Continental WinterContact TS 870 P

Le nouveau WinterContact™ TS 870 P est équipé d'un concept de lamelles et de motifs améliorés, qui vous offre une excellente adhérence sur la neige et la glace, et un nouveau composé permet des performances optimisées sur sol mouillé, une résistance au roulement extrêmement faible et un kilométrage élevé.

Les données de rapports d'essai issues de 16 rapports d'essais de pneus ont une moyenne de 90% sur 75,200 kilomètres parcourus, et 16 tests avec un résultat moyen de 3rd.

Adhérence sur le sec 91%
Adhérence sur le mouillé 96%
Ressenti de la route 83%
Progressivité 91%
Usure 89%
Confort 94%
A acheter à nouveau 91%
Adhérence à la neige 92%
Poignée de glace 84%

Premier sur le marchéMarch 2021
Taille de roue16 - 22"
Largeur195 - 325mm
Profil30 - 70
Résistance au roulementB - D
Adhérence sur sol mouilléB - C
Bruit (dB)70 - 75
Classement hivernalClassé 3PMSF

The WinterContact TS 870 P is ranked 2nd of 43 Winter Ultra High Performance pneus.

Ce pneu a remplacé le Continental WinterContact TS 860 S and ce pneu a été remplacé par le Continental WinterContact 8 S.

Comparaisons approfondies des pneus

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
215/70 R 16 100 TCB71
205/60 R 16 92 HCB71
215/70 R 16 104 H XLCB71
17 inch
225/60 R 17 99 HCB71
225/50 R 17 98 H XLCB71
225/60 R 17 103 V XLCB71
235/65 R 17 108 H XLCB71
235/65 R 17 108 V XLCB71
225/50 R 17 98 H XLBB71
265/65 R 17 116 H XLBB73
265/65 R 17 112 TCB73
205/50 R 17 93 V XLCB71
215/55 R 17 98 H XLBB71
215/55 R 17 94 HCB71
215/55 R 17 94 HCB71
215/55 R 17 98 V XLBB71
205/50 R 17 93 H XLCB71
18 inch
225/40 R 18 92 W XLCB71
235/60 R 18 103 VBB71
235/60 R 18 107 H XLBB71
235/60 R 18 107 V XLBB71
235/60 R 18 103 VBB71
245/40 R 18 97 V XLCB71
225/40 R 18 92 V XLCB71
245/40 R 18 97 W XLCB71
245/45 R 18 100 V XLCB71
19 inch
235/35 R 19 91 W XLCB71
20 inch
255/45 R 20 105 V XLCB71
255/45 R 20 101 TCB71
255/45 R 20 101 TCB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P >>

Désolé, nous n' avons aucune question pour le pneu Continental WinterContact TS 870 P. Pourquoi ne pas soumettre une question à nos experts en pneu en utilisant le formulaire ci-dessous!

Poser une question

Nous ne publierons ou ne partagerons jamais votre adresse mail

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Rapport d'essais

Top 3 Continental WinterContact TS 870 P Rapports d'essais

Note de 84% au volant d'une Audi A6 2.0 TDI (205/60 R16) sur mostly motorways pendant 110 average kilomètres
Ceci est un examen rapide pour aider certaines personnes à acheter ces pneus. Mon plan auparavant était d'acheter 860S, mais le nouveau modèle m'a intrigué, mais je dirais que 860S peut en fait être meilleur en termes de sensation subjective. L'adhérence sur sol sec n'était pas à moitié mauvaise, elle pouvait certainement lancer la voiture durement sur le sec, mais à environ 8 ° C ou plus après une séance de conduite prolongée, elle commence à baisser, donc je suppose qu'elle peut encore mieux fonctionner par temps assez froid. Le freinage sur le sec pourrait être meilleur car mes précédents pneus TS860 ont mieux fonctionné en freinage sur le sec. La tenue de route avait un peu de sous-virage sur le sec mais rien qui rendait la conduite ennuyeuse. Le mouillé était là où il était roi et ce sera encore mieux une fois rodé. Superbe freinage, tenue de route et adhérence au niveau de mes pneus été Pilot Sport 4. Je dirais qu'il avait une légère tendance à survirer, il se sentait très fort sur le mouillé. Le confort était également au même niveau que mon TS860, mais la meilleure partie était qu'il ne semblait pas flottant et castré, ce qui m'a fait détester WinterContact TS860. Le TS860 a imité la douceur en isolant le conducteur de tous les retours d'action des freins, de la sensation d'accélération et du châssis dans une mesure qui a rendu la conduite saccadée et ennuyeuse, ceux-ci n'ont cependant pas eu besoin de compromis et de conserver un confort et une douceur exacts. Je ne peux pas faire de commentaire sur la neige et la glace car nous n'en avions pas ici et dans les États baltes. Nous avons moins de neige au cours des 5 dernières années, je vais donc les évaluer en fonction des tests. Mon seul vrai reproche avec ce pneu est le retour de route. Le virage est tout aussi lent qu'avec le WinterContact TS860, bien que la construction plus rigide le rende moins lent en comparaison. Toujours surpris qu'avec une construction plus rigide, ils n'aient pas fonctionné comme je m'y attendais car pour l'instant, je trouve les roues arrière assez déconnectées du châssis, elles se sentent simplement étranges, par exemple, il est lent de tourner au début, puis le pneu vire progressivement rapidement le prochain qui est amusant mais pas quelque chose que je préfère, j'ai plutôt un virage rapide et net qui est prévisible. Sur le sec, vous ne sentez rien sur une route lisse. Les routes irrégulières donnent une partie du feedback, mais vous pouvez dire que le milieu du pneu est assez déconnecté, roule beaucoup plus sur les flancs. Les retours sur sol mouillé, tout comme son adhérence et sa maniabilité, sont au top, mais ces lacunes sont probablement dues au fait qu'il est frais et neuf, ainsi que le temps qui n'est toujours pas optimal pour les pneus hiver, mais les craintes que j'avais pour les pneus WinterContact se sont réalisées. Il n'y a aucune raison de rendre un pneu hiver UHP engourdi et déconnecté. J'ai vraiment l'impression que ma direction assistée était cassée parce que la direction est super douce et n'est plus lourde comme je l'avais avec mes étés. Oserais-je dire un retour pire qu'avec le TS860 bien qu'au moins il ne semble pas qu'il soit sous-gonflé. WinterContact TS860 avait ce renflement sur le flanc qui m'a toujours donné l'impression que les pneus sont sous-gonflés, ce pneu n'a qu'une quantité minime. Tous les pneus d'hiver ne sont pas comme ça, j'avais conduit d'autres voitures qui avaient des pneus d'hiver et ils ne se sentaient pas aussi mal. La sensation de pneu été TS860 me manquera cependant, mais ce n'est pas un problème, je peux vivre avec. Je présélectionnerais ces pneus et chercherais autre chose car subjectivement, ils ne se sentent pas sportifs. Cela ressemble plus à un pneu de tourisme gonflé. Je choisirais Blizzaks et UltraGrip Performance+ pour une vraie sensation sportive, mais le temps nous le dira car je pense qu'il fait froid et après quelques kilomètres, ce pneu me surprendra.
Helpful 92 - pneu essayé sur October 25, 2021
Note de 88% au volant d'une Alfa Romeo Giulia q4 2.0T 280+ (225/45 R18) sur a combination of roads pendant 5,000 average kilomètres
C'est maintenant la deuxième saison que j'utilise ces pneus. La première saison a été marquée par de nombreux déplacements sur de longues distances sur autoroutes, etc., également à grande vitesse. Ils se sentent généralement très bien et à l'aise à des niveaux de bruit acceptables, d'autant plus que les routes ici en Suède sont généralement extrêmement bruyantes. Là où j'habite, il n'y a pas beaucoup de neige, mais en hiver le temps est souvent glacial avec beaucoup de routes mouillées, et les pneus se sont très bien comportés dans ces conditions, c'est un plaisir de conduire.

Même à grande vitesse (je les ai essayés jusqu'à 220 km/h), la voiture se sent très stable sur la route. Après environ 5 000 km, il leur reste plus de 8 mm de bande de roulement, donc je m'attends à en tirer encore quelques saisons. Dans l'ensemble, c'est un très bon pneu que j'achèterais volontiers à nouveau
Helpful 30 - pneu essayé sur November 28, 2023
Note de 98% au volant d'une Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (235/45 R18) sur a combination of roads pendant 30,000 average kilomètres
J'aime les pneus Continental WinterContact 870 P. Je les utilise toute l'année et ils fonctionnent globalement bien. Leur adhérence sur la glace n'est pas aussi bonne que celle des pneus hiver nordiques, mais ils se comportent toujours bien lorsqu'ils sont conduits avec prudence. Ils peuvent supporter les hivers du sud de la Finlande. J'ai parcouru 40 000 km avec eux en deux ans et demi, et il me reste probablement un an de plus.
Helpful 27 - pneu essayé sur September 30, 2023
Avez-vous conduit avec des Continental WinterContact TS 870 P pneu?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental WinterContact TS 870 P >

Latest Continental WinterContact TS 870 P Rapports d'essais

Note de 80% au volant d'une Toyota GR86 (215/40 R18) sur a combination of roads pendant 12,000 spirited kilomètres
Super pneu hiver rien à redire, super polyvalent sur une voiture sportive.
Après environ 20 000 km, il leur reste 5 mm, le seul inconvénient est l'augmentation du prix, l'hiver prochain, je pense que j'aurai le Cinturato Winter 2 de Pirelli.
Helpful 6 - pneu essayé sur March 12, 2024
Note de 90% au volant d'une Audi (235/50 R18) sur a combination of roads pendant 3,000 spirited kilomètres
Venant de l'hiver Hankook, un pneu très directionnel et bon sur route sèche mais très très peu confortable et terrible sur neige (mais c'est vraiment un pneu hiver ou un quatre saisons ?).
Continental fonctionne bien dans toutes les conditions et est bien plus confortable.
Haut
Helpful 9 - pneu essayé sur March 1, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Note de 90% au volant d'une Subaru forester 2.5xt (215/65 R16) sur a combination of roads pendant 8,000 spirited kilomètres
Le principal inconvénient est le prix. Dans l’ensemble, les pneus fonctionnent de manière phénoménale sur tous les terrains en hiver. Les performances sur sol mouillé sont étonnantes, vous ne sentez même pas la roue perdre son adhérence jusqu'à une certaine profondeur de flaque d'eau lorsque vous conduisez dessus. Les performances hors route sont également très bonnes, absolument aucun problème ici. En réalité, je ne vois rien de mieux étant donné que ce n'est pas un composé tendre et non clouté. Le contrôle en faisant une "conduite fougueuse" sur la neige est très bon, même sur la glace avec les 4 roues motrices j'ai beaucoup d'adhérence pour contrôler la voiture, mais ce n'est pas magique, la glace est toujours de la glace sans crampons. Je n'ai remarqué aucun bruit sur route sèche et les performances sur sol sec, je pense, sont comparables à celles de certains pneus été. En conclusion, un pneu incroyable si vous pouvez vous le permettre, mais pour moi, le pneu était excessif compte tenu de son prix. Vivant en zone rurale, je choisirais un pneu clouté moins cher.
Helpful 10 - pneu essayé sur January 29, 2024
Note de 83% au volant d'une Citroën DS3 (215/60 R17) sur mostly country roads pendant 2,000 easy going kilomètres
Pneus très équilibrés. Idéal pour mon VE grâce au faible bruit et à la résistance au roulement.
Helpful 25 - pneu essayé sur November 4, 2023
Note de 84% au volant d'une Volvo V90 Cross Country B5 Mild Hybrid Diesel (245/45 R20) sur a combination of roads pendant 3,190 easy going kilomètres
Lorsque j'ai récupéré mon Volvo V90 Cross Country B5 Mild Hybrid Diesel 2023, la sélection de pneus d'hiver proposée par Volvo ne m'a pas satisfait et j'ai demandé à monter le Continental Winter Contact TS870P sur mes roues de 20 pouces. Dès le départ, le pneu ne m'a pas déçu. Il se sent très à l'aise sur la route et est très silencieux. La tenue de route et la conduite à sec sont ce à quoi je m'attendrais. Nous avons eu beaucoup de pluie en hiver et avons passé du temps dans le nord de l'Allemagne et ce pneu est superbe pour gérer les fortes pluies. Comparé au Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (avec 255/35 R20 sur mon précédent Volvo V90 D5), c'était encore mieux. Avec seulement quelques jours de neige, nous n'avons pas eu la chance de vraiment tester les véritables capacités hivernales. Après avoir parcouru 3190 miles (5134 km), je n'ai pas vu beaucoup de signes d'usure. Nous avons le même pneu monté sur le V60 D4 de ma femme (235/45 R18) et ce pneu est si confortable à conduire et est même à égalité avec les pneus d'été.
Helpful 31 - pneu essayé sur April 4, 2023
Note de 97% au volant d'une Jaguar xf premium luxury (235/55 R17) sur a combination of roads pendant 5,000 average kilomètres
Il s'agit d'un examen de type à mi-vie (2e hiver) et d'une marque de 5 000 milles. Les pneus sont incroyables. Sur les routes glissantes (routes de montagne avec neige, neige fondue, glace, eau, terre battue, etc.), les pneus sont comme de la colle sur la route. Avec une conduite semi-motivée (sans risquer la sécurité sur les routes de montagne), l'ESP n'était pas nécessaire. Il s'agrippe et s'agrippe sans problème. Bien sûr, sur des routes entièrement verglacées, l'adhérence n'est pas extraordinaire, mais encore une fois ce ne sont pas des pneus cloutés. Sur la neige, cependant .... un plaisir à conduire. Sur route mouillée et sèche, la situation est la même : des grips et des grips sans aucun bémol. Le freinage est également très bon, dans certaines occasions de freinage d'urgence, la voiture s'est arrêtée très rapidement de 120 km/h à 0 km/h. J'achèterai définitivement à nouveau la prochaine fois, car je suis convaincu d'avoir financé mon pneu d'hiver parfait.
Helpful 34 - pneu essayé sur January 26, 2023
Note de 91% au volant d'une Audi Audi A6 (225/45 R17) sur a combination of roads pendant 2,500 spirited kilomètres
Taille des pneus : 225/55 R 17 101V, voiture : Audi A6 C7 3.0 TFSI Quattro. J'ai acheté ces pneus après avoir regardé le test de pneus d'hiver Tyrereviews. Après avoir changé d'ancien Michelin Alpin 4, la première chose que j'ai remarquée, c'est... le silence. L'écart était énorme. Ces pneus sont plus silencieux que mes pneus d'été - Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (245/45 R18 99Y). Je les ai testés dans presque toutes les conditions météorologiques. Ils sont grands. Le plus gros inconvénient est peut-être l'adhérence sur la neige - bonne mais pas exceptionnelle (les nouveaux pneus d'hiver sont meilleurs dans un climat doux), mais ils m'ont fait économiser 2-3 fois lors des dérapages hivernaux :). Ça vaut vraiment le coup d'acheter, surtout avec une remise en argent de Conti. À mon avis, compte tenu du rapport qualité-prix, mieux que Michelin.
Helpful 41 - pneu essayé sur May 10, 2022
Note de 93% au volant d'une Mazda MX5 (205/50 R17) sur mostly town pendant 500 spirited kilomètres
J'ai un MX-5 NC, il ne fait que 125 CV, mais il est si léger qu'il peut facilement perdre de l'adhérence, d'autant plus qu'il n'a aucun système pour empêcher le patinage, etc. J'avais des pneus assez mauvais, donc je devais m'assurer que je obtenir les meilleurs modèles possibles pour une voiture comme celle-ci. J'ai fait beaucoup de recherches (merci TyreReviews) et j'ai obtenu le Continental WinterContact TS 870 P. La sensation de la voiture a immédiatement changé sur ces pneus. L'adhérence sur le sec et le mouillé est incroyable. Maintenant, même quand j'ai envie de perdre un peu de grip, de faire des drifts, de m'amuser, je ne peux pas ! Je ne pouvais même pas forcer la perte d'adhérence sur la neige fondue, ce qui est un autre avantage considérable pour un MX-5. Les niveaux de bruit sont corrects et j'ai une suspension assez dure, donc je ne peux rien dire sur le confort. Je ne les ai pas depuis trop longtemps, mais dans l'ensemble, je les achèterais encore et encore ! Hautement recommandé!
Helpful 43 - pneu essayé sur March 29, 2022
Note de 90% au volant d'une Ford Mondeo Mk. IV 2.2 TDCi 200HP (225/45 R17) sur a combination of roads pendant 0 average kilomètres
Pneus 215/50 R 17, subjectivement agréables, pas de sensation d'insécurité sur sec ou sur eau, dans les virages tiennent magnifiquement même la voiture lourde (environ 1800kg). Sur la neige fraîchement tombée sur les routes verglacées, la sensation de conduite est toujours excellente, mais c'est probablement aussi dû à la direction assistée hydraulique. J'ai tendance à conduire plus calmement maintenant, mais quand je veux faire l'idiot, je peux. Je les trouve assez silencieux, mais ce n'est qu'un ressenti, je n'ai pas de comparaison avec d'autres pneus, bref le bruit des roues ne me dérange absolument pas. Prix plus élevé pour une grande qualité. Certainement les meilleurs pneus d'hiver de Conti depuis plus de 20 ans que je les utilise.
Helpful 51 - pneu essayé sur January 23, 2022
Note de 98% au volant d'une Jaguar xf premium luxury (235/55 R17) sur a combination of roads pendant 0 average kilomètres
J'ai acquis la TS 870 P pour l'hiver, sur la base de tous les commentaires de son prédécesseur et des améliorations de nouveauté qui auraient été apportées. Jusqu'à présent, bien que la période de conduite ne soit pas longue et que les pneus n'aient pas été poussés à leurs limites, les sensations sont toujours superbes. Adhérence sur sol sec et mouillé, stabilité et confort sont à un niveau différent. Les pneus se sont comportés de manière étonnante dans les différentes conditions routières et styles de conduite. Je ne peux pas dire la performance neige/glace car nous n'avons pas encore eu de neige, mais les attentes sont élevées.
Helpful 49 - pneu essayé sur November 20, 2021
Note de 90% au volant d'une Lexus GS300 (235/45 R18) sur mostly town pendant 0 average kilomètres
Je cherchais à acheter Michelin Pilot Alpin 5, et ma taille n'était pas disponible. Selon de nombreux tests, le TS870 P se classe au même niveau que le Pilot Alpin 5. Les pneus sont très bons. Ils ressemblent à mon Primacy 4 d'été. Freinage sur sol mouillé excellent, adhérence sur sol sec est bonne, la réponse de la direction n'est pas la plus nette, mais pour un pneu hiver, c'est bon. Vivement recommandé!!!
Helpful 46 - pneu essayé sur November 14, 2021

Continental WinterContact TS 870 P

The new WinterContactâ„¢ TS 870 P is equipped with an improved sipe and pattern concept, which gives you excellent grip on snow and ice and a new compound enables an optimised wet performance, extra-low rolling resistance and high mileage.

This tyre replaced the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S.

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 97%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 92%
Wear 89%
Comfort 95%
Buy again 94%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 84%

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 91% over 63,200 miles driven.

The WinterContact TS 870 P is ranked 2nd of 42 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Reviews SUV Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - A very well balanced tyre, good in the dry, very good in the wet, good in the snow, lowest rolling resistance on test.
  • Negative - Mid pack for noise and aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - The winner of this winter SUV test was the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P. This tyre seems to have performed the impossible, by blending a HUGE lead in rolling resistance with excellent grip in the dry, wet and snow. It couldn't quite match the Michelin in snow traction or dry braking, and it was mid pack for noise, but it traded blows with the best in every other category. The amount of grip it had while having such an advantage in rolling resistance makes this tyre the best tyre in this test, and if you drive an electric vehicle or are sensitive to rising fuel costs, you shouldn't even consider any other option in this size. Remarkable work by Continental.
    .
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Reviews Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 13 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in the dry, good wet braking, high levels of comfort, lowest rolling resistance on test by quite a margin.
  • Negative - Mid pack wet handling result, average aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - Third place went to the Continental WinterContact TS870P which is the tyre to buy if you want to save fuel or drive an EV, as it had by FAR the lowest rolling resistance on test. It also somehow blended that with one of the best performances in the dry, and excellent grip in the wet. It was a little weaker in the snow than the best tyres on test, but it was less than 4% off the best in snow braking and handling, so not a huge gap. Impressive tyre, especially when you stop and think about its rolling resistance levels.
View Full Test >>

2023/24 Tyre Reviews UHP Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 6 tyres

  • Positive - Exceptional all round tyre with no real weakness, particularly strong in the wet and snow, low rolling resistance, good levels of comfort, low wear.
  • Negative - Higher cost.
  • Overall -
    .
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P

Questions and Answers for the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P

2021-10-17 - I have been Winter driving on Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 for a number of years and with living and working in the countryside they are good. However a new car has meant a move from 18" to 19" rims. The 19" rim has tyre size of 225/35R19 fitted. There are not many UHP Winter tyres in this size, particularly the Continental Winter Contact TS870P. The closest that is offered for this tyre is a 235/35R19. This means that they are 10mm wider and possibly 3mm taller. What are the issues with fitting this slightly larger tyre?

While the TS870P is an excellent winter tyre choice, I sadly can't advise on whether it is safe to change tyre sizes away from non-OE specification, sorry. If you check the owners manual there might be an alternative size or a smaller wheel option for winter tyres.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/55 R18 £195.50 - £195.50 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £194.66 - £194.78 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 43 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Continental WinterContact TS 870 P Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDI (205/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 110 average miles
This is a quick review to help out some folk to buy these tires. My plan before was to buy 860S however the new model intrigued me but I'd say that 860S may in fact be better in terms of subjective feel. Dry grip wasn't half bad, definitely could launch the car hard in the dry however at around 8C or more after prolonged driving session it does start to drop off so I assume it may perform even better in fairly cold weather. Braking in the dry could be better as my previous TS860 tires did better in dry braking. Handling had bit understeer in the dry but nothing that made the drive boring. Wet was where it was king and will be even better once it is broken in. Superb braking, handling and grip on the level of my summer Pilot Sport 4 tires. I would say that it had slight tendency to oversteer, it did feel very sharp in the wet. Comfort was also on the same level as my TS860 but the best part was that it didn't feel floaty and neutered which made me hate WinterContact TS860. TS860 imitated smoothness by isolating the driver from all the feedback of brake actuation, feel of acceleration and the chassis to extent which made the driving jerky and boring, these however did not need to compromise and retain exact comfort and smoothness. Can't comment on snow and ice as we didn't have any here and in Baltic States. We have less snow for the past 5 years so I'll rate them based on tests. My real only complaint with this tire is road feedback. Turn in is just as slow as it was with WinterContact TS860 although the stiffer construction makes it feel less laggy in comparison. Still surprised that with a stiffer construction they didn't perform how I expected because for now I find rear wheels quite disconnected from the chassis, they simply feel strange for instance it is slow to turn at first few degrees then suddenly the tire progressively corners swiftly the next which is fun but not something I prefer, I rather have sharp quick turn in that is predictable. In the dry you do not feel anything on a smooth road. Irregular roads give some of the feedback but you can tell the middle of the tire is quite disconnected, rides on the sidewalls a lot more. Wet feedback again just like its grip and handling is on top however these shortcomings most likely due to being fresh and new as well as weather still being not optimal for winter tires but the fears I had for WinterContact tires came true. There is no reason to make an UHP winter tire numb and disconnected. I really feel like my power steering was broken because the steering is super soft and no longer heavy like I had with my summers. Dare I say worse feedback than with TS860 although at least it doesn't look like it is underinflated. WinterContact TS860 had this bulge on the sidewall which always made me feel like the tires are underinflated, this tire has only a minimal amount. Not all winter tires are like this, I had driven other cars that had winter tires and they didn't feel as bad. I'll miss the summer tire feel TS860 brought though but it's not an issue, I can live with it. I'd shortlist these tires and look for something else as subjectively they do not feel sporty. It's more like a souped-up touring tire. I'd choose Blizzaks and UltraGrip Performance+ for true sporty feel but time will tell because I do think in the cold and after some miles this tire will surprise me.
Helpful 81 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2021
Given 88% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia q4 2.0T 280+ (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
This is now the second season I'm using these tires. The first season saw quite a bit of long distance driving on highways etc, also at high speeds. They generally feel very good and comfortable at acceptable noise levels, especially since the roads here in Sweden are generally extremely loud. Where I live there isn't that much snow, but the weather in winter is often around freezing with a lot of wet roads, and the tires have behaved really well in these conditions, they are a joy to drive.

Even at high speeds (I've tried them up to 220 km/h), the car feels very stable on the road. After about 5000km, they have over 8mm of tread left, so I expect to get quite a few more seasons out of them. Overall a very good tire that I would happily buy again
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2023
Given 98% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I like the Continental WinterContact 870 P tires. I use them year-round, and they perform well overall. Their grip on ice is not as good as Nordic winter tires, but they still handle well when driven cautiously. They can handle southern Finland winters. I've driven 40000 km on them over two and a half years, and there's probably one more year left in them.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2023
Have you driven on the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental WinterContact TS 870 P >

Latest Continental WinterContact TS 870 P Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Audi (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Coming from winter Hankook, a very directional tyre and good on dry roads but very very low comfort and terrible over snow (but it's really a winter tyre or a four season ?).
Continental work well in every condition and it's so much more comfortable.
Top
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2024
Given 90% while driving a Subaru forester 2.5xt (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Main drawback is the price, overall the tires perform phenomenally on any terrain in the winter. Wet performance is amazing, you don't even feel the wheel loose any grip up to a certain puddle depth when driving over it. Off-road performance is very good too, absolutely no issues here. In reality I can not think of anything that could be better considering its not a soft compound and not studded. Control while doing "spirited driving" on snow is very good, even on ice with 4WD I have plenty of grip to control the car, but they are not magical, ice is still ice whithout studs. I didn't notice any noise on dry roads and performance on the dry, I would think is on par with some summer tires. In conclusion amazing tire if you can afford it, but for me the tire was overkill considering how much it costs. Living in rural area i would choose a cheaper studded tire.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 83% while driving a Citroën DS3 (215/60 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 easy going miles
Very balanced tyres. Ideal for my EV thanks to the low noise and rolling resistance.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Volvo V90 Cross Country B5 Mild Hybrid Diesel (245/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 3,190 easy going miles
When I picked up my 2023 Volvo V90 Cross Country B5 Mild Hybrid Diesel the selection of winter tyres offered by Volvo did not satisfy me and I have asked to for getting the Continental Winter Contact TS870P mounted on my 20 inch wheels. From the start the tyre did not disappoint me. It feels very comfortable on the road and is very quiet. Dry handling and driving is how I would I expect it. We had lots of rain in the winter and spent some time in northern Germany and this tyre is superb in handling heavy rain. Compared to the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (with 255/35 R20 on my previous Volvo V90 D5) it felt even better. With only a few days of snow we did not get a chance to really test true winter capabilities. After driving 3190 miles (5134km) I did not see much signs of wear. We have the same tyre mounted on my wife's V60 D4 (235/45 R18) and that tyre is so comfortable to drive and even is on par with the summer tyres.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2023
Given 97% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (235/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
This is a mid life type of review (2nd winter) and 5000 miles mark. The tires are amazing. On slushy roads (mountains roads with snow, melted snow, ice, water, road dirt, etc), the tires are like glue to the road. With semi-spirited drive (without risking the safety on the mountains roads driving), the ESP was not needed. It grips and grips with no problems. Of course, on fully iced roads, the grip is not amazing, but again these are not studded tires. On snow, however ....a pleasure to drive. On wet and dry roads, the situation is the same: grips and grips without any downside. Braking is also very good, in some emergency braking occasions, the car stopped very quickly from 120km/h speedo` area to 0 km/h. Will definitively buy again next time, as I`m confident I have fund my perfect winter tire.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2023
Given 91% while driving a Audi Audi A6 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Tire size: 225/55 R 17 101V, Car: Audi A6 C7 3.0 TFSI Quattro. I bought these tires after watching Tyrereviews winter tire test. After switching from old Michelin Alpin 4, the first thing I've noticed was... silence. The gap was huge. These tires are quieter than my summer tires- Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (245/45 R18 99Y). I've tested them in almost every weather conditions. They are great. The bigest disadvantage is maybe snow grip- good but not exceptional (new winter tires are better in mild climate), but they saved me 2-3 times during winter skidding :). Definitely worh to buy, especially with cash back from Conti. In my opinion, considering value for money- better than Michelin.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/50 R17) on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
I got an MX-5 NC, it's just 125 HP, but it's so light it can easily lose grip, especially since it doesn't have any systems to prevent slippage, etc. I had pretty bad tires so I had to make sure I get the best damn possible models I can for a car like this. I did a lot of research (thanks TyreReviews) and got the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P. The feel of the car immediately changed on these tires. Grip on dry and wet is amazing. Now, even when I want to lose a little grip, do some drifts, have some fun, I can't! I couldn't even force losing grip on slushy snow which is another huge plus for an MX-5. Noise levels are fine and I got a pretty hard suspension, so I can't really say anything about comfort. I haven't had em for too long, but overall, I'd buy these again and again! Highly recommended!
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2022
Given 90% while driving a Ford Mondeo Mk. IV 2.2 TDCi 200HP (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Tyres 215/50 R 17, subjectively pleasant, no feeling of insecurity on dry or water, in the corners beautifully hold even the heavy car (about 1800kg). On freshly fallen snow on icy roads still excellent handling feeling, but that's probably also due to the hydraulic power steering. I tend to drive more sedately now, but when I want to get silly, I can. I find them quite quiet, but it's just a feeling, I don't have a comparison with other tyres, in short the noise from the wheels definitely doesn't bother me. Higher price for great quality. Certainly the best winter tires from Conti in the 20+ years I've been riding them.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2022
Given 98% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (235/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Aquired TS 870 P for the winter, based on all feedback from it's predecessor and the novelty improvements said to have. Until now, although the driving period is not long and the tires were not pushed to their limits, still the feeling is superb. Dry and wet grip, stability and confort are on a different level. Tires behaved amazingly on the various road conditions and styles of driving. Cannot say the snow/ice performance as we did not had snow yet, but expectations are high.
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Lexus GS300 (235/45 R18) on mostly town for 0 average miles
I was looking to buy Michelin Pilot Alpin 5, and my size was not available. According to many test TS870 P ranks the same as Pilot Alpin 5. The tyres are very good. They feel like my summer Primacy 4. Wet braking excellent, dry grip is good, steering response is not the sharpest but for a winter tyre is good. Strongly recommended!!!
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2021