Nokian WRG2

The Nokian WRG2 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Nokian WR G3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 80%
Wear 83%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 88%
Snow Grip 90%
Ice Grip 60%

Tyre review data from 72 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 1,254,817 miles driven.

The WRG2 is ranked 25th of 40 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2010 Auto Zeitung Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 13 tyres

  • Overall - The Nokian WRG2 provides good snow handling but is slightly let down by its snow braking result. Unrivaled dry grip and excellent wet performance gives this WRG2 a good overall score.
View Full Test >>

2010 AMS Winter Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Very good handling characteristics and short braking distances on wet roads, good properties in dry
  • Negative - Average cornering, traction and braking on snow
View Full Test >>

2010 European Winter Tyre Test - 7th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent dry grip
  • Negative - Slight weakness on wet roads and ice
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nokian WRG2
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Nokian WRG2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Nokian WRG2 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 15 spirited miles
I know I'm more than 5 years late with this review, but I just found thes tyres in my garage, I had used them in the winter of 2010, where it didn't seem to stop snowing for months. These tyres were absolutely incredible in snow, slush, and rainy conditions. In fact the more it snowed, the better they seemed to get. I went up a steep hill with three people in the back, in the snow! Nokian know what they are doing. Bloody brilliant.
26 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2016   
Given 100% while driving a Alfa Romeo 3.0 automat (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
Just amazing tyres! Never had so much grip on my meny alfas, specially wet grip, it is unbelieveble!
3 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2013   
Given 81% while driving a Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec.B 6MT Sedan (215/45 R17 V) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
Good winter tyres for city driving and roads without ice
2 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2014   
Have you driven on the Nokian WRG2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WRG2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nokian WRG2 >

Latest Nokian WRG2 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 TDI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 55 spirited miles
These tyres have far exceeded my expectations. Over 55,000 miles of city driving and long highway trips and they are just now ready for replacement. Hot summers with heavy rains and sleet in the fall and lots of snow in the winter. (I use Blizzak snow tyres for heavy snow conditions) They are strong performers in all conditions. As others have mentioned it is a great feeling to be driving securely through conditions in which others motorists are struggling to drive. I have not noticed any significant road noise but I drive a diesel so the cabin is insulated from most road noise anyway. The ride is secure and smooth for normal conditions. We have put many thousands of highway miles on these Nokians and have no complaints at all with the comfort they deliver. I not only highly recommend these tyres, I just purchased a second set which I will install this fall. Happy motoring!
2 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2014   
Given 90% while driving a Fiat Barchetta (195/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
With no clue about winter tyres but a legal requirement to fit htem in the winter here in the Czech Republic, I purchased these tyre rather blind. They were recommended to me by the tyre company and boy he was right.
Having had to drive the car in a snowy winter on summer tyres for 2 weeks whilst I found a a reliable cheap fitter, I realised very quickly how much more control all the other cars had over mine so getting my winter tyres was an exciting moment.
The tyres have been simply great. They provide assured grip in snowy conditions and amazing ability to manoeuvre safely at speed. Very assured during directional changes, you can drive with assured confidence.
In wet and slushy conditions, they are less comfortable and prone to aquaplaning in testing conditions and in standing water in ruts which is a real problem here.
Grip in dry conditions is good and positive. The tyres feel softer in the dry which affects the handling but the grip is vice like.
In Icy conditions, they have been very good and give you confidence to tackle any road.
The winter last year (2012-13) was particularly harsh and the Nokians did the job with gusto. They have faded somewhat this year, last winter probably took its toll and this is their 5th winter on my car. They have ample grip but they don't feel as grippy as they were before last winter. The wear has been excellent. I had them checked 2 months ago and was told they will atleast do another winter which is great for the pocket.
All in all I cannot complain about the tyre, they may not be the best but they are very good and cost efficient.
The only thing that is a bug bear is the handling in wet/slushy conditions which is a shame. The car just felt nervous all the time and didn't fill you with confidence.
On a positive note, it was a joy to see people enjoying the site of my little convertible driving up a very steep incline to a car park that 4x4's had failed to achieve on a recent visit to the UK. That is the winter tyre for you!
I would recommend this tyre to anyone whom like me wants a good all round tyre with great grip and a favorable price tag. Beware of expensive imitations to this great tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2014   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 85% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 T) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Great tyre, been using it for 2 seasons in the bBulgarian muddy winter conditions. Perfect grip on and on snow.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2013   
Given 96% while driving a Ford (235/50 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 27,000 average miles
Fitted these to our Ford Kuga in the winter of 2010 when the factory fitted Continental Contacts proved treacherous in snow and slush.

Nearly three years on and 27,000 miles later they are around 60% worn and should easily achieve 40,000 miles.

Have also fitted these tyres to a Volvo XC90 also and the wear rates are around four times better than Continentals that were previously fitted.

The grip in winter is absolutely outstanding however we also leave them on in the summer and tales about them 'turning to mush' have proved to be nothing other than misinformation. The wear rates speak for themselves.
Grip in the summer is not noticeably worse than previously fitted Summer tyres. Overall the car feels exceptionally stable in all conditions especially on the motorway at high speed in heavy rain. Noise levels are marginally higher but not to a level where they are unacceptable.

Suspect that the tyre industry does not have a vested interest in selling tyres that are so long lasting...

Overall highly recommended.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2013   
Given 89% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/60 R18 R) on mostly country roads for 40,000 average miles
I drive a Volvo XC60 AWD on mostly country roads. I fitted a set on my front wheels at 30K miles and there is still 4.5mm of tread on them at 70k: so for wear I cannot fault them. This compared to rear tyres fitted 12 months later (Pirelli) that now have 3.9mm of tread left.

I have felt very comfortable and confident driving on these over three winters and I can only say that the only 'fault' that I find with them is that they feel 'loose' when the weather is warm (+20oC).

I intend to fit four new Nokian tyres this autumn.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2013   
Given 84% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 106,000 spirited miles
I have had these tires on my car since the fall of 2009. There is nothing that I havent accomplished while using them. I have competed in Rally Cross, aggresive driving, winter drifting, hauling my boat. They are now worn out at 38k kms and are on the wear bars, and when on a hiking trip 2 weeks ago the car still climbed a goat path on one of the local mountains. (mind you if I knew the shape they were in I wouldnt have) but it felt like the tires had lots of tread! I cant say enough about these tires and have recommended them to my friends and 5 of them put them on thier cars. I did give them a low rating for lasting but I have to admit I am positive that the issue is my driving style, not the tires.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2013   
Given 91% while driving a Renault Vel Satis (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Was really a perfect choice, helped in many occasions. I certainly recommend these tyres to all who don't want to compromise on performance yet still have limited budget. If the successor (WRA3) wouldn't appear I would definitely bought them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 25, 2012   
Given 70% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 3 (255/60 R18) on mostly motorways for 24,233 average miles
I'm not sure if I'm happy, to be honest. I had Pirelli Scorpion Ice & Snow which seemed to be all right until they had about 25% tread left on them and they felt useless. Right now I have 24,233 miles, or 38,999 kms on mine (I thought I had more, but when I looked through the invoices only 39k kms). I've rotated every 10K kms, and done my best to keep them at the recommended Land Rover pressure of 33 psi fronts, and 42 psi rears. This week coming back from a quick trip to Watertown NY, I hit a pretty bad snow storm and had difficulty in staying running straight through to the boarder. I expected better from these tires after Nokian's hype. If I didn't have a full sized spare that was unused I don't know if I would buy another set.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2012   
Given 96% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI 160 (225/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 22,000 average miles
These tyres are the best winter tyres I have used. I work in Ski centres so good winter tyres are essential. Suffice to say I am now on my third set. It's also good to know that the people in Finland and Norway make this their tyre of choice!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2012   
Given 50% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.6 105 bhp (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
those from nokian company stated that all season tires are wr g2. Frankly to say these tires are for those who have a tight budget or are too greedy to themselves. Honestly I am one of them since I bought these tires. The dumbest thing is to go with winter tires in summer and vice versa.
I have a row of wheels with summer tires only have a row of summer and winter wheels only. I finally awoke. these all weather tires are not very good but acceptable on any of the seasons. conclusion is that if you want winter tires, winter and buy only the best. if you take your summer summer only. You will save money and time and also you realize that you have three summers and 3 winters.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2012   
Given 91% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 3 (255/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 39,146 average miles
Purchased to replace Pirelli's Scorpion Ice & Snow which came with the vehicle. Found the tyres fantastic all year around, especially in the spring our rainy season. They wear a little faster than the Pirelli's but are quieter, and do better all year around.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2012   
Given 99% while driving a Land Rover (255/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 39,146 average miles
Bought these tyres and couldn't be happier, replaced Pirelli Scorpion Ice & Snow which where provided by the dealer. Have over 63K kms on the tyres and they still have plenty of tread. I'll buy another set.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2012