Audi A3 Sportback Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi A3 Sportback.

Do you Drive a Audi A3 Sportback? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A3 Sportback better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (107) 94% 85% 90% 89% 85% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (398) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Continental AllSeasonContact (22) 83% 92% 85% 87% 78% 84%
Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 (4) 93% 85% 88% 85% 88% 83%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (64) 88% 84% 82% 81% 87% 84%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (42) 89% 93% 84% 87% 84% 87%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 (13) 81% 88% 78% 83% 87% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (157) 89% 87% 82% 82% 82% 88%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (76) 91% 87% 84% 88% 77% 81%
Pirelli SNOWCONTROL Serie II (6) 83% 78% 83% 87% 88% 72%
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (17) 91% 79% 83% 81% 80% 82%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (25) 85% 88% 90% 81% 83% 90%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (89) 87% 88% 83% 76% 88% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (282) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (33) 85% 91% 83% 76% 83% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (139) 91% 88% 82% 79% 71% 80%
Nokian WR D4 (62) 84% 84% 80% 80% 67% 86%
Michelin Primacy 4 (93) 86% 83% 76% 78% 85% 86%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (223) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (20) 85% 83% 71% 76% 86% 83%
GT Radial Champiro HPX (12) 87% 88% 87% 87% 68% 70%
Michelin CrossClimate (128) 87% 85% 83% 80% 84% 89%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (167) 89% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Nexen Winguard Sport (21) 82% 79% 78% 65% 85% 81%
Michelin Primacy 3 (169) 86% 80% 77% 77% 69% 81%
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (14) 80% 72% 72% 71% 81% 82%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Michelin Primacy HP (196) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (144) 84% 74% 75% 76% 73% 75%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (41) 87% 72% 77% 80% 71% 64%
Michelin Pilot Primacy (51) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (91) 86% 81% 78% 78% 56% 73%
Gislaved Ultra Speed (10) 84% 71% 79% 65% 77% 67%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (126) 85% 73% 77% 76% 69% 64%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (197) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (19) 79% 65% 77% 65% 70% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Nokian i3 (6) 72% 68% 82% 68% 65% 77%
Pirelli P Zero (124) 85% 71% 77% 74% 61% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (49) 84% 73% 73% 75% 63% 63%
Nokian W Plus (15) 77% 70% 69% 68% 86% 82%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (151) 80% 70% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Starmaxx Ice Gripper W850 (4) 67% 67% 67% 63% 70% 70%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Semperit Speed Grip (3) 70% 73% 63% 67% 63% 57%
Pirelli P6 (21) 73% 67% 59% 51% 60% 60%
Evergreen Dynacontrol EU728 (4) 57% 43% 53% 47% 90% 60%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Zeta Ztr10 (28) 59% 44% 50% 50% 62% 58%
Kumho Ecsta 712 (10) 69% 42% 51% 47% 74% 50%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%

Audi A3 Sportback Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli SNOWCONTROL Serie II given 83% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
I have been using these tyres for 2 seasons now. I am very pleased with the driving performance. Wear is exceptional as they look brand new even after 12 months of daily driving in city. They are a bit noisy but not much complaints from me and also my 2 year old kid seems like he likes the noise eventually. I don't drive too aggressive, for the security of kid traveling backseat, still I feel safe with the grips.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-25 06:57:52
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 40000 average miles
I have been using these tyres since it came oem with the car. Its been almost 5 years / 62k km. Tyres are still around 4 mm. Comfort level is quite good comparing to my previous car tyres Hankook Ventus 2 and Bridgstone Turanza tyres. I might change my set of tyres as the tyres would start to lose quality due to season changes in Istanbul. Roads are full of pit holes and bumps in Istanbul. But thankfully I did not have any blow problem. I would highly recommend these tyres for compact HB cars.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-03 21:54:29
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 given 97% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Recently bought Gen3 > Dry Grip is good. > Snow drive is super . Ice Grip is very Good > Wet performence is excellent. Really Happy with the performence > Last time i used bridgestone weather controll a005,These tyres are super but week in snow but in wet performence beautifull.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-05 20:20:03
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2 given 64% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 21600 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-26 11:17:40
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
very good and soft tyre good handling far less noisy than my previous Bridgestone s001s but much less sporty. yes they grip well at both dry and wet road but they are too soft with stability problems when driving on "s" turns and high speed. slow response from the steering wheel. definitely NOT a sport tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-19 08:51:21
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 51% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Having owned these for 2 years now I wouldnt buy again. V hard compound which might give great wear and maybe ok for motorway use but is at compromise of most other things.

