Pirelli SOTTOZERO

The Pirelli SOTTOZERO is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 110,000 miles driven.

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 81%
Wear 79%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 75%
Snow Grip 67%
Ice Grip 63%

The SOTTOZERO is ranked 38th of 43 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Pirelli SOTTOZERO

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Pirelli SOTTOZERO

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Pirelli SOTTOZERO. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Pirelli SOTTOZERO Reviews

Given 58% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 220 (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Huge disappointment. An average tyres with these major flaws: On wet roads, the grip is horrible. My car is heavy, and have all the electric support tools, but even in very low speeds, and very gentle acceleration, the back of the car just tryes to drift all the time. Im kind of enjoying it, but it is very dangeorus. And im talking avout low speeds. Like 25mph, average corner, very small acceleration, and just drops the back..Lilr inhave a 900Nm car, and driving on ice. The other is the noise. It has a very loud beeeeeep noise above 55mph, and getting worse and worse by going faster and faster. It is horrible, not just a very minornl stuff. It is LOUD! :(
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Lexus RX400 (235/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
I put these tyres on for a trip to the Alps for skiing. They are very noticeably quieter and comfortable than the road tyres I had before. Pirelli Scorpions and Bridgestones. They grip well in snow, very well in wet and surprisingly well in dry.
But the biggest surprise is the mileage. Had them on for two years, been to the Alps and back three times in winter. Went to Italy and south of France in summer when the weather was at 36 degrees C. Longest lasting tyre I have had and I have been driving Lexus RX for 12 years.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2018
BMW (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 24,000 spirited miles
I had these on a 30I Z4 I used them in Summer and Winter. worked great through 23.000 Miles, I got stuck 2 In just under 1ft of fresh snow, uphill after 18k miles. Theres about 3 mil left on rear tyre thread. time to replace for upcoming heavy winter.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2018
Have you driven on the Pirelli SOTTOZERO tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli SOTTOZERO? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli SOTTOZERO >

Latest Pirelli SOTTOZERO Reviews

Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen Caravelle (225/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Bought these tyres as used, with approx. 5-6mm of thread left. Massively disappointed by lack of grip on the snow and ice (despite being more of a premium brand), and excessive wear - that 5-6mm of thread lasted only for 6k miles... Not recommend and wouldn't buy again.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 17,000 spirited miles
Best winter tyres I've driven. Progressive feel and feedback are particularly good. Dry grip is excellent upto the mid to high teens in temperature, but due to the progressive feel (similar with Pirelli summer tyres), the actual dry grip level is not quite as good as some competitors, but for my driving style I'm happy to trade ultimate grip levels for better feel. Wet grip is simply superb, with minimal loss in grip compared to dry roads. Grip in snow isn't great compared to smaller tyre sizes, but I've not found a tyre that grips as well as this with such a wide tyre. Together with AWD and driving in the alps I've never needed to fit chains, even for downhill, hence still a high score for snow. On ice, the extra width makes a big difference and loss of traction is very rare and stopping is never a problem. With typically 4 to 5 seasons from the Pirellis they match or better any other performance winter tyres I've used where I would generally only get 3 seasons. Even when getting older, the is no major loss in performance as the tyre wears. There is no question, my next winter tyres will be Sottozeros again!
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2019
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a Audi A8 (255/40 R19 V) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Got the Pirelli Sottozero's for my Audi A8 for the winter.

Fantastic tyre - they have the look of a summer tyre with the performance of a winter one.

Increased road noise from them but this is to be expected.

I've run them in dry, wet, soaking wet, snow and ice and they performed well in every condition - with only a slight slip on the ice - although this was more than likely me pushing things a little too much - short of studded tyres I don't think much will grip the ice too well anyhow !!!

As the set I bought were second hand when I got them I made the decision to run them pretty much right through the summer also - very happy with wear rates on them.

Dry grip is great - but the tyres do squeal quite easily if you're starting to push them.

Wet grip is fantastic - given the tread patterns they have an ability to really resist aquaplaning - to the point they can probably give you too much confidence...I found myself overtaking people in absolutely torrential rain without so much as a twitch from the tyres.

Grip on snow is good - as these are the only winter tyre I've had I can't really compare but I was happy with the grip levels - there are some other winter tyres out there with more aggressive tread patterns which I think look like they should grip better (Dunlop & Nokian) but I think these may be more suited to countries where it snows more than the UK.

Liked them enough to have bought a new set in ready for the winter.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2011
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Used on MK V Golf - brilliant tyre in the snow and wet. Tyre wear after 10k miles is good, wear is also good in warm conditions.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2011
Given 87% while driving a Mazda 6 Series (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
excellent tires.,in most condition.Definitely try
Helpful 74 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2010