Continental WinterContact TS 860 S

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 S is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental WinterContact TS 850 P and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 94%
Handling 93%
Wear 94%
Comfort 98%
Buy again 97%
Snow Grip 98%
Ice Grip 86%

Tyre review data from 7 tyre reviews averaging 94% over 33,100 miles driven.

The WinterContact TS 860 S is ranked 2nd of 39 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

The Best Winter Tyres for 2020 - 3rd of 19 tyres

  • Positive - The Continental WinterContact TS860S is a sporty winter tyre with precise steering and high levels of grip in the dry.
  • Negative - Expensive to buy, extended wet braking.
View Full Test >>

2019 19 Inch Performance Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty dry handling, precise steering, good feedback, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Slightly long wet braking, average comfort, expensive.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/55 R16 91H * C C 72 10.72kgs
195/60 R16 89H * C C 72 8.01kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL * C C 72 12.30kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL * C C 72 9.52kgs
225/45 R17 91H * C C 72 10.40kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL * C C 72 11.14kgs
255/40 R18 99V XL * C C 73 13.24kgs
205/45 R18 90H XL * C C 72 8.33kgs
225/45 R18 95H XL * C C 72 12.16kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C C 72 10.31kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL * C C 72 12.16kgs
235/45 R18 94V   E B 72 10.78kgs
235/45 R18 94V AO E B 72 10.78kgs
265/45 R18 101V   C C 73 12.48kgs
255/55 R18 109H XL   C C 73 18.89kgs
225/60 R18 104H XL   E C 72 16.22kgs
245/35 R19 93V XL   E C 72 12.43kgs
245/35 R19 93V XL   C C 72 10.22kgs
255/35 R19 96V XL   C C 73 11.06kgs
255/35 R19 96V XL   E C 73 13.21kgs
275/35 R19 100V XL   E C 73 15.57kgs
275/35 R19 100V XL   C C 73 12.16kgs
295/35 R19 104V XL   B C 75 12.61kgs
225/40 R19 93V XL   E C 72 12.45kgs
235/40 R19 96V XL         10.09kgs
235/40 R19 96V XL NA0 E C 72 9.97kgs
245/40 R19 98V XL   B C 72 10.90kgs
245/40 R19 98V XL   C C 72 13.45kgs
265/40 R19 102V XL   B C 73 11.66kgs
285/40 R19 107V XL   B C 75 12.97kgs
225/45 R19 96V XL   E C 72 13.56kgs
225/45 R19 96V XL * C C 72 12.96kgs
275/45 R19 108V XL NF0 C B 73 14.19kgs
225/50 R19 100V XL AO B B 72 12.07kgs
245/50 R19 105V XL * C C 72 16.02kgs
265/50 R19 110H XL * C C 73 15.75kgs
275/50 R19 112V XL   C C 73 17.43kgs
225/55 R19 103V XL NF0 C B 72 12.77kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   B C 73 14.13kgs
295/30 R20 101W XL   C C 75 14.44kgs
235/35 R20 92W XL   C C 72 10.20kgs
245/35 R20 95V XL NA0 E C 72 11.49kgs
245/35 R20 95W XL   C C 72 11.41kgs
265/35 R20 99W XL   C C 73 12.32kgs
275/35 R20 102V XL   E C 73 15.18kgs
295/35 R20 105V XL NA0 C B 75 14.76kgs
315/35 R20 110V XL   B C 75 15.27kgs
315/35 R20 110V XL   C C 75 18.88kgs
245/40 R20 99W XL   C C 72 11.65kgs
245/40 R20 99V XL   E C 72 14.25kgs
255/40 R20 101W XL AO C B 73 12.69kgs
275/40 R20 106V XL   E C 73 16.72kgs
275/40 R20 106V XL   B C 73 13.20kgs
285/40 R20 108V XL   C C 75 17.09kgs
295/40 R20 110W XL MGT C B 75 14.68kgs
255/45 R20 105V XL   C C 73 16.65kgs
265/45 R20 108W XL MGT C B 73 13.30kgs
275/45 R20 110V XL   C C 73 17.79kgs
275/50 R20 113V XL MO1       15.40kgs
255/55 R20 110H XL * C C 73 20.33kgs
285/30 R21 100W XL   B C 75 13.35kgs
295/30 R21 102V XL NA0 C C 75 15.22kgs
315/30 R21 105W XL   B C 75 15.09kgs
245/35 R21 96W XL   C C 72 11.37kgs
275/35 R21 103W XL   C C 73 14.18kgs
295/35 R21 107V XL   B C 75 14.05kgs
295/35 R21 107W XL MGT C B 75 14.14kgs
305/35 R21 109V XL N0 C B 75 16.35kgs
245/40 R21 100V XL AO C B 72 13.52kgs
265/40 R21 105V XL   C C 73 13.63kgs
265/40 R21 105W XL MGT C B 73 13.61kgs
275/40 R21 107V XL N0 C B 73 14.93kgs
295/40 R21 111V XL   B C 75 14.55kgs
315/45 R21 116V   B C 75 18.86kgs
275/50 R21 113V XL   B C 73 15.40kgs
285/30 R22 101W XL AO C B 75 13.75kgs
295/30 R22 103W XL MGT C B 75 13.92kgs
265/35 R22 102W XL MGT C B 73 13.11kgs
285/35 R22 106W XL AO C B 75 15.06kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S

2018-10-31 - Would the new Continental WinterContact 860 S in 245/40/R19 be suitable for a Tesla Model S with a standard tyre size of 245/45/R19? Is the new S tyre as suitable as an all seasons tyre as its predecessor 860?

The TS860S moves the balance of performance back towards dry even more, so in theory it's probably as good an "all season" as a winter tyre gets but it will still be at a big dry braking disadvantage in the summer. As for changing the tyre size, you'll have to see what other Tesla owners are doing as that's not something I can give advice on.


2018-11-04 - Love the winter tyre review and found it very informative. My wife runs a e93 335i (225/35/19, 255/30/19) and I’d like to switch to the Conti ts860s for winter. My question is, do these come in runflats? I like the ability for her to be not stranded should there be an issue, and it’s happened a few times, hence why I’ve continued with runflats on her car. Alternatively, would you suggest some other run flat for London winter?

The good news is the TS860 S is offered in runflat in certain sizes, you would have to check with Continental or your tyre retailer to see if you can get RFT versions for both your front and rear sizes!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


WinterContact TS 860 S Prices

Size Price Range  
205/60 R16 £82.70 - £108.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £136.00 - £136.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £138.40 - £171.00 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £269.00 - £313.60 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
295/30 R20 £321.60 - £374.30 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 60 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental WinterContact TS 860 S Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 330d (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Outstanding winter tyre in every area
103 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2018   
Given 90% while driving a BMW M5 (295/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Tremendous winter tyre. Been driving in deep snow, ice, and they just grip for days.
37 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
The best winter tyre money can buy
19 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2018   
Have you driven on the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental WinterContact TS 860 S >

Latest Continental WinterContact TS 860 S Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Opel Astra H OPC (235/45 R18 V) on mostly motorways for 100 spirited miles
Basically, my review is about the brand-new Continetal WinterContact TS 860 S vs old TS 850 P with less than 3mm of tread depth remaining. I felt no need to replace them earlier as we have not had much snow (i.e. no snaw at all) up until now. Today, with the snow depth measuring some 10 to 15 centimetres, I found it next to impossible to drive out of my apartment bloc to a high street (relatively well-groomed). I my put snow chains on, which gave me confidence in deep snow but were a nuisance on the more or less clean road. In short, the TS 860 S is a real upgraded version of its predecessor. First, it is no-way as wobbly as TS 850 P used to be. When your drive a hot hatch brandishing 280 horse powers and then have to change from summer to winter tyres, you notice immediately that a part of those powers is suddenly gone at the expense of some added comfort. The TS 860 S is closer to a summer tyre. For me it is a much better trade-off (compared to 850 P) as far as its ability to navigate wintery roads is concerned. The brand-new TS 860 S coped decently with snow, sleet and even occasional ice, let alone clean black tarmac. Quite importantly, it was manageable on ice (just drop you speed a bit to regain control). Surprisingly, I could not notice any benefits of its much-advertised low rolling resistance. Subjectively, the same route (about 90km) has taken me as much fuel as when I had my good old Continental TS 850 Ps. To be consistent with winter tyre test results, I will assume that my driving style has become sportier 😊. Otherwise, I am happy. Not least because I did not need snow chains to park my car at my apartment. We are expected to have a week of the real, pre-climate-change, winter! Safe winter motoring to all!
1 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Skoda Rapid TSI (185/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
What a tyre, extremely satisfied, mainly Iam driving on motorways 70% and 30% in the city. Till now I have done approx 9-11k Km.
Excellent handling on wet, dry or snow conditions, never worried or felt a fear, I am so comfortable that I really drove the same way like I have a summer tyre.
Exceptional performance on snow, usually going for a week at alps for skiing and have to say they shine, exceptional grip control and very good road feedback, you totally know when you can push more or you are pushing too much.
Few times I had to break hard on highways I felt comfortable and confident.
No wear issues till now.
Deff would buy it again and I would recommend it 100%

Please note, generally Iam an easy going driver with gentle foot.
10 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2019   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 95% while driving a BMW M2 (275/35 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
TS 860 S is an amazing performance winter tire. I went a size bigger than OEM with 255/275 35 19 on my manual BMW M2. So far the best winter tire I ever had. On dry roads there is not much difference between these and summers. Feedback is great, I had TS850P on my previous car and they were a bit squishy during cornering, but TS860 S have stiffer sidewalls and you can feel it. Wet grip is also great, didn't test them on snow yet. Great plus is comfort, as the rubber is softer it absorbs more bumps and overall ride is more comfortable without sacrificing performance, a win-win in my books. Would defo by again and highly recommend.
17 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2018