Volkswagen Passat Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Passat.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Passat? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Passat better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Hankook Ventus Prime 4 (18) 94% 93% 87% 90% 94% 89%
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (15) 92% 94% 91% 94% 92% 81%
Michelin Alpin 5 (21) 85% 93% 84% 78% 89% 89%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus (14) 81% 87% 83% 86% 91% 89%
Kleber Quadraxer (42) 81% 87% 79% 71% 89% 87%
Maxxis Premitra Snow WP6 (4) 90% 88% 85% 85% 78% 75%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (55) 88% 89% 85% 85% 85% 89%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (107) 87% 86% 83% 74% 88% 87%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (100) 89% 85% 82% 84% 75% 80%
Tigar Tigar UHP (16) 91% 77% 79% 82% 67% 84%
Nokian WetProof (19) 88% 92% 75% 85% 62% 82%
Michelin Primacy 4 (133) 86% 82% 75% 78% 82% 86%
Nankang SV3 (4) 90% 75% 65% 75% 75% 88%
Vredestein Ultrac Cento (22) 83% 78% 76% 73% 86% 82%
Nokian WR D4 (68) 83% 82% 78% 79% 66% 83%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Michelin Energy Saver (134) 83% 72% 74% 71% 85% 80%
Sava Eskimo S3 (33) 73% 64% 68% 71% 75% 72%
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72%
Bridgestone Turanza GR100 (4) 83% 80% 78% 65% 73% 78%
Federal 595RSR (50) 87% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (206) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (101) 85% 79% 77% 76% 54% 72%
Mohawk M105 (7) 71% 62% 60% 56% 83% 53%
Goodride SW608 (9) 76% 71% 68% 60% 59% 68%
General AltiMAX HP (11) 75% 64% 60% 52% 55% 61%
Fullrun Aderenza ADZA88 (7) 77% 34% 54% 54% 77% 63%
Nankang Green Sport Eco 2 (2) 65% 55% 10% 20% 60% 55%
Nankang S600 (11) 60% 39% 47% 47% 65% 39%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Westlake SA 07 (5) 70% 28% 32% 36% 50% 62%
Nankang Eco 2 (4) 58% 53% 50% 35% 23% 53%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%

Volkswagen Passat Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 93% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
I have been using these tyres for the last 5 years, 215/50/17 91W. Overall impression is very positive, only comment would be the road noise when the tyre is not yet warm (lower outside temperatures). Other than that, excellent predictability of handling, superior wet and dry braking, good comfort and no drastic change in its capabilities during the lifespan. Not catching small rocks from the road like the Dunlop / Uniroyal tyres, no isses with soft sides like Goodyear, not plastic like Pirelli. I would definitely buy this tyre again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-24 13:14:19
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 10% (235-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 easy going miles
I can't really comment on most factors as I don't have enough to experience to compare them; however, on wear - the performance has been poor. They are nearly at the end of their life after 11,000 miles over 11 months. I have opened a case with Michelin. They were all made in the 27th week of 2021.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-23 19:06:04
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 4 given 67% (235-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
İ choosed this brand for the first time. these were a little cheaper than continental premium contact or way too cheap than michelin primacy 4. i drove my B8 passat variant for 5000km(almost) with hankook's and yo be honest ; not good as i expect. I may be put my expectations too high because rolling resistance B wet braking A noise 69 db is really low. i thought that's obviusly very good tyre. good tyres. but not that great. The most obvious thing felt while driving is silence. the rest is ordinary
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-20 15:32:41
Writing about the Nokian WetProof given 50% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7500 easy going miles
I live in Europe. I bought four of these tyres somewhere around april 2019. At first they felt very nice on the road. The rubber was soft and smooth. Autumn the same year i switched to winter tyres, stored them these in a cold dry place, avoiding the sun. I rotated them every month. The following year when i had to switch back to these the mechanic said one of the tyres has lost its shape and put it in the rear of the vehicle. That same story repeated in 2020 and 2021 - only a single tyre has lost its shape. This year i noticed excessive vibration in the steering wheel whenever i go above 75 mph. I thought the rims are bent to i had them all straightened. The mechanic said all 4 tyres have lost their shape and i must throw them right away. Not to mention i noticed some cracks in the rubber in 2021. Definitely wont buy again. Btw check this video out. The cracks are kind of similar. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=If93_lgTeSk
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-06 08:08:13
