Michelin Pilot Primacy

The Michelin Pilot Primacy is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 68%
Wear 85%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 65%

Tyre review data from 51 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 974,067 miles driven.

The Pilot Primacy is ranked 76th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Pilot Primacy
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
245/0 R0 99Y         31.41kgs
245/50 R18 100W * E C 69 13.08kgs
275/35 R20 98Y * F C 72 14.09kgs
245/40 R20 95Y * F C 70 13.18kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Primacy

2016-03-25 - Hi mitchelin pilot primacy g1 205/55 r16 91h tyre is run flat or normal? Thanks

Whether the tyre is runflat or not will be denoted on the listing separately from the size and speed / load rating. If in doubt, ask the tyre retailer.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Primacy Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Primacy Reviews

Given 53% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate (255/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 8,000 easy going miles
Disgusted with the tread depth of 6mm from new.
When you buy new tyres you trust the supplier to maintain a standard where the norm is 8mm of tread depth from new. If radical changes like reducing the tread depth are introduced the customer should be advised in advance of any purchase. Poor move on the part of Michelin. Furthermore and retrospectively trying to find the tread depth of new tyres online is not possible
36 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2014   
Given 53% while driving a Nissan Almera 2.2 TD SXE 136BHP (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I both them from here and i'm extremely disappointed. I didn't expect so bad tyre from Michelin tyre. Maybe from Nexen or some chinese tyre maker, but Michelin...
12 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2015   
Given 81% while driving a BMW 730d Sport (275/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Have these on my 2008 E65 Bmw 730d Sport . they grip well in the dry but im disappointed in the wet grip . its not that they arent safe in the wet they are. but if you push it even a little they let loose . not a major issue in normal driving but id expect more from Michelin . other than that they are very comfortable and seem to be wearing very well . will i buy again ? maybe depends on how long they last 8k miles up so far and still about 5mm left
6 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2016   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Primacy tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Primacy? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Primacy >

Latest Michelin Pilot Primacy Reviews

BMW E65 7 series 760 v12 (245/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
My thoughts are on the tyre size the car came with 245/40r20j9 front and 275/34r20j10 rear. As a result the tyres are quite stretched well compared with standard sizes on e39 M5 and e61 M5). If you have a gravel drive and just go to the golf club, fine. However, parking kerb to kerb many times a day I've kerbed my alloys. The 760Li does not encourage sporty driving, but the Primacy have been OK. Not impressed with the Pirelli P Zero on the rear. Looking to fit Michelin PS 4S in a wider variation. 295 on the rear as per Alpina spec. Alpina suggest 255 for the fronts but 255 might not offer enough coverage whereas 265 might need a spacer to clear the struts.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2021   
Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz E280 (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Just fitted p3's on the front after Goodyear and Avon, what a relief, quiet, comfotable and the steering is back again. Can't say anything a out wear yet or wet handling, but a happy bunny so far
3 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2014   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 40% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (195/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 32,000 average miles

Installed from factory on my car. Since the first day, they are never been a good tyre to drive, mostly for the bad road feedback and the too soft sidewall. The only positive feature,for who does lots miles, is the very long lasting tread.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2014   
Given 37% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
These Michelins came installed from factory to my A3 TFSI 125PS. From the first momment the grip of these tyres was terrible.Not only in corners but also on highway, i didn't have the confidence that my car was steering well. The only good thing about these tyre was that the comfort and wear were excellent. Imagine that after driving 15000 km, the tread of the front tyres was about to 80% and rear about to 95%!!! After 2.5 years i had to replace them with Good Year F1 Assymetric...With the new tyres installed, everything was perfect and for a moment i though i was driving another car. Highly NOT recomended and i would not buy michelin again.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2013   
Given 53% while driving a Audi TT (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 1,000 spirited miles
Let's put it simply these tires have no grip at all. my car is slippy like on ice never had such a b.s. with other tires. i have almost always ABS working on little bit harder braking. Never ever will chose anything from Michelin again
0 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2013   
Given 83% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 VTEC Sport (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 28,000 average miles
I've allready wrote a review more than a year ago, these were the conclusions:

"Pro: overall grip is excellent, wet or dry. They wear nice and even. I have them on for 19000 km's now and the rear ones are still 90%, so I 've put these in front now. When I drive the car slowly, I hardly hear anything and allthough having a low profile they a very forgiving on worn road surfaces.

Con: still looking, maybe the fact that they are about the most expensive you can buy. But on the other hand they could just as well be the best you can buy, so it's fair."

More than a year later I 've some cons. At the moment the tyres have 42000 km's on them (28000 miles) and are still on 3 mm even all 4 of them. The wear surficed some cons.

Con: they're noisy now, and grip is way less than a year ago. Road feedback is also less but hey, they've been doing a lot of miles now.

Pro: they wear even and do a lot of milage. Progessiveness is still decent and I still feel very confident on them.

Buy again ? I would, but I 'm going to try Goodyear Eagle F1 assymetric 2 next cause I read nothing but good things about them and I think that they are better then the Michelins for a little less money.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2012   
Given 70% while driving a Honda Civic d sport (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30 average miles
Had these tyres on a Saab 95 they were great in the wet and lasted over 30k miles, have just put some part worn ones on my 08 Honda civic and they are even noisier than the nokian winter tyres I took off but I bought them because they were excellent on Saab, maybe horses for courses.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2012   
Given 57% while driving a Dodge Stratus RT 4 Dr Sedan 2.4 Turbo (205/60 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 49,000 spirited miles
These Michelins came installed from factory. After improving the suspension of the car with 4 Eibach Sport springs and 4 Bilstein shocks, I decided to give them a try. They have lasted way TOO much, since they still have about 50% thread depth, which confirms that the threadwear rating is false ("280"), with the compound actually being much harder than a "280" would suggest, but after 9 years the rubber is very dry and full of cracks. Grip in dry and wet has been only average, not even "good". Handling is so-so, nothing special. Sidewall capacity for receiving pothole blows is lower than other tyres. Since my car weights 1450 Kg and 63% is on the front wheels, a 205 tyre is very limiting, specially for a 215 BHP turbo car. Overall, the only thing I appreciate of this tyres, is their longevity, but anything else is just mediocre to average. When compared to my older dodge Spirit R/T with Dunlop sport SP-8000, these Michelins are completely inferior to them.
I'm changing them probably to Toyo's T1S or T1R; or maybe the old standard for dry grip here: the very appreciated Goodrich TA KDW, but those are scarce and expensive here (Mexico). My conclusion is that there must be a reason (commercial one) for chrysler selecting these tyres for all these cars; but for its price these tyres are not worth it, unless the only thing you want is that they last and last. Amclaussen, Mexico City.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2012   
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 140 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
i have the michelin pilot primacy 225/45 r17 tires on my Golf V GT.
Tires are excellent! I drove them to 65000 km.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2012   
Given 86% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 SE Turbo (195/65 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Much better steering control &good grip from these three
0 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2012   
Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
A noisy and expensive tyre with adequate grip in all conditions but nothing exceptional. I think you pay for the name. I got the same wear, grip and better noise results from a set of Roadstone tyres which are half the price. (Roadstone was apparently set up by Michelin in Korea).
0 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2012   
Given 81% while driving a Opel Corsa (195/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
Great tire, good grip, comfort and wear after 30000 kilometers.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2012