Continental WinterContact TS 830 P

The Continental WinterContact TS 830 P is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 37 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 379,850 miles driven, and 12 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 78%
Wear 85%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 84%
Snow Grip 76%
Ice Grip 73%

First On MarketFebruary 2009
Wheel Size15 - 21"
Width195 - 305mm
Profile30 - 65
Rolling ResistanceB - E
Wet GripB - D
Noise (dB)72 - 75
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The WinterContact TS 830 P is ranked 29th of 43 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental WinterContact TS 810 S and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental WinterContact TS 850 P.

Tests Included

12

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

7th

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 Sport Auto Winter Sports Tyre Test
1st of 8 tyres
  • Very balanced tyres, excellent traction on snow and wet surfaces, short braking distances in all conditions
  • Relatively sluggish and inaccurate steering response in the dry
View Full Test >>
2012 Auto Bild SUV and 4x4 Winter Tyre Test
1st of 7 tyres
  • Very good on snow, very well balanced and strong in the wet and dry
  • Expensive, slightly increased noise
  • Exemplary
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/65 R 15 91 TDC72
16 inch
205/55 R 16 91 HDC72
205/55 R 16 91 HDC72
215/60 R 16 99 H XLDC72
205/60 R 16 96 H XLDC72
205/60 R 16 96 H XLCC72
205/60 R 16 92 HDD72
205/60 R 16 96 H XLCC72
205/60 R 16 96 H XLCD72
205/60 R 16 96 H XLDC72
205/55 R 16 91 HDC72
205/60 R 16 96 H XLCC72
205/55 R 16 91 HDC72
215/60 R 16 99 H XLCC72
17 inch
225/50 R 17 94 HDC72
225/45 R 17 91 HDC72
225/50 R 17 94 HDC72
205/50 R 17 93 H XLDC72
205/50 R 17 93 H XLDC72
205/50 R 17 93 H XLEC72
225/50 R 17 98 H XLDC72
18 inch
235/60 R 18 103 VEC72
255/35 R 18 94 V XLDC72
255/35 R 18 94 V XLDC73
225/40 R 18 92 V XLDC72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental WinterContact TS 830 P >>

Questions and Answers for the Continental WinterContact TS 830 P

2017-04-19 - I require crossover tyres for my Renault kadjar - will these operate well in snow and ice?

The Continental WinterContact TS830P is a very well regarded European winter tyre. Depending on your location, you might want to consider a Nordic winter tyre or a studded winter tyre if ice is a big problem (where local laws allow)


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental WinterContact TS 830 P Reviews

Given 99% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
the best winter tyres i've ever had. really like the performance and handling on all kind of surfaces and weather, especially on snow.
Helpful 119 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2014
Given 67% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.0, 200hp RWD (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
This tyre was a disappointment for me. No idea if beeing run-flat (SSR) was an additional issue, but web grip is aweful, snow grip is far from good, but at least I was able to get somewhere. Most noticable issue was wet handeling, noticed a lot of side slipping in corners or roundabouts. It has hard sidewalls due to rulflat, but I dont mind feeling all the bumps in road, good response feel and very good dry handeling. Due to poor web performance, I'll buy another model for this comming season. Wear is good, still left with 5mm after 4 seasons.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2022
Given 34% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti 150hp (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
After reading all the good reviews of these tyres i am hugely disappointed. The sidewalls are too stiff so you feel & hear every little bump whether you're on A roads or motorway. The biggest issue is their complete lack of grip in anything other than the dry. The roads are currently cold, damp & lightly salted yet despite being a "winter" tyre they struggle with these basic winter conditions. Straight line grip at average acceleration has the traction control stepping in & roundabouts at 20mph are a battle with understeer. I can't comment on their ability in the snow yet but if i keep these on the car it's more than likely it will be written off long before the snow gets here. Last year i ran Pirelli P7s through winter & whilst they made snow undriveable they managed other conditions 1000x better than these Continentals.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2021
Have you driven on the Continental WinterContact TS 830 P tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental WinterContact TS 830 P? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental WinterContact TS 830 P >

Latest Continental WinterContact TS 830 P Reviews

Volkswagen (225/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Bought as new and only done like 8k miles on these so far but I had a chance of driving through heavy and deep snow, in a heavy car (VW T4 Caravelle) with amazing results. Once I had to stop while going up the steep hill and managed to start again without even using snowchains - I was stunned! Amazing grip in severe conditions, with (so far) more than reasonable wear - definitely a tyre I can recommend and would buy again.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2020
Given 99% while driving a Volkswagen Caravelle (225/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Bought as new and only done like 8k miles on these so far but I had a chance of driving through heavy and deep snow, in a heavy car (VW T4 Caravelle) with amazing results. Once I had to stop while going up the steep hill and managed to start again without even using snowchains - I was stunned! Amazing grip in severe conditions, with (so far) more than reasonable wear - definitely a tyre I can recommend and would buy again.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 84% while driving a BMW 330e (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Very consistent tyre, grip in wet is good, but get a little bit unpredictable, depending on the temperature. Standstill on a hill (RWD) in the snow there was not a problem with grip.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2020
Given 97% while driving a Toyota Auris (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
The tyres were fitted in September 2018 and the results were very good. Superb dry and wet grip (tarmac and gravel), driving on snow and mud was also easy, no difficulties encountered whatsoever. By far the best tyres I ever owned and believe me, I tested quite a lot of brands and models, premium and mid-range mostly: Michelin, Nokian, Goodyear, Falken, Vredestein, Yokohama, etc. Although I wanted the TS860 model, I actually got these instead due to some delivery error. Would recommend and buy again.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2019
Given 76% while driving a Mazda 3 2.0 DISI (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
The main reasons why I chose WinterContact TS 830P are: non-directional tread (more regular tyre wear due to possibility of changing rotation direction), conti seal technology (my Mazda has no spare wheel), high performance winter tyre (better road handling and feedback). The tyres replaced Pirelli Winter Snow Control 3. In comparison to the Pirellis the Contis are significantly quieter even after 21,000 km. The wet grip is very good and I have never had any issues with aquaplanning. In the dry they provide quite good amount of feedback and stability for winter tyres even at temperatures above 10°C. In the snow traction I do not feel any difference from the Pirellis. The fuel consumption is higher than it used to be on Pirellis. After 21,000 km they have approximately 6 mm of tread remaining. It seems they might last up to 40 - 45,000 km. Very similar to Pirellis.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2019
Given 46% while driving a BMW 320D (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
I am realy dissapointed in this tires.
In winter conditions they are very bad.
I expected a lot more from them being Continental with good test results.

Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2019
Given 91% while driving a Peugeot 508 SW 1.6 E HDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 62,000 spirited miles
i loved my Continental WinterContact TS 830P i drove with them here in Denmark in 2017 and 2018 and i drive about 50.000km every year in my car and now after 2 years its time to change them and i didnt care to change tyres so the tyres were on the car in the sommer and Winther and they were great for 2 years now i will go try TS 860 and i hope they are as good or maby a little bettet
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2018
Given 81% while driving a BMW 320 d (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I bought a set of these tyres because 1.BMW are known to be horrific in the snow 2.I live up a very very steep hill in Wales, these tyres are extremely good in fresh snow and icy conditions, the road was so bad that you could watch 4x4 cars with summer tyres sliding down the very steep hill and spinning their wheels on the way up. With these tyres the was no loss of traction while driving downhill and no ABS engagement. Driving up hill the was minimal wheel spin, the car always felt in control and would never loose composure. Only downside to winter tyres i have found is in the dry and at 8c onwards they start to feel a little vague at speed however this is minimal for the benefits gained at colder temperatures.
Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2018
Given 27% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (205/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Considering excellent test results and user feedback I bought a set of Conti tyres. But these tyres are very much dissapointing with terrible traction under winter conditions. Worst winter tyres I ever had. I should never by again Continental.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2017
Given 83% while driving a BMW 320 d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I was shocked by just how good these tires were in the snow and ice on my BMW RWD. Absolutely no slip or wheel spin while others around me struggled. I will never not have winter tires again even if it’s front wheel drive or four.
Helpful 54 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2017
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5) (195/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 20,000 spirited miles
Great tyres, the "fat" passat goes easily through the snow and ice. A few times these tyres have saved me from crash (panic braking on -10 degrees, slippery surface) so I believe it was a good investment.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2017
Given 100% while driving a Subaru Forester 2.0 XT (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Awesome Tire.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2016