Land Rover Freelander 2 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Freelander 2.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Freelander 2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Freelander 2 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nankang SP5 (5) 90% 90% 83% 88% 95% 90%
Toyo Open Country WT (3) 87% 93% 87% 87% 90% 87%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV (8) 86% 86% 88% 86% 90% 86%
Avon Ranger (15) 87% 86% 85% 77% 93% 76%
General Grabber GT Plus (3) 87% 90% 83% 73% 97% 87%
Momo SUV Pole W4 (1) 80% 80% 80% 70% 100% 60%
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 (39) 83% 91% 78% 82% 88% 84%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Lexani LX Thirty (1) 80% 80% 70% 80% 80% 90%
Goodyear Wrangler AP (3) 93% 80% 77% 73% 83% 90%
Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW (14) 82% 82% 75% 69% 87% 79%
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83%
General Grabber GT (17) 89% 81% 79% 75% 88% 81%
Firestone Destination HP (2) 90% 90% 85% 85% 60% 90%
Maxxis Bravo AT771 (17) 92% 84% 86% 84% 89% 85%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (43) 79% 86% 74% 73% 86% 84%
Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2 (4) 83% 78% 78% 80% 50% 73%
General Grabber AT3 (22) 86% 79% 80% 75% 87% 85%
Yokohama Geolandar AT G015 (28) 83% 79% 75% 76% 79% 86%
Yokohama Geolandar SUV (5) 83% 83% 80% 83% 77% 67%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV (7) 83% 87% 70% 67% 67% 90%
Falken Wildpeak AT3W (12) 83% 82% 68% 76% 79% 83%
Nokian zLine SUV (4) 88% 85% 83% 85% 65% 68%
Sailun Terramax CVR (4) 75% 68% 75% 80% 87% 83%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Michelin Latitude Tour (8) 91% 80% 77% 63% 78% 74%
Landsail LS588 SUV (6) 82% 78% 66% 78% 66% 80%
Goodyear Wrangler All Terrain Adventure (16) 85% 78% 78% 78% 75% 78%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Cooper Discoverer ATR (11) 85% 74% 73% 64% 74% 76%
Falken FK452 (211) 82% 72% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Kumho Izen RV KC15 (5) 80% 76% 66% 60% 68% 74%
General Grabber AT (16) 81% 71% 73% 75% 76% 73%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (37) 82% 74% 74% 78% 78% 80%
Continental Cross Contact UHP (34) 86% 79% 74% 74% 53% 72%
Accelera Iota (37) 80% 66% 65% 65% 70% 66%
Continental Eco Contact 5 (88) 80% 67% 68% 68% 74% 68%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (65) 80% 65% 75% 74% 73% 69%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (55) 77% 69% 68% 68% 59% 71%
GT Radial Savero SUV (9) 78% 70% 67% 68% 64% 72%
General GRABBER AT2 (8) 76% 50% 54% 66% 86% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero (17) 79% 64% 71% 67% 59% 69%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (80) 78% 65% 67% 61% 69% 62%
Continental 4x4 Contact (34) 80% 75% 70% 55% 50% 75%
Pirelli P6 (22) 73% 66% 60% 52% 58% 60%
Goodyear GT2 (12) 80% 67% 71% 63% 83% 67%
Maxxis S Pro (4) 75% 75% 55% 60% 63% 40%
Hankook Dynapro AT2 (4) 80% 70% 43% 53% 60% 60%
Roadstone Roadian HP (8) 59% 49% 50% 51% 60% 53%

Land Rover Freelander 2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler All Terrain Adventure given 79% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
I've fitted them on Freelander 2 for a autumn overland rally in Romanian mountains.
We have done almost 2000 miles on tarmac, big rocks, gravely roads, grass, some mud and even snow and ice. Mostly on lowered pressure to 1.8-1.9 bar.
I was surprised by the incredible grip on grass even in very steep slopes. We didn't got any puncture on sharp rocks. Quite reasonably usable in 15cms of fresh snow.
Still quiet and comfortable enough.
Great surprise!
When compared to BF Goodrich TA/KO2, the Goodyear doesn't look as hardcore as BF, but performs better overall at half the price. BF is only slightly better in mud.
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-26 11:42:31
Writing about the Maxxis Bravo AT771 given 80% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 32000 average miles
For a mid range tyre, I have found the Maxxis Bravo AT 771 to be an excellent all round performer. We do most of our mileage on country lanes & A roads with a minimal amount of dual carriage & motorway. Grip in the dry is excellent. Performance in wet is more than adequate. When we had a big fall of snow last winter, I was more than confident driving in thick snow & compacted ice. Only complaints would be road noise & fuel economy but no more than usuals trade offs for an all terrain. Done close to 32,000 miles & still got a few K left in them. Will price them when due & if competitive will definitely have again.
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-20 11:56:31
Writing about the Hankook Dynapro AT2 given 73% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
First of all, after the regular summer tire, Hankook turned out to be very comfortable. I enjoyed driving both on asphalt and off-road. Unfortunately, I only had the chance to use them for one season. During winter, a Russian missile hit the storage where I kept the tires. So, for the next season, I purchased different tires that were available at the time. I highly recommend them and think I'll return to them someday.
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-10 14:35:17
Writing about the General Grabber GT Plus given 91% (235-60-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 29000 average miles
Very good tyres all round. There definately is some understeer in dry and wet but these are on a Freelander 2 not something I push into corners too hard! Comfort and noise were important to me and gt plus does well on these compared to other tyres I've had. Car feels undisturbed by large puddles on these tyres.
I tow a box trailer regularly upto 2 tonne so to get 29000 miles out of these tyres I was quite happy with.
4 more going on this week !
tyre reviewed on 2023-08-26 00:36:54
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar AT G015 given 81% (235-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 easy going miles
I've put few thousand miles on these now so feel I can review them properly. I'm on my third Freelander2 but this is the first one I've had Yokohamas on. These tyres were excellent in snow and ice, they're good in the wet and great in the dry. Compared to other a/t tyres I've had, they're quite and comfortable. I have found them a brilliant road & trail tyre, with only one real weakness, wet mud. These are a road oriented a/t tyre and wet mud or wet rutted tracks will result in a call to the local farmer (luckily, that's my father in-law).
They're cheap, great on the road and adequate off it. BFGs they ain't.
tyre reviewed on 2023-05-01 05:56:29
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 given 80% (225-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
Bought a full set of these tyres for my Freelander 2 based on test results. They suit the car well - the outstanding grip is in the wet, which is arguably the quality you need for maximum safety , with great wet braking. They are also quiet. Only downside for me is wear rate - I estimate 23k-24k but being ex-motorsport, I drive quite quickly and tend to throw the heavy Freelander 2 about on twisty roads . Good news is they seem to have come down a little in price...
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-04 02:03:32
Writing about the Falken Wildpeak AT3W given 81% (235-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I have these on a LR Freelander 2, 2.2D. Done about 10,000 miles now, great on motorway (no more noisy than other tyre ) and country. Standing deep water no problem, ice and snow no problem, good on packed sand, excellent on mud. Will definitely buy these again. These also look great on a landrover, not the main reason for buying but a nice to have. I used to be a BFG die hard. These have won me over
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-15 07:34:54
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 83% (235-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30000 average miles
Superb tyres last ones did 30000mls with no problems just bought new set little pricey but worth it
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-22 12:45:45
Writing about the Lexani LX Thirty given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
All around fantastic tire.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-18 13:22:41
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV given 81% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26000 easy going miles
A really good tyre on my Freelander 2 that has never let me down in a climate in S West France we we do get a fair amount of snow at times. I’ve found it to be very good in all conditions except ice which is tricky for any tyre. My only reservations are 1) that I think the wear could be a little better and I’ve just replaced them pre winter with about 2.5mm tread remaining after 26k miles If it was summer I might have risked a few thousand more though. More significant is that as with my previous gen 1 version they became really quite noisy in the last third of their life, particularly on the rear. Good enough for me to be happy to have fitted the Gen3 version .
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-06 04:31:02
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 64% (235-55-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 easy going miles
Not as good as original continentials from new which gave 45k miles. Bad wear rate on the Verdes with tread down to 3.5mm in 17k miles on mostly motorway. Very noisy with rough ride as they become Worn but very quiet when new and until tread goes down to about 5mm. Good points are they wear evenly with all 4 having same wear patterns however having to replace now due to one tyre becoming out of round (radial runout). No apparent damage.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-12 07:28:24
Writing about the Roadstone Roadian HP given 42% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
Omg I have put 4 of these on my land rover and they are so noisy over 50 miles an hour that they give me a headache. Waste of money don’t buy. Give them a slap when you are parked and they make a loud ping noise. Worst tyres ever. They look the part but that’s as far as it goes.
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-27 17:33:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre