BMW 116i Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 116i.

Do you Drive a BMW 116i? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 116i better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Kleber Krisalp HP3 (21) 88% 89% 83% 82% 88% 91%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (53) 88% 90% 85% 85% 85% 90%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (92) 89% 87% 84% 84% 86% 84%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (65) 88% 84% 82% 81% 87% 84%
Vredestein Quatrac Lite (7) 86% 87% 80% 81% 86% 87%
Tigar Hitris (9) 88% 90% 78% 83% 73% 76%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (38) 79% 88% 76% 74% 89% 88%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (89) 90% 83% 81% 79% 81% 80%
Sava Eskimo S3 Plus (25) 77% 76% 72% 74% 75% 82%
Michelin Energy Saver (130) 83% 72% 75% 71% 85% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (57) 78% 73% 72% 70% 68% 71%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (92) 80% 70% 69% 66% 62% 71%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (128) 77% 67% 61% 59% 69% 70%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (138) 71% 53% 54% 48% 55% 32%

BMW 116i Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 90% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22 average miles
Sportrac 5 behaves really well at dry. Not being -extrictly speaking- a sport tyre, the behave and response are quite good for a usual driver. The wear is even slower than expected (35.000 kms done and aseems to remain at least 20.000 kms else). The main weakness is the wet weather. Under moderate rain, they still go well, but if there are puddles, the behaviour start to decrease. I also had the chance to drive on snow, and...surprise! they fitted well!! I would recommend them for normal and conservative drivers (non sport style), specially for dry and/or eventual rain. It worths the price-durability-sensations you got.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-03 12:46:02
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 97% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Had these on my BMW 1 series for winter 2019 to 2020 on the front as my summer tyres were breaking traction at temps around zero on damp roads at relatively low speeds on the front. The handling transformed, I could drive the car as hard all over winter as I could in summer. It was a mild winter with little in the way of frosts and I don't remember there being any snow. Once the weather warmed up I put the summer tyres back on, I never changed the rears as the traction control and the Hankook Ventus Prime 3's had the back end covered well enough. The Kumho Ecsta's I had on the fronts were out of control on the rear before and not good enough for the front either. I had some spare wheels so swapping over was easy. I will do another review later but had to have just one vehicle until recently as I was in and out of work. I've just got a Golf diesel so I don't have to drive my van all the time so these will be going on there next winter and might see a bit of track action in the wet too.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-16 20:25:30
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 25000 average miles
Runflats fitted to a BMW 116i (205/55R16) and couldnt be happier. They really pleasantly surprised me in the wet. No slip at all. Comfortable, quiet great tyres. Would definitely buy again and highly recommend to others.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-09 01:27:46
Writing about the Kleber Krisalp HP3 given 95% (195-55-16-)
Driving on for 1500 average miles
Didn't have any stressful situations with these tires in the snow, but I have tested them in the snow and they seemed good. I did have a stressful situations in dry and wet grip and they performed great and quite good respectively. They are very quiet as far as winter tires go, can't say nothing about wear. Obviously with winter tires you don't push them to the limit too much, but for more spirited driving they will not dissapoint as long as you don't go overboard.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-01 13:01:57
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 96% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8500 average miles
Fitted these to my BMW 116i last summer to go with a pair of hardly used but old Kumho Ecsta KU31's that were my previous favourite tyre. Intitially I fitted the Prime 3's up front so as to wear the older tyres first on the rear.
Even with the car kicking the rear out a bit grip and feedback was always superb on the front, once in damp conditions the rear got away and I had to counter steer and brake to avoid hitting the bollard at the exit of the roundabout I was playing on. No problem!!
Grip and aquaplaning resistance was always great in the wet too and even in cold weather when winter came around it was still up there.
Over winter I switched the Prime's to the rear as the Kumho's were getting well loose even with full traction and ESP on with just the standard 115bhp. The front was noticeably less grippy with the Kumho's but still pretty good, the rear however was transformed allowing slightly wreckless driving again as long as the electronics were left on.
This summer I couldn't be arsed to swap the tyres back around, after roughly 8500 miles the Prime 3's are down to 6mm of tread which is not much wear and the engine has had a remap so is slightly more powerful. Kicking the back out is not quite as easy as with the Kumho's on the rear partly because the front will try to understeer a bit now but the car does handle better with the Primes on the rear if you just want to go fast in the corners.
I've just bought a E46 330d coupe for summer so this will be my winter car now, when I need tyres for the 330 I'll be buying more Ventus Prime 3's at least for the front.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-30 00:56:07
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 77% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
I bought these tyres in November 2011 on a deal at £100 for a pair to fit to the front of my BMW E36 323i replacing a pair of 225/50 Pirelli P6000.
The Kumho's transformed the front end giving so much grip the rear would now swing around like hinge every time I really gave it some throttle. Before it would understeer slightly making the rear easier to control but now the front even in winter conditions could be thrown into corners with gay abandonment. At the time the front end of the old beemer was as good if not better than anything I had ever owned with these on.
After that car was retired 2500 miles later I put the wheels and tyres into storage until I purchased the BMW 116i and fitted some brand new Hankook Ventus Prime 3 to the other pair of wheels.
I bought the car at the beginning of summer and fitted the wheels with the Kumho's to the rear of the car figuring it would be better to wear the older tyres out quicker. The combo of Kumho's on the rear & Ventus Prime's up front was awesome. Turn off traction control and I could almost drift the rear of the car around roundabouts as the feedback was excellent and the grip & feel on the front was also rock solid. Come winter though and traction control was a must as the short wheelbase 1 series would constantly snap out on the cold tarmac.
I swapped the tyres around as the Ventus Primes had won the 2018 Auto Bild test and the Kumho's had proved brilliant on my old car. This sorted the handling, you still needed TC but the car definitely handled better and the Kumho's had almost as much grip on the front as the Hankooks.
So to sum up, the Kumho's work great on the front of a BMW as the weight of the engine increases grip and they have great feel on the rear in summer. They tend to snap out easily on the rear of a rear wheel drive car in winter so not suitable for that application.
The only other fault I have is that once the tyres were down to 6mm (after about another 7000 miles, around 10,000 in total) they were prone to aquaplaning. Maybe this wouldn't have happened on the 323i as it was heavier on the front but it certainly does happen quite a bit on the 116i.
These are an old tire now and technology has moved on so I doubt I would buy again, I also have a feeling they may become dangerous well before reaching the legal limit but they were great in 2011 for the price. They may not aquaplane as much on a heavier car, a 205 section tyre is quite big for a car the size of a 1 series.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-26 21:01:45
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 3HM given 84% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-08 08:47:49
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 71% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 average miles
The Energy Saver were mounted from factory at my 136CV BMW. After 62.000 kms, half driven in the city, half at the highway (110 140 km/h). They have a very good dry grip and a not as good grip in the wet, specially under heavy rain.
I'd say it's a very predictible tyre, specially indicated for calm drivers, nothing sport, although they allow you some small fun. Furthermore, these tyres last eternally (more or less), not changing very much their behaviour. I've driven 62.000 kms in 3 years and a half, and still 4-5 mm deep, so I guess they may last until... 80.000 kms? Absolutely insane.

