Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car winter ultra high performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (23) 92% 96% 94% 96% 93% 93%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (7) 93% 91% 94% 93% 94% 98%
Continental WinterContact TS 870 P (9) 89% 99% 83% 92% 90% 97%
Toyo SNOWPROX S 952 (4) 93% 98% 93% 85% 95% 90%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance (6) 92% 92% 90% 92% 90% 95%
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (15) 92% 94% 91% 94% 92% 81%
Goodyear UltraGrip Ice Plus (3) 97% 93% 83% 87% 97% 87%
Pirelli P Zero Winter (3) 73% 93% 87% 83% 97% 80%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (27) 87% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (20) 91% 91% 85% 80% 86% 88%
Nokian Snowproof P (6) 93% 92% 85% 90% 77% 78%
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 (7) 93% 94% 81% 83% 93% 74%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 (12) 84% 91% 86% 85% 88% 83%
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (36) 90% 93% 89% 88% 82% 82%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 RFT (6) 85% 90% 88% 70% 86% 87%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (27) 85% 88% 90% 81% 83% 88%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus (11) 79% 86% 82% 85% 88% 86%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 (9) 85% 85% 75% 84% 84% 84%
Hankook Winter i cept evo (27) 81% 80% 77% 74% 80% 81%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (37) 89% 93% 88% 88% 88% 92%
Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S (8) 86% 86% 79% 84% 68% 86%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (37) 83% 85% 79% 78% 87% 83%
Continental WinterContact TS 830 P (36) 85% 87% 82% 78% 84% 87%
Goodyear Eagle UltraGrip (5) 84% 86% 82% 84% 86% 74%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (16) 86% 89% 87% 87% 82% 81%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance (9) 86% 88% 74% 76% 88% 87%
Avon WV7 (14) 82% 84% 83% 76% 82% 88%
Nokian WR A4 (19) 83% 88% 79% 78% 79% 88%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (24) 86% 80% 83% 82% 85% 87%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 ROF (5) 92% 84% 90% 74% 84% 72%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Pirelli SOTTOZERO (8) 77% 89% 83% 83% 80% 84%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Yokohama W drive V905 (17) 88% 83% 82% 83% 86% 75%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (39) 81% 83% 79% 77% 75% 76%
Hankook Icebear W300 (10) 76% 64% 77% 74% 71% 70%
Dunlop SP Winter Response (3) 63% 53% 67% 63% 63% 73%
Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 (9) 79% 73% 74% 71% 70% 81%

Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres with no reviews

Dunlop SP Winter Sport M2, Goodyear UltraGrip 6, GT Radial WinterPro2 Sport, Hankook IceBear W300A, Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 N, RoadX RXFROST WH12, RoadX RXFROST WU01, Vredestein Wintrac Nextreme

Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Nokian Snowproof P rated 92% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
I love Nokian Tires in the Winter. The new Snow proof P is a very good and sporty tire. Snow and overall grip is outstanding. Will by it again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-27 19:42:39
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 rated 100% while driving a Lexus ls460l
Driving on mostly country roads for 50000 spirited miles
Been running hankook winter ipike for over 10 years. Short summer seasons in Wyoming and there is no reason to change to a summer tire. Great value and an awesome tire. Never any punctures or other road hazard repairs. Ipike grip like claws in the snow. Tried the icept tire on my lexus 460 as ipike do not come in my size. Usual hankook quality. Awesome traction in wet snow or ice. Very stable in the snow. Love them and can't beat the price. Under $600 for 4 tires.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-09 01:44:45
Continental WinterContact TS 870 P rated 91% while driving a Audi Audi A6
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
Tire size: 225/55 R 17 101V, Car: Audi A6 C7 3.0 TFSI Quattro. I bought these tires after watching Tyrereviews winter tire test. After switching from old Michelin Alpin 4, the first thing I've noticed was... silence. The gap was huge. These tires are quieter than my summer tires- Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (245/45 R18 99Y). I've tested them in almost every weather conditions. They are great. The bigest disadvantage is maybe snow grip- good but not exceptional (new winter tires are better in mild climate), but they saved me 2-3 times during winter skidding :). Definitely worh to buy, especially with cash back from Conti. In my opinion, considering value for money- better than Michelin.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-10 19:50:14
Nokian WR A3 rated 73% while driving a Skoda
Driving on track for 53000 average miles
I have been driving this tyre for 9 seasons (which is a tad too much but the tyre lasted really long and it is still ok to drive, so durability was fantastic). For a winter tyre it did great on the dry and it almost felt like a summer tyre there. I also felt safe in the wet. However, I was not so lucky with the performance on snow and ice. It was something that I had expected and since I am not driving a lot in snow/ice I was fine with it. It felt like all season tyre that does better in winter conditions. For what I need this is quite a good compromise and so I was quite happy with the tyres. Compared to my summer tyres (Conti PremiumContact) the Nokian was a little bit louder. Fuel consumption was level with the summer tyres when you take the temperatures into account which really surprised me.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-29 15:36:29
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus rated 79% while driving a BMW 330ci
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Excellent at snow and mud!! But not at all suitable for ice. My previous tyres Michelin Alpina 5 have much better grip on ice, but bad on snow. Dry road - perfect. Wet road and extreme braking - be careful and try do not overspeed. Comfort - acceptable but not for sport coupe with frameless doors, noisy for BMW 3 series. Wear, handling and road feedback for 18" tyres - good. After 2 years and 2 winters of wearing - condition is still perfect. Recommend for snowy roads without any doubts.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-23 18:00:25
Nokian WR A4 rated 79% while driving a Skoda
Driving on a combination of roads for 54000 average miles
I have been driving this tyre for 9 seasons (which is a tad too much but the tyre lasted really long and it is still ok to drive, so durability was fantastic). For a winter tyre it did great on the dry and it almost felt like a summer tyre there. I also felt safe in the wet. However, I was not so lucky with the performance on snow and ice. It was something that I expected and since I am not driving a lot in snow/ice I was fine with it. It felt like all season tyre that does better in winter conditions. For what I need this is quite a good comosure and so I was quite happy with the tyre. Compared to my summer tyres (Conti PremiumContact) the Nokian was a little bit louder. Fuel consumption was level with the summer tyres when you take the temperatures into account which really surprised me.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-20 12:12:06
RoadX RXFROST WU01 rated 61% while driving a BMW 530 D Sport Touring
Driving on mostly country roads for 4500 spirited miles
Better than expected tyres for the price. Had these on my winter sh'tpile in vain hope it would still move in the snow. Very pleasantly surprised with grip in wintery conditions, little wheelspin even when going quite hard from a standing start. Dry lateral grip is pretty good as you'd expect for such a soft compound, even harder to get the arse out with these than on warm summers. Never felt uneasy leaning on them through fast corners despite heavy car. Wear levels are a big downside, I've had these on for 5 months and 4,500 miles and am nearly down to the markers on both the driven wheels. I expected the winters to wear a bit faster but these are by far the fastest wearing tyres I've ever seen for road cars. I usually get 2 maybe 3 seasons from winter tyres but ill be amazed if these last next winter.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-06 11:19:16
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 rated 96% while driving a Honda Civic
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Very good winter tyres. Comfort is exemplary. Good feedback.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-31 13:48:04
Continental WinterContact TS 870 P rated 93% while driving a Mazda MX5
Driving on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
I got an MX-5 NC, it's just 125 HP, but it's so light it can easily lose grip, especially since it doesn't have any systems to prevent slippage, etc. I had pretty bad tires so I had to make sure I get the best damn possible models I can for a car like this. I did a lot of research (thanks TyreReviews) and got the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P. The feel of the car immediately changed on these tires. Grip on dry and wet is amazing. Now, even when I want to lose a little grip, do some drifts, have some fun, I can't! I couldn't even force losing grip on slushy snow which is another huge plus for an MX-5. Noise levels are fine and I got a pretty hard suspension, so I can't really say anything about comfort. I haven't had em for too long, but overall, I'd buy these again and again! Highly recommended!
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-29 16:02:09
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 rated 88% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Fantastic winter tire for everyday use. I have the ZP / run flat version, while using Pirelli P7 run flat for summer. I considered several times not changing the tires back from winter to summer just because how good Michelins are: comfortable, good road feedback, good braking distance, decent road noise (actually can't hear them much ..). Make sure you do a proper tire alignment to avoid unequal tire wear. During 5 years of use, equal wear for all tires, without caring too much about rotating them. Used them between -20 and +10 (occasionally +20) and performed beautifully. Thread also looks very nice. About 5-6mm left after 20k km. Never had issues with snow or ice.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-25 10:13:53
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus rated 82% while driving a BMW M240i
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
The first winter tyre I had that actually is sporty. Before I really didn’t like driving spirited with winter tyres. UHP summer tyres are still better in that aspect, but this is actually quite good. Even though I have runflat versions of this tyre, they are surprisingly comfortable. Very good in every condition. Can take some abuse as well and not shred to pieces.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-24 16:59:26
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P rated 77% while driving a Toyota Corolla
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-14 20:11:03
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre