General Grabber GT

The General Grabber GT is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 75%
Wear 88%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 17 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 213,211 miles driven.

The Grabber GT is ranked 7th of 17 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry, has M+S marking
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the wet
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the General Grabber GT

Questions and Answers for the General Grabber GT

2019-11-26 - I'm thinking about getting them as all season tires. Do you think they are suitable for southern Europe climate, where snow is only occasional?

The Grabber GT will have a very low amount of snow and ice performance compared to regular all season tyres.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Grabber GT Prices

Size Price Range  
205/80 R16 £90.99 - £97.50 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/65 R16 £66.76 - £92.57 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R19 £120.73 - £128.90 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/60 R17 £120.87 - £133.80 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/70 R16 £95.23 - £126.23 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 44 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 General Grabber GT Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Mazda cx5 (225/45 R17 V) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Having 90% of the tyres in this size not matching the manufactures speed rating V, I had to research and shop around for a good replacement tyre I could trust for a good price. The oem tyres were Yokohama g98a which performed well in all conditions and I was generally happy with these but when they wore out the replacement price was 320AUD dollars each as well as a treadwear rating of 280 which I wasn't happy with. I found the gt grabbers were a new product which is a mid range tyre from the continental group from well known american general tyres. I picked the tyres for 165 Aud dollars each with a treadwear rating of 420. I couldn't be happier. They perform well in both dry and wet and are comparable to the Yokohamas for half the price. They will also perform better off road too as they are m+s rated. Would happily buy again. Thanks general.
100 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2016   
Given 80% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML350 (275/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 33 spirited miles
Covered 33,000 km on this set and extremely happy with wear. Always assured of grip and steering feel. The odd gravel road travel proved to be awesome as well. Left with almost another 5,00 to 10,000 km, but pothole damage to 2 tyres forces me to replace the set. Will definitely buy again.
32 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2017   
Given 100% while driving a Toyota hilux (205/80 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Well no wonder that these tyres are fantastic, General Tyres are made by Continental so I immediately knew that the product was good. Excellent in all conditions.
25 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2015   
Have you driven on the General Grabber GT tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the General Grabber GT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your General Grabber GT >

Latest General Grabber GT Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Nissan X Trail 2.5 petrol (215/65 R16) on mostly town for 29,000 average miles
Excellent tires, I love them, their quality and price ratio is very good. I will definitely buy them again. After driving for more than 45,000 km with them they still have 20 percent left. Always performing maintenance, alignment and rotation every 10,000 km.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a GMC sierra 1500 SLE (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
I would recommend these tires to any one whose either on a budjet or wants agreat looking tire ,with plenty of on& off road performance .I put 4 on my new truck i now am coming up on 65000 miles and 3 of them are in great cond 1 is cupping ,and it may be my fault.So if your looking for an honestly good to great deal iwould look into these iam going tobuy 4 more as soon as these wear out if they ever do i dont 4 wheel to much but on the occasion that i did they had my back . In todays world its great to know someone is still driven by the golden rule
0 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 60% while driving a Land Rover Freelander TD4 (BMW M47R) (235/55 R19 H) on mostly town for 4 easy going miles
I changed to the General Grabber GT March 2021 and within a week I had a puncture within a week only to be told I had to replace the tyre due to a single hawthorn thorn just going in on the edge of the tread and side wall ! this was an unrepairable tyre with a hole under .1 mm ? so another £113 later another new tyre. fast forward and 3k more or less I have another puncture this time on the thread on the same new tyre . and its looking like another new tyre this time the cut is well within the tread . My question is how can they be called an off road tyre when they seem to be made of toffee ? The code on the side of the tyre MT ? is that short for molasses and Tofu . They seem not to have any side wall protection and or any type of cut protection too the underside of the tread . I should have stayed with Bridgestone T005XL as I never had a puncture with them driving on the same ground. So until all the tyres are worn down to the point the to be replaced I am stuck replacing the Tonka Toy tyres each time i have a puncture on ant part of the tyre .
1 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2020   
Volkswagen (215/65 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 40,000 average miles
Excellent Tyre was abit hesitant purchasing as never heard of them but really impressed after 2 years ans 65000km yes thats correct! I do 200km motorway driving each day and have just replaced two, the rear has abit more thread and thats the thing about these tyres they have loads and wear fantastic! The compound is probably abit harder but doesn't affect handling or feedback they are fantastic for the price range and the insane thread wear if you don't believe try them!
17 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2019   
Given 94% while driving a Suzuki Jimny (205/70 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 miles
General GT has lasted well, nice with the side rib protection.
Handles all the UK weather well, no issue in the snow or wet, nice direct feel in the dry.
23 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Toyota Hi Lux SSR X (265/70 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
bought the general grabber gt 3yrs ago and 51kms later need to replace. they have been a good all round tyre in dry, wet, off road and towing.
would defo buy again
14 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2016   
Given 88% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML (255/60 R17 H) on mostly town for 23,000 average miles
When I bought the car it had Accelera Iota on. I replaced them with grabber GTs and the car seemed like a different car. I have been driving on the GTs for almost 3 years and had 1 puncture due to a 2" screw. Although I have not been seriously off road they managed to drag a caravan cross a wet and boggy field without a problem. There always seems to be plenty of traction, under breaking, cornering and acceleration. I have not used the tyre in the snow or on ice so can not comment on the performance. The tyre does have M.S on the side but does not have the mountain graphic next to it.
19 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2016   
Given 82% while driving a Nissan Navara 2.5tdi (265/70 R16) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
So far very happy with General gt grabbers solid feel on dry not tested them in the wet as yet
Good light off-road replaced the dangerous Bridgestone 693 feel save again would recommend these tyres without doubt joe
8 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2016   
Given 59% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
These tires were fitted to the car when I bought it. I am not really impressed with them. They feel vague in the wet and the cold. Put the 2 together and it is a bit disconcerting.

On my car they have worn unevenly, the 2 nearside tires wearing out before the offside ones and after only 22k miles.

This is a shame as I had Grabber UHPs on my Freelander 1 and really rated them.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2015   
Given 46% while driving a Audi Q7 (235/35 R20 W) on mostly town for 24 easy going miles
These tyres have done 24,000 miles and were filled with Nitrogen - which I think is the key to long life !!! There is still 3mm on them all , they have all worn evenly BUT they no longer grip well and are scary in the wet. so great long life - almost winter style tyres , but very noisy.
5 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2015   
Given 90% while driving a Nissan X Trail 2.5 petrol (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 150 average miles
Great on road tyres, also seem to be very good on our 4x4 on muddy soggy grass fields. Great traction and seem very good in wet conditions...

Great price £76 each fitted...

Yet another great tyre from the great tyre company, that is General Tyres
3 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2014