Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car winter ultra high performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (26) 92% 95% 93% 95% 93% 91%
Continental WinterContact TS 870 P (15) 91% 97% 83% 92% 89% 95%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (11) 88% 86% 88% 90% 93% 94%
Goodyear UltraGrip Ice Plus (3) 97% 93% 83% 87% 97% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance 3 (5) 88% 87% 83% 68% 0% 90%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (28) 86% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (26) 91% 90% 85% 82% 87% 87%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 RFT (7) 84% 89% 87% 71% 87% 84%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 (12) 84% 91% 86% 85% 88% 83%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Plus (16) 82% 88% 83% 86% 91% 89%
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (19) 92% 92% 89% 91% 91% 78%
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 (9) 92% 94% 80% 83% 90% 76%
Pirelli P Zero Winter (6) 77% 87% 90% 73% 90% 85%
Nokian Snowproof P (8) 91% 89% 85% 89% 80% 76%
Toyo SNOWPROX S 952 (5) 92% 94% 86% 82% 82% 80%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 (9) 85% 85% 75% 84% 84% 84%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance (8) 89% 89% 87% 89% 80% 83%
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (46) 90% 92% 82% 88% 80% 81%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (37) 89% 93% 88% 88% 88% 92%
Goodyear Eagle UltraGrip (5) 84% 86% 82% 84% 86% 74%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (40) 82% 84% 78% 78% 87% 83%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (28) 85% 88% 90% 82% 82% 88%
Hankook Winter i cept evo (28) 80% 79% 76% 72% 80% 79%
Avon WV7 (14) 82% 84% 83% 76% 82% 88%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Nokian WR A4 (21) 85% 88% 71% 78% 79% 87%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 ROF (5) 92% 84% 90% 74% 84% 72%
Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S (9) 84% 84% 75% 85% 71% 86%
Continental WinterContact TS 830 P (37) 86% 86% 82% 78% 85% 87%
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (25) 86% 79% 82% 82% 85% 86%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (18) 84% 86% 86% 86% 81% 79%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (40) 81% 84% 80% 77% 76% 77%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Yokohama W drive V905 (17) 88% 83% 82% 83% 86% 75%
Pirelli SOTTOZERO (9) 78% 83% 79% 81% 79% 81%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Hankook Icebear W300 (10) 76% 64% 77% 74% 71% 70%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance (12) 83% 83% 68% 75% 82% 80%
Dunlop SP Winter Response (3) 63% 53% 67% 63% 63% 73%
Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 (9) 79% 73% 74% 71% 70% 81%

Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres with no reviews

Dunlop SP Winter Sport M2, Falken EUROWINTER HS02 Pro, Goodyear UltraGrip 6, GT Radial WinterPro2 Evo, GT Radial WinterPro2 Sport, Hankook IceBear W300A, Leao Winter Defender UHP, Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 N, Petlas SnowMaster 2 Sport, Pirelli P Zero Winter 2, RoadX RXFROST WH12, RoadX RXFROST WU01, Vredestein Wintrac Nextreme

Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Continental WinterContact TS 870 P rated 90% while driving a Audi
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Coming from winter Hankook, a very directional tyre and good on dry roads but very very low comfort and terrible over snow (but it's really a winter tyre or a four season ?).
Continental work well in every condition and it's so much more comfortable.
Top
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-01 13:49:31
Falken EUROWINTER HS02 Pro rated 83% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
I am not a high performance driver. I am driving with 110-120 km/h maximum speeds in motorways with curves. Regularly under mild weather conditions during winter (-3 to +15 Celsius) sometimes rainy but never iced or snowy roads. I would recommend these tyres because of low price and extremely silent for a winter tyre. Cons are relatively high fuel consumption & possibility of bad wear. No idea about
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-23 14:15:04
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 rated 91% while driving a Audi S5
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 average miles
After reviewing Tyre Review data I selected the Hankook tires, and it helped the dealership was having a winter sale… $1800CAD including factory rims was a great deal.

It’s been two seasons now with three conditions being dry, then wet, then snow by the number of driving days. On dry roads to ride is comfortable with stable handling and the grip is assured and precise with on ramps, long and medium corners. They lose some composure with sharp turning, and the braking takes a little longer than I’d like. This is probably the least inspiring aspect of all the parameters. Wet performance is very good, with turn and corners being very assured. And the wet braking feels better in the wet than the dry? Not sure how but that’s the way it feels. The best part now… The snow is just a blast with these Hankooks. Very grippy whether braking, accelerating or turning the vehicle; this tire does it all in the snow.

After just under 10,000 km the tread looks unused, with more than 7mm across each tire.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-16 18:22:10
Continental WinterContact TS 870 P rated 90% while driving a Subaru forester 2.5xt
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Main drawback is the price, overall the tires perform phenomenally on any terrain in the winter. Wet performance is amazing, you don't even feel the wheel loose any grip up to a certain puddle depth when driving over it. Off-road performance is very good too, absolutely no issues here. In reality I can not think of anything that could be better considering its not a soft compound and not studded. Control while doing "spirited driving" on snow is very good, even on ice with 4WD I have plenty of grip to control the car, but they are not magical, ice is still ice whithout studs. I didn't notice any noise on dry roads and performance on the dry, I would think is on par with some summer tires. In conclusion amazing tire if you can afford it, but for me the tire was overkill considering how much it costs. Living in rural area i would choose a cheaper studded tire.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-29 14:52:22
Nokian Snowproof P rated 98% while driving a Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
After wra3 and wra4 (both excellent on dry and wet, excellent on snow and ice, the wra3 better at very low, almost freezing temperatures, the wra4 better on snow), I tried the snowproof P. I haven't yet tried the new directional design on snow , but on dry surfaces they essentially follow the excellent handling performance of the two previous models with asymmetrical design. With the rudder, in the absence of longitudinal channels, the footprint on the ground seems to be wider, and the cornering grip perhaps slightly greater. The sidewall is stiffer than previous models, and this gives better handling, a lower steering angle and lateral lie, further improving driving dynamics. Anyone who says that Nokians don't handle the road well on wet, dry and snow either doesn't know how to drive in different road conditions, or their car has problems. I've read about deformations on this model, well it depends on whether during season changes you keep the tires resting in the right place, in the right way, and this applies to every brand and model.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-21 14:22:35
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 rated 83% while driving a Porsche
Driving on mostly town for 6000 spirited miles
Outstanding dry performance , which is 85% of our winter driving in northern metropolitan cities . The snow and ice is 80% as good as a snow /ice only low performance tire . But with my AWD sedan that is fine . Love these . P285 on back ; P245 on front . I am a car conniseur and could buy any tire period and i choose these . Mine are W rated look for that , though the V rated are great too I am sure .
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-18 22:49:46
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 rated 70% while driving a BMW 330
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Very good dry and wet grip (like summer Pilot Sport 4) good level of comfort, but unfortunately very noisy! Maybe due to staggered setup of wheels (225 front / 255 rear) and symetrical "V" shape design, tyres produced loud humming noise at 100 km/h, probably some resonance frequency between front and rear... Excellent tyre behaviour but noise level was not acceptable and lead me to unfortunately get rid of them... Changed for used Goodyear UltraGrip Performance 3 and these were much more quiet despite runflats...
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-17 21:49:00
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 rated 93% while driving a Peugeot 3008
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Best winter tyres I have driven yet! They are so soft and comfortable (non run-flat) I love driving my car in the winter more than ever. Responsive, great handling and you never loose control even on snow or ice. I am talking about regular driving in a regular car (not performance and drifting or racing) but a family Peugeot 3008. I have confidence climbing on hills or uphill without doubt.
Previously I had driven Michelins (also not bad but comfort and noise is so much better with these), Sava, Tigar and Sailun. Sotozzero 3 were the absolute best among all my previous tyres. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-15 14:53:12
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 rated 81% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
I have these tyres on an Alfa Romeo Giulietta. I'm a really passionate driver an I always try to find the best tyres for my car. I think these tyres are excellent during winter season because:
- Good on snow, especially for traction and braking, not excellent in lateral grip. Also in snowy slope I have never had to put tyre chains on (for the moment at least).
- Very good on asphalt, the car has always a balanced and neutral behavior. You could feel when the car is slipping. Quite fast and precise on steering. (Obviously we are talking about a winter tyre, not a summer one!)

My suggestion is, when is very cold (
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-15 14:09:02
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance 3 rated 91% while driving a BMW 320i
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Very good tire for winter. I had them on different roads, motorway, city and countryside and I like them a lot. I had also in the past Michelin and Continental but from couple of years I stay with Goodyear because I consider the best mix for price, performance and comfort. Michelin is also very good tire but much more expensive, Continental is also good but noisier and not with a good comfort. For me Goodyear do best from each category.
On dry road are soft and quite. When it's wet you can brake easily in many conditions of speed and cornering. I catched a few days with snow, 5-10 cm and had a good grip, no worries even if my car has only rear well drive.
I will buy them again for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-15 12:56:38
Nokian Snowproof P rated 59% while driving a Mercedes Benz
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Worst tyres I've ever used! They deformed after 10.000km (2 seasons) of use and now they will go straight to the garbage - the car shakes. Shame on you, Nokian!
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-08 16:39:00
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance 3 rated 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Initial impressions, great tyre, drove only on dry and wet roads. Great comfort, silent and the car feels very stable. I'm sure they do great in snow also... now let s see how they hold on with wear. Will come back with mid review.
tyre reviewed on 2023-12-22 10:20:49
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre