Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car winter ultra high performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (20) 92% 96% 95% 96% 93% 93%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (7) 93% 91% 94% 93% 94% 98%
Toyo SNOWPROX S 952 (4) 93% 98% 93% 85% 95% 90%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance (6) 92% 92% 90% 92% 90% 95%
Nokian Snowproof P (3) 97% 93% 87% 93% 70% 87%
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (8) 90% 96% 90% 93% 88% 84%
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (17) 91% 91% 87% 80% 84% 89%
Goodyear UltraGrip Ice Plus (3) 97% 93% 83% 87% 97% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (27) 87% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 (12) 84% 91% 86% 85% 88% 83%
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (34) 90% 93% 89% 88% 83% 82%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus (9) 79% 89% 82% 87% 89% 87%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 RFT (6) 85% 90% 88% 70% 86% 87%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 (8) 85% 85% 75% 84% 84% 84%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (36) 89% 93% 88% 88% 87% 92%
Nokian WR A4 (16) 83% 89% 85% 78% 77% 89%
Continental WinterContact TS 830 P (34) 86% 89% 82% 82% 85% 89%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (25) 85% 88% 90% 81% 83% 90%
Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S (8) 86% 86% 79% 84% 68% 86%
Goodyear Eagle UltraGrip (5) 84% 86% 82% 84% 86% 74%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (34) 84% 85% 79% 79% 86% 82%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (14) 85% 89% 87% 86% 84% 82%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance (9) 86% 88% 74% 76% 88% 87%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 ROF (5) 92% 84% 90% 74% 84% 72%
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (22) 86% 80% 82% 83% 84% 88%
Avon WV7 (13) 82% 85% 83% 75% 80% 88%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Hankook Winter i cept evo (26) 80% 80% 77% 74% 79% 82%
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 (4) 90% 93% 73% 75% 80% 60%
Pirelli SOTTOZERO (8) 77% 89% 83% 83% 80% 84%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Yokohama W drive V905 (17) 88% 83% 82% 83% 86% 75%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (39) 81% 83% 79% 77% 75% 76%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Hankook Icebear W300 (10) 76% 64% 77% 74% 71% 70%
Dunlop SP Winter Response (3) 63% 53% 67% 63% 63% 73%
Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 (9) 79% 73% 74% 71% 70% 81%

Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres with no reviews

Continental WinterContact TS 870 P, Dunlop SP Winter Sport M2, Goodyear UltraGrip 6, GT Radial WinterPro2 Sport, Hankook IceBear W300A, Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 N, Pirelli P Zero Winter, RoadX RXFROST WH12, RoadX RXFROST WU01, Vredestein Wintrac Nextreme

Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 rated 96% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI
Driving on a combination of roads for 13050 average miles
This is a review after the first winter with those Pilot Alpin 5. I have managed to do aprox. 13.000miles with them and thread left is : 5MM front 6MM rear I have a sporty driving, aprox. 70% Highways, 25% Roads, 5% Town. So tyre wear is generally fast with my style of driving but those Pilot Alpin 5 seems to last quite a bit. It was my last winter with the car so I do this review about it to feed the reviews on this tyre. I recommend them if you have the money. I think you will find your money back as those seems to make a higher milage as I am used to do!
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-24 11:39:41
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P rated 90% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
I have used 215/65 R16 on XC70 for 10 years, winter only on separate alloys. Balanced feedback from the road, no understeer (as had with Pirellis). Very good on snow, wet and dry, okay on ice. Good contol at speed and stable on mixed surfaces. Comfortable ride, slight noise on some surfaces. Will be replacing them with the same again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-18 00:58:08
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 rated 53% while driving a Opel Antara 2.2 4x4 184HP
Driving on mostly motorways for 8500 average miles
Overall not as good as a tyre as I expected it to be. It's kind of sad to know that I've spent quite a high price for the set, thinking it will be a good tyre, as Dunlop has been previously for me, only to find out that I'm almost disappointed in the qualities of it, especially in dry handling. It may have something to do with the fact, that I have fitted KW coilovers.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-14 10:51:05
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 rated 79% while driving a Volkswagen GTi Mk6
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Very good tyres. What surprised me is just how good the wet grip is under hard acceleration. For the price I've been very satisfied. I don't have any major complaints so far and I can only recommend this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-14 07:02:40
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 rated 94% while driving a BMW 316d
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I fitted these this winter and i love them, although being RFT comfort is still good, not much rougher than non RFT i imagine that standard is very comfortable, dry grip is as expected good as winter tire gets, but the best part is wet and slush grip, i am really surprised by the level of confidence i get from them, even on rwd car, snow traction is excellent, compared to Nokian WR D3 i had before and i was quite satified with them, these are in another galaxy when it comes to putting your confidence in tire to keep you safe.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-11 20:23:58
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D rated 74% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
I got these tires as a package with the wheel. They are Mercedes OEM tyre (MO) and unfortunately I got it with S Class W222 size, so for my W213 E350 petrol hybrid it was tight on the front part. There was almost no clearance with the arm. So word of advice, please get the 45 ratio if you want to put it on a W213. The wheel set is not staggered setup like the original AMG wheels from the car so all tires have same size. I have driven with these tires for around 3500 kilometres. One part of it was a journey from south Finland to Lapland at the northern part for ski holiday. I wasn't sure that the tires can keep up with Finnish winter because the temperature, snow and ice is really bad here and these tires are central European winter tires. So when I installed the tires it was already minus 3 to 7 Celsius on average daily, plus snow almost everyday. The road was slippery and yes during heavy snow it is not recommended to drive with this kind of tires. I have missed many red lights because of longer braking distance during snowfall. The tires also struggled to get a grip on snowy street especially when going around the roundabout or in a smaller street where the snow plough truck doesn't go there. When there is black ice on the intersection of course you can feel that the car is losing grip but it immediately gain it when the tires hit the road again. The feedback and handling during cold temperature on dry road is really good, I can feel where the car is going and I can tell the car to the direction that I want. Nevertheless during my 2500 kilometres trip to Lapland where the temperature reach -17 to -20 there and heavy snowfall on most cities, the tires performed really good. On dry road once in a while I hit 120-130 kmh in a safe empty stretch, I feel that the tires is gripping really well. There was one part during the journey where there was a freezing rain, the ground was wet and all the rain drop becomes ice that blocked your windshield, the tires were holding really good. I never felt that the car was about to skid or do something unpredictable. When there were some heavy rainfall the grip is still there and I can easily handle the car. For aquaplanning experience, there has been some times that the car lost the grip but still manageable even in higher speed (around 80-100 kmh). Also the noise level in the cabin it feels a bit high for my liking. I don't know if it is because the directional pattern of the tread. Overall this tyre is good and depending on the price, you can consider also to put on your car if you don't have harsh winter like in Finland.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-06 20:46:49
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 rated 80% while driving a Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec
Driving on a combination of roads for 12509 average miles
I am impressed! These tyres have got me through two winters and look like they are capable of another 2-3. Usually go on around October when temperatures are below 7 degree C. Off by May the following year. Very assuring in wet conditions. Especially when snow melts and becomes sludge. Handle mud quite well too. Ice grip is good. I find when the tyres have been driven a while then they grip even more. Same brand on the rear axle and these inspire confidence. You cannot get too excited with them as the traction light says hello. It’s nice to see the look on faces when they think a rear wheel drive car will struggle or stay on the drive. Run flat form doesn’t feel too jarring or noisy. Very good tyres and that’s coming from a tyre snob. Once scrubbed in these were pleasant and haven’t let me down.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-18 13:02:29
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 rated 69% while driving a Toyota Prius
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
The Winter Sport 5 give the car a little too much of understeer but still acceptable, a little more disturbing is they feel a little lazy on the breakes but still ok for a winter tyre. I drove only 2-3 hours in real winter conditions here in hamburg so do not expect too much from my opinion - they did their job which is fine for this small and wide format. Noise, comfort and fuel consumption are very ok. The sidewalls were surprisingly full of dents after the first winter, and look not much better than the moon after 3 Winters - but where it counts they still look like one more winter, now the score is 40000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-13 00:11:04
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 rated 83% while driving a Ford Focus MK3
Driving on mostly country roads for 35000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-06 12:42:42
Nokian Snowproof P rated 91% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Using on Honda Civic Sport+, dry handling is great. On slippery conditions such as melty snow tyres are awesome. Despite the wide dimensions, in heavy snow braking and handling is better than expected. At 150 km/h a strange noise comes from tyres but after 160 it stops.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-06 06:57:42
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P rated 80% while driving a BMW M135i
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I was really impressed with these tyres, surpringly good even on warmer days in the dry, very secure in the wet and seemed very reliable on the few days of snow we had. If anything the car was less tail happy on these than on normal summer tyres in the summer
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-02 10:58:38
Pirelli P Zero Winter rated 87% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa 1.2 16V Life (Twinport)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 average miles
These are great tyres for wet,ice and snow. Feel really safe with these.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-22 16:52:10
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre