Pirelli Sottozero Serie II

The Pirelli Sottozero Serie II is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 81%
Wear 83%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 95%
Snow Grip 70%
Ice Grip 70%

Tyre review data from 25 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 185,090 miles driven.

The Sottozero Serie II is ranked 18th of 39 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 Auto Bild Sports Winter Tyre Test - 5th of 6 tyres

  • Positive - Winter professional with impressive driving on snowy path, good aquaplaning properties
  • Negative - Slightly prolonged wet and dry braking distances, tendency to understeer on wet track, increased rolling resistance
  • Overall - Satisfactory
View Full Test >>

2012 Auto Bild Performance Winter Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - The Pirelli has a balanced winter profile with superb dynamic properties and good traction on a snowy and wet track, exemplary steering precision, stable running and good grip in all weather conditions
View Full Test >>

2012 Sport Auto Winter Sports Tyre Test - 6th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - High traction on snow
  • Negative - The tendency to shift from understeer to oversteer. Relatively long braking distances on dry and wet surfaces, poor resistance to aquaplaning
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Pirelli Sottozero Serie II

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli Sottozero Serie II

2017-04-28 - Where can I get these, I hear they are discontinued. I bought 4 for a car that has only been driven 5,000 miles since mounted. Got a flat and now am being told that the Sottozero IIIs are not compatable and the IIs are discontinued. Is it true that they are not compatable? Does anyone carry stock of the old ones in the North Eastern US?

Unfortunately we're unable to comment on stock location in the US. It's never wise to mix winter tyre patterns across the axle, but you would be find having two Serie II and two Serie III on different axles.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Pirelli Sottozero Serie II Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Great tyres which haven't had a noticeable negative impact on car fuel economy since switching from Summer tyres. I have left these tyres on my E class Mercedes right through the Summer to maximise their wear, with a view to buying new tyres for the Winter ahead.
98 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2016   
Given 94% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (205/50 R17 V) on mostly town for 15 spirited miles
Very interesting winter tyre.On dry you feel very confident driving fast(what is usually not normal for winter tyre) you feel the road very good and brake distance is very short,they are very progressive.They are good alsow on wet,not like on dry but satisfactory.They last very long for a winter tyre and they dont change the quality with wear.The only weak point is snow and ice,they are only average.I will buy them again for sure and I recomend them....
22 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2018   
Given 93% while driving a Porsche 991 Carrera S Cabriolet (295/30 R20 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Follow up to 1000 mile review.
Have now driven over 5000 miles.
Driving in temperatures up to 100 degrees F.
Tires perform wonderfully.
They run relatively cool on 100 + degrees F highways.
Wearing evenly and not showing any signs of excessive wear.
Working fine as an all season tire.
I run them one pound under the TPMS recommended inflation pressure for Winter tires under full load.
Slight grip loss at 0.98 G on the Porsche G forces gauge. On dry pavement.
22 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2017   
Have you driven on the Pirelli Sottozero Serie II tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli Sottozero Serie II? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli Sottozero Serie II >

Latest Pirelli Sottozero Serie II Reviews

Given 77% while driving a MINI JCW GP2 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Great tyre very impressive wet grip even in standing water, dry grip is good but not impressive especially above 7degrees C. fitted on my mini cooper gp2 as winter tyres i would buy these again.
6 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
Used as all-season tyres first on Alfa 156 for 25000mi then for another 20000mi on Alfa 147 in rotation with Sottozero III on the other axis, both very good wear despite running a lot in hot summer. Grip as well as comfort and safety under all conditions also very good.

Replaced with Falken HS449 which were aweful compared to these, wear twice as fast, wheel spin on almost every semaphore and very hard sidewall.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2017   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a Vauxhall INSIGNIA 1.8 PETROL (245/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Originally ordered Pirelli scorpion verde tyres but due to a mis-order got the winter tyres. They have proved to be a good all rounder tyre for British weather...
Handling has been great and noise more than acceptable.
Will definitely order these again... I drive quite hard and the wear is even and will last much longer than the winter months. I do NOT intend to change them for the summer months!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2017   
Given 84% while driving a Porsche 991 Carrera S Cabriolet (295/30 R20 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Initial review. 295/30R20 and 245/35R20
Bought as winter tires for cold (teens) and light snow.
Have also experienced unseasonable 70 degree weather.
Tires have performed well in all conditions.
Much quieter and more comfortable ride than the PZeros I replaced.
Not as predictable as the PZeros probably due to the assortment of tread patterns.
Appear to run cooler than the PZeros. Hope to drive them into the summer.
Good looking tires. Complement the car.
Only a V rating, however.
Porsche N0 approved.
Not cheap.
So far so good.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2017   
Given 84% while driving a Porsche 991 Carrera S Cabriolet (295/30 R20 V) on mostly town for 75 average miles
295/30R20 rear; 245/35R20 front
Just purchased so scores provided are based on limited driving time.
They look great.
Feel great.
Ride great.
Brake great.
And I bet they easily outlast the 16000 mile P Zeros I replaced.
Just in time for cold and snow.
Will let you know how they perform.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2017   
Given 94% while driving a BMW 740d msport (245/45 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Excellent winter tyres for a BMW. Great grip in all conditions. In the snow they will provide excellent grip on fresh snow, slush and compacted snow. A little lively on very cold greasy surfaces but my 740d does have 313bhp so no surprise.
7 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2015   
Given 89% while driving a Audi A4 (225/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
Got these on sale for 90EUR each. Realy pleasently surprised with them, coming from Nokian before them. Great in wet, reasonably silent, great in snow, very comfortable and stable in subzero temperatures. Very good road feedback. Definitely recommend these to everyone, Pirelli produced an alrounder premium tyre. And, if anyone cares, they look good too ;)
4 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2014   
Given 80% while driving a Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec.B 6MT Sedan (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Excellent in snow, somewhat acceptable performance on pure glass-like ice, regardless of the fact that a studded tyre would have been an entirely different story. On dry and warm they are of course soft, however still perform nicely, predictably let go, on wet, especially during winter temperatures they perform greatly. Next winter I'm gonna get these again.
10 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2014   
Given 89% while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (235/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Early days yet, but these are really impressing me. They are extremely expensive, but arguably the best tyres I've ever used. I love them so much I just wish I could keep them on when the summer comes back.

Amazingly - these are winter tyres but hard to tell as they also perform well in dry and warmer conditions to.

A particularly amazing feature is the levels of comfort and noise, which for this 35 profile example are nothing short of amazing.

Massive prices, but the value is there. Recommended if you have a high-performance car and you want to use it in the UK winter.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2013   
Given 97% while driving a Opel vectra c (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
The best tyres i have ever bought 10 out of 10.Great on wet roads.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2012   
Given 94% while driving a Maserati Granturismo (235/45 R19 W) on mostly town for 11,000 spirited miles
Installed these tires on my Maserati GranTurismo one year ago. They are so good that I decided to keep it all year long and not only during winter. Great wet/light snow traction, great performance also on dry pavement and since in Seattle temperatures are always in the low side and it rains every other day, this seems an excellent choice for us in the PNW. 11,000 miles so far and still great condition
0 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2012   
Given 80% while driving a Mercedes Benz E250 CDI (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
I have just fitted these tyres on a Mercedes E Class estate. As you may know this car has one common feature with many BMW's in that it has rear wheel drive and is like a sledge on snow. Well I can say without any doubt that this is one of the best investments I have ever made. On both snow and ice this car has been transformed into a relitive Pussycat. You still need to remember to allow for others behind who may not be able to stop so quickly and in bad conditions you still have to take care, however, at least you are still mobile.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2011