Mazda mx 5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda mx 5.

Do you Drive a Mazda mx 5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a mx 5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental ExtremeContact DWS (9) 84% 89% 80% 80% 84% 90%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (92) 89% 87% 84% 84% 86% 84%
General Exclaim UHP (1) 90% 80% 90% 80% 100% 70%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (282) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (70) 87% 81% 79% 78% 74% 77%
Linglong Green Max HP010 (12) 78% 74% 77% 79% 81% 76%
Ovation VI 388 (11) 84% 79% 77% 82% 79% 74%
Nankang NS2R (50) 89% 67% 83% 84% 72% 55%
Goodyear DuraGrip (15) 81% 73% 69% 71% 79% 77%
Interstate RACEDNRT (1) 90% 40% 90% 90% 70% 40%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Zeetex HP1000 (11) 79% 71% 74% 63% 79% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (126) 85% 73% 77% 76% 69% 64%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Goodyear Excellence (120) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (154) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 (16) 75% 61% 73% 57% 76% 79%
Federal 595EVO (38) 73% 45% 68% 64% 71% 55%
Continental EcoContact 6 (31) 76% 70% 56% 60% 48% 73%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%

Mazda mx 5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Ovation VI 388 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
Very grippy tyres for the price. Used for track use and have no complaints.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-10 00:42:38
Writing about the Interstate RACEDNRT given 74% (195-55-15-)
Driving on track for 300 spirited miles
fitted to a 1.6 eunos. more expensive than 2R's but softer. Cheaper than anything better branded. Too stiff for road use. Can't get 'em in 14's for the mazda. Sadly appear to be out of production. Would buy again if I could find some.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-15 20:12:52
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 50% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 spirited miles
These are oem tyres fitted to a 2019 Mazda mx5. The car has 5000km's done, and mostly driven on city roads with the odd dual carriageway blast here and there.
My initial thoughts were that they felt like a hard compound tyre. The rear wheels have lost traction when conditions were damp under mild acceleration numerous times. Traction control has kicked in a lot during wet weather. Car has skidded out sideways (a little) on many occasions, but not enough to cause serious concern, however its enough to warrant removal of tyres.
On occasions where I've had to accelerate hard from a standstill these tyres spun in wet and damp conditions,
But they managed to grip ok whilst dry.

Under normal weather conditions they perform adequately but still aren't a match for the calibre of the car they are fitted to.
Ive noticed poor road feedback at speed, high noise, and theyre not very accurate in terms of road position. The response is very slow and not confidence inspiring.
At times ive felt like my car is not a sports car. I've had landsail tyres on a Hyundai coupe that performed better than these potenzas.

While road conditions are poor in my country, there's no excuse to be fitting these tyres as oem equipment. Combining these tyres to the Irish climate, Irish roads, and finally to a tail happy rear wheel drive car is asking for trouble.

I do not recommend these tyres unless you live in a warm/moderate climate and only do motorway trips.
They are not suitable for my car or it's driving environment.
I will be changing these tyres asap.


tyre reviewed on 2020-01-04 03:48:43
Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 54% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 easy going miles
The tires provide a great drive. The major disadvantage is, as already mentioned here by others, that the tread depth of the new tires is 6.5 mm or less.
Unacceptable for me. I will not buy Continental again, especially since they state on their website that 8-9 mm is normal for a new tire.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-25 17:53:31
Writing about the Linglong Green Max HP010 given 82% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These tyres came with the car, a MX5 mklll 2.0 litre. To date I have driven some 5000 miles in typical spirited manner and the tyres give excellent grip in the dry and good grip in the wet, the latter in keeping with the cars known wet problems. Quiet, comfort ,well as best as they can be in this type of car, and cheap ,yes I will replace the set so I know their history. I can fully recommend these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-22 20:58:13
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 77% (185-60-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 average miles
They definitely transformed the car, in terms of grip both on wet and dry. I used them for daily, trips and back roads and once a month a track drift day (front only) and 4 autosolo's. The tread doesn't look like much but the tire has plenty of grip, which is predictable and stable even on extreme situations. I was even surprised on how well they handled winter and snow conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-17 14:30:11
Writing about the Zeetex HP1000 given 46% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
I have these tyres fitted to a Mazda mx5, they were fitted by the dealer before I bought the car. Dry grip is not great, wet grip is really poor, the tyres give me no confidence at all in the wet. Soon to be changed for a premium brand.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-10 18:17:12
Writing about the Nankang NS2R given 92% (185-60-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
I Just mounted, tested the tyres on the road for around 150km, they fit perfectly on the car. They have much more grip, handling and responsiveness than in any other road tyre of any premium brand, except that you must warm them before trying to go fast.
These are semislick tyres for the road (180, hard wear), for the track there is probably something better (if you pay twice or more). You must be careful on the wet (but i tested when cold and new, 7°C and after torrential rain). Excellent braking in any condition, just slippery on very wet hairpin bend.
The perfect choice for an old mx5 NA with neither power steering or braking assistance. Better 185 60 r14 than 195 50 r15 on country winding road. Miata at its very best!
After few km on the roads, i have no idea of wearing, at present. It seems regular.
Despite they are reinforced tyres, they feel relatively comfortable (also on gravel, but my tyres have high profile!) and not noisy .
Very high value per money.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-17 21:42:41
Writing about the Federal 595EVO given 63% (195-40-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 spirited miles
Used on the front of my turbo mx5 drift car that i also daily drive,on the road they were pretty good with good feed back, not so good in the wet but were bought as summer tyres and they were good enough in the wet to not cause a issue with normal driveing, once on track i was very impressed with the turn in response grip and feed back, they did wear quicker than i exspected but for the grip they offered and the even wear rate i was very impressed, once i was finished with them i tried other tyres and i will be going back to these in the summer!
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-10 11:38:44
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 93% (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-18 22:06:09
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 90% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Quality doesn't always come with a high price. Perfect tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-15 22:42:28
Writing about the Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 given 75% (185-60-14-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Only just got these tyres a few days ago, so I can't speak for some of the categories.
Initial impression is very good, its been chucking it down since I got the tyres fitted and the wet grip is much much better than with the previous set of Conti's.
Its quieter and smoother with a nice amount of feedback.

So far well worth the change.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-22 18:47:31
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre