Land Rover Freelander 2 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Freelander 2.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Freelander 2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Freelander 2 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2 (1) 90% 100% 90% 100% 60% 80%
Nankang SP5 (5) 90% 90% 83% 88% 95% 90%
Toyo Open Country WT (3) 87% 93% 87% 87% 90% 87%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV (7) 84% 86% 87% 86% 95% 86%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88%
Avon Ranger (14) 88% 89% 85% 77% 94% 79%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV (4) 83% 87% 85% 85% 80% 93%
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85%
Goodyear Wrangler AP (3) 93% 80% 77% 73% 83% 90%
Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW (14) 82% 82% 75% 69% 87% 79%
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (31) 78% 87% 74% 73% 88% 88%
General Grabber GT (17) 89% 81% 79% 75% 88% 81%
Firestone Destination HP (2) 90% 90% 85% 85% 60% 90%
Michelin Latitude Tour (6) 88% 78% 85% 66% 78% 80%
General Grabber AT3 (14) 83% 77% 76% 74% 83% 82%
Yokohama Geolandar SUV (4) 83% 83% 80% 83% 77% 67%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (33) 85% 78% 74% 79% 81% 80%
Nokian zLine SUV (4) 88% 85% 83% 85% 65% 68%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Cooper Discoverer ATR (11) 85% 74% 73% 64% 74% 76%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
General Grabber AT (15) 81% 70% 74% 76% 82% 77%
Goodyear GT2 (11) 82% 71% 72% 63% 83% 68%
Continental Cross Contact UHP (32) 86% 79% 74% 74% 53% 72%
Kumho Izen RV KC15 (4) 83% 75% 63% 58% 65% 73%
Accelera Iota (37) 80% 66% 65% 65% 70% 66%
Sailun Terramax CVR (3) 67% 57% 67% 73% 80% 75%
Pirelli Scorpion Zero (14) 81% 68% 72% 64% 64% 72%
GT Radial Savero SUV (7) 79% 71% 67% 69% 67% 77%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (44) 78% 71% 68% 68% 61% 70%
Maxxis S Pro (2) 85% 80% 70% 65% 60% 55%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (65) 79% 64% 68% 63% 72% 63%
Continental 4x4 Contact (31) 80% 75% 69% 52% 51% 75%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (46) 78% 63% 74% 71% 75% 70%
General GRABBER AT2 (5) 74% 48% 44% 55% 84% 80%
Pirelli P6 (21) 73% 67% 59% 51% 60% 60%
Roadstone Roadian HP (5) 52% 38% 50% 48% 54% 60%

Land Rover Freelander 2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 51% (235-65-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 easy going miles
Worst tyre I have had in over 50 years of motoring. After 2 years and 14,000 miles first sign of cracking in grooves between treads. Cracking progressively got worse until had to change tyres at 4 years and 30,000. By this time tyres were in a distressed state with multiply cracks in groves and chunking of tread. Material looked very hard and brittle. For reference previous set of Pirelli tyres were changed after 5 years and 43,000 miles with over 2mm tread left,
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-01 09:29:54
Writing about the General Grabber AT3 given 63% (235-55-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 24000 average miles
Very good for off-road driving but it lacks on dry and wet grip on tarmac as well as on wear.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-15 05:08:06
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 66% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 easy going miles
I've stayed with Wrangler Goodyear M+S 235/65 R 17 104 . Now on 5th or 6th set! at only 75,000! first set I got almost 15,000 miles out of but down hill since then. Last set fitted 6,000 miles ago almost worn now and I drive GENTLY. My boy racer days were over long ago. I don't understand it-maybe they were imitations?I'll go for a harder wearing tire next time.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-10 10:34:52
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 76% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 average miles
Replaced Goodyear All Weather factory fit. Now at11k miles in.
These tyres are very good indeed. Planted, secure, quiet. Can handle the weight near 2 tons and 233hp. Very good in the wet. Good on snow in the mountains. Not bad on ice either. Not a racer but even in 40+ degrees in Southern Spain drives well enough for me. So if you have a car over 1.5 tons and horse power over 150+ and you drive in the wet /cold conditions occasionally snow perhaps worthwhile considering. Wear ? Seems good despite the soft mix and heavy load.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-31 13:22:40
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW given 83% (225-70-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Amazing winter tyres
Among my experiences:
I once drove without realising in a modest river bay (water was flowing only in summer) but was covered in snow and couldn't see it. After a couple of tries i managed to get out .Very good grip on snow and ice. Was able to go up a very slippery hill covered in ice (was about 20-25 degrees).
Also i had to rush someone to the hospital on a road with about 15-30 cm of snow for about 10km - the tyres behaved exemplary at over 100km/h
However... Snow breaking is average... Car would slip like on ice even though its just snow. Engine breaking recommended.
On mud the tyre is above average but not great.
Also, the tyre is very very soft so on dry roads doesn't behave as good, especially in tight turns. Other than that its very confortable.
I had it for 4 winters and could easily go though another one but two of the four tyres were penetrated by accident by some nails or something and they kept losing pressure every couple of days so I got rid of them.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-11 20:49:28
Writing about the Roadstone Roadian HP given 56% (235-65-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 3500 average miles
Very noisy and you feel everything on the road ( lumps and bumps). These tyres were on the car when I bought it so the sooner they wear out the better. Michelin available for similar money. I suppose as a midrange tyre they're OK but forget regular motorway work....or turn the radio up!
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-21 18:26:20
Writing about the General GRABBER AT2 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
Both of these tyres have lasted a good 40k+ miles so far, but they both went out of shape ages ago. I now have to change them with 5.5mm of tread left.
They are very noisy because of the shape, but were fairly quiet when new.
I won't buy again as I don't trust them to not go out of shape again, and I've been told that you won't get a refund/replacement as the manufacturer will argue the toss or delay responding until you give up!
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-02 18:20:04
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar SUV given 89% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 easy going miles
I have previously had Continentals and Goodyears on my Freelander 2, and the Yokohamas have, in my experience been the best all-round tyres. I live and drive in South Africa, with its variety of road conditions and extreme summer temperatures, and these tyres have proved their worth in terms of comfort, handling (dry and wet) and general wear. I hit a 4 or 5 cm deep pot-hole at 100 kph on one of our notorious "tarred" roads and waited for the bang as the tyre blew. Nothing; no tyre or rim damage. I'm very happy with these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-02 13:18:44
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-27 12:02:03
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 average miles
Replaced factory spec Goodyear All Weather with these Vector 2. Changed the car completely. Now instead of being on the road it feels part of the road. Solid, planted, trustworthy and very comfortable. Driven in the wet, dry and in the mountains ice but no real snow yet. Cruise at 130 on good roads - no problem either.
Car Land Rover LR2.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-05 07:24:06
Writing about the Sailun Terramax CVR given 80% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 average miles
cant fault them,
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-01 20:46:30
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV given 80% (235-65-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
I previously had the gen 1 version of this tyre on my Freelander 2. That tyre was good in year 1 but in year 2 the 2 rears went a little out of shape and became noisey. The 2nd generation tyre has been superb and living in rural SW France has been used in very hot summer conditions, on mountain tracks and in fairly deep snow. Braking and handling has been superb in the dry, wet, and on snow throughout the year and there has been no adverse noise with this tyre. However with no difference in driving style they are on the tread wear markers at barely 20k miles when the 1st generation tyres did 28k.
I've never got less than 25k out of any set of tyres on this car since new, so the wear is the one disappointing thing.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-10 08:13:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre