Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D

The Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 77%
Wear 75%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 78%
Snow Grip 70%
Ice Grip 50%

Tyre review data from 39 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 434,712 miles driven.

The SP Winter Sport 3D is ranked 35th of 39 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2011 Auto Bild 4x4 Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Easily the best in the snow, great in the wet and dry. Quiet.
  • Negative - High price, moderate rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2010 Auto Bild Performance Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 5 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent winter properties with excellent cornering on hard-packed snow, very good aquaplaning properties, dynamically balanced handling characteristics on wet and dry track
  • Negative - Slightly higher noise levels
View Full Test >>

2010 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent winter tires with peak performance in any weather, short braking distances on dry track, good aquaplaning.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Exemplary
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         8.68kgs
195/60 R15 88H   F B 68 8.25kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL MO F E 68 8.06kgs
195/50 R16 88H XL AO F C 67 8.13kgs
195/55 R16 87H *RSC F C 69 10.76kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL MOEXTENDED E C 68 11.40kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   E E 66 10.14kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL * E E 71 9.32kgs
215/55 R16 93H XL MO E B 67 10.62kgs
225/55 R16 95H XL AO F E 68 11.30kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL MO E C 68 11.53kgs
175/60 R16 82H *RSC F C 67 8.83kgs
195/60 R16 99T   E B 71 9.48kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL AO E E 68 10.20kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   E C 66 10.80kgs
225/60 R16 98H XL AO F C 69 11.43kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL AO F E 67 8.93kgs
225/45 R17 91H XL *RSC E C 69 10.75kgs
235/45 R17 94H MO E C 67 11.43kgs
245/45 R17 99H XL MO F C 68 11.40kgs
255/45 R17 98V XL MO E E 68 11.88kgs
185/50 R17 86H XL *RSC F E 68 9.03kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL   E E 68 10.32kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL AO F E 69 10.42kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL AO E C 68 11.19kgs
225/50 R17 94H XL AO F E 68 10.74kgs
225/50 R17 94H XL * F E 67 10.66kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL AOE E C 68 12.86kgs
215/55 R17 98H XL AO E E 69 11.25kgs
225/55 R17 97H XL *RSC F E 69 15.00kgs
225/55 R17 97H XL AO E E 68 11.92kgs
225/55 R17 97H XL AO E E 68 11.60kgs
235/55 R17 99H XL AO E E 70 12.69kgs
235/55 R17 99H XL   E E 69 12.45kgs
215/60 R17 96H XL AO E E 68 10.92kgs
225/60 R17 99H XL * E C 70 12.50kgs
225/60 R17 99H XL *RSC F E 71 15.04kgs
235/65 R17 108H XL N0 E E 72 14.85kgs
235/65 R17 104H XL AO F C 72 14.82kgs
245/65 R17 111H XL   E E 73 16.83kgs
285/35 R18 101W XL RO1 E E 72 13.24kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL AO F E 69 10.35kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL RO1 F E 68 11.77kgs
245/40 R18 97H XL MO E C 69 11.74kgs
255/40 R18 95V XL MO F C 68 11.87kgs
255/40 R18 95V MO E C 68 11.87kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL RO1 F C 69 10.80kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL RO1 E C 69 10.80kgs
235/45 R18 94V XL N0 E C 69 11.00kgs
245/45 R18 100V XL *RSC E E 68 14.45kgs
255/45 R18 99V MO F C 68 12.74kgs
265/45 R18 101V XL N0 F C 71 13.30kgs
225/50 R18 99H XL AO E E 69 12.53kgs
225/50 R18 99H XL   E E 69 12.53kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   E C 69 13.55kgs
245/50 R18 100H XL *RSC F E 69 15.80kgs
235/55 R18 100H XL AO E E 71 12.96kgs
235/55 R18 104H XL AO E C 70 13.07kgs
255/55 R18 105H XL MO E C 71 15.46kgs
255/55 R18 109V XL N0 E C 72 15.81kgs
235/60 R18 107H XL AO E E 71 14.02kgs
255/30 R19 91W XL   E C 70 11.74kgs
255/30 R19 91W XL   F C 71 11.74kgs
225/35 R19 88W XL   F C 70 10.70kgs
225/35 R19 88W XL   F C 70 10.70kgs
235/35 R19 91W XL RO1 E C 67 11.38kgs
255/35 R19 96V XL RO1 E C 70 11.60kgs
235/40 R19 96V XL RO1 E E 69 11.44kgs
255/40 R19 100V XL RO1 E C 69 13.13kgs
235/45 R19 99V XL AO E E 71 12.30kgs
245/45 R19 102V XL   E E 68 12.82kgs
245/45 R19 102V XL *RSC E E 69 15.10kgs
245/45 R19 102V XL J E E 68 13.74kgs
235/50 R19 103H XL AO E C 69 13.15kgs
235/50 R19 99H XL MO E C 68 13.15kgs
255/50 R19 107H XL MO E E 69 15.68kgs
265/50 R19 110V XL N0 C E 73 16.87kgs
265/50 R19 110V XL N0 E E 73 16.87kgs
275/30 R20 97W XL RO1 E E 71 12.79kgs
255/35 R20 97W XL AO E E 70 12.48kgs
255/35 R20 97V XL * E C 73 12.07kgs
265/35 R20 99V XL AO E C 70 12.48kgs
275/35 R20 102W XL RO1 E E 70 13.23kgs
285/35 R20 100V   E C 73 17.12kgs
265/40 R20 104V XL AO E C 70 13.68kgs
255/45 R20 105V XL MO C C 71 14.29kgs
255/45 R20 101V XL AO E C 71 14.20kgs
275/45 R20 110V XL N0 E C 70 16.46kgs
275/35 R21 103W XL B E C 71 14.30kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D

2016-07-04 - Are these tyres also made as Runflats and in what sizes? Thanks, Ray

Both the WinterSport 3D, 4D and 5 are made in runflat sizes. The Dunlop website will have the complete list of sizes, as they will be changing all the time.


2017-01-17 - Are the Dunlop SP Winter sport 3D tyre run flat tyres.

There are runflat and non-runflat version of the Dunlop WinterSport 3D


2020-01-08 - Would these be ok on a VW transporter camper?

As long as the load index specified by VW is correct, yes.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


SP Winter Sport 3D Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £86.00 - £115.99 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £131.00 - £147.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £110.00 - £137.10 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/55 R18 £152.59 - £201.48 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 48 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D Reviews

Given 64% while driving a Volvo S80 T6 (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
Overall a very good tyre, but in my experience not up to all awards achieved. While I was satisfied with the performance in general, I was disappointed by two things - it is very noisy and wear is far below average. Anyway, I would be possibly satisfied with it still, but cannot be while knowing what the amazing ContiWinterContact TS830 can do. As this might be an issue in the given tyre size (it works much better on my wife's car with smaller size), for next winter I will buy Continental in a heartbeat.
56 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2013   
Given 60% while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Iv got these on all four corners of my volvo s80 replacing dunlop sport maxx1.

Generally, they're good tyres but the noise is unbearable sometimes. Especially on a dry motorway. It almost sounds like the windows are open.
16 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2016   
Given 40% while driving a Opel zafira 1.8 140 mont. 2008 (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
Had it for 6 years, interchanging with summer tires. First 2 years were ok (about 6500 miles), after that driving in wet (in all wet conditions, from slightly moist to full wet) became slipery. It's like the first 2mm of tyres are rubber, and the rest is plastic. Recently bought all-year tires, that are 2/3 cheeper than Dunlop, and for now its night and day in comparison. Maybe they wasnt good fit for my car model, but, Dunlop lost future buyer because of their tire characteristics.
15 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2017   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D >

Latest Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D Reviews

Given 46% while driving a Citroën DS5 (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Terrible on wet and icy roads with no feedback at all. Dry grip, handling and comfort are good with lots of feedback and understanding of the steering progression. Looks to be more of an all season tyre then a M+S winter tyre. Better avoid as it’s not a good all around product for european winter conditions.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2020   
BMW (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 miles
Very poor grip on wet surface and snow
0 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 78% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/40 R19 V) on mostly country roads for 12 spirited miles
I drive a Ford Mondeo 2.0 diesel titanium 2015 177 BHP. I purchased these tyres as reassurance having sold my four wheel drive and living in a remote rural area. In temperatures under 7 degrees they perform very well. I fit them to my vehicle in November and remove them at the beginning of April. I have used them once in light snow and icy road conditions. Dry grip is fine even in warmer weather but they lose traction if you pull away quickly. They can slip a little if trying to merge onto a dual carriageway under acceleration. In the cold weather they operate at you would expect. We just haven’t had a great deal of cold weather where these tyres would come into their own. I have had the tyres for two years and they are now down to 4mm although I have alternated with summer tyres. I am now going to buy all season tyres to save changing and storing each set annually. Would I recommend these for winter tyres, yes I would. I suppose buying these would depend on where you live. I live in East Anglia and probably don’t need them based on one period of snow in last three years.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2020   
Given 56% while driving a Audi A8 (255/40 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
The tires are staggered with production dates from 2013 to 2015. They've been on for only winter driving and ran about 20000km. They have aged kind of well considering the grip and response, but it seems as though the remaining 4-5mm of tyre tread is made of pure plastic. It "kind-of" grips, but the noise is utterly unbearable. Will not consider buying another set for the coming winters.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2020   
Given 62% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195/50 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Average winter tyre
3 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2020   
Given 94% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Very good on snow, ice, wet , dry no problem at all . I drove in Norway, Sweden low temperatures was perfect.
I'll buy them again.
10 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2018   
Given 80% while driving a MG ZT 135 CDTi (225/50 R17 H) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
I've been using these tyres for around 12,000 miles (19,000 km) in the last 7 seasons (I try to use summer tyres as much as possible) and they were great when they were new. While getting older, they've become quite noisy what affected the driving comfort especially on longer distances on motorways. Also, the fuel consumption was a bit higher than I would expect. Other than that, I had no problem with grip on any kind of surface, handling is good as well as the road feedback. However, I will try different tyres next time.
12 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2017   
Audi RS6 Avant V10 (265/35 R20 V) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
Installed these tires on my Audi RS6 V10 for winter in Germany.
Traction is ok, but the car feels less precise than with my Pirelli summer tires.
A bit noisy.
Main drawback: cornering on the wet. Loosing grip too often for my taste, especially on roundabouts. Will not buy these again.
8 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2016   
Given 81% while driving a Renault Scenic (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I'm a bit delayed in writing this review, but I've finally got around to it!
As an opening summary, I liked these tyres, they were dependable, pretty predictable, and safe year-round.
before I go any further I must add that my particular set were MO Mercedes suffix, whether or not this has much or any bearing on their performance I doubt I will ever know, but just to make a note.
So, first impressions... After the Continental they replaced which were rather too soft in their construction for my car, these were somewhat of a revelation. Steering response in particular was greatly improved as was the turn-in, going from far too much lock to be desirable in order to change and hold direction, to darting into a corner and nipping through without much complaint at all, within the realms of feasability for a winter compound of course.
Following on from this I was impressed by the stability of said winter compound, being much less 'mushy' than had been expected. In the dry there was little complaint, even when run out of season into the very late spring one year they didn't balk at such conditions. The stiffness of the carcass was clearly responsible to a notable degree, but even still those '3D' sipes seemed to do what they said on the tin, keeping things settled and composed.
Wet behaviour was and wasn't their achilles heel, being interestingly changeable but not seemingly related to ambient conditions or suchlike. Overall the wet grip was good and secure, not the best but not alarming. The thing I found was that at times they would feel almost as if covered by a layer of wax, tacky but slithery, they didn't let go completely at any time but would sometimes when shown a tight curve just understeer into a wide arc, skating across the surface, whilst most of the time being secure and dependable. I did get to know when this was likely to happen, certain road surfaces/ curves, etc. but it didn't always follow suit that it would happen! Temperature, moisture, time of day seemingly had no bearing. Don't take this out of context though, they were good in the wet, you knew how far to push them, and if you did overload them they would smear and drift rather than release and slide, which is always a favourable attribute in a tyre!
Comfort was ok, a little harsher than the previous tyres but nothing to bother about.
The tread wore well, much better than anticipated, and did see some usage well above the intended temperature realms. They did of course wear quicker in warm weather, but held up well with very little tearing or shreding of the tread blocks.
Winter performance wasn't sparkling but they did get me around absolutely fine including a 2 mile trek on an unploughed, very bumpy, undulating uphill country road 4" deep at the least in snow where we bounced and meandered along quite nicely with my other half rather pensive in the passenger seat! Braking and steering in the snow had to be done smoothly and carefully to avoid breaking traction, but my car is very nose heavy with keen brakes so basic physics dictate that this is likely with any tyre, I would say that on a 'normal' car things will be much better indeed, but to what degree I don't know! In a nutshell, I found them a little lacking but nonetheless they got me around in some unsavoury conditions where I know a std tyre would've seen me stranded even though I'm no fool when it comes to driving in the snow.

So, to summarise and conclude, If you want the best in the snow or in the wet unconditionally, look elsewhere. If you want a tyre with sporty behaviour, safe in the wet, keeps a good amount of precision and stability in the dry, whilst keeping you mobile in the snow and ice, then these are worth putting on your shortlist.
They'd even make a decent 'all season' tyre, as they behave better in the dry (on the steering axle at least) than the fabled Bridgestone A001, and feel nicer to drive too.
3 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2015   
Given 89% while driving a Renault Scenic (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Superb tyres. Great grip in all conditions, will plough through fresh snow, slush and frozen snow with ease. Enjoy 60 mph in the fresh snow in outside lane whilst the rest of the traffic crawl along at 20-30 :)
2 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2015   
Given 37% while driving a Mazda 6 (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I've had them fitted on my old Mazda6 for about 5 winters. Drove in total about 15000 miles with them fitted.
From my point of view there weren't up to their name and their expectation. Sometimes I've had difficult times in the snow, got stuck for several times, and even on the wet they didn't create confidence. From my point of view they are much more weak than the old Dunlop Wintersport M3 that they were replacing, even than Sava Eskimo S3. Simply, I couldn't drive as fast as the other 2 mentioned on a moderated snowy highway.
Of course it will get you through the winter, but shouldn't this be the purpose of any winter tire?
Dry highway grip was fine, but not much better, on par with the grip on the wet and snow.
Being so weak in traction the progressiveness was ok, as you could feel and was very clear when they started to lose grip.

If I wouldn't find them on promotion, I would definitely be very angry at the acquisition. For this tire, you simply just pay the brand and nothing else. I'm in doubt even to try the 4D now, let alone buy them.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2014   
Given 83% while driving a BMW 318Ci M Sport Convertible (245/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Perfect grip on dry, nice on wet. Even on not perfect road like in my country. Driven in not so cold conditions (mostly 5-15 celsius).
It's my first winter tire on BMW e46 so i can't compare it with others.
I would recommend to a friend.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2014