Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car winter ultra high performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (20) 92% 96% 95% 96% 93% 93%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (7) 93% 91% 94% 93% 94% 98%
Toyo SNOWPROX S 952 (4) 93% 98% 93% 85% 95% 90%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance (6) 92% 92% 90% 92% 90% 95%
Nokian Snowproof P (3) 97% 93% 87% 93% 70% 87%
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (17) 91% 91% 87% 80% 84% 89%
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (7) 88% 95% 90% 92% 88% 83%
Goodyear UltraGrip Ice Plus (3) 97% 93% 83% 87% 97% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (27) 87% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (35) 89% 94% 88% 87% 87% 93%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 (12) 84% 91% 86% 85% 88% 83%
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (32) 90% 93% 89% 89% 83% 82%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus (9) 79% 89% 82% 87% 89% 87%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 RFT (6) 85% 90% 88% 70% 86% 87%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 (8) 85% 85% 75% 84% 84% 84%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (33) 85% 86% 80% 80% 87% 83%
Nokian WR A4 (16) 83% 89% 85% 78% 77% 89%
Continental WinterContact TS 830 P (34) 86% 89% 82% 82% 85% 89%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (25) 85% 88% 90% 81% 83% 90%
Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S (8) 86% 86% 79% 84% 68% 86%
Goodyear Eagle UltraGrip (5) 84% 86% 82% 84% 86% 74%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance (9) 86% 88% 74% 76% 88% 87%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (13) 85% 88% 86% 85% 83% 82%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 ROF (5) 92% 84% 90% 74% 84% 72%
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (22) 86% 80% 82% 83% 84% 88%
Avon WV7 (13) 82% 85% 83% 75% 80% 88%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 (3) 90% 90% 73% 77% 0% 60%
Hankook Winter i cept evo (26) 80% 80% 77% 74% 79% 82%
Pirelli SOTTOZERO (8) 77% 89% 83% 83% 80% 84%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Yokohama W drive V905 (17) 88% 83% 82% 83% 86% 75%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (39) 81% 83% 79% 77% 75% 76%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Hankook Icebear W300 (10) 76% 64% 77% 74% 71% 70%
Dunlop SP Winter Response (3) 63% 53% 67% 63% 63% 73%
Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 (9) 79% 73% 74% 71% 70% 81%

Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres with no reviews

Dunlop SP Winter Sport M2, Goodyear UltraGrip 6, GT Radial WinterPro2 Sport, Hankook IceBear W300A, Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 N, Pirelli P Zero Winter, RoadX RXFROST WH12, RoadX RXFROST WU01, Vredestein Wintrac Nextreme

Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Dunlop Winter Sport 5 rated 69% while driving a Toyota Prius
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
The Winter Sport 5 give the car a little too much of understeer but still acceptable, a little more disturbing is they feel a little lazy on the breakes but still ok for a winter tyre. I drove only 2-3 hours in real winter conditions here in hamburg so do not expect too much from my opinion - they did their job which is fine for this small and wide format. Noise, comfort and fuel consumption are very ok. The sidewalls were surprisingly full of dents after the first winter, and look not much better than the moon after 3 Winters - but where it counts they still look like one more winter, now the score is 40000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-13 00:11:04
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 rated 83% while driving a Ford Focus MK3
Driving on mostly country roads for 35000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-06 12:42:42
Nokian Snowproof P rated 91% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Using on Honda Civic Sport+, dry handling is great. On slippery conditions such as melty snow tyres are awesome. Despite the wide dimensions, in heavy snow braking and handling is better than expected. At 150 km/h a strange noise comes from tyres but after 160 it stops.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-06 06:57:42
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P rated 80% while driving a BMW M135i
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I was really impressed with these tyres, surpringly good even on warmer days in the dry, very secure in the wet and seemed very reliable on the few days of snow we had. If anything the car was less tail happy on these than on normal summer tyres in the summer
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-02 10:58:38
Pirelli P Zero Winter rated 87% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa 1.2 16V Life (Twinport)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 average miles
These are great tyres for wet,ice and snow. Feel really safe with these.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-22 16:52:10
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 rated 82% while driving a Audi
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Very good grip on dirty roads.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-17 03:03:10
Nokian Snowproof P rated 92% while driving a BMW 440i Gran Coupe M Sport
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-13 21:44:16
Vredestein Wintrac Pro rated 94% while driving a Audi S5
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Great winter tyres, highly recommend. Amazing traction in the Scottish winter and snow. Good handling balance at the limit and provides plenty of feedback of the road surface. Corners and grips well in temperatures under 0 degrees Celsius. A must buy for any performance vehicle if looking to drive spiritedly in the colder months. Driving a stage 2 Audi S5 with 485 Bhp, a good tyre is a must even with Quattro to put the power down when the road is slippery, wet and cold. The tyre is vary predictable at the limit when driving on an dry road and provides confidence when braking. Would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-12 22:36:30
Vredestein Wintrac Pro rated 93% while driving a BMW M240i
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Winter time. Came from Michelin PS4 summer tyres. When changing to Vredestein Wintrac Pro straight away i've noticed it handles like the Michelin. Very stable, tight handling. Grip is amazing. Having a Stage2 M240i with 480bhp. Accelerating from 0 is spot on. Almost no wheelspin! And that for RWD!! In wet it feels very confident. No issues at all. First day of big snow, I went for a big trip with my buddy. Leaving the parking uphill, it went like on dry surface. My buddy took 30min to finally get free. Just proves how amazing the Vredestein is. And really shows a wintertyre is the best choice in these winter condition. Trust level 100. Wouldn't choose any other tyre than this. You wont regret it
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-04 17:56:32
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 rated 94% while driving a Volvo V90 D4
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
For my style of driving - average, comfort, mixed city+highway is very well balanced. I was looking for well balanced winter tyre (best for grip and breaking on wet) and at the end I decided to try new W330 iCept Evo 3 because of good test results on exact tyre size I needed. Price was also much better than GY or Michelin and performance pretty close/similar so it was no beainer for me. I can’t comment on wear and fuel consumption but it is slightly higher than with my summer GY UG 9 (which is expected).
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-21 12:53:54
Nokian WR A4 rated 72% while driving a Subaru Legacy 2.0GT Spec B
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-07 11:43:52
Vredestein Wintrac Pro rated 87% while driving a Ford fiesta st
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
I bought these tyres in November 2019 and had them fitted to my 2019 Ford Fiesta ST. There was very little choice for winter tyres when it came to the wheel size on this car so I was limited to only this one or the very overpriced Pirelli Sotozero 3s. For the first winter that I had them fitted it was mostly just cold and wet (no snow) but the level of grip that this tyre offers over the Michelin pilot super sports (fitted to this car as standard) in temperatures below about 5°C is worth it even if you don’t get any snow. Fast forward to December 2020/January 2021 and I can confirm that in the snow these tyres are extremely capable. A full three inches of snow is no problem for these tyres. I have also used these tyres on icy roads and they hold up well there too, with abs breaking coming on when you slam the breaks but it stopping the car some several meters shorter than if you had summer tyres on. The tyres also preform equally as well in slushy/wet snow. If I had to rate the handling/breaking for fresh dry snow I would say 10/10, for slushy/wet snow 9/10 and icy roads would be 8/10. It’s also worth noting that even after 6000 miles on these tyres there is very little wear and they probably still have another full winter in them if not 2. Overall a fantastic tyre that significantly improves the safety of your car during the winter.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-24 11:08:29
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre