Pirelli Scorpion Verde

The Pirelli Scorpion Verde is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre review data from 55 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 1,026,574 miles driven, and 11 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 68%
Wear 59%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 51%

First On MarketMarch 2010
Wheel Size16 - 22"
Width215 - 295mm
Profile35 - 70
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)67 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Scorpion Verde is ranked 23rd of 28 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Tests Included

11

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

8th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 AutoBild SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test
8th of 11 tyres
  • Balanced handling off-road and on wet roads, good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Extended wet braking distance, delayed steering response, slightly understeering dry handling.
View Full Test >>
2020 ViBilagare SUV Tyre Test
6th of 8 tyres
  • Low fuel consumption, well balanced in the dry.
  • Poor wet handling with sudden loss of grip, low aquaplaning resistance, poor comfort.
View Full Test >>
2020 SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test
5th of 10 tyres
  • A balanced premium summer tyre with stable and safe behaviour on wet and dry roads, good comfort.
  • Average offroad performance.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
215/70R16 100 HCB71
17 inch
235/65R17 108 V XLBB71
235/65R17 108 V XLBB70
18 inch
235/60R18 103 WBB69
235/60R18 103 VBB69
235/60R18 103 VBB69
235/60R18 103 VCB71
235/60R18 103 VAB70
235/60R18 103 WBC70
235/60R18 103 WCB71
235/60R18 103 VBB71
235/60R18 107 V XLBB71
235/60R18 103 VCB71
20 inch
255/45R20 105 W XLCB72
255/45R20 101 WBB71
255/45R20 101 WCB71
255/45R20 101 WCA72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Pirelli Scorpion Verde >>

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli Scorpion Verde

2023-03-14 - Are these tyres directional? Can I swap diagonally?

The Pirelli Scorpion Verde is an asymmetric tyre so you can rotate them diagonally.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/55 R18 £158.99 - £158.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R17 £127.96 - £142.63 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £113.40 - £187.36 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/60 R18 £131.63 - £199.61 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/65 R17 £106.44 - £149.75 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 34 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Pirelli Scorpion Verde Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Porsche Cayenne 3.0 Diesel (275/45 R20) on mostly town for 23,000 average miles
I have had these tyres on my car for 23k miles and they are still holding up well.There is even wear and no degradation at all.
They do a great job in snow/mud/dry and wet
Helpful 283 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2014
Given 61% while driving a Peugeot 3008 (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 41,000 average miles
Good tyre.But on wet is not good.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2023
Given 76% while driving a Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP (235/60 R18) on mostly motorways for 25,000 easy going miles
I purchase these tires to replace the Chinese tires that I had on my car. The Chinese tires were okay when new but wore out rather fast and in less than a year it was completely worn out.

Immediately after putting on these Pirellis and the moment I drove off the workshop, I could feel the difference. These tires felt smoother and quieter on the road. I bought this tires because I was hoping it would make my highway commutes more comfortable and I have the peace of mind when its wet. It indeed delivered on those fronts. On some occasions where I travel to travel on rough gravel roads, these tires performed very well. Gave me excellent grip through the gravel and had no problem whatsoever. Braking distance was also good and got me through some heavy rains and on flooded roads.

After 14 months and 40,000km later, the tires were well worn to the legal limit and I had to replace them. My only gripe was that, I wanted the tires to last longer because I have had tires where I pushed its life to beyond 50,000km. That was the only let down I had and subsequently went and purchase Michelin Primacy +.

Price wise, it was not the most expensive nor the cheapest. Definitely on the higher end but you get what you pa for. I would recommend this tire to others and would not mind buying them again. It is just that, I wanted to try other tires. Trust me when I say it is not as bad as the reviews bashing it.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2023
Have you driven on the Pirelli Scorpion Verde tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli Scorpion Verde? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli Scorpion Verde >

Latest Pirelli Scorpion Verde Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Nissan (235/55 R20) on track for 38,000 miles
I purchased a car with Pirelli Scorpion Verde 235/55R20 tires installed on them. A couple of months later, I went on a trip with my family. On the way, I got caught in heavy rain. My surprise was strong when I experienced the effect of aquaplaning, it was impossible to go faster than 70 kilometers / hour (about 45 mph). The effect of collarity was also noticed when the tires "catch" the track. The mileage of the tires at the end of 2023 was less than 60,000 kilometers (38,000 miles) and there are already wear indicators that require replacement of these tires. This is simply unacceptable.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2023
Given 54% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee (265/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,700 easy going miles
These tyers came on my jeep grand Cherokee limited 2020 from the factory.. For the first year on dry and wet surfaces they skided slightly,but now on the third year at around 30K kms,they are skidding alot on both dry and wet. You do not want to know how they performed on snow. Winter is starting and new A/S tyres will be installed tomorrow.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R18) on mostly town for 24,860 average miles
Excellent, but it dries up before it is consumed
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2022
Given 64% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 20,000 easy going miles
Not as good as original continentials from new which gave 45k miles. Bad wear rate on the Verdes with tread down to 3.5mm in 17k miles on mostly motorway. Very noisy with rough ride as they become Worn but very quiet when new and until tread goes down to about 5mm. Good points are they wear evenly with all 4 having same wear patterns however having to replace now due to one tyre becoming out of round (radial runout). No apparent damage.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Ford Kuga (235/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Had these tires on ford kuga 4x4 for 10k miles now, to say the vehicle is driven with spirit is an understatement, they perform very well in the snow, good in the wet, great in dry conditions, they wear well BUT, I find them quite noisy at speed but then again maybe most winter tires would at motorway speeds.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2022
Given 30% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC250D (255/45 R20) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
My original GLC came with Pirelli Scorpion Verde fitted and it only last 25,000 KM until it was worn out. Replaced with another 4 Pirelli Scorpion Verde and once again they last 20,000KM. I would not waste any more money on Pirelli, my mechanic told me to switch to Continental PremiumContact as they last a lot longer.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2022
Given 44% while driving a Ford Escape (/45 R17) on for 65 miles
I bought a set of 4. My make and model Ford Escape is a BEAST in snow/ice/mud. It may be pouring down rain, but it's driver would never know it. That is, until I used these tires.
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2022
Given 34% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC 250 4 Matic (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
These have been fitted since new and not sure whether its the tyre or car at fault. After just over 10000 miles the outer edges are slicks and down to 3.4 mm These are MO Scorpion verdes 255/45/r20 will not be putting same on again
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2021
Given 66% while driving a Mazda cx5 (225/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Too expensive, wear too quickly, make really loud squeal on the limit. Excellent grip in the wet and wet braking they are awesome! Very pretty sidewalls
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2021
Given 51% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/65 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 easy going miles
Worst tyre I have had in over 50 years of motoring. After 2 years and 14,000 miles first sign of cracking in grooves between treads. Cracking progressively got worse until had to change tyres at 4 years and 30,000. By this time tyres were in a distressed state with multiply cracks in groves and chunking of tread. Material looked very hard and brittle. For reference previous set of Pirelli tyres were changed after 5 years and 43,000 miles with over 2mm tread left,
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2020
Given 57% while driving a Volvo 2.0 T5 Saloon (225/55 R19 V) on for 27,000 average miles
Good grip and tyre wear, however huge tyre roar over 60mph. This coupled with a poor road surface can made long journeys a pain.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2020
Given 50% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML (225/50 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Not driven at all hard 15,000 and almost done, last set of tyres i drove on did 55,000 mls, very poor wear rate
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2020