Uniroyal RainSport 5

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 72%
Wear 71%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 67%
 
Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £61.52 - £87.89 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £49.21 - £77.63 (34 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £70.78 - £96.14 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £63.30 - £85.12 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £88.58 - £118.49 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R19 £112.84 - £148.43 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £101.50 - £134.78 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 87 tyre sizes - View all.

Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 89% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
Bought for a volvo v50 d5 and honestly can't recommend them enough! They inspire confidence in the wet and do a grand job in the dry too. I live in the Peak District so we get plenty of rain, therefore these tyres are honestly perfect for a good price to performance level. I do a lot of motorway miles too and my aquaplaning in the wet has come down a lot with these tyres too, can't recommend enough!
1 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2020   
Kia Motors Stinger GTS (235/55 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 300 average miles
Another user has already provided a similar review (posted July 30,2020 for a BMW 330i). My experience is very similar. I bought these tyres specifically for use in the wet, and immediately found that my car (Stinger GTS) became a lot less stable. The rear feels floaty, going around corners at 50-60mph the car feels as though its losing grip (A-roads, motorways). Also on acceleration, the rear starts fishtailing. Car has done less than 500miles and I have contacted the supplier to let them know the car is not safe to drive. Will be replacing them with others tyres (Conti Sport Contact same factory fitted) asap.
9 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2020   
Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I was a fan of the previous Rainsport 3, so naturally I decided to give these a go on my car. After a few thousand miles, I have come to the conclusion that they are not as good as the previous version in any area except for wear. They are not a terrible tyre by any means, but they just don't seem to grip as well or inspire as much confidence as the Rainsport 3. I will probably look elsewhere next time.
12 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2020   
Given 88% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Had a new set of Uniroyal Rainsport 5 put on a Merc E Class Saloon, Amg line, in May 2020. Have to say fantastic tyres that inspire a lot of confidence in the wet. Driven them at motorway speeds in heavy rain, through big puddles near the central divider and never had an issue with aquaplaning. Really grippy in the wet, even round corners. Brake on the dot. Dry performance is good too, never had any issues - but they definitely come alive in the wet. Quite a bit of road noise, but that is perhaps expected for a 265/35/18 XL tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a BMW Z4 3.0Si (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Had a full set of 3ís on 2 z4ís now. Original run flats were dreadful. Current Z4 is a 3litre have 5ís now on the back as the wore out first, 3ís on the front. Absolutely excellent in all ways. Used it on track (silverstone) loads of grip great handling. I got rid of the run flats as they tramlines terribly, despit what someone else says these donít.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2020   
Given 19% while driving a Vauxhall Omega (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 400 average miles
After replacing front shocks, springs, disks and callipers I fitted the uniroyal rain tyre to my 2002 Omega. Whereas the car prior to the Umiroyals behaved as a car should the uni royals skip, tramline consistently at low speeds i.e.30 to 40 mph. High speeds they seem ok but are frightening at low speeds, do not trust them at all!!
11 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2020   
Given 10% while driving a BMW 330i (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I'm not over exaggerating, fitted to the rear of my 330i these were dangerous. Chronic lack fo stability, the car was steering from the rear at normal road speeds & lacked stability both straight ahead & around corners from the outset. I don't know why but I assume due to overly soft sidewalls. Uniroyals removed after 1000 miles & returned to supplier for investigation. Repalced with Goodyear Eagle F1's that are brilliant.
15 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2020   
Given 49% while driving a BMW 123d (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
A little disappointed with these. They provide good but not exceptional levels of grip in the wet and dry. Compared to the previous version the sidewalls are stiffer and that also has a negative effect on the ride quality. They are also quite noisy on faster roads, possibly due to the open tread pattern. They also don't inspire much confidence in spirited driving, and you can feel them skipping on the road in the dry if you try to throw the car around on corners. I think if you are coming from a budget tyre you would be very happy with them, but if you are trying to compare them to a premium summer tyre such as a goodyear or Michelin then you are going to be disspointed.
7 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2020