Pros:
- Good wear.
- Wet braking/handling

Cons:
- Hard compound means skiddy on gravel surfaces.
- Hard compound means seal on older alloys to be poor and loses tyre pressure easily.....I assume less easy to mould/seal on alloys.
- Hard compound doesnt make for v comfortable ride/bumps/potholes.
- Virtually no feedback when driving so makes handling difficult
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-22 12:26:13
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 93% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-14 10:42:29
Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I live in coastal Montenegro, which means the winters are mild with loads of rain; the issue is if you drive a little bit north, you encounter snow and ice road conditions. That is why I went for the allseason type of the tyre, because my previous experiences with 'proper' winter tyres has not been great - they would wear down quickly in the mild weather.
Continental AllSeason contact performs well in the wet conditions, which was very important for me (we have epic rain in Montenegro). I also tested it on several occasions while driving though compacted snow in the mountains, it gripped surprisingly well; on several occasions on the ice patches it tended to 'dance' a bit, but no major issues.
The only real drawback is the warm weather performance - since February the weather was sunny and warm, and the tyre does not perform as advertised - it becomes a bit slow and 'mushy' regarding the feedback. The wear is also not great, as it started to have visible damage to the surface. Also worth noting, the tyre picks up little stones everywhere you go - I suspect this was due to the warm weather and the 'stickiness' of the compound; I can only imagine what would happen in the summer temperatures of 40 degrees Celsius.
Just lately I have reverted to my summer tyres (Dunlop Maxx Sport), and the difference is incredible.
This is not all season tyre. I assume you could use them all season long if you live in mild to cold weather, but then why not buying proper winter tyre?
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-14 20:36:02
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 86% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 14000 average miles
I bought these tyres almost 2 years ago for our Audi A3 8V 2.0 TDI Quattro

As we are living in Switzerland and having 3 cars you can imagine i was not happy to store 12 tyres every season.

In 2016 when they came out and when i saw the reviewvideo with the red A3 on this website i was very excited to buy these for our A3. As i loved the rims i bought these tyres for the size 225/40/18

What can i say i am in general extremely happy with the tyres, but living in Switzerland between the mountains it came a bit, cheecky but that’s actually not the problem of the tyre but my problem, i mean these tyres are made for “mild” climate areas and it is actually a summer tyre with “safe winter reserve” these tyres are brilliant as lomg as you not oft in snowy areas.

In the snow they are safe as long as you watch your speed.

In the dry they are really really good

In the wet they are “average”

But these tyres are actually perfect for people who are not like to change tyres or to safe some space in the garage ;)

The wear is brilliant too, but to be honest I just orderd a pair of Continental TS860 on 16 inch steel for the winter, cause 225 wide Crossclimates are not great for Switzerland but thats my problem not these tyres.

Conclusion: great tyres with very good wear and winter safety in “flat countries”


tyre reviewed on 2018-12-30 15:42:47
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 90% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Excellent snow and ice grip. Surprisingly good dry and wet handling for a winter tyre. Just a note: it sounds like the other reviewers are incorrectly using these all year, or just not bothering to rotate their tyres. I’ve used these for 12,000 miles of winter only use, and they still easily have 6-7mm remaining.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-28 05:00:08
Writing about the Event WL905 given 37% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
I bought a second hand Audi A3 recently which seemed to have a brand new or near enough set of these Event tyres fitted to the rear. They seemed ok until the first day I drove the car in the rain. I was going slowly round a roundabout and the back end went. No traction whatsoever. I thought I perhaps had a flat tyre but everything was ok. It wasn't until I looked up these Event tyres online that I discovered this site and the applicable reviews. They are a disgrace and incredibly dangerous. I have had budget tyres on cars before and although mediocre they certainly were not as shocking as these things.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-20 10:25:59
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 93% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
I own an Audi A3 Sportback at 105.000km, have bought this tyres 3 months ago and been using them for almost 4.000 km’s. I used Pirelli Cinturato P7, Bridgestone ER 300 and Conti PC5 before. When I bought this tyres, I was not expecting that much quietness. It takes away the road feedback (feels like the tyres are levitating) and gives comfort instead. I like to drive in a comfortable car, but I tried this tyres on almost any type of road and in their edges. Good news are they can handle pretty well on hard bends with an above average speed. Wet and dry grip is also unexpectingly good. Break lenght is significantly low compared to my previous tyres. These are not performance tyres but I believe they are the best touring tyres in the market right now.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-16 22:40:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre