Pirelli P6

The Pirelli P6 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 73%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 59%
Handling 51%
Wear 60%
Comfort 60%
Buy again 49%

Tyre review data from 21 tyre reviews averaging 60% over 333,765 miles driven.

The P6 is ranked 120th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Pirelli P6
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Pirelli P6
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Pirelli P6. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Pirelli P6 Reviews

Given 41% while driving a Volvo C30 R Design Sport (205/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Even with extra load versions the side walls feel soft and the tyre rolls. Worn very quickly. Hard to get them balanced and stay balanced. Would actively avoid them in the future.
15 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2012   
Given 66% while driving a Saab Automobile 2.0T (210bhp) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
The P6 was OEM on my 2009 Saab 9.3. The car sat on the dealer lot for 15 months w/o being moved and one tire developed a permanent flat spot that never went away (a minor vibration when on the front). However, the tires worked reasonably well. Normal combination driving they lasted 30K miles (1mm remaining), but with 5K regular rotation, theye worn evenly. I never had any issue with them wet or dry, but they do lack feel (relative to a high performance tire). I live in Texas so can't' comment on snow. They are fairly quiet. Corner grip is ok; they definitely contribute to under-steer, but they will hold the road reasonably. Progressiveness is just ok as well. Nothing bad, but I do notice the anti-lock kicking in occasionally at times when I wouldn't expect it (I interpreting that as lack of progressiveness). But that may be the Saab as the brakes don't provide as much feel as my Honda del Sol. An ok tire for everyday use, but I can find better performance value so I probably wouldn't purchase again.
2 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2015   
Given 44% while driving a Fiat Linea MJD (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
I have a Fiat Linea that I use as Fiat original tires. However, the dry grip is very low and got a low traction. If you to get a accelerate, the tires to peel out easly. In a sharp curve it certainly peel out too. I hate this tires. The wear is much greater in corners. In a some time of use, the corners it wear out a lot before the center of tires. The p6 tire is a very rigid and gets a low confort and hadling. I ´ll never to buy this tires again. Trash tires.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2018   
Have you driven on the Pirelli P6 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli P6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli P6 >

Latest Pirelli P6 Reviews

Given 21% while driving a Volvo 940 turbo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
First Time I have Bought Pirelli's and Was Very Dissapointed right from go.
A Below Average tyre at a premium price.
Below average cornering, ordinary wet grip, Cheapo Indonesian made.
Definitely not worth the extra $20 over other better average tyres.
Will never Buy Pirellis again!
Perfect for people who want to pay for the name.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2012   
Given 60% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 30,000 easy going miles
Inherited these on a Freelander at 225/55 17W; fronts reached wear limit at 24k miles, back lasted a bit longer, more like 30k. Replaced them with Uniroyal Rainsport 2 which initially at least were excessively noisy but improved a lot after a few months. Rated the P6 handling significantly better than the Rainsports with more stability in cornering, did not really test them at the limits though.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2012   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 60% while driving a Hyundai matrix 1.6gls (185/65 R14 H) on mostly country roads for 40,000 average miles
good ,high performance and reliable
0 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2011   
Given 27% while driving a Audi A2 (175/60 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 9,500 average miles
Decided to get these tires based on a test made by auto express uk.(aiming safety, performance and last of the last - the price)
unfortunately these resulted really bad on the Audi A2 in this specific tire size (175/60 15).
previously installed with OEM continental tires, the brand new P6s grip is far poor either accelarating straight, breaking and bending corners. could not believe how many times all those lights (stability control and traction control) blinked on the dashboard on my daily routine to and from work.
these are 2 years old now and you can see the tyre age trough some tiny fissures all around the rubber.
quite honestly I panic driving in wet and feel no confidence on the riding.
time to change these tires (20% wear)by a different brand and obviously no more pirellis in the near future.

0 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2011   
Given 84% while driving a Toyota Avensis (195/60 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 65 spirited miles
The car is on its 3rd set of these tyres which replaced Dunlop SP250s - found to be poor, especially in the wet where the vehicle stability control would activate with only the slightest provocation during wet cornering. I would unequivicably recommend these tyres to anyone who is looking for a safe and predictable every day tyre coupled with being a more value alternative to a Michelin MX (although not as much overall grip).

