Continental WinterContact TS 860 S

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 S is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental WinterContact TS 850 P and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 92%
Handling 89%
Wear 91%
Comfort 93%
Buy again 84%
Snow Grip 94%
Ice Grip 85%

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 41,100 miles driven.

The WinterContact TS 860 S is ranked 6th of 41 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

The Best Winter Tyres for 2020 - 3rd of 19 tyres

  • Positive - The Continental WinterContact TS860S is a sporty winter tyre with precise steering and high levels of grip in the dry.
  • Negative - Expensive to buy, extended wet braking.
View Full Test >>

2019 19 Inch Performance Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty dry handling, precise steering, good feedback, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Slightly long wet braking, average comfort, expensive.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: The Best Winter Tyres for 2020 (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2019 19 Inch Performance Winter Tyre Test (255/35 R19)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    205/55 R16 91H * C C 72 10.72kgs
    195/60 R16 89H * C C 72 8.01kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL * C C 72 12.30kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL * C C 72 9.52kgs
    225/45 R17 91H * C C 72 10.40kgs
    225/40 R18 92V XL * C C 72 11.14kgs
    255/40 R18 99V XL * C C 73 13.24kgs
    205/45 R18 90H XL * C C 72 8.33kgs
    225/45 R18 95H XL * C C 72 12.16kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL   C C 72 10.31kgs
    225/45 R18 95V XL * C C 72 12.16kgs
    235/45 R18 94V   E B 72 10.78kgs
    235/45 R18 94V AO E B 72 10.78kgs
    265/45 R18 101V   C C 73 12.48kgs
    255/55 R18 109H XL   C C 73 18.89kgs
    225/60 R18 104H XL   E C 72 16.22kgs
    245/35 R19 93V XL   E C 72 12.43kgs
    245/35 R19 93V XL   C C 72 10.22kgs
    255/35 R19 96V XL   C C 73 11.06kgs
    255/35 R19 96V XL   E C 73 13.21kgs
    275/35 R19 100V XL   E C 73 15.57kgs
    275/35 R19 100V XL   C C 73 12.16kgs
    295/35 R19 104V XL   B C 75 12.61kgs
    225/40 R19 93V XL   E C 72 12.45kgs
    235/40 R19 96V XL         10.09kgs
    235/40 R19 96V XL NA0 E C 72 9.97kgs
    245/40 R19 98V XL   B C 72 10.90kgs
    245/40 R19 98V XL   C C 72 13.45kgs
    265/40 R19 102V XL   B C 73 11.66kgs
    285/40 R19 107V XL   B C 75 12.97kgs
    225/45 R19 96V XL   E C 72 13.56kgs
    225/45 R19 96V XL * C C 72 12.96kgs
    275/45 R19 108V XL NF0 C B 73 14.19kgs
    225/50 R19 100V XL AO B B 72 12.07kgs
    245/50 R19 105V XL * C C 72 16.02kgs
    265/50 R19 110H XL * C C 73 15.75kgs
    275/50 R19 112V XL   C C 73 17.43kgs
    225/55 R19 103V XL NF0 C B 72 12.77kgs
    255/55 R19 111V XL   B C 73 14.13kgs
    295/30 R20 101W XL   C C 75 14.44kgs
    235/35 R20 92W XL   C C 72 10.20kgs
    245/35 R20 95V XL NA0 E C 72 11.49kgs
    245/35 R20 95W XL   C C 72 11.41kgs
    265/35 R20 99W XL   C C 73 12.32kgs
    275/35 R20 102V XL   E C 73 15.18kgs
    295/35 R20 105V XL NA0 C B 75 14.76kgs
    315/35 R20 110V XL   B C 75 15.27kgs
    315/35 R20 110V XL   C C 75 18.88kgs
    245/40 R20 99W XL   C C 72 11.65kgs
    245/40 R20 99V XL   E C 72 14.25kgs
    255/40 R20 101W XL AO C B 73 12.69kgs
    275/40 R20 106V XL   E C 73 16.72kgs
    275/40 R20 106V XL   B C 73 13.20kgs
    285/40 R20 108V XL   C C 75 17.09kgs
    295/40 R20 110W XL MGT C B 75 14.68kgs
    255/45 R20 105V XL   C C 73 16.65kgs
    265/45 R20 108W XL MGT C B 73 13.30kgs
    275/45 R20 110V XL   C C 73 17.79kgs
    275/50 R20 113V XL MO1       15.40kgs
    255/55 R20 110H XL * C C 73 20.33kgs
    285/30 R21 100W XL   B C 75 13.35kgs
    295/30 R21 102V XL NA0 C C 75 15.22kgs
    315/30 R21 105W XL   B C 75 15.09kgs
    245/35 R21 96W XL   C C 72 11.37kgs
    275/35 R21 103W XL   C C 73 14.18kgs
    295/35 R21 107V XL   B C 75 14.05kgs
    295/35 R21 107W XL MGT C B 75 14.14kgs
    305/35 R21 109V XL N0 C B 75 16.35kgs
    245/40 R21 100V XL AO C B 72 13.52kgs
    265/40 R21 105V XL   C C 73 13.63kgs
    265/40 R21 105W XL MGT C B 73 13.61kgs
    275/40 R21 107V XL N0 C B 73 14.93kgs
    295/40 R21 111V XL   B C 75 14.55kgs
    315/45 R21 116V   B C 75 18.86kgs
    275/50 R21 113V XL   B C 73 15.40kgs
    285/30 R22 101W XL AO C B 75 13.75kgs
    295/30 R22 103W XL MGT C B 75 13.92kgs
    265/35 R22 102W XL MGT C B 73 13.11kgs
    285/35 R22 106W XL AO C B 75 15.06kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S

    2018-10-31 - Would the new Continental WinterContact 860 S in 245/40/R19 be suitable for a Tesla Model S with a standard tyre size of 245/45/R19? Is the new S tyre as suitable as an all seasons tyre as its predecessor 860?

    The TS860S moves the balance of performance back towards dry even more, so in theory it's probably as good an "all season" as a winter tyre gets but it will still be at a big dry braking disadvantage in the summer. As for changing the tyre size, you'll have to see what other Tesla owners are doing as that's not something I can give advice on.


    2018-11-04 - Love the winter tyre review and found it very informative. My wife runs a e93 335i (225/35/19, 255/30/19) and I’d like to switch to the Conti ts860s for winter. My question is, do these come in runflats? I like the ability for her to be not stranded should there be an issue, and it’s happened a few times, hence why I’ve continued with runflats on her car. Alternatively, would you suggest some other run flat for London winter?

    The good news is the TS860 S is offered in runflat in certain sizes, you would have to check with Continental or your tyre retailer to see if you can get RFT versions for both your front and rear sizes!


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/40 R19 £156.00 - £241.10 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/45 R18 £158.69 - £293.80 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    275/35 R19 £314.00 - £396.30 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    295/30 R20 £353.69 - £429.40 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 73 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental WinterContact TS 860 S Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a BMW 330d (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    Outstanding winter tyre in every area
    Helpful 121 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2018
    Given 90% while driving a BMW M5 (295/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Tremendous winter tyre. Been driving in deep snow, ice, and they just grip for days.
    Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2019
    Given 99% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    The best winter tyre money can buy
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2018
    Have you driven on the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental WinterContact TS 860 S >

    Latest Continental WinterContact TS 860 S Reviews

    Given 77% while driving a BMW 320D (225/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
    First and foremost if you buy these they can take an age to scrub in. Longer in the wet but quicker in the dry. Mine took 200 miles before grip improved. A previous reviewer commenter on grip failing in certain areas and that’s correct. Lateral grip is not their strong suit. In the wet, even accidental excitement in a corner can send you off track a little. Easy to correct with safety features such as traction control activated. It’s a progressive tyre otherwise with good feedback. You can tell when they are losing grip. The noise is above average but thankfully vibration is not too bad. Dry grip impressive. Not immune to aqua planing by any means but pretty good if driving steady. In conclusion, a good all round tyre, fails in some areas, excels in others, and not a sporty performance tyre by any stretch of the imagination. Probably won’t outdo a dedicated winter tyre but for occasional snow/ice/mud it is more than fine.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2022
    Given 71% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
    They are not for my rainy city... 90% of driving takes place in the city. The tires look great, good road feedback, they wear normally, but they slipped where none of my previous tires did (Dunlop, Michelin, Cont 860). Maybe that tire is for slightly heavier cars... I drove it for two (not really) winters.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 84% while driving a Opel Astra H OPC (235/45 R18 V) on mostly motorways for 100 spirited miles
    Basically, my review is about the brand-new Continetal WinterContact TS 860 S vs old TS 850 P with less than 3mm of tread depth remaining. I felt no need to replace them earlier as we have not had much snow (i.e. no snaw at all) up until now. Today, with the snow depth measuring some 10 to 15 centimetres, I found it next to impossible to drive out of my apartment bloc to a high street (relatively well-groomed). I my put snow chains on, which gave me confidence in deep snow but were a nuisance on the more or less clean road. In short, the TS 860 S is a real upgraded version of its predecessor. First, it is no-way as wobbly as TS 850 P used to be. When your drive a hot hatch brandishing 280 horse powers and then have to change from summer to winter tyres, you notice immediately that a part of those powers is suddenly gone at the expense of some added comfort. The TS 860 S is closer to a summer tyre. For me it is a much better trade-off (compared to 850 P) as far as its ability to navigate wintery roads is concerned. The brand-new TS 860 S coped decently with snow, sleet and even occasional ice, let alone clean black tarmac. Quite importantly, it was manageable on ice (just drop you speed a bit to regain control). Surprisingly, I could not notice any benefits of its much-advertised low rolling resistance. Subjectively, the same route (about 90km) has taken me as much fuel as when I had my good old Continental TS 850 Ps. To be consistent with winter tyre test results, I will assume that my driving style has become sportier 😊. Otherwise, I am happy. Not least because I did not need snow chains to park my car at my apartment. We are expected to have a week of the real, pre-climate-change, winter! Safe winter motoring to all!
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2021
    Given 100% while driving a Skoda Rapid TSI (185/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
    What a tyre, extremely satisfied, mainly Iam driving on motorways 70% and 30% in the city. Till now I have done approx 9-11k Km.
    Excellent handling on wet, dry or snow conditions, never worried or felt a fear, I am so comfortable that I really drove the same way like I have a summer tyre.
    Exceptional performance on snow, usually going for a week at alps for skiing and have to say they shine, exceptional grip control and very good road feedback, you totally know when you can push more or you are pushing too much.
    Few times I had to break hard on highways I felt comfortable and confident.
    No wear issues till now.
    Deff would buy it again and I would recommend it 100%

    Please note, generally Iam an easy going driver with gentle foot.
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2019
    Given 95% while driving a BMW M2 (275/35 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    TS 860 S is an amazing performance winter tire. I went a size bigger than OEM with 255/275 35 19 on my manual BMW M2. So far the best winter tire I ever had. On dry roads there is not much difference between these and summers. Feedback is great, I had TS850P on my previous car and they were a bit squishy during cornering, but TS860 S have stiffer sidewalls and you can feel it. Wet grip is also great, didn't test them on snow yet. Great plus is comfort, as the rubber is softer it absorbs more bumps and overall ride is more comfortable without sacrificing performance, a win-win in my books. Would defo by again and highly recommend.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2018