Vredestein Sportrac 5

The Vredestein Sportrac 5 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 98 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 1,282,797 miles driven, and 28 tests with an average result of 7th.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 83%
Wear 86%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 83%

First On MarketJanuary 2013
Wheel Size14 - 17"
Width165 - 235mm
Profile45 - 70
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)69 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Sportrac 5 is ranked 13th of 201 Summer High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Vredestein Sportrac 3.

Tests Included

28

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

16th

Average Result

7th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15
2nd of 16 tyres
  • Very balanced summer tyres, especially good on wet roads and low wear.
  • None mentioned.
View Full Test >>
2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test
8th of 13 tyres
  • Acceptable dry handling.
  • Long braking distances and nervous handling in the wet. Long dry braking.
View Full Test >>
2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test
9th of 20 tyres
  • Balance performance in the dry and wet, short dry braking distances, low noise, low wear.
  • Average aquaplaning result.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
185/60 R 14 82 HDB70
185/60 R 14 82 HDB70
15 inch
195/65 R 15 91 HBA69
195/65 R 15 91 HBA69
185/65 R 15 88 HDB70
185/65 R 15 88 HDB70
195/65 R 15 91 HCB70
195/65 R 15 91 HCB70
195/65 R 15 91 VCB70
195/55 R 15 85 HCB70
195/55 R 15 85 HCB70
195/65 R 15 91 VCB70
195/55 R 15 85 VCB70
195/55 R 15 85 VCB70
16 inch
205/55 R 16 91 HCB70
205/55 R 16 91 HCB70
205/60 R 16 92 HCB70
205/60 R 16 92 HCB70
215/70 R 16 100 HCB71
215/70 R 16 100 HCB71
215/60 R 16 99 H XLBB71
215/60 R 16 99 H XLBB71
205/60 R 16 92 VCB70
205/60 R 16 92 VCB70
205/55 R 16 91 VCB70
205/55 R 16 91 VCB70
17 inch
205/50 R 17 89 VCB71
225/60 R 17 103 V XLBB70
235/65 R 17 108 V XLBB70
205/50 R 17 89 VCB71
225/60 R 17 103 V XLBB70
235/65 R 17 108 V XLBB70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Vredestein Sportrac 5 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Sportrac 5. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £78.51 - £78.51 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 8 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Vredestein Sportrac 5 Reviews

Given 43% while driving a Daihatsu copen (165/60 R14) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Very prone to understeer in dry & wet conditions, possibly the worst tyre I've ever bought. Don't handle aqua-plaining that well but in a small & light car many tyres struggle here. Getting them to spin is easy even when moving let alone a standing start. ABS triggers under heavy braking consistently. Compared to my previous Bridgestones Potenza RE040 the Sportrac 5's are a wobbly mess. Wear seems fine, expect them to last a while although I can't wait to get rid of them.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Peugeot 206 (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
My first sporty tyre and it was marvelous completely changed handling of the car. I felt much more in control in all conditions. Wet braking is staggering, I would never think I could stop so fast in greasy conditions. I feel much safer behind the wheel and have much more fun driving, really recommend it.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2023
Given 81% while driving a Ford Focus (205/55 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Got these to replace a set of worn out Michelin Primary HP tyres on the Ford Focus.
Firstly you need to understand that a couple of years previously i'd had the standard suspension upgraded by swapping it out for Bilstien B12 Gas shocks with matching Eibach springs, due to rubbish A & B roads causing suspension damage, After which I had the whole set up laser aligned by the tuning company that fitted the suspension.

Anyways , following this , the better handling from this swap led to a downside.The tyre noise transmitting through the body from the Michelin's on all road surfaces increased considerably.When it came time to change, i got a set of 4 x Sportrac 5's all round.Firstly the road noise reduced noticeably.It was still there, but not as bad.
Handling: - At first I though I'd made a huge mistake. The handling seemed sloppy and the car seemed wayward.However I persevered and as the tyres scrubbed in over the next few thousand miles, the grip level has kept on increasing.

12000 mile later and they are now gripping really well in both wet and dry conditions, almost like a premium sports tyre. The wear rate also seems very good.

Knowing what i know now.I will definitely put them on again , when it becomes time to replace them, and put up with scrubbing the next set in as well.
Helpful 113 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2016
Have you driven on the Vredestein Sportrac 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Sportrac 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Vredestein Sportrac 5 >

Latest Vredestein Sportrac 5 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Honda (185/70 R14) on mostly country roads for 56,000 easy going miles
Got these tires after a set of hankook, drove them 3 years in Wich the lasted 90000 km 56000 miles. Dry road drives incredible the handle like a dream, can put the car in every corner and the won't let go. Wet on the other hand isnt that stable, braking takes a while and the slip sometimes when pressing hard. I adjust my driving for this reason on rainey days but overall not living in a very Rainey courty i would buy them again if i could !
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2023
Given 86% while driving a BMW 116i (205/55 R16) on track for 32,300 easy going miles
I've got these tyres mounted in my BMW 116i since almost 4 years. After 52.000 kms, they should be at the end of their lifetime, but it seems they will perform well for other 10.000 kms. I spend half of the use in town, and half in motorway. Although I'm a careful driver, it does not mean that I don't push the car to the limit from time to time. And the tyres are not yet wear. I've used them mostly in dry conditions (I live in Spain), but sometimes in wet and even in snow, given that I'm a snow sports lover. The performance in dry is really, really good, although they work not as good in extreme wet conditions. As overall, I'll buy them again.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 53% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/45 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
BEWARE! Not great in my size! I tested many, this was the worst "sporty" tyre...these will ruin your car sportiness. I selled them and replaced with Toyo TR1 (front) and Laufenn s-fit eq+(rear). Both transforming the car literally.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Citro├źn C2 VTS (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Impressive. I'm not an expert to go in details but I can say I had same good feedback replacing the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 by those Sportrac 5. Very responsive
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2021
Given 90% while driving a BMW 116i (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 22 average miles
Sportrac 5 behaves really well at dry. Not being -extrictly speaking- a sport tyre, the behave and response are quite good for a usual driver. The wear is even slower than expected (35.000 kms done and aseems to remain at least 20.000 kms else). The main weakness is the wet weather. Under moderate rain, they still go well, but if there are puddles, the behaviour start to decrease. I also had the chance to drive on snow, and...surprise! they fitted well!! I would recommend them for normal and conservative drivers (non sport style), specially for dry and/or eventual rain. It worths the price-durability-sensations you got.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Nissan SUNNY (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 60,000 spirited miles
Best tyres I have used until now.. Was planning to buy a new set but they dont have it in stock due to the pandemic.. Highly recommend..
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Nissan SUNNY (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 60,000 spirited miles
Best tyres I have used until now.. Was planning to buy a new set but they dont have it in stock due to the pandemic.. Highly recommend..
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Nissan SUNNY (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 60,000 spirited miles
Best tyres I have used until now.. Was planning to buy a new set but they dont have it in stock due to the pandemic.. Highly recommend..
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2021
Given 99% while driving a Honda Jazz (185/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Best tyres I have used. Good grip both dry and wet roads. Smooth running with almost no noise. Excellent response in turns and braking.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2021
Given 94% while driving a Ford Mondeo Mk3 1.8 (205/50 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 40,000 spirited miles
A benchmark tyre for everyday drivers. Comfy, tons of grip, smooth ride.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Nissan SUNNY (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Best tyres i have used... Very good grip both dry aannd wet roads... Smooth running with almost no noise.. Excellent response in turns and braking..
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2020
Given 83% while driving a Mazda 3 2014 (205/60 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Great value tire. Feels really good, and better than the factory mounted Toyo R38.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2020