Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP.

Do you Drive a Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XC90 D5 185 HP better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Avon Ranger Ice (3) 100% 100% 97% 97% 100% 87%
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (5) 94% 96% 98% 98% 96% 92%
Avon Ranger HTT (6) 90% 85% 83% 83% 85% 88%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88%
Maxxis MA S1 Marauder (3) 90% 85% 70% 80% 80% 90%
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85%
Michelin Latitude Cross (44) 86% 85% 79% 76% 91% 80%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83%
Nokian W RG2 SUV (7) 87% 84% 83% 83% 70% 89%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV (10) 90% 83% 88% 84% 63% 90%
Kumho Road Venture APT KL51 (14) 89% 81% 82% 78% 83% 89%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (32) 85% 78% 74% 79% 81% 80%
Nexen N Fera RU1 (18) 82% 73% 75% 75% 75% 84%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV (5) 86% 100% 74% 58% 58% 84%
Vredestein Ultrac SUV Sessanta (3) 87% 77% 87% 83% 45% 90%
Michelin Diamaris (3) 83% 70% 77% 73% 53% 80%
Continental Cross Contact UHP (31) 86% 79% 75% 74% 53% 72%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (24) 84% 81% 78% 83% 53% 73%
Marangoni Maxo 4x4 (1) 80% 70% 70% 60% 60% 70%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Sonar SX2 (12) 69% 58% 60% 56% 85% 68%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (44) 79% 63% 75% 72% 75% 71%
Maxtrek INGENS A1 (25) 55% 29% 45% 37% 62% 55%

Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV given 87% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-29 23:47:13
Writing about the Nexen N Fera RU1 given 86% (235-65-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
Put these on my Volvo xc90. Very affordable tyre, half the price of a premium tyre. Good dry grip and handling, good in the wet too. I don't corner like a maniac so on the limit traction is unknown. Noise is much the same as any other tyre in my opinion and wear rate is good for normal driving habits. All in all a robust good value acceptable performer and would easily recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-19 09:09:45
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV given 77% (255-50-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 average miles
Have fitted the RainSports to my XC90 for the last 5 years. Typically seeing 18-20k miles from them. The last set were the RainSport3 edition, and were not as good. Only saw 16k miles, were noisier than the Took the centre a while to get the tyres to balance correctly; in the end having to swap tyres around on the alloys (at one point seeing a need for 150+ grams of balancing weight! Once sorted, didnt use above 30 grams). The tyres wore symmetrically, but suffer lateral scrabble on poor surfaces (e.g. concrete car parks), and then started rumbling at between 65-75mph at around 9000 miles. This time around I've gone for a Pirelli All Season tyre due to the UK sporadic weather. Of note, the Uniroyals certainly gripped better, when new, and the car had a quicker turn-in than now, with the Pirellis installed. Used to have the edge being the only A-rated wet tyre, but others have now caught up.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-06 13:37:11
Writing about the Avon Ranger HTT given 79% (235-60-18-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 spirited miles
Used on a Volvo XC90. Front tyres are getting ready for replacement after 23k. Brilliant tyre and last really well. Tried them once in deep ish snow and they were superb. Miles miles better than the Pirelli Verde that they replaced.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-28 23:25:51
Writing about the Michelin 4x4 Diamaris given 66% (235-65-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20500 average miles
I bought these tyres in June 2015. I did a summer season and a winter season with them. After 33406 km, in November 2016 I went to get winter tyres. At this time, it was observed that the 2 front Diamaris tyres were spent (the guy showed me the wear and I sort of trust him). The 2 back ones were still OK and I put them in storage for the winter).
I am disappointed that they lasted only 33000 km (20500 miles). They cost quite a bit and I was hoping for a premium brand.
I drive lots of highway at 130 km/h. But there's some city driving every day too. My average mileage with the 2007 Volvo XC90 (Diesel 2.4L AWD) is 32 MPG, which may give an idea of my driving style: not too rough.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-05 11:06:18
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 87% (235-65-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 easy going miles
Best tyre so far in our experience, much safer than the summer Continental Uhps on the car from new, which only lasted 17000 miles. These Vredesteins grip very well in winter conditions, have done more than 20,000 miles and still have more than 4mms tread on all tyres.We have had no problems with them, even using them in spring and autumn, but obviously avoiding spells of warm weather, when the tyres soften and consequently do not handle as well.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-28 21:48:13
Writing about the Michelin Diamaris given 70% (235-65-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 21000 average miles
I was very happy initially with these tyres for my Volvo XC 90 2007. Excellent grip, which I felt in tight corners. However after only 35000 km, driving about 80% highway 20% city, the grip felt decreased and I could often spin the front wheels when accelerating a bit when starting. I drove in the snow and rain with them when they were still good and was OK (driving carefully). I have now seen that the front tyres are shot, while the back ones are still OK. I have put winter tyres on and will have to buy 2 new summer ones in the spring. I'm disappointed with the early wear, 21000 miles for the front ones. Maybe it's the car, maybe it's me. Who knows? I won't rule out another set, but maybe I'll change just to see if another brand lasts longer.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-27 12:13:06
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 average miles
I have been a continental tyre buyer all my life, but am disappointed with the wear on these. I bought a new XC90 August 2015 and I was delighted that Conti's were the standard tyre with the car but will 11,000 miles on mixed roads I am not so sure, I have had 3 punctures (all nails) and while getting the latest puncture fixed today I was informed I have 2-3 months left on them all. My wife mainly drives the car, it is not driven 'energetically' so we will have about 13,000 miles on this set which i think is quite poor given the brand. While the car is heavy these tyres should wear better. Everything else I am happy with, stopping, feedback etc
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-14 11:53:01
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 easy going miles
Bought four of these tyres for my Volvo xc90 in March 2013 and have done 25000 miles since. Down to 3.5mm on the front and loads of wear left on the rear. Never skidded or lost grip. Never tested in the snow as I live in the South of England. I don't really know what is meant by road feedback or responsiveness but have put at a 10 because I can feel the road and when I turn the steering wheel the car responds by going around a corner. I guess this must be for the boy racers out there. I have driven XC90s for 10 years and these are the best tyres I have had.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-26 18:02:45
Writing about the Maxtrek INGENS A1 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17 average miles
Had these tyres fitted to all four corners of my XC90 last year. After covering over 17,000mls the fronts are down to the lower limits and the backs look very good but I have had no problems with grip in the wet or loosing control. On a couple of occasions that I have had to stop quickly they have coped well. I am about to replace the front tyres with the same again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-27 16:02:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre