Goodyear UltraGrip Performance+

The Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 92,500 miles driven, and 20 tests with an average result of 3rd.

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 86%
Wear 91%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 94%
Snow Grip 92%
Ice Grip 81%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size15 - 22"
Width155 - 295mm
Profile30 - 70
Rolling ResistanceB - E
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)69 - 74
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The UltraGrip Performance+ is ranked 10th of 43 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1.

Tests Included

20

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

9th

Average Result

3rd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 ADAC 17 inch Winter Tyre Test
3rd of 15 tyres
  • Safe driving characteristics on dry roads, still good properties on wet roads, very high predicted mileage, low abrasion, good efficiency.
  • Slightly longer braking distances on wet roads.
  • The GOODYEAR UltraGrip Performance+ tyre offers good steering feedback and safety reserves on dry roads, with an average braking distance earning it a good rating. On wet roads, it performs well in aquaplaning and handling, securing a good overall rating despite narrowly missing a good mark in braking distance. In winter conditions, it shows above-average performance in braking and traction, and excels in snow handling and ice braking. Environmentally, the tyre is rated well for its very good predicted mileage, good wear, and low fuel consumption, despite its above-average weight. Overall, it achieves a good environmental rating.
View Full Test >>
2022 ADAC SUV Winter Tyre Test - 215/60 R16
3rd of 17 tyres
  • Balanced, good on all surfaces, particularly good on snow (top mark.)
  • None mentioned.
  • The GOODYEAR UltraGrip Performance + achieves good results in all main criteria and also secures the top mark in the field in the snow. This leads to a good overall grade and the rating "particularly recommended".
View Full Test >>
2022 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test
3rd of 22 tyres
  • Premium winter profile with top performance on snow-covered slopes, balanced driving characteristics on wet and dry slopes, good economy.
  • Average comfort.
  • Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/55R15 85 HDC70
16 inch
205/55R16 94 V XLCB71
215/60R16 99 H XLCB72
215/60R16 99 H XLCB72
215/60R16 99 H XLCB72
17 inch
225/50R17 98 H XLCC71
225/45R17 94 H XLDB72
225/50R17 98 V XLCC70
225/50R17 94 HDB71
225/50R17 98 H XLCB71
225/50R17 98 V XLCB70
215/55R17 98 V XLCB71
225/60R17 99 HCB72
225/60R17 99 HCB72
225/45R17 91 HDB72
225/45R17 94 V XLDB72
215/55R17 98 V XLCB71
205/50R17 93 H XLCC71
205/50R17 93 V XLCC71
215/55R17 98 V XLCB71
215/45R17 91 V XLCB72
18 inch
235/60R18 103 TBB72
245/45R18 100 H XLCB72
245/45R18 100 H XLCB72
235/60R18 103 TBB72
235/60R18 103 HBB71
235/60R18 103 TBB72
245/45R18 100 V XLCB72
235/60R18 103 TBB72
245/40R18 97 V XLDC72
225/40R18 92 V XLDB71
225/40R18 92 V XLDB72
225/40R18 92 W XLDB72
245/40R18 97 V XLDC72
245/40R18 97 W XLDC72
245/45R18 100 V XLCB72
19 inch
235/35R19 91 W XLCB72
20 inch
255/45R20 105 T XLCC72
255/45R20 105 V XLCC72
255/45R20 105 V XLCC72
255/45R20 105 T XLCC72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus >>

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus

2020-08-26 - What would be the best tires in terms of snow traction out of GY Ultragrip Performance+, Conti TS 850 P, Pirelli Sottozero 3, Dunlop Winter Sport 5, Alpin 6, Blizzak LM005? Size 215/50/R17.

All the winter test data can be found on this website. Currently testes are showing the Goodyear, Conti and Bridgestone to be very close overall.


2020-11-29 - I�m fitting a set of these to a bmw m135 xdrive, same size all round. They are not star rated, will this affect my warranty?

No, it won't affect the warranty, however it's worth notifying your insurance company if you're changing the tyre size from OE recommended.


2023-06-04 - Hi, Can I use these tyres during the summer? What is their temperature range?

It is possible to use the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus in summer months, however like any tyre optimised for cool temperatures their performance will drop off dramatically in warm temperatures so it is not advised.


2023-10-07 - How long can a Goodyear + 225/45 R17 94H XL, (Wi) serve for a city driver who drives max of 15 to 20km a day? Am asking for a small cars with 5 to 7 seats.

It really depends on driving style, however the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus often performs well in wear tests so you can expect 30-50,000 kms.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
215/60 R16 £129.98 - £129.98 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £126.90 - £126.90 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £199.74 - £199.74 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £139.22 - £162.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 52 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen CC (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I've driven on the GY UGP+ for a full winter season now and for me it just clicked. In this category you don't expect downsides or problems, but the GY exceeded my expectation. I am all about the comfort and feel of the tyre and even with frameless doors I wasn't too much disturbed by the noise. Excellent tyres to be driving on snow, as long as your bumper isn't turning into a snow plow.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2023
Given 82% while driving a BMW M240i (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
The first winter tyre I had that actually is sporty. Before I really didn’t like driving spirited with winter tyres. UHP summer tyres are still better in that aspect, but this is actually quite good. Even though I have runflat versions of this tyre, they are surprisingly comfortable. Very good in every condition. Can take some abuse as well and not shred to pieces.
Helpful 53 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2022
Given 79% while driving a BMW 330ci (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Excellent at snow and mud!! But not at all suitable for ice. My previous tyres Michelin Alpina 5 have much better grip on ice, but bad on snow. Dry road - perfect. Wet road and extreme braking - be careful and try do not overspeed. Comfort - acceptable but not for sport coupe with frameless doors, noisy for BMW 3 series. Wear, handling and road feedback for 18" tyres - good. After 2 years and 2 winters of wearing - condition is still perfect. Recommend for snowy roads without any doubts.
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2022
Have you driven on the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus >

Latest Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus ST (235/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Compared to summer tyres, feels very flexible / they feel soft, we feel the tyre roll etc; but that is up to any winter tyre. Grip seems great; on pure wet roads it gives very strong confidence; on dry it works very well also. Not used on snow yet; but drive on icy road was ok, nothing surprising (well ice is ice... but but it made the job to avoid going out of the road). Weakest point for me is noise; globally makes a easily earable roar / clear sizzling on long fast curves (amplified when road is wet). This is the biggest weakpoint for me; I am eager to try next gen Goodyear or Continental to see the difference.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2023
Given 99% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (215/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 easy going miles
I drove 2000 kilometers in my Goodyear UltraGrip Performance+ 215/40R17 87V XL FP Mini Sport Coupe Ibiza CUPRA in the last 15 days. My first impressions are that the tires showed excellent performance and grip on wet, dry and snowy roads. I got the performance I expected without any worries, the tires are great, I recommend it to everyone.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 92% while driving a BMW 640 d gran coupe (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I drove on many tyres because I live in place where snowfall is heavy and temperatures often fall below - 30C. Having this one on rear drive BMW I was shocked how GOOD those tyres are. I had previously GoodYear UltraGrip on 4x4 and those were also excellent so I have no hesitation in recommending them to others or buying again. BTW: additional benefit that those are super quiet comparing to Pirelli or Continental.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Skoda (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Extremely good tyres. It was my first winter with this car and with these tyres made driving during winter simple. I had great traction, grip and confidence. I drove on dry, wet, ice and snow conditions during the winter and no problem in any. I will be putting the same tyres on again next winter.
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2020
Given 78% while driving a BMW 335i (225/35 R18 V) on for 2,000 spirited miles
BMW E92 335i RWD MT (~360bhp)
Great grip in the wet, reduces likelihood of aqua planing and disperses puddles much better than my summer tyres (currently Bridgestone Potenza non run flat 255/30/19). Swapped to winter alloys in November. Tyres are comfy and pretty quiet compared to the Bridestone rubber... will be looking at Michelin Pilot 4S for next Summer I think. Overall very happy, despite not having much snow and ice this winter I have more confidence on cold mornings. I can definitely notice the difference that changing the wheels has made. Traction is much better when temp is 5•C and below, the summer tyres were just spinning up at light acceleration. I’m happy to recommend these tyres, FYI please check out the TYRE-REVIEWS channel on YouTube, really interesting comparisons and highlights the pros/cons of tyres... hope y’all found this informative
Helpful 77 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Passat (225/50 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
The best winter tires!
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2020
Given 85% while driving a Renault Megane (225/40 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
The tyres perform well at the first sight. I just drove 2.000 miles on them. The overall handling performance is great, on both dry and wet conditions. I was surprised about the cornering speed in the wet which is really good (of course, you have to increase the pressures depending on the air temerature to get the most out of it). I have a lot of rain in my country, with standing water on my regular roads, and I can say that the risk of aquaplaning is very low with these tyres. Also, they are very comfortables with soft sidewalls.
On the other hand, they are quite noisy compared to my summer tyres (Dunlop Sportmaxx RT2) at 70-80 km/h. I thought I had a failed bearing. And the dry braking is not so good, but it is common on winter tyres, as well as the road feedback which is average.
I am looking forward to test them on snow and update my review.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2019
Given 100% while driving a Peugeot 308 BlueHDI EAT6 (235/45 R18 N) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Perfect grip with no rolling noise.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2019