Audi A3 Sportback Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi A3 Sportback.

Do you Drive a Audi A3 Sportback? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A3 Sportback better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (51) 93% 91% 84% 88% 93% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 5 (15) 93% 94% 78% 81% 93% 89%
Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 (9) 93% 86% 89% 87% 86% 89%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (108) 94% 85% 90% 89% 85% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (400) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 (21) 83% 90% 77% 83% 89% 85%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (27) 85% 88% 90% 81% 83% 88%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (65) 88% 84% 82% 81% 87% 84%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (43) 89% 93% 84% 87% 84% 87%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (34) 84% 91% 82% 76% 83% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (164) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Pirelli Cinturato All Season SF2 (7) 80% 84% 72% 68% 87% 96%
Continental AllSeasonContact (26) 82% 88% 84% 84% 78% 83%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (101) 88% 88% 83% 73% 89% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (289) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (86) 89% 85% 83% 85% 76% 80%
Nokian WR D4 (63) 84% 84% 80% 80% 67% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Pirelli SNOWCONTROL Serie II (7) 79% 79% 80% 81% 83% 70%
Michelin Primacy 4 (116) 86% 82% 75% 78% 84% 86%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Michelin CrossClimate (133) 88% 85% 83% 80% 83% 89%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (229) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
GT Radial Champiro HPX (12) 87% 88% 87% 87% 68% 70%
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (23) 84% 83% 71% 72% 86% 84%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (170) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Nexen Winguard Sport (21) 82% 79% 78% 65% 85% 81%
Michelin Primacy 3 (175) 85% 80% 77% 77% 69% 81%
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (14) 80% 72% 72% 71% 81% 82%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (42) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (156) 84% 74% 74% 75% 71% 74%
Michelin Pilot Primacy (52) 80% 76% 71% 68% 85% 71%
Gislaved Ultra Speed (10) 84% 71% 79% 65% 77% 67%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (96) 86% 80% 77% 78% 55% 73%
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (19) 79% 65% 77% 65% 70% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (203) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (137) 84% 72% 77% 75% 68% 63%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Nokian i3 (6) 72% 68% 82% 68% 65% 77%
Pirelli P Zero (137) 85% 70% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (51) 84% 73% 74% 75% 64% 64%
Nokian W Plus (15) 77% 70% 69% 68% 86% 82%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (153) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Starmaxx Ice Gripper W850 (4) 67% 67% 67% 63% 70% 70%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Semperit Speed Grip (3) 70% 73% 63% 67% 63% 57%
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (18) 89% 77% 79% 78% 80% 78%
Pirelli P6 (21) 73% 67% 59% 51% 60% 60%
Evergreen Dynacontrol EU728 (4) 57% 43% 53% 47% 90% 60%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Kumho Ecsta 712 (10) 69% 42% 51% 47% 74% 50%
Zeta Ztr10 (30) 58% 44% 48% 48% 61% 59%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%

Audi A3 Sportback Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 5 given 95% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Great tyres, they feel very refined and sophisticated with no harshness and are perfectly round. Gives a great feeling of safety with endless grip in both wet and dry conditions. Quiet too, only some "singing" around 120 km/h, but none at 110 km/h or 130 km/h
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-11 17:52:00
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I've been running Goodyear tyres consistently for around 10 years now and I don't think I'd buy any other make from now on. During that time i've always defaulted to F1 Asymmetric (2's, 3's and 5's) but thought I fancied something more comfort biased for once. These are incredible tyres and I think the best I've ever had in 30 years of driving. Smooth, quiet, comfortable yet still dynamic, sporty and fun when required. Just an excellent all round summer tyre that suits my style of driving (brisk but not mad into corners etc). Absolutely superb.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-05 19:38:28
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato All Season SF2 given 93% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Very nice and quiet tires used in wet and dry and in snow super results.In past i used Bridgestone Weather control A005 , Goodyear GEN3 these tires are good too.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-17 17:52:11
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-28 18:59:26
Writing about the Pirelli SNOWCONTROL Serie II given 83% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
I have been using these tyres for 2 seasons now. I am very pleased with the driving performance. Wear is exceptional as they look brand new even after 12 months of daily driving in city. They are a bit noisy but not much complaints from me and also my 2 year old kid seems like he likes the noise eventually. I don't drive too aggressive, for the security of kid traveling backseat, still I feel safe with the grips.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-25 06:57:52
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 40000 average miles
I have been using these tyres since it came oem with the car. Its been almost 5 years / 62k km. Tyres are still around 4 mm. Comfort level is quite good comparing to my previous car tyres Hankook Ventus 2 and Bridgstone Turanza tyres. I might change my set of tyres as the tyres would start to lose quality due to season changes in Istanbul. Roads are full of pit holes and bumps in Istanbul. But thankfully I did not have any blow problem. I would highly recommend these tyres for compact HB cars.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-03 21:54:29
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 given 97% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Recently bought Gen3 > Dry Grip is good. > Snow drive is super . Ice Grip is very Good > Wet performence is excellent. Really Happy with the performence > Last time i used bridgestone weather controll a005,These tyres are super but week in snow but in wet performence beautifull.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-05 20:20:03
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 given 64% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 21600 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-26 11:17:40
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
very good and soft tyre good handling far less noisy than my previous Bridgestone s001s but much less sporty. yes they grip well at both dry and wet road but they are too soft with stability problems when driving on "s" turns and high speed. slow response from the steering wheel. definitely NOT a sport tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-19 08:51:21
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 51% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Having owned these for 2 years now I wouldnt buy again. V hard compound which might give great wear and maybe ok for motorway use but is at compromise of most other things.

Pros:
- Good wear.
- Wet braking/handling

Cons:
- Hard compound means skiddy on gravel surfaces.
- Hard compound means seal on older alloys to be poor and loses tyre pressure easily.....I assume less easy to mould/seal on alloys.
- Hard compound doesnt make for v comfortable ride/bumps/potholes.
- Virtually no feedback when driving so makes handling difficult
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-22 12:26:13
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 93% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-14 10:42:29
Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I live in coastal Montenegro, which means the winters are mild with loads of rain; the issue is if you drive a little bit north, you encounter snow and ice road conditions. That is why I went for the allseason type of the tyre, because my previous experiences with 'proper' winter tyres has not been great - they would wear down quickly in the mild weather.
Continental AllSeason contact performs well in the wet conditions, which was very important for me (we have epic rain in Montenegro). I also tested it on several occasions while driving though compacted snow in the mountains, it gripped surprisingly well; on several occasions on the ice patches it tended to 'dance' a bit, but no major issues.
The only real drawback is the warm weather performance - since February the weather was sunny and warm, and the tyre does not perform as advertised - it becomes a bit slow and 'mushy' regarding the feedback. The wear is also not great, as it started to have visible damage to the surface. Also worth noting, the tyre picks up little stones everywhere you go - I suspect this was due to the warm weather and the 'stickiness' of the compound; I can only imagine what would happen in the summer temperatures of 40 degrees Celsius.
Just lately I have reverted to my summer tyres (Dunlop Maxx Sport), and the difference is incredible.
This is not all season tyre. I assume you could use them all season long if you live in mild to cold weather, but then why not buying proper winter tyre?
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-14 20:36:02
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre