Subaru Legacy Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Subaru Legacy.

Do you Drive a Subaru Legacy? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Legacy better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian xLine (2) 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 (10) 92% 91% 90% 91% 86% 90%
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91%
Debica Frigo HP2 (10) 90% 89% 85% 85% 89% 81%
Nokian Line (65) 92% 90% 89% 89% 82% 86%
Nokian zLine (79) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (26) 85% 88% 90% 82% 82% 88%
Gislaved Nord Frost 5 (4) 80% 90% 80% 87% 67% 93%
Michelin Pilot Alpin (4) 88% 88% 75% 85% 85% 78%
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (56) 88% 83% 80% 76% 86% 85%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (90) 90% 82% 81% 79% 81% 80%
Kumho Ecsta Seven KU23 (5) 82% 90% 83% 64% 80% 84%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (226) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Yokohama W Drive V902B (2) 75% 90% 80% 75% 85% 70%
Altenzo Equator (6) 85% 75% 78% 78% 78% 83%
Firestone TZ300A (24) 80% 79% 70% 78% 78% 74%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Nexen N2000 (13) 81% 75% 75% 65% 82% 76%
Momo Outrun M3 (18) 84% 72% 73% 77% 69% 82%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (41) 87% 72% 77% 80% 71% 64%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (150) 84% 74% 74% 76% 71% 75%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (60) 82% 85% 78% 74% 62% 73%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (154) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Goodride SP06 (23) 82% 71% 67% 66% 73% 68%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Debica Frigo 2 (19) 64% 56% 64% 61% 82% 67%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Falken FK453 (28) 76% 70% 61% 58% 59% 68%
Tigar Syneris (20) 75% 61% 62% 61% 61% 65%
Michelin Energy MXV4 Plus (4) 55% 53% 50% 43% 90% 98%
BFGoodrich Traction TA (4) 75% 68% 60% 63% 80% 37%
Bridgestone B250 (48) 66% 55% 61% 62% 70% 64%
Yokohama Advan dB V552 (7) 62% 56% 62% 62% 50% 77%
Bridgestone Ecopia EP25 (11) 65% 48% 65% 64% 55% 64%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (132) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Goodride H660 (1) 80% 70% 50% 50% 60% 40%

Subaru Legacy Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 79% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Good tyre, performs reasonably well in all conditions! Yet to use in ice and snow...
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-19 20:56:14
Writing about the Bridgestone B250 given 57% (205-60-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 41000 easy going miles
Good tyres for everyday use on dry road. They have lasted for over 65000 KM and they still have quite a lot of thread (changing them due to their age).

They are noisy wheels and quite expensive. Wouldn't buy them again unless they are super cheap.

Wet grip is awful. The wheels basically float on the water. Thankfully the AWD system and ESC intervened promptly while aquaplaning at high speed.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-16 13:34:57
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 given 93% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I was driving with these tires for 3 seasons already (in Lithuania). I liked them. The response on wet and dry is really good. On icy and snowy roads one cannot drive like on wet, it's obvious :) For that you have to choose at least soft compound tyres, or better spiked. They are pretty soft, which comes as a better comfort on bumpy roads. But what impressed me the most, is the wearing degree. After 20000 miles (3 winters) they are still around 6mm.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-05 10:02:45
Writing about the Yokohama Advan dB V552 given 84% (215-55-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-05 06:22:11
Writing about the Nokian Line given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 22000 easy going miles
I was impressed with the dry and especially wet grip but after using them for one season and storing them in the same way as all of my other tyres they were cracked and the performance was much worse the second season.

I eventually had to stop using them as they were causing strange handling and vibrations when driving.

In summary, really good the first year. Terrible the second.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-26 08:47:40
Writing about the Debica Frigo HP2 given 89% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-21 13:28:47
Writing about the Altenzo Equator given 73% (205-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 600 average miles
Awesome tyres, despite the fact that they were new in the market and I was skeptical about their performance. They handle very well and are pretty comfortable and stable even at high speeds. Would definitely buy again, but on a bigger wheel.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-07 12:40:45
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 91% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Not much to say. I do not have the experience with this car as it was new for me and I changed the tires just when I bought it. But overall they seem extremely good. I am a falken boy as I always have falkens in everycar I have but the shop persuade me that these are better than the Ziez914 and they are astonishing good. They are very comfortable and that is the number one for a touring tire, plus they are very good in the wet.
I recommend them for every touring car. When you push them they show also extremely good handling. The wear is also minimum. I am waiting to see the full lifetime as falken's greatest benefit is the very good performance through their lifetime.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-11 11:37:08
Writing about the Momo Outrun M3 given 97% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
I chose these tires because of reasonable price and good comments on internet forums. And also because momo is a loud brand name of motorsport, which means that these tires can not be very bad.
First feeling with these tires was - vou! What a good grip! And how they soft and quiet compared to my old Bridgestone Potenza RE050!
With momo I no longer feel that I drove into the asphalt truck rails.
I've driven with these tires one season, which is 10 000 km, mostly around the city and highways. Also on the German Autobahn at high speed tires behaved very well. Overtaking maneuvers in the rain at 170km/h seemed stable.
After these 10k km measured tread depth with electronic measuring tool. New tire tread depth was 7.5mm, now - front 6.2mm, rear 6.3mm. This means that these tires will last at least 40k km. I think it is a very good results for such soft tires.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-12 07:43:17
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 easy going miles
Had these fitted to my 2001 Subaru Legacy in size 205/55/16 this summer. So far i've got 10000km with them and i hardly see any wear what so ever. I've had two nail punctures while parking in front of my home. Those are not the tire fault, but still subjectively, it is a minus on my buy again criteria. On the road they feel quiet, comfortable and a little bit too flexy. Went through a mountain pass and on the corners i could feel the tire flexing two much. I've driven dirt roads and had no issues, also on the sandy beach, the car holds its own. On the motorway those have great rolling qualities and while being soft, they don't heat up as much as my old ones(by far). This is great as they don't become sticky and the "miles per gallon" are kept high.

Overall: Great tires for good money, but could be better, if they had stiffer sidewalls. I would buy them again, if not for wanting to try other brands summer tires. I like to compare things myself.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-17 14:58:54
Writing about the Nokian xLine given NAN% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 23000 spirited miles
Put on the car at 135000km sold car at 172000km still had 4mm of thread on them, but had circumference cracks, I put the "as recommended by Subaru" tyre pressure 2.3bar front 2.2bar rear, but according to Nokian it recommends 2.6 front and 2.5 rear, would be nice if someone/anyone advised of this,
Great tyre though, not a bother in snow or winter maybe the Subaru complimented them,
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-05 19:55:39
Writing about the Tigar Syneris given 44% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Had these put on the front of my Subaru Legacy as they were recommended by the tyre fitter and after just 6000 miles they are down to the wear indicators, can't really fault the dry grip but wet grip not so good
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-15 10:22:19
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre