
2 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2022   
Given 36% while driving a BMW 1 series (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
This is a second report due to the tyres nearing the end of their life. They have improved in terms of dry grip as they have worn, but unfortunately the numb, squishy handling has remained. Wear has been good but not fantastic, I managed 12000 miles on the rear of my 220bhp BMW in normal driving. Comfort was decent with them, the sidewalls are quite soft. These would suit a car driven steady, or for commuting but as a performance tyre they are somewhat lacking. I am looking at going for Goodyear or Michelin for the replacements.
6 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2022   
Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,500 average miles
Very good on dry. Not bad cornering and impeccable handling, the Uniroyal rain sport 5 is consistently great in the wet and in the snow, the tyre is a little less convincing when pushing it to the limits but provides sufficient safety
3 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2022   
Given 100% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,200 average miles
Best tyres I have ever brought for this price range
1 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2021   
Given 99% while driving a Chevrolet Cruze 1.8A (225/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 400 average miles
Good value for money! Incredible grip on wet and decent on dry tarmac
1 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2021