Mazda cx5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda cx5.

Do you Drive a Mazda cx5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a cx5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance SUV Gen 1 (2) 90% 100% 90% 90% 90% 100%
Continental AllSeasonContact (22) 83% 92% 85% 87% 78% 84%
Yokohama Geolandar G91AV (8) 92% 62% 94% 86% 93% 92%
Gripmax GripMax AT (8) 87% 80% 89% 86% 81% 80%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (77) 91% 87% 84% 87% 77% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV (8) 89% 87% 79% 86% 78% 80%
Michelin Latitude Sport 3 (19) 88% 84% 84% 84% 78% 73%
Toyo Proxes R32 (5) 94% 66% 92% 92% 74% 82%
General Grabber GT (17) 89% 81% 79% 75% 88% 81%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (31) 84% 73% 76% 81% 74% 69%
Toyo A23 (4) 87% 57% 90% 60% 85% 77%
Achilles Desert Hawk UHP (6) 78% 56% 68% 60% 78% 82%
Winrun R330 (22) 81% 69% 67% 70% 76% 78%
Toyo Open Country AT plus (5) 80% 65% 68% 76% 58% 74%
Yokohama Geolandar G055 Blue Earth (12) 77% 55% 74% 66% 79% 77%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (45) 77% 70% 68% 67% 60% 69%
Habilead ComfortMax AS H202 (5) 78% 74% 70% 56% 78% 76%
Yokohama Geolandar G98A (14) 75% 68% 68% 73% 48% 61%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%

Mazda cx5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Habilead ComfortMax AS H202 given 71% (225-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 easy going miles
value for money good for city-traffic- highway ok at set speeds but a little caution in wet good wearing
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-10 07:13:41
Writing about the Winrun R330 given 78% (225-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
I was quite surprised as never heard of this Tyre brand before, I used the Toyo brand before this and must say the Winrun Tyre are pretty impressive, especially the price
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-01 13:30:47
Writing about the Toyo Open Country AT plus given 89% (225-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
I used these tires to voyage from Belgium to Kroatia and back mainly on highways through Germany in mazda cx 5 2.0 160hp AWD (2017) in the summer 2020. Used them on gravel roads. During a heavy rainstorm the grip on wet road was amazing. Eventhough the the tires are rated E E 70db the fuelconsumption was ok 7,8 liters/100 km during my voyage. The are very quiet for AT Tires. I recommend them very strongly
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-25 20:57:33
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
Top quality tyre
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-26 19:47:10
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 66% (225-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 spirited miles
Too expensive, wear too quickly, make really loud squeal on the limit. Excellent grip in the wet and wet braking they are awesome! Very pretty sidewalls
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-21 23:18:38
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV given 96% (225-55-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
I bought the tyres in the beginning of the 2019 summer season here in Vienna, Austria. The Michelin replaced the OE Toyo R36 which was 6 years old. I have extensive background with different tyres as i used to work in a car rental company as well as being the go to guy among friends and family for the past 10 years if it has anything to do with tyres (or cars in that matter) so i am basing my opinion not only on the OE Toyo that came off the car but on all my knowlage and experience with different tyres on different cars. Great dry and wet grip in any event (braking, hard/fast start, taking corners at great speeds and in the middle of the corner turning in even harder/tighter). In my size 225/55 R19 99V (relative tall sidewall and not reinforced tyre) there was a little lack of steering feedback. The tyres in my opinion are silent (i cant hear them) up to 130km/h (80 mp/h) and beyond that i get wind noise in my Mazda so i definitely can't hear the tyres then. They roundup the bumps great. Great aquaplaning reserves and even on roads with just starting light rain (those first few miles where the roads are still slick from the oils not been washed out jet) absolutely no signs of slippage. wear: mine came with about 7.5mm form the factory. After about 24 000 km or 15 000 miles my fronts are at 6-6.5mm and backs around 7mm would i recommend them?: if you want the absolute best tyre and money doesn't bother you ABSOLUTELY. but if you have a car like mine (175ps diesel with 4x4), you wont drive it spirited on B-roads but just on the highway and to the shops but still want good tyres for a decent price there are a lot of good tyres out there that won't break the bank and offer 95% of the Michelin.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-04 12:46:50
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 89% (225-55-19-T)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
Hey. B just wanted to share my opinion on Continental. Wearing it for two months now on my Mazda CX-5 ,19" wheels. It gives a car more control comparing to the stock Toyo prizes. It also gives better comfort, in terms of noise and bumps handling. It also definitely better on old stone roads which we have a lot in Ukraine. Comparing with my winter Bridgestone Blizak Dm-v1, Conti is a bit more noisy. I was choosing between this and Michelin PS4, And decided to go with this one, since had ContiPremiumContact2 on my Ford Focus 8 years ago and it was super comfort. Also, since I own an SUV, it gives a bit today l sport to my sporty SUV.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-19 17:20:47
Writing about the Gripmax GripMax AT given 72% (225-65-17-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I used the tyre GRIPMAX AT on my oldtimer Suzuki Samurai SJ 413 (1988) in the size 215/75R15. It was a great tyre in sand (dunes and beach), mud and on pavement. They are cheap and perform well. I was impressed. I decided it to buy them again as an extra set of tyres for my SUV Mazda CX5 2L AWD 160 hp with automatic gearbox (2017) Where the Suzuki is an noisy car 4X4 car, the Mazda is a refined SUV well isolated and silent. The GRIPMAX AT (50 % on road / 50 % offroad) was a bad choice for the Mazda because of the roadnoise. They did great in mud and sand but i prefer the BF GOODRICH URBAN TERRAIN in the same size 225/65/R17 (90 % on road / 10 % offroad) because of the noise. The GRIPMAX AT on a silent SUV will spoil the drive on road. From 50 km/h on the tyres produces a buzzing sound. At highway speed (120 km/h) the sound becomes better because of the wind. You can compensate the noise a bit by turning your radio louder. Slow 4x4 driving is OK. GRIPMAX AT are good for older 4X4 that already produce noise.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-05 08:53:27
Writing about the Toyo Proxes R32 given 59% (225-55-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 34200 average miles
Decent on dry, awful handling and grip on wet roads. High wear, have lasted 55.000 kms.
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-11 11:05:24
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G91AV given 95% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
Excellent tire for Las Vegas NV. My tire store recommends both Yokohama and Pirelli . Remember it’s a temperature range here from 115 F. To 35 in winter. I had Michelin on my last car/ Rav 4 Toyota. They howl in the heat, when accelerating. Just an FYI for us desert dwellers! John Beven.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-09 02:18:01
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Sport 3 given 88% (225-55-19-V)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Picked it up for my Mazda CX-5. Compared to stock Toyo proxes R36, handling is quicker and more responsive. It feels like the car is lighter and can change lanes swiftly, very fun to drive. Feedback is just right to make me feel confident, while staying relaxed. Noise level seems comparable to the old tyre, not much quieter in my opinion.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-19 15:56:51
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G055 Blue Earth given 71% (225-45-17-P)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
Too noise
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-16 12:17:20
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre