Nokian WetProof

The Nokian WetProof is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Nokian Line.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 86%
Wear 60%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 77%

Tyre review data from 18 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 88,100 miles driven.

The WetProof is ranked 51st of 139 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test - 6th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Nokian Wetproof is excellent in the wet and solid in the dry. Not a clear recommendation however the limit of wet handling can be tricky.
View Full Test >>

2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks in the wet, good on dry roads.
  • Negative - Increased fuel consumption.
  • Overall - Although the Nokian Tires Wetproof gets good ratings in both dry and wet conditions as well as in terms of wear, it does not get more than a satisfactory result in terms of fuel consumption, albeit just barely. This satisfactory assessment ultimately leads to a devaluation in the overall grade. Thus, the Nokian Tires proves to be recommendable.
View Full Test >>

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 6th of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/60 R16)
  • 6th: 2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2021 ACE / GTU Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2021 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test (195/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 11th: 2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 17th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2020 Gute Fahrt SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/50 R18)
  • 5th: 2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2020 Tyre Reviews Ultimate Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 1st: 2019 ACE Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    175/65 R14 82T   C A 66  
    195/50 R15 82V   B A 68  
    185/55 R15 86H   B A 66  
    195/55 R15 85H   C A 68  
    195/60 R15 88V   C A 68  
    205/60 R15 91V   C A 68  
    175/65 R15 84H   C A 66  
    195/65 R15 91V   B A 68  
    195/45 R16 84V   C A 68  
    215/45 R16 90V   B A 68  
    205/50 R16 87V   C A 68  
    195/55 R16 87H   C A 68  
    205/55 R16 94W   B A 68  
    205/55 R16 94V   B A 68  
    205/55 R16 91W   E A 68  
    205/55 R16 91V   C A 68  
    205/55 R16 91H   C A 68  
    215/55 R16 97V   B A 68  
    225/55 R16 99W   B A 68  
    195/60 R16 89H   B A 68  
    205/60 R16 96V   B A 68  
    215/60 R16 99H   C A 68  
    215/60 R16 99V   C A 68  
    215/45 R17 91W   C A 68  
    205/50 R17 93W   B A 68  
    215/50 R17 95V   C A 68  
    225/50 R17 98V   C A 68  
    205/55 R17 95V   B A 68  
    215/55 R17 94V   C A 68  
    215/50 R18 92W          
    195/55 R20 95H   B A 68  

    Questions and Answers for the Nokian WetProof

    2020-01-29 - Which tyre is best: good year efg or conti premium 6 or hankook ventus prime3 or nokian wetproof or turanza t005?

    If you look at the test results on the website, you will find both the Continental PremiumContact 6 and Bridgestone Turanza T005 have won multiple tests in the last few years.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/50 R15 £59.89 - £87.80 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/50 R16 £104.39 - £117.80 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/65 R15 £54.69 - £113.50 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £53.79 - £118.60 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/45 R16 £107.19 - £110.90 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/50 R17 £101.49 - £104.90 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £93.30 - £94.60 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Nokian WetProof Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Renault Fluence (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 easy going miles
    its not quite its noisy like 71 db tyres
    Helpful 117 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2019
    Given 93% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (215/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 150 average miles

    Hello,

    So far, I've been driving a set of winter Nokian tires, I think they were WRD3 and they were excellent!
    And now, something about the summer Wetproof after just 200km along the main road. The general impression is, of course, that the car is more comfortable and that it flows more smoothly over the holes . I was fortunate to drive them in the dry and in the rain. On dry tires they hold the car as "on the rails" very well adhere in the curves, no creaking, slipping. The wet grip is fantastic, it seems to me that I did not drive a single tire like this in wet conditions. They literally behave the same as on dry. Tyres do not feel at all tire tracks that are covered with shallow longitudinal paddles . At speeds of 100/110km/h , the paddles literally turn into dust while the car goes "by rail". There is no trouble catching the steering wheel, or moving from the direction. This only happens with the larger bars, but at that speed it's something to expect, especially when one wheel hits the paddle ... However, even then I did not have the impression that I completely lost control. As far as the sound in the cabin is concerned, it is moderate compared to the previous GY efficent grip, I would say it is similar. I wish they were a little quieter, it seems to me that it can always be more quiet because it matters to me :), but far from being annoying. This is only my first impression, I do not know how will they wear for next 20.000-30.000 km, as I expect to drive them next few seasons...
    Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2019
    Given 100% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
    road grip and also price are perfect. i feel safe like reading Universal Declaration of Human Rights while driving my car.

    my previous tyres were prelli and so bad according to nokian.
    Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2019
    Have you driven on the Nokian WetProof tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WetProof? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Nokian WetProof >

    Latest Nokian WetProof Reviews

    Given 82% while driving a SEAT Cordoba 1.4 MPI BXW 86hp (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Got them for an amazing price and I'm very satisfied with the purchase. They've been fitted on a '08 Seat Cordoba with a "rough road" suspension (something that we get in Romania, not sure if it was available in other parts of Europe), basically, a crappy lifted suspension and I am so happy with them. Was previously riding on Vredestein Quatrac 5 all seasons and before those on Barum Bravuris 5hms and damn, the Nokians are amazing compared to those. Excellent on both dry and wet, pretty quiet. They get pretty noisy around corners but do feel confident. Not sure about the wear, haven't measured that but I am very satisfied with the purchase so far. Would definitely buy again, especially given the fact that this tire size is not giving too many "budget-friendly" options (thank you Volkswagen I guess).
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2023
    Given 97% while driving a Fiat Tipo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    I am reading comments badmouthing these tyres and I find it disrespectful to a nokian brand, one of the best that works for bridgestone creating some tyres for them even if this is not known and that has been the first brand in history to create the first winter tyre. This tyre has a road grip far superior to the rest, it can be said that its grip is similar to competition tyres and the reason why it grips more than the rest is because they are soft compounds that unlike Michelin, which are usually harder compounds, they sacrifice wear vs. adherence on the asphalt. So it is normal that they last less km than other brands because of the type of compound but they grip much better. The size of the tyre also has an influence, as a 205/55 R16 V tyre is not the same as a 225/45 R17 Y tyre, and driving style also has an influence on wear (if you drive more aggressively and brake more, the tyre wears out first). But wear is also influenced by the type of road you drive on. A road made of concrete or a mountain road, wears the tyres much more than another type of road, also a bad and cracked road is normal to destroy and crack the tyres because it would be the same thing that happens when you hit a broken pavement and the asymmetrical pieces jagged on the pavement in a soft compound tyre can literally tear off pieces of rubber. This same thing on asphalt will cause pieces of rubber to break off the tyre and crack. As you can see there are a lot of influences. This tyre for the price/performance is the best.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 89% while driving a Renault Renault Megane III Estate 1.5dci (130hp) (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
    Well Im really satisfied with this tyre. What i noticed for sure is that this tires are really comfort! Noisy at minimum. First i had Sebring same size.... Very noisy fuel consumption is great....
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2022
    Given 88% while driving a Honda Civic (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    I'm comparing these to my previous tires which were Michelin Primacy 3 and Falken Ziex ZE310 Ecorun. These are excellent touring tires overall. Dry and wet grip are both great, no problem with spirited driving in either condition. What surprised me was the precise steering feel and good feedback. Falkens and Michelins both felt more rounded and bloaty in corners. Comfort is good, road imperfections are smoothed out well and on decent roads they're extremely quiet, comparable to the Falkens which were the quietest I've ever heard. The Falkens had a high rolling resistance but that's not a problem with Wetproofs, I'm saving nearly a liter per 100 km and the car feels nimble and light. I can't comment on wear yet but if they hold up these are premium tires for a midrange price and I can easily recommend them for everyone.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2022
    Given 49% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra cdti (120) (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Have had these Nokians fitted for 15k miles and time to swap them out. Initially I was impressed by them, relatively quiet, handling good in dry and great in wet. Sidewall is too soft to throw the car into corners but balance of the car was ok, no snap under or oversteer. However the biggest problem with these tyres (and Nokian powerproof which I replaced the fronts with last year) is that only after a year, there are cracks all over the tyre, in between tread blocks. I also run a little more than usual camber in the rear and you’d expect the inside shoulder to wear more, which it has, but not just wear, it’s RIPPED the rubber and caused deep cuts to it. I’m swapping them out for a pair of Goodyear efficient grip performance 2’s. I’m not risking my life with the Nokians. I’ll never touch Nokian again. Initially I rated them highly as a daily tyre. Now, stay away.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2022
    Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen Passat (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 7,500 easy going miles
    I live in Europe. I bought four of these tyres somewhere around april 2019. At first they felt very nice on the road. The rubber was soft and smooth. Autumn the same year i switched to winter tyres, stored them these in a cold dry place, avoiding the sun. I rotated them every month. The following year when i had to switch back to these the mechanic said one of the tyres has lost its shape and put it in the rear of the vehicle. That same story repeated in 2020 and 2021 - only a single tyre has lost its shape. This year i noticed excessive vibration in the steering wheel whenever i go above 75 mph. I thought the rims are bent to i had them all straightened. The mechanic said all 4 tyres have lost their shape and i must throw them right away. Not to mention i noticed some cracks in the rubber in 2021. Definitely wont buy again. Btw check this video out. The cracks are kind of similar. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=If93_lgTeSk
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2022
    Given 63% while driving a Honda Accord (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Nokian is no stranger to my vehicles, I have used them for years and highly value their fantastic cold weather performance during many of the cold spells that have led to snow and ice being a daily occurance, So with this in mind I had high hopes for the Wetproof as an ideal tyre for my 13 Honda Accord Tourer 2.2 which has had a remap to bring it to 230hp. I was not at all disappointed with the grip wet or dry, the cars front end felt like it was on rails even on a wet uphill slight off camber and the precision that the tyre turns in with is exceptional. I have used Falken FK510 before and Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 and I have to say the Wetproof is leagues ahead in grip and feedback. My sole gripe and this is a big one is the wear rates, I don't know if it is due to the road surfaces or some other factor but after only 10k miles the inbuilt wear counters (brilliant idea!) are showing 3mm. I realise that it is impossible to have all things but for my usage less than 15k miles is not good enough for my daily drive 60 miles return. Perhaps with a slightly lighter car and a more responsible attitude to speed limits the tyre could be made to last longer but for me require something a little harder wearing. I do highly rate the grip and feedback but the wear rate makes it an uneconomic choice for me.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2021
    Given 66% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
    These replaced the OE Continental premium contact 2's that had lasted a considerable amount of time. You do get a feeling of security in the wet conditions that we see all too often in the UK, though I'm not entirely convinced that this isn't subjective due to these being sold as a wet weather biased tyre. I couldn't decide if the tread pattern on these was designed for LHD vehicles as it appears there is diagonal tread that would shed water from the verge to the road centre were you driving on the right hand side of the road. This tread isn't formed that deeply into the tyres though so as I found out doesn't last that long. From the fitters these came inflated to 30psi, the manufacturers recommendations inside the door suggest something like 33psi on the front and 45psi rear with passengers and luggage. Needless to say this seemed excessive so the tyres weren't inflated to anywhere near this. I was a bit surprised when there was appreciable signs of wear in the middle of the tyres of the driven wheels when the levels of the tread depth rapidly went down to 3mm. Perhaps its the new tread compound that nokian have developed, but the amount of wear was unexpected for a mid range tyre. I haven't seen tyres wear this quickly since the days when I used to run budget tyres. I would really like to be able to say exactly how many miles these tyres have lasted, especially considering how gently they've been driven. It isn't straight forward though, as I ran them on the non driven wheels for a couple of thousand miles until I wore down the continentals, then do the swap to winter tyres annually. I would estimate the wear to be less than 12k miles though, and we are down to less than 3mm, I haven't noticed an awful lot of wear yet on the pair of tyres on the undriven wheels. I do get it, if you want performance then it comes at the cost of longevity, but this level of wear surprised me and did make me wonder what to replace these with or if there was a similar compound in the WR snowproofs for when my winter tyres need replacing.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2020
    Given 85% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    Really really great tyres. Was a bit sceptical at first, because I know that Nokian makes great winter tyre, but didn't know how wold the summer tyres preform. And at last, now I can say that i wold definetly buy these tyres over any michelin od continentals again. They especially excel in the wet. On the highway with a lot off rain - no problem. Really good job Nokian!
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2020
    Given 90% while driving a Skoda (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    I have switched from GY EG Performance (reviewed) and had pretty good experience with winter WR D3 so my expectations were quite high. Since the Goodyear tyre is quite common and, in my opinion, still one of the best, I think their comparison would be handier than an attempt to become a new Melville. Dry: excellent, the Wetproof is even better than GY, especially in terms of grip; braking distances, acceleration (yes, it's more because they are fresh, but they really are better even if compared to new GY). Noticeably lower rolling resistance. Handling-wise it's a draw. Wet: as good as GY which had slightly lower rolling resistance in such conditions. Safe feeling and predictable behaviour, not prone to aquaplaning even in VERY heavy rain; deep puddles are felt but without loss of control. Tie again. Noise: quieter than GY on almost any OK-ish surface, noisier on beaten rough low-quality tarmac (pattern-derived). Significantly quieter on concrete highways. Fuel consumption / rolling resistance: personally, I don't care about fuel economy figures on EU-stickers (hardly any relation to real life experience) but I have to admit they are truly impressive in the dry and quite good in the wet. Wear: no signs of any wear yet. And I don't really care, I'd rather replace a quickly worn tyre than a heavily aged one with plenty of tread but no grip. Sadly, Continental PC5 no longer available. Positive: handling, performance in dry & wet conditions, price similar to Hankook; together cheapest among (semi-)premium tyres Negative: no rim protection but struggling to find anything else Made in St. Petersburg, not Nokia, but quality issues from WR D4 times should have been resolved long time ago, no worry then.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2020
    Given 96% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (215/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 1,800 spirited miles
    Toyota MR2 roadster 2004, This is the second time I have purchased Nokian tyres and I am not disappointed, the car feels as if it’s on rails in wet weather and there is great steering feel, done about 1800 miles on them so far with no issues I previously had Nokian line which I loved and had done about 36000 on before changing but there was no stock of these when changing so bought wetproof instead. You can really transform the handling of a car by picking the correct tyre
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2020
    Given 96% while driving a Toyota rav (235/55 R18 H) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    I have bought winter tires from Nokian for my Toyota rav4 4x4 prior to buying these. Guess why .. because winter tires were insanely good. I bought my car with Bridgestone dueler tires that literally slipped over anything that was a little bit wet. In contrast, I was unable to slip these tires on wet, not to mention dry road. So far tried them on tarmac as well as gravel, dirt, grass and even mud. Never had any issues whatsoever. It's not that I am an expert in the subject, but have tested few different sets of tires from different manufacturers, and so far Nokians are my favs. Absolutely recommend.
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2020