Some reviewers have suggested that the tyres loose traction more easily below 80% of the tread wear. All tyres loose most of their performance at low tread depth and there is a tendancy with this tyre towards a nocicable fidgety characteristic over rougher surfaces once the tyre is at the 3mm stage. One thing which is observed when the tyres approach the wear blocks is a transition to another rubber layer (a join where the inner core rubber composition is different to the upper tread). This may account for other people's perception of poor performance at the end of tyre life. I always change my tyres at 3mm for safety reasons anyway (my car is run on a budget but not a shoe-string) so this has not been a particular issue for me.

The wet grip cornering is excellent and predicable on all but the very worst surfaces and even then it is good, progressive and with excellent feedback. The car is driven spiritedly on country roads and on motorways. Stability is excellent on all surfaces and in all conditions including snow (although the feel does go wooden at very low temperatures it remains predictable still with plenty of feedback). I have found that there is very little aquaplaning with this tyre – my main reason for choosing the tyre and continuing to do so. The steering is slightly heavier than with the P6000 now on the car but provides a good solid feeling.

The negative points of this tyre are road noise and in my hands (very enthusiastic driving) the wear rate was about right rather than outstanding (approx. 13,000 from the fronts and around 30,000 at the rear). These two characteristics are not my main concerns when choosing a tyre. The noise provides me with information about the road surface however tyre noise is never particularly intrusive or overly noticeable in my vehicle. Further, comfort although not first rate is certainly acceptable over most surfaces even when pumped up to a 5-10% higher presure than specified in my vehicle handbook.

I have been very impressed with these tyres and would continue to buy this brand again. The only reason for changing model laterly to P6000 was because of availability at my local tyre outlet.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2011   
Given 71% while driving a Ford Mondeo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Good tyre but still found road noise, good all rounder but Mondeo eat tyres going to try a Uniroyal next
0 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2011   
Given 75% while driving a Subaru Impreza (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
These tyres replaced the original tyres on my car. They proved to be a lot quieter than the originals but lasted only 30,000 miles. (originals lasted 50,000 miles) They could not hold a 'straight line' very well, I was constantly correcting the steering. (this was not down to a steering / tracking issue!) The new Michelins (Energy Saver) that I have just fitted are quieter and hold a straight line with no interaction from me. Grip was good but that could be down to the 4WD.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2011   
Given 49% while driving a SEAT cordoba 1.4 TDI stylence (195/55 R15 H) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
Hard tyre makes too much noise.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2010   
Given 46% while driving a SEAT ibiza 1.4 (195/55 R15 H) on mostly town for 40,000 average miles
Didn't like the tyres... Very Noisy and low grip in wet..
Will never buy them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2009   
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz W124 Estate (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Got these after my conti premium contact 2's. They were huge drop in wet weather performance. comfort, noise, dry and other straight line stuff is still ok, but i found the tyres alarming in the wet. Particularly with wet braking. Wet cornering is still ok, aquaplaning abilities ok. but wet braking NO! On a good note... if youre a cautious driver. This hard compound tyre will last you a bit. Right about this time last year my CPC2's got too thin. The P6's are still humming along with decent tread depth. BTW this is a review of Italian made P6's
0 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2008   
Given 83% while driving a Mitsubishi Diamante (215/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 160 average miles
The Diamante is a 3L V6 driving the front wheels, it needs a tyre to bite the road a little to deliver the power even if accelerating modestly. The P6 did the job well and lasted well too with 70,000km on the tyre before replacement. I agree with one other reviewer that while the grip was good for 80% of the life of the tyre as you head close towards the minium tread depth, the grip began to weaken. Ok if you are careful but a definite loss in performance.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2008   
Given 60% while driving a Ford Mondeo (215/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 15,000 easy going miles
A very hard tyre, it looks like it will last for a while as at 15000 miles in they seem to be in good condition but you get a lot of road noise and not that much wet grip. Very average. Will try some goodyear GSD3s next.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2007