Land Rover Freelander 2 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Freelander 2.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Freelander 2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Freelander 2 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nankang SP5 (5) 90% 90% 83% 88% 95% 90%
Toyo Open Country WT (3) 87% 93% 87% 87% 90% 87%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV (8) 86% 86% 88% 86% 90% 86%
Avon Ranger (14) 88% 89% 85% 77% 94% 79%
Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2 (3) 83% 90% 80% 87% 60% 80%
Momo SUV Pole W4 (1) 80% 80% 80% 70% 100% 60%
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Lexani LX Thirty (1) 80% 80% 70% 80% 80% 90%
Goodyear Wrangler AP (3) 93% 80% 77% 73% 83% 90%
Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW (14) 82% 82% 75% 69% 87% 79%
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83%
General Grabber GT (17) 89% 81% 79% 75% 88% 81%
Firestone Destination HP (2) 90% 90% 85% 85% 60% 90%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (41) 79% 87% 74% 73% 88% 86%
Michelin Latitude Tour (7) 90% 82% 88% 70% 78% 76%
Yokohama Geolandar SUV (5) 83% 83% 80% 83% 77% 67%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV (7) 83% 87% 70% 67% 67% 90%
General Grabber AT3 (17) 83% 76% 77% 73% 85% 83%
Sailun Terramax CVR (4) 75% 68% 75% 80% 87% 83%
Nokian zLine SUV (4) 88% 85% 83% 85% 65% 68%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Landsail LS588 SUV (6) 82% 78% 66% 78% 66% 80%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (34) 85% 77% 74% 78% 79% 80%
Cooper Discoverer ATR (11) 85% 74% 73% 64% 74% 76%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
General Grabber AT (15) 81% 70% 74% 76% 82% 77%
Goodyear GT2 (11) 82% 71% 72% 63% 83% 68%
Continental Cross Contact UHP (34) 86% 79% 74% 74% 53% 72%
Kumho Izen RV KC15 (4) 83% 75% 63% 58% 65% 73%
Accelera Iota (37) 80% 66% 65% 65% 70% 66%
GT Radial Savero SUV (8) 80% 71% 69% 70% 66% 75%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (58) 81% 65% 75% 74% 75% 69%
Continental Eco Contact 5 (86) 79% 67% 68% 68% 74% 68%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero (16) 80% 64% 73% 67% 61% 71%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (52) 77% 70% 68% 67% 59% 70%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (74) 78% 64% 67% 61% 70% 61%
General GRABBER AT2 (7) 76% 50% 54% 65% 84% 80%
Continental 4x4 Contact (32) 80% 74% 69% 53% 50% 75%
Maxxis S Pro (3) 80% 80% 70% 67% 60% 40%
Pirelli P6 (21) 73% 67% 59% 51% 60% 60%
Roadstone Roadian HP (8) 59% 49% 50% 51% 60% 53%

Land Rover Freelander 2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Lexani LX Thirty given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
All around fantastic tire.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-18 20:22:41
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV given 81% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26000 easy going miles
A really good tyre on my Freelander 2 that has never let me down in a climate in S West France we we do get a fair amount of snow at times. I’ve found it to be very good in all conditions except ice which is tricky for any tyre. My only reservations are 1) that I think the wear could be a little better and I’ve just replaced them pre winter with about 2.5mm tread remaining after 26k miles If it was summer I might have risked a few thousand more though. More significant is that as with my previous gen 1 version they became really quite noisy in the last third of their life, particularly on the rear. Good enough for me to be happy to have fitted the Gen3 version .
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-06 11:31:02
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 64% (235-55-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 easy going miles
Not as good as original continentials from new which gave 45k miles. Bad wear rate on the Verdes with tread down to 3.5mm in 17k miles on mostly motorway. Very noisy with rough ride as they become Worn but very quiet when new and until tread goes down to about 5mm. Good points are they wear evenly with all 4 having same wear patterns however having to replace now due to one tyre becoming out of round (radial runout). No apparent damage.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-12 14:28:24
Writing about the Roadstone Roadian HP given 42% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
Omg I have put 4 of these on my land rover and they are so noisy over 50 miles an hour that they give me a headache. Waste of money don’t buy. Give them a slap when you are parked and they make a loud ping noise. Worst tyres ever. They look the part but that’s as far as it goes.
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-28 00:33:04
Writing about the Momo SUV Pole W4 given 84% (235-60-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
Great tyre, great price, great value!
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-19 10:58:12
Writing about the Sailun Terramax CVR given 100% (235-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Excellent tyre, as good as pirelli SV all seasons without the price tag.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-29 14:28:09
Writing about the Landsail LS588 SUV given 54% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
Road noise from tyres particularly on dual carriageways and motorways excessive. Fuel consumption has also decreased since these have been fitted. Road holding in dry ok
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-16 11:13:26
Writing about the Continental Eco Contact 5 given 67% (235-55-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 17000 easy going miles
Car was fitted with Continental's from new achieved 30000 miles before I changed to the above, which I was more than happy with. Hence I purchased tyres from the same manufacturer when I was due a replacement. Performance wise everything same as the original factory fitment except for one major issue tyre wear. Have covered 17000 miles on this set will be lucky to achieve 20000 miles. Hence I'm look at other manufacturers.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-27 16:29:43
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 51% (235-65-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 easy going miles
Worst tyre I have had in over 50 years of motoring. After 2 years and 14,000 miles first sign of cracking in grooves between treads. Cracking progressively got worse until had to change tyres at 4 years and 30,000. By this time tyres were in a distressed state with multiply cracks in groves and chunking of tread. Material looked very hard and brittle. For reference previous set of Pirelli tyres were changed after 5 years and 43,000 miles with over 2mm tread left,
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-01 09:29:54
Writing about the General Grabber AT3 given 63% (235-55-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 24000 average miles
Very good for off-road driving but it lacks on dry and wet grip on tarmac as well as on wear.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-15 06:08:06
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 66% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 easy going miles
I've stayed with Wrangler Goodyear M+S 235/65 R 17 104 . Now on 5th or 6th set! at only 75,000! first set I got almost 15,000 miles out of but down hill since then. Last set fitted 6,000 miles ago almost worn now and I drive GENTLY. My boy racer days were over long ago. I don't understand it-maybe they were imitations?I'll go for a harder wearing tire next time.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-10 10:34:52
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 76% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 average miles
Replaced Goodyear All Weather factory fit. Now at11k miles in.
These tyres are very good indeed. Planted, secure, quiet. Can handle the weight near 2 tons and 233hp. Very good in the wet. Good on snow in the mountains. Not bad on ice either. Not a racer but even in 40+ degrees in Southern Spain drives well enough for me. So if you have a car over 1.5 tons and horse power over 150+ and you drive in the wet /cold conditions occasionally snow perhaps worthwhile considering. Wear ? Seems good despite the soft mix and heavy load.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-31 13:22:40
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre