Barum Bravuris 3HM

The Barum Bravuris 3HM is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Barum Bravuris 5HM.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 81%
Wear 87%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 90%

Tyre review data from 65 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 506,080 miles driven.

The Bravuris 3HM is ranked 11th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout - 33rd of 43 tyres

View Full Test >>

2016 Market Overview - Braking Test - 20th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2015 Test World Summer Tyre Test - 11th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling on wet surfaces
  • Negative - Poor resistance to aquaplaning. Handling not good enough in the dry
  • Overall - The Barum Bravuris 3 HM has short braking distance on wet roads, and generally cope well with emergency situations, despite the relatively low grip. However, the tyres are too easy to aquaplane. On dry surfaces they react slowly to steering and are vague, but at least they not prone to sudden loss of adhesion. Braking performance is only average. Comfort is low, and noise level is relatively high.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Barum Bravuris 3HM

Questions and Answers for the Barum Bravuris 3HM

2018-03-23 - Which country produces this tires or there are several plants in different countries?

I'm afraid I don't know which plants produce the Barum Bravuris 3HM, it will likely vary with tyre size too.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Bravuris 3HM Prices

Size Price Range  
245/40 R18 £152.39 - £157.60 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 8 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Barum Bravuris 3HM Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Volvo v70 2.5 TDi (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Usually I don't like Barum tyres for summer season but reviews are right. This tyre is silent, comfortable, grippy (considering for road tyre) and doesn't squeek even during spirited driving.. Man can trust them. Some tyres are like driving on jelly fish but this isn't. Considering price, it is great deal.
237 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2016   
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 1.6 TS (215/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
A great tyre with exceptional value! Have been using them on my Alfa Romeo 156 for the past month done more than 500km. The dry grip is fantastic in the Greek roads and in the wet I enjoy a hassle free ride. The steering feel is very much improved over my past Good Years. Barum truly are a fantastic alternative to the big and expensive ones. Specifically in my dimensions its a steal for 290 euros. Definitely recommend! (I'm not saying Barums are better that Pirelli Conti Michelin but the value is astonishing!)
40 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Jaguar X Type 3.0 SE auto (225/45 R19 H) on mostly motorways for 30,000 easy going miles
Bought these for my Jaguar xf 3.0 diesel, they've been a very good tyre. I'm not the racing type but they haven't let me down. The tyre walls have faired well having been forced into the gutter a few times by ongoing traffic. I've now done nearly 30,000 miles and I reckon there's probably another 5000 miles left. I've had them for nearly 2 years and I'm very pleased. If I can get them again I would, but proving difficult to source at the moment.
21 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2018   
Have you driven on the Barum Bravuris 3HM tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Barum Bravuris 3HM? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Barum Bravuris 3HM >

Latest Barum Bravuris 3HM Reviews

Audi (255/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Great tyre for the price. Yes no as good grip Maybe with Michelin or other expensive brands but with today's cars and abs assistance and collision assistance does it make any difference? I have 2 audis and never used anything else. Great tyre
0 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2021   
Given 69% while driving a BMW 320D (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 22,000 average miles
I already reviewed tyre at 9000 miles:
"Really good grip in wet, more than expected. In wet I drive them almost as it's dry and they really stick.
They are good and predictable in dry."

This has not changed. Tyre is really good, especially for the price. And they would last at least 10000 more miles judging by the thread wear.

BUT, I had to change them because they could not be balanced properly!
First when I changed from winter to summer, they balanced them (I went out for a coffee while they were doing it), I went home driving on motorway and my whole car was shaking from 50 mph. Driving 70 mph was impossible. So I went back next day to the shop, and they really tried to balance them but they couldn't. They would remove them from the wheel, put them again, etc to try to get them to be better. It was better, but not as it should be!

Because they have more life in them, I won't throw them, I will fit them to another vehicle that is only for city driving.
I bought Premium Contact 6 to replace them, and they are really really good (I'll leave review).

Because of this issue, I cannot recommend them to anyone who is driving outside of city.

10 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 91% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
For the price can't be beat. Last longer than continental and 40-50 quid cheaper per tyre. Grip in both wet and dry is also not far off the contis. I like to test a tire in all conditions....can hardly budge them even on roundabouts in the wet ....only after 15,000 miles and down to 3.5 mil are they starting to move a little but still feel safer than cheap brand new budget tyres I tried before. Only issue is for some reason recently I'm finding them hard to source!
16 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2018   
Given 83% while driving a Jaguar X Type 3.0 SE auto (225/45 R19 H) on mostly motorways for 30,000 easy going miles
Bought these for my Jaguar xf 3.0 diesel, they've been a very good tyre. I'm not the racing type but they haven't let me down. The tyre walls have faired well having been forced into the gutter a few times by ongoing traffic. I've now done nearly 30,000 miles and I reckon there's probably another 5000 miles left. I've had them for nearly 2 years and I'm very pleased. If I can get them again I would, but proving difficult to source at the moment.
13 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2018   
Given 66% while driving a BMW 520d (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
On BMW F11.
Tires feel very hard, rather uncomfortable. But rolls off quietly. Big problems at balancing.
15 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2018   
Given 66% while driving a Fiat Bravo (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 43,000 miles
Got these tyres as a replacement of my OEM fitted pirelli p7's, both dry and wet grip are somehow average, you can trust them but you must expect lots of wheelspin, especially in wet surfaces, and they were also quite noisier compared to p7's, where these tyres really shine is the wear, 43000 miles in combination of Country Roads and motorways, other than that, these are average budget tyres, and I won't buy them again
1 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 320 (245/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
My last review of these tyres was in July last year with just over 5k under them. 12k further on and with what looks like at least another 4 or 5k left in them, I'm still mega impressed. Highly, highly recommended. In fact, I was thinking of changing my alloys for wider rears, but because Barum don't make the right tyre size and I don't want to buy any other tyre, I've decided to keep the wheels I've already got.
12 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2018   
Given 79% while driving a BMW 320D (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
I drove about 15000km (9000mls) on them in less than a year, and judging by thread wear they seem that will last about 30000km.
Really good grip in wet, more than expected. In wet I drive them almost as it's dry and they really stick.
They are good and predictable in dry.
Would recommend.
2 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2018   
Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These tyres may have a cheap price but the grip is as good if not a little better than the conti sports I replaced on my Audi A3 sportback I don’t drive like an idiot but do drive spirited only issue if you can call it that is that the tyres make a little more road noise and give a more firm ride to the car the noise is not much the firm ride makes you feel like your in a sports car but still have comfort
7 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2018   
Given 88% while driving a (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
I put these on a 2005 MBZ c230 with 156000 miles on the car 225/40-17 front, 245/40-17 rear.. I purchased these for the price. Living in So California, I wasn't worried about rain. it rained the week after I got the tires.
They had good traction on our oil slick/wet roads and do a much better job of sticking to the road (wet or dry) than I expected. My morning drive is on a canyon road with nice twists and turns. With morning dew and/or rain, I can still drive with spirit. I've taken the road at 55- 60mph (limit is 40)in an old 1998 Ford Explorer just to give readers an idea of ehat I call "spirited". I was quicker than 60mph and these tires do stick. great value for a high mileage tire at a very affordable price. I've had the tires just over a month.
12 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2017   
Given 81% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Ive just bought my second set of these tyres, they have lasted 13000 miles on front and the rears have 5mm left after 12000 miles. Ive done over 100,000 miles in the ownership on this car and have tried various tyres.These are great economical tyres for commuting, they provide more than enough grip in the wet and dry, they dont hydroplane doing 70-75 on a very wet motorway even while at 1.6mm on fronts and have great grip in the dry. Ive tried pirelli p7 which last about 8000 miles on front tyres and PS3 which last about 10000 miles on fronts if I recall. If you want a tyre to drive normally on a normal car then buy them you wont find any other tyre as good as these for the money. If you want a tyre for grip and performance for a high performance car (something with more than 400hp not your average 330d) then go buy a premium brand tyre for maximum grip. Ive also tried budget tyres on this car (landsail/accelera phi) and they are terrible in the wet, a 1.6mm pirelli p7 will out perform most 8mm new budget tyres in the wet! There is no point in buying them on a daily driver. These barums are not budget tyres they are mid range and honestly have more than enough dry and wet grip but it ofcourse wont be as grippy as most premium brand tyres. I hope my experience with trying many tyres helps someone unsure about trying these.
9 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2017   
Given 97% while driving a BMW X5 3.0 diesel (255/55 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Great tyre for the price, got them for 300€.
Very quite,good handling, i like the rim protection, it works perfectly when hitting a pothole or when just parking close to the sidewalks.
Will definitely buy them again.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2017