Indicated for calm style, more than 20-25.000 kms/year, not expecting nothing sport, but a safe and reliable (and a little more expensive) tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-24 10:04:19
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 40% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7890 average miles
This is my second baby BMW (s1) - both have come with brigestone tyres and I acnt say I'm a fan. The wear has been awful with no more than circa 12k out of a pair of rear tyres (rear wheel drive car), ride comfort is adequate but on first opportunity I have switched the acr over to Goodyear Performance which have given much greater ride comfort, improved the handling and provided much better handling in boith wet and dry conditions. The wear from Goodyear has been significantly greater than these Bridgestone tyres. I don't know if the Bridgestone are a softer compound but in 25 years of driving I have never had a puncture until I got my first BMW with Bridgestones - in the last 4 years with 2 sets of Bridgestones I have had 4 punctures from nails and screws - now you could say that could be down to bad luck but interestingly nothing since switching to Goodyears. Given the choice I would avoid Bridgestone tyres and certianly wouldn't recommend these.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-22 19:29:11
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 30% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12800 average miles
BMW S1 Sport - appreciate torque will be high on a Sport rear wheel drive but only 12800 miles on a new set of rear Bridgestone tyres was poor. Had a nail in one and pressure kept being too low - measured to find tread was about low so decided to replace the pair. Replaced with Goodyear and have found ride quality, road noise and wear to date have been far superior - would not recommended Bridgestone.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-09 19:59:53
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Lite given 80% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Fitted to our rear wheel driven BMW 116i - Quiet, Good wear and comfortable with very low noise. Drove up quite an incline in snow / slush covered road - they just gripped and got on with the job, no dramas! They grip very well in wet and admirably in dry. Not as good as summer tyres in summer but they are all season.

Only slight downside is that they are not really progressive. They tend to just let go if pushed round bends.

Recommend these for any lower powered car.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-29 10:50:41
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 88% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I used this tyre for the first time and i found it near excellent.Wet and dry grip is very good.Snow grip is fantastic even for a rear wheel drive car.It provides acceptable grip even on thin ice.I strongly recommend this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-09 17:27:45
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre