Nokian WetProof

The Nokian WetProof is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Nokian Line.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 89%
Wear 73%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 84%

Tyre review data from 10 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 24,600 miles driven.

The WetProof is ranked 17th of 119 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 ACE / GTU Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distances and good handling on dry and wet roads, high resistance to aquaplaning.
  • Negative - Increased noise level.
  • Overall - Highly recommended.
View Full Test >>

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 6th of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 17th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Highest wear on test, lowest value on test.
  • Overall - Acceptable.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/65 R14 82T   C A 66  
195/50 R15 82V   B A 68  
185/55 R15 86H   B A 66  
195/55 R15 85H   C A 68  
195/60 R15 88V   C A 68  
205/60 R15 91V   C A 68  
175/65 R15 84H   C A 66  
195/65 R15 91V   B A 68  
195/45 R16 84V   C A 68  
215/45 R16 90V   B A 68  
205/50 R16 87V   C A 68  
195/55 R16 87H   C A 68  
205/55 R16 94W   B A 68  
205/55 R16 94V   B A 68  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 68  
205/55 R16 91V   C A 68  
205/55 R16 91H   C A 68  
215/55 R16 97V   B A 68  
225/55 R16 99W   B A 68  
195/60 R16 89H   B A 68  
205/60 R16 96V   B A 68  
215/60 R16 99H   C A 68  
215/60 R16 99V   C A 68  
215/45 R17 91W   C A 68  
205/50 R17 93W   B A 68  
215/50 R17 95V   C A 68  
225/50 R17 98V   C A 68  
205/55 R17 95V   B A 68  
215/55 R17 94V   C A 68  
215/50 R18 92W          
195/55 R20 95H   B A 68  

Questions and Answers for the Nokian WetProof

2020-01-29 - Which tyre is best: good year efg or conti premium 6 or hankook ventus prime3 or nokian wetproof or turanza t005?

If you look at the test results on the website, you will find both the Continental PremiumContact 6 and Bridgestone Turanza T005 have won multiple tests in the last few years.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


WetProof Prices

Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £43.40 - £55.01 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R15 £47.80 - £54.99 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R16 £78.40 - £92.79 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £47.59 - £66.59 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R16 £94.70 - £101.29 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £91.49 - £91.49 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nokian WetProof Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Renault Fluence (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 easy going miles
its not quite its noisy like 71 db tyres
95 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (215/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 150 average miles

Hello,

So far, I've been driving a set of winter Nokian tires, I think they were WRD3 and they were excellent!
And now, something about the summer Wetproof after just 200km along the main road. The general impression is, of course, that the car is more comfortable and that it flows more smoothly over the holes . I was fortunate to drive them in the dry and in the rain. On dry tires they hold the car as "on the rails" very well adhere in the curves, no creaking, slipping. The wet grip is fantastic, it seems to me that I did not drive a single tire like this in wet conditions. They literally behave the same as on dry. Tyres do not feel at all tire tracks that are covered with shallow longitudinal paddles . At speeds of 100/110km/h , the paddles literally turn into dust while the car goes "by rail". There is no trouble catching the steering wheel, or moving from the direction. This only happens with the larger bars, but at that speed it's something to expect, especially when one wheel hits the paddle ... However, even then I did not have the impression that I completely lost control. As far as the sound in the cabin is concerned, it is moderate compared to the previous GY efficent grip, I would say it is similar. I wish they were a little quieter, it seems to me that it can always be more quiet because it matters to me :), but far from being annoying. This is only my first impression, I do not know how will they wear for next 20.000-30.000 km, as I expect to drive them next few seasons...
32 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
road grip and also price are perfect. i feel safe like reading Universal Declaration of Human Rights while driving my car.

my previous tyres were prelli and so bad according to nokian.
27 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2019   
Have you driven on the Nokian WetProof tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WetProof? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nokian WetProof >

Latest Nokian WetProof Reviews

Given 66% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
These replaced the OE Continental premium contact 2's that had lasted a considerable amount of time. You do get a feeling of security in the wet conditions that we see all too often in the UK, though I'm not entirely convinced that this isn't subjective due to these being sold as a wet weather biased tyre. I couldn't decide if the tread pattern on these was designed for LHD vehicles as it appears there is diagonal tread that would shed water from the verge to the road centre were you driving on the right hand side of the road. This tread isn't formed that deeply into the tyres though so as I found out doesn't last that long. From the fitters these came inflated to 30psi, the manufacturers recommendations inside the door suggest something like 33psi on the front and 45psi rear with passengers and luggage. Needless to say this seemed excessive so the tyres weren't inflated to anywhere near this. I was a bit surprised when there was appreciable signs of wear in the middle of the tyres of the driven wheels when the levels of the tread depth rapidly went down to 3mm. Perhaps its the new tread compound that nokian have developed, but the amount of wear was unexpected for a mid range tyre. I haven't seen tyres wear this quickly since the days when I used to run budget tyres. I would really like to be able to say exactly how many miles these tyres have lasted, especially considering how gently they've been driven. It isn't straight forward though, as I ran them on the non driven wheels for a couple of thousand miles until I wore down the continentals, then do the swap to winter tyres annually. I would estimate the wear to be less than 12k miles though, and we are down to less than 3mm, I haven't noticed an awful lot of wear yet on the pair of tyres on the undriven wheels. I do get it, if you want performance then it comes at the cost of longevity, but this level of wear surprised me and did make me wonder what to replace these with or if there was a similar compound in the WR snowproofs for when my winter tyres need replacing.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2020   
Given 85% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Really really great tyres. Was a bit sceptical at first, because I know that Nokian makes great winter tyre, but didn't know how wold the summer tyres preform. And at last, now I can say that i wold definetly buy these tyres over any michelin od continentals again. They especially excel in the wet. On the highway with a lot off rain - no problem. Really good job Nokian!
3 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 90% while driving a Skoda (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I have switched from GY EG Performance (reviewed) and had pretty good experience with winter WR D3 so my expectations were quite high. Since the Goodyear tyre is quite common and, in my opinion, still one of the best, I think their comparison would be handier than an attempt to become a new Melville. Dry: excellent, the Wetproof is even better than GY, especially in terms of grip; braking distances, acceleration (yes, it's more because they are fresh, but they really are better even if compared to new GY). Noticeably lower rolling resistance. Handling-wise it's a draw. Wet: as good as GY which had slightly lower rolling resistance in such conditions. Safe feeling and predictable behaviour, not prone to aquaplaning even in VERY heavy rain; deep puddles are felt but without loss of control. Tie again. Noise: quieter than GY on almost any OK-ish surface, noisier on beaten rough low-quality tarmac (pattern-derived). Significantly quieter on concrete highways. Fuel consumption / rolling resistance: personally, I don't care about fuel economy figures on EU-stickers (hardly any relation to real life experience) but I have to admit they are truly impressive in the dry and quite good in the wet. Wear: no signs of any wear yet. And I don't really care, I'd rather replace a quickly worn tyre than a heavily aged one with plenty of tread but no grip. Sadly, Continental PC5 no longer available. Positive: handling, performance in dry & wet conditions, price similar to Hankook; together cheapest among (semi-)premium tyres Negative: no rim protection but struggling to find anything else Made in St. Petersburg, not Nokia, but quality issues from WR D4 times should have been resolved long time ago, no worry then.
6 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (215/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 1,800 spirited miles
Toyota MR2 roadster 2004, This is the second time I have purchased Nokian tyres and I am not disappointed, the car feels as if it’s on rails in wet weather and there is great steering feel, done about 1800 miles on them so far with no issues I previously had Nokian line which I loved and had done about 36000 on before changing but there was no stock of these when changing so bought wetproof instead. You can really transform the handling of a car by picking the correct tyre
9 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Toyota rav (235/55 R18 H) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I have bought winter tires from Nokian for my Toyota rav4 4x4 prior to buying these. Guess why .. because winter tires were insanely good. I bought my car with Bridgestone dueler tires that literally slipped over anything that was a little bit wet. In contrast, I was unable to slip these tires on wet, not to mention dry road. So far tried them on tarmac as well as gravel, dirt, grass and even mud. Never had any issues whatsoever. It's not that I am an expert in the subject, but have tested few different sets of tires from different manufacturers, and so far Nokians are my favs. Absolutely recommend.
7 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2020   
Given 97% while driving a Fiat Panda (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 650 spirited miles
Excellet sumer tyres! I did about 1000km on those already. Very quiet ride (size 175/65 R14 - I can bearly hear them) comfortable on bad roads and superb handling/ cornring on both dry and wet. Very predictable tyres even when pushed hard. I really think this is the best money can buy.
7 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Kia Motors Soul 1.6 CDI (200/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
I wasn't happy with summer Sava HP2 so I was looking for something better for my wifes car... For a moment I wanted to go all in on Michelin or Conti, but Nokian had a great price they did well on tests. After first 1000km I am not dissapointed, they seem to be a really solid tires. They are not uhp tires, but they feel safe and predictable in all conditions.
13 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2020