Nokian Line

The Nokian Line is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Nokian WetProof.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 90%
Wear 83%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 84%

Tyre review data from 64 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 845,058 miles driven.

The Line is ranked 7th of 119 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test - 6th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the wet.
  • Negative - High levels of understeer in the dry, low comfort and high noise.
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended.
View Full Test >>

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 19th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking in the dry, low rolling resistance, good comfort levels.
  • Negative - Poor curved aquaplaning result, high wear.
View Full Test >>

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 14th of 47 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/65 R14 82T   C B 70  
185/65 R14 86H   C B 70  
195/55 R15 85H   C B 71  
195/55 R15 85V   C B 71  
185/60 R15 88H   C B 71  
195/60 R15 88V   C B 71  
175/65 R15 84H   C B 70  
185/65 R15 88H   C B 70  
185/65 R15 92H   C B 71  
195/65 R15 91H   C B 71  
195/65 R15 95H   C B 72  
195/65 R15 91V   C B 71  
215/65 R15 100H   C B 72  
195/45 R16 84V   C B 72  
195/55 R16 87H   C B 71  
195/55 R16 87V   C B 71  
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71  
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71  
205/60 R16 92H   C B 71  
215/60 R16 99V   C B 72  
215/60 R16 99H   C B 72  
225/60 R16 102W   C B 72  
215/65 R16 98V   C B 71  
215/45 R17 91W   C A 72  
225/45 R17 94W   C A 72  
205/55 R17 95V   C A 72  
215/55 R17 94V   E B 71  
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Nokian Line. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Line Prices

Size Price Range  
185/60 R14 £104.59 - £116.70 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 4 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nokian Line Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 6,500 easy going miles
I am from Singapore and it is summer everyday with plenty of rain. I replaced my stock tyres, Michelin Energysaver, for the Nokian Line on my Mercedes C180 in Feb 15 and since clocked abt 10000km.

The Nokian Line has got very good dry and wet grips. For the Energysaver, each time i stepped hard on my brakes on wet roads, the car's ABS would kick in and skit forward. I had many heart in mouth moments. With the Nokian Line, no such problems, fantastic grip on wet roads. The wear is also good, hardly any wear after 10000km of mainly town driving.

However, as compared to the Energysaver, the Nokian Line is noisier. I supposed that is because it has better traction and i can live with it. Also, the Nokian is cheaper then the Michelins or Contis with the same performance range, i will definitely buy these tyres again if can find it in Singapore. Its quite sad there is no dealership here in my country.
109 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2015   
Given 67% while driving a Hyundai i30 (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 16,000 average miles
Bought these Nokian Line tyres for my i30 , reason was I already have a set of Nokian WDR3 winter tyres that I find superb and the Line has great reviews . I was shocked at how fast they wore down , with relatively easy driving. They have a nice touch with thread depth stamped on the tyre , but they dropped from 8 to 2mm after 16k miles. I couldn't believe it.....never again !
15 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2017   
Given 70% while driving a Mazda MX6 (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Tyre is really hard to heat. Slipping in cornering when cold. In comparision to barum bravuris 3HM i would say it's 7 to 10.
When get warm quite nice grip, but the sidewalls are bit too soft.
Nice braking in rainy conditions, but cornering still average. I expected something more from the tires costs much more than barum ones.
14 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2017   
Have you driven on the Nokian Line tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian Line? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nokian Line >

Latest Nokian Line Reviews

Given 46% while driving a Renault Grand Scenic (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
First season were the tyres good, the second season the tyres became very hard, third season the all four tyres just peel off... It must be the problem in material (made in russia)... never bought them again...
1 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (215/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 25,000 spirited miles
I was dubious about what I read about these tyres but have not been disappointed. Handling in the wet is amazing and the car has never slid or had any unexpected oversteer no matter how I’ve pushed it .
These tyres are amazing and I will definitely be buying them again, done about 25000 miles and still got plenty of tread left, very quiet on the road. On the Mr2 roadster forums I have mentioned them for being so good but people just talk about the known brands and underestimate Nokian , dry handling is equally as good.
Had a set of Sunnis on before these which felt like you were driving on ice when it rained,
1 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2019   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 91% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.4TDi (185/60 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 28,125 easy going miles
Imensely good on both dry and wet. 45000 Km on them and from 8 mm they are just now at 5 mm, so halfway worn. unfortunately they have a whole lot of cracks on the thread so have to change them. The dot is 4214 so not even 5 years old from production date.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 16,500 spirited miles
Great tyres, very strong all rounders, lasted 16500 miles - which is credit indeed with my daughters very spirited driving. Would definitely recommend if you can get a good price. No weaknesses, would have lasted longer but they were down to 3mm and wanted to get her new tyres for the coming winter.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,500 spirited miles
These tyres came on a car I purchased a couple of years ago from a family member, and I've used them for two summers now.

In dry and wet driving I found the tyres both adequately grippy and progressive at the limit. They arren't performance tyres but on my normal hatchback performed perfectly in most situations.

The main issue I've had with the tyres is premature cracking of the tyre, which started to occur relatively shortly after the tyres were originally installed.
4 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2018   
Given 79% while driving a Skoda Octavia (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 15,500 average miles
They are fine tyres. Can't say anything bad about grip.
The only disadvantages - rolling resistance seems a bit higher than I'd like (higher fuel consumption) and seems like they wear a bit faster than I'd like to see.
6 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2018   
Given 83% while driving a Audi A4 2.8 quattro (205/55 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 18,000 spirited miles
I fitted these to my Quattro 2.8 back in October 2015 and I have since covered about 18,000 on them. My initial impressions were really good. They seemed to make the car feel more nimble and poised on the road and the steering felt sharper and more direct and I could feel the road better.
They were quiet too, far less road noise the the Coopers they replaced. I like the tread pattern as it looked like a lot of thought had gone into it.
In performance terms, no complaints at all and I wanted to leave the long term review until I had experienced driving on snow. I figured that a Finnish brand would be good in inclement weather and they are indeed. These are their summer tyres and they were great in the snow! My Quattro AWD helps a lot here of course, and its worth remembering that all summer tyres will have reduced performance in the cold and snow, not just because of the tyre pattern, but the tyre compound is not designed for temps below about 10 degrees celcius.
Having said all that I did notice the they started to get noisier with age, and then a few months ago I had the car up on a lift for some exhaust work and we noticed that all the tyres showed signs of perishing on and around the tread. Not on the sidewalls which would have been really bad, but even so the tyre shop reckoned that this was unacceptable for a tyre that was only three years old.
There was however plenty of tread left - probably would have seen me through at least six more months, and maybe more. However with winter coming I decided to change them and I chose Avons this time.
To be fair, you can find stories like this about every brand, so I am not damning Nokian really, just saying. YMMV.
Will post a review on the Avons ZV7 next year after they have seen some action. I will say though that already I find them more pliant and comfortable that than the Nokians with less of a crashy ride. But also that the steering feels a bit more vague and woolly. Cant have it all eh?
2 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2018   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
I had this tyres on my Golf after two sets of Continentals. This tyre does the same job but only at the lower price. I dont know about wear I didnt drive them too long but first few month impression is excellent. They are produced in Russia in town near Finland.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2018   
Given 59% while driving a BMW 735i E32 (225/55 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 19,000 spirited miles
In spring 2015 I purchased a set of Nokian Line 225/55R16 99W XL, based on the excellent reviews I've read here.
As of now (June 2018) I have clocked about 30.000 Km with these tires, and I can say that the Nokian Line is overrated.
It is not a bad tire, but, based on the scores it got here on Tyre Reviews, the reality is way below expectations.

Dry grip and wet grip are decent, but nothing to write home about. Dry braking is not so good. Steering feedback - forget about it. The sidewalls are soft, and the car feels like driving on jelly. But the wear looks good, I still have 5mm left after the mileage mentioned above.

I would only recommend the Nokian Line for the easy going driver, who is looking for a mid-range brand of tires, and for whom wear and price are important criteria.
2 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2018   
Given 63% while driving a Subaru Legacy (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 22,000 easy going miles
I was impressed with the dry and especially wet grip but after using them for one season and storing them in the same way as all of my other tyres they were cracked and the performance was much worse the second season.

I eventually had to stop using them as they were causing strange handling and vibrations when driving.

In summary, really good the first year. Terrible the second.
4 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Vauxhall Astra H 1.6 VVT (115bhp) (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 20,659 spirited miles
After purchasing my first car I read an aweful lot of reviews/tests about tyres, as I view them as a massive safety feature. I settled on these as the reviews are extremely high across the board on a mixture of vehicles, and they're priced well.

I can highly recommend the Nokian Line tyre. I've had them on my Vauxhall Astra for the past 3 years and wouldn't put anything else on there now. I opted for the W XL tyres as they were priced cheaper than the lesser rated tyres at the time by a couple of quid. After using standard tyres previously, the rolling in corners was so noticable in those compared to these. Whilst it's a slightly firmer ride with the XL's, I'm more than happy with the almost non-existant rolling in corners.

They handle amazingly, especially in the wet where they flying through surface water like a hot knife through butter at all speeds (80mph+ on motorways with heavy surface water). Stopping in the wet/dry/ice is excellent too, gripping to the road insanely well. Cornering is just as impressive, I've pushed them hard in the dry, wet and icey conditions and they've done me proud.

I travel ~10,000 miles per year, through all weather conditions and a mixture of motorway, country lane and urban driving. The first set I bought (09/01/2016) went on the back for 9 months, then I switched them to the front on 05/11/2016 and they'd only lost 1mm of tread. I ended up getting 20,659 miles (10,541 miles on the rear / 10,118 miles on the front) out of them in total. They had 2mm of tread left on them before I put another pair of Nokian Line's on 11/11/2017.

17/02/2018 I changed the dipped bulbs and checked the tread on the front. They're still showing 5mm and they've already clocked up ~12,000 miles (10,028 miles on the rear and 1,972 miles on the front ), so I expect to get another ~8,000 miles out of them which I'll be happy with. The new rears have only lost 1mm of tread over 3 months so I'm more than happy they'll last a long time.

Handling doesn't seem to deminish like on other tyres as the tread drops, I had just as much confidence in them at 2mm that I do at 8mm, and I'll be buying another set to put on the front and switch over again when the fronts are down to 2mm.
2 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2018   
Given 81% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Bought these as thought they were a good, safe all rounder - and I have been proved right. Grip in wet and dry is fine, feedback is good, perform very well in cold of winter and have lasted pretty well with my daughters spirited 11K miles of driving. Road noise is about same as original Goodyears. Will definitely consider these again - Nokian are definitely a name to consider along with the Premium brands.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2017