Writing about the Nankang SV3 given 77% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I wanted cheap winter tyres for a season or 2 because I planned to buy all seasons once the summer tyres were done. However, Nankang tyres performed very well overall and I decided to buy another set of summer tyres and keep swapping them out. They have lasted 2 winter seasons, now onto their 3rd. Wear is around halfway there. They are noticeably loud but to someone that doesn't pay too much attention to that, they won't care. Grip in the wet is very good, not great, still have to be careful sometimes especially while going into roundabouts or when taking off quickly.. Snow grip very good, had no trouble although haven't seen too much snow in the last couple of years. Also driven with them through half a summer season, they did their job then aswell. Overall, a very solid, relatively cheap tyre. Very good price price to performance ratio. Would reccomend to someone that doesn't speed often however. Tyres are great as long as you drive normally by the speed limits, once you start pushing the pedal too much the drop in performance is noticeable, especially in slippery conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-30 22:43:30
Writing about the Maxxis Premitra Snow WP6 given 96% (215-60-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Excellent
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-06 07:14:39
Writing about the Maxxis Premitra Snow WP6 given 96% (215-60-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Excellent
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-05 21:14:29
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus given 90% (225-50-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
The best winter tires!
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-01 16:13:06
Writing about the Nankang S600 given 78% (195-60-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Gutted at such negative reviews on these tyres((
I owned a passat 2003 estate okay and these were on steels admittedly for a quick swap. Perfect!
Now in 2008 or 2013 ish. I think it was and I was driving from central Somerset to North Dorset - Buckland Newton to be exact, my factory. So hills n flat road going there but steep (very) roads, small and windy through the many valleys. In thick snow and ice under, i had perfect grip on brand new tyres. I had very good control all the time and could sense ice when it arrived at the tyre. I was out-driving 4x4 in them also old, though they must have been idiots in the 4x4's.
In Glastonbury there is a road called the ROMAN WAY. this was sheet ice, compacted snow. It was closed. I went down this to the amazement of the householders at the bottom waving frantically for me to stop. Under control i kept going down this steep hill and pulled up next to them, applied handbrake and had a quick chat. They were aghast that i made the risky run down the hill and even said 4x4 land rovers were turning back! So I drove UP the hill back to my friends house past them with their jaws on the floor.
I bought these purely for SNOW and when the snow went i swapped back to my radials!!!
you buy these tyres for the sole purpose of SNOW and SLUSH n ICE. IE crappy weather conditions!!!!!
they are THE BEST snow tyre i have used and it is sad I can't get them in my size now((
I used these tyres ONLY when the conditions warranted their use mind!
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-14 13:27:34
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 91% (215-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Quality tires. Very good wet grip and very good response when under pressure. Really premium stuff
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-04 06:51:02
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 given 74% (235-45-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
Pros:
The wet grip is very good;
Dry and snow grip is good;
Very good handling in dry and wet conditions;
Damage resistant boards;

Cons:
Very bad in slush road;
Bad in sharp corner on icy road;
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-20 09:46:39
Writing about the Nankang Green Sport Eco 2 given 93% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 easy going miles
I do around 6,000 miles a month as part of my job is driving up and down the country 5 days a week. I own a Volkswagen Passat 2017, and previously owned a 2013 model. On the old model I always used to have Pirelli tyres on it, and they would last me about 28,000 miles on the front and around 40,000 on the back. On my new passat for the past 1 and a half years I have owned it, the odometer reads just over 102,000 miles. On this Passat I have always put Nankangs on after the first continental set that came on it. Nankang Eco-2+ last me 24,000 miles on the front, and 40,000 miles on the rear. I was shocked by the results of my mileage and also the wet grip as well as dry grip performance, as well as saving £20 per tyre compared with the Pirellis, which were the same size on my old passat. I would say Nankangs are probably the best middle range tyre money can buy as well as being priced well. I pay £49.99 each at my local tyre garage and they also come with lifetime warranty. I cannot recommend these enough!!!
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-10 00:33:41
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre