Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 79%
Wear 74%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 75%

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 215 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 2,803,098 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Swedish Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 13 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet handling and grip, balanced in the dry, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - None mentioned.

2019 NAF Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Low fuel consumption, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Weak lateral stability, understeer and long braking in the dry, elevated noise.

2019 Summer and All Season Tyre Test - 10th of 18 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H XL   C A 68 6.10kgs
185/60 R14 82H XL   C A 67 6.29kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   A B 68 6.09kgs
185/65 R14 86H XL   C B 68 6.45kgs
195/50 R15 82V   C A 67 6.62kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E B 69 7.12kgs
195/50 R15 82V XL   C A 67 6.99kgs
195/50 R15 82H XL   C A 67 6.99kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E B 69 7.12kgs
185/55 R15 82V XL   C B 70 6.81kgs
185/55 R15 82H XL   A B 68 6.32kgs
185/55 R15 82V XL   C A 68 6.81kgs
195/55 R15 85H XL   C A 68 6.87kgs
195/55 R15 85V XL   C A 68 6.87kgs
205/55 R15 88V XL   C A 68 7.74kgs
185/60 R15 84H XL   B A 67 6.42kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   B A 67 6.77kgs
185/60 R15 84H XL   B C 67 7.40kgs
195/60 R15 88H   B A 69 7.10kgs
195/60 R15 88V   B A 69 7.10kgs
195/60 R15 88H XL   C A 70 7.45kgs
195/60 R15 88V XL   C A 70 7.45kgs
205/60 R15 91V XL   B A 68 7.85kgs
205/60 R15 91H XL   B A 68 7.85kgs
165/65 R15 81H XL   B C 66 6.52kgs
185/65 R15 88H XL   B A 68 7.02kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   B B 70 7.90kgs
185/65 R15 88H XL   A B 69 6.64kgs
185/65 R15 88H XL   B B 69 7.42kgs
185/65 R15 88H XL   C C 70 7.85kgs
195/65 R15 91V XL   B A 69 7.88kgs
195/65 R15 91H   B C 68 7.97kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL   B A 69 7.88kgs
205/65 R15 94V XL   B B 68 8.43kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   B B 69 7.25kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL AO C A 68 8.02kgs
215/45 R16 86H XL   C A 68 8.12kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   B A 68 7.24kgs
205/50 R16 87W XL   B A 68 7.52kgs
225/50 R16 92W XL   B A 68 8.60kgs
185/55 R16 83V XL   C A 69 6.95kgs
185/55 R16 87H XL   B A 69 6.95kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   A B 67 7.45kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   A B 68 8.36kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C B 70 7.60kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   A B 69 6.99kgs
195/55 R16 87W XL *RSC C B 69 8.42kgs
195/55 R16 87V XL   B A 68 7.66kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   B A 68 7.66kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL AO C B 71 7.76kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   A C 67 7.70kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C B 70 7.60kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B C 68 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL AO A B 68 7.40kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   A B 68 7.37kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68 7.98kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL AO1 B A 68 7.51kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL AO C B 68 8.25kgs
205/55 R16 91V   A C 69 8.20kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL   A C 70 8.23kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL   B A 68 8.16kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   A B 68 7.39kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 8.16kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL VW A B 69 7.25kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL RENAULT A C 68 8.15kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL AO A B 68 8.65kgs
215/55 R16 93V XL   B A 68 8.34kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   A B 69 8.27kgs
215/55 R16 93W XL   B A 68 8.34kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   A B 69 9.61kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   A B 69 8.27kgs
225/55 R16 95W XL   B A 68 9.17kgs
225/55 R16 95V XL   B A 68 9.17kgs
225/55 R16 95W XL   B A 68 9.42kgs
195/60 R16 89V   C A 68 7.64kgs
205/60 R16 92H   B A 68 8.48kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.40kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL   A B 71 8.03kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL *RSC B B 68 11.30kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL   A B 69 7.51kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL   A B 69 7.51kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL *RSC C B 67 12.17kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL   B A 68 8.37kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL   A B 70 8.00kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL   B A 71 8.50kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL   B A 71 8.48kgs
215/60 R16 95V XL   C A 68 9.30kgs
215/60 R16 99W XL   B A 68 9.30kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.30kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.30kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   A B 70 9.30kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   B B 72 9.76kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   A A 69 9.45kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   A B 69 9.45kgs
215/65 R16 98H XL   B A 69 9.32kgs
195/40 R17 81V XL   B A 69 6.80kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   A B 67 7.87kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   B A 69 8.05kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL   C A 69 8.45kgs
225/45 R17 91V XL   B A 69 8.45kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 69 8.45kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   B A 69 8.25kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   B A 69 8.25kgs
205/50 R17 89V XL   B A 68 8.25kgs
215/50 R17 91V XL   B B 68 9.10kgs
215/50 R17 91W XL   B A 69 8.69kgs
215/50 R17 91V XL   B A 69 8.69kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 69 8.69kgs
215/50 R17 91V XL   B B 68 9.10kgs
225/50 R17 94W XL MO B A 69 9.98kgs
225/50 R17 94W MO B A 67 9.98kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 9.00kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   A B 69 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W XL   B A 68 9.00kgs
225/50 R17 94W XL MOEXTENDED C A 69 12.99kgs
205/55 R17 91V XL   A B 69 8.64kgs
205/55 R17 91V XL   B B 71 8.94kgs
205/55 R17 91W *RSC C B 66 11.76kgs
205/55 R17 91V XL   A B 69 7.70kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   A B 69 8.23kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL   B B 68 9.33kgs
215/55 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.04kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   A B 69 8.97kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL   A A 70 8.33kgs
215/55 R17 94W XL   B A 69 9.01kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL FORD A B 70 9.12kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   A B 70 9.12kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 69 9.31kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A B 68 9.31kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL * A B 70 9.65kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL * A B 71 9.65kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A B 68 9.31kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   B C 68 11.50kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL MO A B 70 9.65kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL * B B 68 11.10kgs
215/60 R17 96H XL   A B 69 9.88kgs
215/60 R17 96H XL   B B 69 9.98kgs
215/65 R17 99V XL   A B 70 10.32kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   B A 69 8.50kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   C A 70 9.40kgs
245/40 R18 97W XL   B A 70 9.55kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 69 9.15kgs
215/55 R18 95H XL   B A 70 10.27kgs
215/55 R18 95T XL C+ A B 68 9.00kgs
205/50 R19 94H XL   A A 69 9.03kgs
215/50 R19 93T XL C+ A B 68 10.42kgs
215/50 R19 93T XL C+ A B 67 13.00kgs
205/55 R19 97H XL   A C 71 9.42kgs
215/45 R20 95T XL C+ A B 68 8.90kgs
215/45 R20 95T XL C+ A B 68 13.50kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   A B 69 10.28kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

2016-04-11 - My question relates to new tyres fitted yesterday at National tyre and Autocare: Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance and the pressure. National tyre and Autocentre told me they always inflate to 34 psi (a National standard). Now my book states recommended is 29 psi (OLD Honda HR-V). The Goodyears are lightish with softish sidewalls and actually so far feel "OK" at this higher pressure. Are National correct to go to 34 psi or should I revert back to manufacturer's setting despite this car being well over 10 years old - when tyres perhaps were more rigid? Hope you can help. Thank you.

Tyre pressure, within reason is largely subjective, however you are correct in thinking modern tyres can require a few more PSI to feel the same as older tyres with stronger sidewalls. Keep an eye on wear to ensure the tyre is wearing evenly, and play around with the pressures until you find a balance you're happy with.


2016-04-17 - Oh...getting judder though the steering wheel at motorway speeds following fitting of fronts. Will take take for balance check. I noticed the whitish paint "dots" on sidewalls (one each tyre) - do these have any significance in their siting?? (Garage says absolutely not). Know in old days red and yellow were said to be aids to balancing... Thank you for your expertise.

The dots can mean a number of things and it will depend on the SKU. For example for Jag OE tyres the dot is there to tell their machines which way to fit the tyres, it can be a different colour dot for other OEMs or it could be for the old fashioned balancing aspect. So, there is not one direct answer for this question, sorry.


2016-12-03 - Hi have inherited a Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE are these tyres ok to use and run on the Audi ?

As long as the size and load rating meets the manufacturer's guide, the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is an excellent choice for your Audi A4.


2017-06-07 - Please, I'd like to tell me about the weight of the tire Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 215/55/15 97W (Fuel B - Wet A). Thank you very much.

Our website only lists the 215/55 R16 97W XL AA version. This weighs 8.43kgs.


2018-06-15 - Hi, I am considering a new set of tyres to replace the awful EVENT tyres installed in my Toyota Corolla 1.6 VVTi. The size is 195 60 R15 88 V. I've watched your analysis of the best 2018 summer tyres, but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance are not there. Could you give me your advice about these tyres? How would they compare to the Continental Premium 5 or the Firestone Roadhawk? Many thanks.

They will have a very similar performance level, and they're highly recommended.


2018-12-14 - How to tell the difference between 225/45 R17 94W XL and 225/45 R17 94W? Does the "XL" printed on the tire?

Yes, the XL version of the tyre should have XL on the sidewall.


2019-03-19 - Had these fitted at Halfords, and tracking. Car just had its MOT, and just passed by a fraction. They have basciallylasted 16 months and have badly worn on the inside, about 15,000 miles These seems very poor, what does everyone think? Reasonable for the tyre? How often would be a advisable to check the tracking?

If the tyres have worn on the inside it is likely the tracking or pressures is out. 15,000 miles is at the lower end of the wear spectrum but not unreasonable with certain vehicles and driving styles.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £51.10 - £69.98 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R17 £80.00 - £113.38 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £58.49 - £91.61 (52 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £75.59 - £90.14 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £91.80 - £138.11 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 50 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Review

Given 100% while driving a Ford ba falcon (215/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 80,000 spirited miles

I live in outback Australia, New South Wales, Tilpa. I have an Australian built Ford Falcon, BA wagon. I had these tyres fitted 6 months ago. I can only say that they are able to handle day temps of 52C, floods, rocky dirt roads and bitumen. Most roads out here are rocky dirt. Never had a puncture. Extreme temps, never had a blow out. Extreme rain, excellent grip and no aqua planning. In the outback, reliability is the difference between reaching your place today and reaching your place in a week, if you are lucky. I highly recommend these tyres to anyone that commands top performance and quality from their tyres.
265 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2016   

Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance >>

Given 56% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Looked like a well balanced, comfortable tyre at first. I was quite happy with my choice. After a few thousands kilometers, they started to make this unbearable humming noise, as if the tyres were hollow and the noise was echoing inside them. And then the real disappointment came: These tyres are very prone to sidewall damage, due to the light compound used in order to reduce rolling resistance. Drop into a very small pothole, and bang, you have a bulge or a hole on your sidewall! Lost two of them in this manner and literally dumped the remaining two and switched to Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Much better tyre in every aspect. Not recommended for anyone who are using their cars on any surface less than highway quality.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a CitroŽn DS3 (205/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
In 2011 when I bought the car, it was wearing the Bridgestone Potenza 050. A tire with excellent grip on the dry (but only when it was warmed, and unfortunately it took too long to warm up, which never happened on the max 50 km routes I did on a highway at 80% of the vehicle's use), but moderate in the wet, very annoying rough and stiff (which it extended even more by the 45 profile to 17'' rims) and incredibly noisy. Passing on ContiSport 3, about the same in the dry, better in the wet, slightly less stiff (but still rough) and slightly less noisy (but still noisy). I would describe it as completely indifferent! I am deliberately not referring to mileage wear, because I believe that a tyre should be judged by the high level of safety it offers in all driving conditions (within reasonable speed limits and maneuverings, rather than making dangerous and illegal speed races on highways!) combined with the high level of comfort and noiseless riding with the least possible rolling resistance it offers. And finally all the above desired features, within an excellent well-tempered proportion of them, I found in Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance, for which in dimension 205/45/17, 88V, the EU label gives A, B, 67db. Specifically, very quiet even at high speeds, very comfortable with excellent riding quality at the correct (by the manufacturer recommended) pressure of 2.4 bar, extremely low rolling resistance (approximately 0.8 to 1 lt/100Km, compared to the previous tires), they warm up very quickly, and their handling in dry or wet is exceptional even reaching the limits of excess in speed and cornering. Recently after 45,000 Km, and long before their grooves reach their wear indicators, I replaced them again with the same ones (since the new Performance 2 do not come out at the moment in this dimension) and already from the first kilometers I am just as excited. But with a single weirdness: Their tread pattern (although Performance 1 and not 2) is the same as Performance 2, although on the EU Label sticker it says EfficientGrip Performance (i.e., not the 2)!
2 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best winter tyre? Watch this!
Given 47% while driving a Mazda 6 (165/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
The lateral wobble of the tires was sometimes alarming. The tires wear down very quickly. The compound was too soft. Thread fibers were exposed after 30k miles of gentle driving.
5 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2020   
Given 77% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 27,000 average miles
Having bought several sets of these, since they were released in the UK (back in around 2013, I believe), and now having switched the Michelin Cross Climates, I felt it was time I gave these a decent send off. Firstly, in terms of rolling resistance, these tyres are superb. The comfort levels are also good, owing to the soft sidewalls. Wet grip was good, too. Dry weather grip is okay, however, owing to the softer compound it does suffer in hotter conditions and does start to understeer and not providing much feedback (they are safe and progressive, though). My main criticism I have is poor end of life performance. Aquaplaning performance was quite poor when the tyre was below 3 mm of tread. Also, owing to the softer compound, the wear was quite poor. Okay, 27,000 miles isn't bad, but if you are a higher mileage driver, I would find myself changing them every 10 months (although I understand that Goodyear have resolved their wear issues with their recent EG Performance 2). I would buy again (as the pricing was very good), but if doing a lower mileage and not needing the extra insurance/performance of an all-season tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 1, 2020   

See all 186 customer reviews of the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (newest first) >>