Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 245 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 3,534,993 miles driven, and 43 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 78%
Wear 73%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 72%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size14 - 20"
Width165 - 245mm
Profile40 - 65
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)67 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The EfficientGrip Performance is ranked 50th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2.

Tests Included

43

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

12th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15
4th of 16 tyres
  • Especially good on dry roads and low fuel consumption.
  • A little weak in the wet compared to the best on test.
View Full Test >>
2019 NAF Summer Tyre Test
6th of 8 tyres
  • Low fuel consumption, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Weak lateral stability, understeer and long braking in the dry, elevated noise.
View Full Test >>
2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test
3rd of 13 tyres
  • Good wet handling and grip, balanced in the dry, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • None mentioned.
View Full Test >>

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

Reports

  • Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance - Launched
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    14 inch
    175/65R14 86 T XLAB68
    175/65R14 86 T XLAB68
    185/60R14 82 HCA70
    175/65R14 86 T XLAB68
    15 inch
    185/65R15 88 HAB70
    185/65R15 88 HAB69
    185/65R15 92 T XLBB70
    185/65R15 88 HCC70
    185/65R15 88 HAB70
    185/65R15 88 HBB70
    185/65R15 88 HBA70
    195/55R15 85 VCA71
    195/55R15 85 HCA71
    185/65R15 88 HAB69
    195/65R15 91 HBA71
    195/65R15 91 VBA71
    185/65R15 88 HCC70
    16 inch
    205/60R16 92 HAB70
    205/60R16 92 VAB71
    205/60R16 92 VAB71
    205/60R16 92 HAB70
    205/55R16 91 VAC71
    205/60R16 92 VAB69
    205/60R16 92 VAB69
    205/60R16 92 HAB69
    205/55R16 91 HAC70
    205/55R16 91 VAC71
    215/60R16 95 HCB68
    205/60R16 92 VAB69
    205/60R16 92 HAB69
    205/55R16 91 VAB68
    215/60R16 99 V XLAB70
    205/55R16 91 VAB68
    205/55R16 91 HAB69
    205/55R16 91 HAB69
    215/60R16 99 W XLBA72
    215/60R16 99 H XLBA72
    215/60R16 99 V XLCA72
    205/60R16 92 VCB69
    205/55R16 91 VAC71
    205/55R16 91 VAC71
    205/55R16 91 WBA70
    205/55R16 91 WCB70
    205/55R16 91 VAC71
    215/60R16 95 VCB71
    205/55R16 91 WBA70
    205/55R16 91 VBA70
    215/60R16 95 HBB69
    205/60R16 96 W XLBB70
    215/60R16 95 VBB69
    17 inch
    215/55R17 94 VBB68
    215/55R17 98 W XLAB70
    225/50R17 94 WCA70
    225/45R17 91 WCA71
    215/45R17 91 W XLCA72
    215/55R17 94 VBB68
    215/55R17 94 VBB67
    225/50R17 94 WBB71
    215/55R17 98 W XLAB70
    215/55R17 94 VAA70
    215/55R17 94 VAA70
    225/50R17 94 WCB71
    18 inch
    225/40R18 92 W XLBA72
    225/40R18 92 W XLBA72
    245/45R18 100 Y XLAA70
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance >>

    Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

    2016-04-11 - My question relates to new tyres fitted yesterday at National tyre and Autocare: Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance and the pressure. National tyre and Autocentre told me they always inflate to 34 psi (a National standard). Now my book states recommended is 29 psi (OLD Honda HR-V). The Goodyears are lightish with softish sidewalls and actually so far feel "OK" at this higher pressure. Are National correct to go to 34 psi or should I revert back to manufacturer's setting despite this car being well over 10 years old - when tyres perhaps were more rigid? Hope you can help. Thank you.

    Tyre pressure, within reason is largely subjective, however you are correct in thinking modern tyres can require a few more PSI to feel the same as older tyres with stronger sidewalls. Keep an eye on wear to ensure the tyre is wearing evenly, and play around with the pressures until you find a balance you're happy with.


    2016-04-17 - Oh...getting judder though the steering wheel at motorway speeds following fitting of fronts. Will take take for balance check. I noticed the whitish paint "dots" on sidewalls (one each tyre) - do these have any significance in their siting?? (Garage says absolutely not). Know in old days red and yellow were said to be aids to balancing... Thank you for your expertise.

    The dots can mean a number of things and it will depend on the SKU. For example for Jag OE tyres the dot is there to tell their machines which way to fit the tyres, it can be a different colour dot for other OEMs or it could be for the old fashioned balancing aspect. So, there is not one direct answer for this question, sorry.


    2016-12-03 - Hi have inherited a Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE are these tyres ok to use and run on the Audi ?

    As long as the size and load rating meets the manufacturer's guide, the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is an excellent choice for your Audi A4.


    2017-06-07 - Please, I'd like to tell me about the weight of the tire Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 215/55/15 97W (Fuel B - Wet A). Thank you very much.

    Our website only lists the 215/55 R16 97W XL AA version. This weighs 8.43kgs.


    2018-06-15 - Hi, I am considering a new set of tyres to replace the awful EVENT tyres installed in my Toyota Corolla 1.6 VVTi. The size is 195 60 R15 88 V. I've watched your analysis of the best 2018 summer tyres, but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance are not there. Could you give me your advice about these tyres? How would they compare to the Continental Premium 5 or the Firestone Roadhawk? Many thanks.

    They will have a very similar performance level, and they're highly recommended.


    2018-12-14 - How to tell the difference between 225/45 R17 94W XL and 225/45 R17 94W? Does the "XL" printed on the tire?

    Yes, the XL version of the tyre should have XL on the sidewall.


    2019-03-19 - Had these fitted at Halfords, and tracking. Car just had its MOT, and just passed by a fraction. They have basciallylasted 16 months and have badly worn on the inside, about 15,000 miles These seems very poor, what does everyone think? Reasonable for the tyre? How often would be a advisable to check the tracking?

    If the tyres have worn on the inside it is likely the tracking or pressures is out. 15,000 miles is at the lower end of the wear spectrum but not unreasonable with certain vehicles and driving styles.


    2020-10-16 - I own a Renault Grand Modus 1.5cdi 106 bhp 2008.I am looking for a replacement premium tyres for my car. I have 4 Michelin Energy Savers + fitted at the moment, but they need replacing soon size 185-60-15-88H.I like to keep to Michelin if possible but I cannot get Energy Savers +.My millage is about 6k to 7k a year. Can you recommend alternatives. I have been reading your reviews on Michelin Primacy 4 and Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance which are similar in specks.

    If you would like to stick with Michelin, the Primacy 4 is the natural choice, but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 is also an excellent rated tyre. The Energy Saver range were poor in the wet.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/55 R16 £71.19 - £110.66 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/50 R17 £116.16 - £170.99 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 47 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

    Given 94% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 33,700 average miles
    It was comfortable for the first 25000 miles but now it is not... +
    Helpful 510 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2018
    Given 100% while driving a Ford ba falcon (215/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 80,000 spirited miles

    I live in outback Australia, New South Wales, Tilpa. I have an Australian built Ford Falcon, BA wagon. I had these tyres fitted 6 months ago. I can only say that they are able to handle day temps of 52C, floods, rocky dirt roads and bitumen. Most roads out here are rocky dirt. Never had a puncture. Extreme temps, never had a blow out. Extreme rain, excellent grip and no aqua planning. In the outback, reliability is the difference between reaching your place today and reaching your place in a week, if you are lucky. I highly recommend these tyres to anyone that commands top performance and quality from their tyres.
    Helpful 316 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2016
    Given 50% while driving a Honda CRV (225/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 300 average miles
    Noise is insane. I bought a brand new 2023 Honda CRV and do not want to drive it at all
    Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2023
    Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance >

    Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

    Given 46% while driving a BMW 325i (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    This tire is so horrible that I finally motivate myself to write a review in public in order to save people's money or even life. 3 years ago the rear tires were worn so changed from pc6 to this thing (front remains as pc6 even till now). By the way, I have never been a fussy person and always keep low profile; I actually never thought I'd one day write anything about rubber that touches road in public. Anyway, back in 2021 when I got the discounted egp and brought them to my garage, the guy told me after he changed the tires he tested drive quite some distance because he "still couldn't figure out where the wobbling came from." He suspected his craftsmanship at first but he also cast doubt at the new tires, "but they are gy they are supposed to be good...," he also murmured. Told him I'm not pro I just need tires that run fine and took my car home. Unfortunately, gradually I began to understand what he tried to say.....this soft profile like many have reported is very discouraging and rendered zero driving pleasure. The old-school inline-6 can easily hit 200 km/h and still got room to raise its speed, but with this egp in the rear this never happened again. Not because of power loss but the feeling at 200 was just horrible. Even around 120-160 the wobbling dissuades me from any steering other than slight lane change steer. I feel like I'm done if there comes any incident that requires me to react bigger. These tires are only suitable for granny's panda. Last summer the tire puncture alert suddenly came on when I was on road. And what a surprise, guess front pc6 or rear egp ;) unbelievable quality that rear tire got puncture when the 7-year-old front didn't. While the worst yet to come. Couple weeks ago so unlucky when I left for the office it started to snow, but not blizzard snow here is always mild. Passing through a lane that linked to a roundabout where I drive everyday, a mild 40km/h was not possible for the car to stop at the roundabout so the nosy abs kicked in and staggered the car, and eventually kissed the front car. I was frightened and lost confidence in my car, thinking the brake was malfunctioned. But brought her to the garage and they say the brake was just great. So it was tire. Yet this darn thang never happened when I got 4 pc6 on road, btw I was aware of snow and there is neither piled snow nor ice, just a snow fall started, melted once it touches ground that kind. In the end I tried to confirm it myself, I fingered the surface of the tires, felt obvious difference, that pc6 was abrasive while egp was slippery, especially in cold days ~0 degC. Don't ever think gy can bail itself out from me by saying "hey but it was snowing", or "hey it was 0 degC you were supposed to use winter tires!" Such a high-end brand producing a product with such marginal capability, shame on you. In contrast, why conti's summer products didn't screw me eh? Conclusion: this stuff is only for people without any slightest fast and furious element in his gene. Otherwise its marginal capability will mislead you and has you encounter accident sooner or later.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2024
    Given 39% while driving a Citro├źn C5 (215/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 21,246 easy going miles
    September 2023 DO NOT BUY these tyres if you expect to have them fitted longer than 4 to 5 years. I have had 2 pairs, the first in 2015, the second in 2018. ALL tyres developed cracks (dry rot?) in the shoulder around the full circumference in 4 to 5 years (around 20,000miles). I have been driving 45 years, 21 of them in my C5 now at 192,000miles. These Goodyears are the only tyres I have ever needed to replace with 3 to 4mm tread remaining! So, very poor value.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 57% while driving a Opel Astra J GTC (235/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
    I bought the tire for my 2012 model opel astra j gtc. I did not like its performance in the rain, it slips when I brake and skids even at moderate throttle response. Its performance in dry conditions is average. I was torn between Falken z310 Ecorun and wish I had bought it.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2023
    Given 94% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 26,000 spirited miles
    one of best smooth tire and comfort , i try most comfort tire but this tire is the best , handling olso good but not the best i thing bridgiston t005a better in handling
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2023
    Given 86% while driving a Mazda 6 Series (225/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 40,000 average miles
    i try this tire in 2 years 60,000km and he is good and very comfort
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2023
    Given 74% while driving a Ford Focus (215/55 R16) on mostly town for 17,000 easy going miles
    Tyres at 4 years old and 17k miles vehicle failed annual test due to cracks/perishing of the tyres. Plenty of tread left.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7.5 1.0 TSI (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 27,500 spirited miles
    Very good tire for tourist use. Without being anywhere top, it manages to be everywhere, for me, above 8/10. It does understeer in the rain when driving fast, but it wasn't made for that. Quiet to ride and well priced, overall a very safe and honest tyre. I put it back after 45000km (27500miles) On VW Golf 7.5 1.0tsi dsg!
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2023
    Given 64% while driving a Kia Motors (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 42,000 average miles
    I have had these tires for about 2 years now. Wear and tear is almost none. The sound feedback is loud. Handling on highspeed curves is great, dry grip is exceptional. Every bump, chip, crack, and pothole on the road sounds like a hammer but you can really feel the road and its dimensions, grip, angles, resistance etc. and can really punch it dynamically.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2023
    Given 51% while driving a Volkswagen Voyage Highline MT 1.6lt 110hp. 2021. (195/55 R15) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
    These are the factory tires the new vehicle came with. After two years of use, I highlight the wear as positive, they remain almost intact. In relation to dry grip, it does not meet my expectations, it tends to skid easily when accelerating hard (my experience can be somewhat biased since the vehicle does not have electronic stability and grip aids, therefore a better equipped car could have better performance). In the wet, the grip is lousy when accelerating, it must be accelerated slowly and progressively, it does not allow quick exits because it is very slippery, while in motion it maintains adequate grip on the road and in simple curves. I don't know their value but I would not pay much for them, I will definitely change for another with better performance when the time comes, useful for day to day but if it falters when demanding them with an average utility car, I imagine that it will be worse in one with better features.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2023
    Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Suran (195/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 50,000 average miles
    Nothing to say.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2022
    Given 79% while driving a BMW 116i (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 52,000 spirited miles
    I am using for 85000 kms and it was good over all. The problem was sidewall soft but goodyear made it very well. It was quiet. But last 20000kms it was little bit abs working and wheelspin. 50000 kms is enough for this tyre. If you want to buy this tyre again, don't, just buy the newest generation efficientgrip performance 2. I bought it today. Sidewalls are harder and comfy. I will write midlife review later.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2022
    Given 87% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 15,000 easy going miles
    Fitted these to my mk 7 Fiesta 1.25 and i am very pleased with the performance. The road noise is low, comfort good (at pressures for two people) and dry grip limit has not yet been found, corners tightens up?, just turn it some more, no drama. Wet grip seems excellent, no issues even in heavy rain. Only downsides are price and that they only last about 15000 miles at what can only be described as gentle use. I will buy again.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2022