Volvo S80 D5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo S80 D5.

Do you Drive a Volvo S80 D5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a S80 D5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin A4 (52) 88% 95% 91% 87% 94% 93%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (398) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Continental AllSeasonContact (22) 83% 92% 85% 87% 78% 84%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Nokian WR D4 (62) 84% 84% 80% 80% 67% 86%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (224) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Vredestein Ultrac Cento (22) 83% 78% 76% 73% 86% 82%
Neuton NT8000 (33) 90% 73% 80% 75% 81% 81%
Michelin Primacy 3 (171) 86% 80% 77% 77% 69% 81%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (39) 81% 83% 79% 77% 75% 76%
Maxxis M35 Victra Asymmet (13) 83% 69% 73% 67% 68% 75%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Kumho IZen KW27 (30) 75% 75% 73% 71% 80% 83%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Sunny SN3970 (45) 71% 49% 55% 54% 64% 55%
Pirelli P6000 (172) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61%
Riken Maystorm 2 B 2 (21) 68% 36% 51% 56% 54% 56%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric All Season (3) 75% 45% 65% 55% 35% 50%

Volvo S80 D5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
It's a tyre without "surprise" behavior and well balanced perfomance on our volvo S80 D5 aut.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-03 14:14:42
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric All Season given NAN% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 easy going miles
amazing tyres on a volvo s80 d5 2005 driven sensibly. never stuck in the snow at all and very reassuring to have on all four corners of the car with the kids on board. buy these tyres - you will not be disappointed.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-13 22:23:38
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 67% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 easy going miles
As with previous generations of the WR these have been excellent for winter grip especially in rain but one major issue has really spoiled them overall. Now nearing the end of a second winter the edges of the tread on both front tyres are simply disintegrating and falling of in large chunks so clearly something is wrong with the design and they still have 6mm all over after only 12000m. Unlikely to buy these again and will either look at their Weatherproof offering next or even Michelin's Crossclimate.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-11 16:12:36
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Cento given 83% (235-40-18-)
Driving on for 18000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-29 15:01:27
Writing about the Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
Iv got these on all four corners of my volvo s80 replacing dunlop sport maxx1.

Generally, they're good tyres but the noise is unbearable sometimes. Especially on a dry motorway. It almost sounds like the windows are open.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-08 16:00:28
Writing about the Riken Maystorm 2 B 2 given 41% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 easy going miles
I bought the set of them last year March. The front ones are already worn out. I was worrying that its something wrong with my car but it turns out two of my work mates have the same tyres and identical problem with the front ones.
Next time I'd rather pay more and buy something more decent and reliable.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-10 23:20:19
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 96% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Bought these to replace Cooper CS6s which I had also used on previous cars [Volvo S80; Saab 95]but found them to be rather harsh ride. The CrossClimates have transformed this. Only fitted 8 weeks ago so unable to comment on wear. Handling in dry and wet very good. Not tried in snow. Handling very controlled towing 1300kg caravan.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-30 11:03:18
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 67% (235-50-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
Recommended from Volvo and Formula One Tyre garage I gave these tyres a chance last year to take out some of the "lowered suspension" hard ride this SE Sport S80 has had since manufacture.
Yes a new tyre is always better than the last one, but these tyres were a fraction bigger than the prescribed 245 40 18s that were specified and with 35psi I had the ride I was expecting, very quiet and comfortable too.

However, they met rain conditions with relative ease when new, but after 15k and half worn didn't meet the same conditions without aqua planing. Maybe this Dec and Jan have been the wettest on record and therefore any tyre would have suffered?

Yes for summer rainy conditions.
No because even Michelin say these are not winter tyres.
Will go back to an All Season Goodyear or Avon tyre for grip and £30 per corner saving.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-30 08:23:36
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 27% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
These tyres are cheap and nasty.
The biggest problem is their softness which robs the car of any steering feel to the point they make the car feel it's under steering badly or the road is icy. It's ruined the handling of the car and the steering feel and high speed A roads are now a dangerous activity - really disappointed.
I deeply regret buying these and am currently in the process of getting a refund.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-10 14:11:32
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 73% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-07 17:04:43
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 91% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 238 spirited miles
I have a Volvo S80 SE on a 53 plate which I have had from new I have done 238,000 miles mostly done with the Wintrac extreme tyres. They are the only tyre that the car feels really safe with, the only time I have been beaten is when the snow has been too deep! I have got to places that I thought I would only have got to in a 4X4. I have even been told by a number of Volvo mechanics that mine is the best handling Volvo they have driven! I live where the Jim Clark rally is held and our roads are full of pot holes or mini graters and the car has never let me down. ps it still has the original engine and gearbox (auto)
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-06 00:21:08
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 85% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
These tyres have totally transformed my car (2004 Volvo S80) Compared to the Pirellis they replaced (P7 Cints on front, P6000 on back) Steering is much sharper, ride quality is totally transformed, almost Citroen like; the whole car feels composed in a way it never did before. They are also much quieter, complete lack of any bump-thump over manholes etc. It's early days yet so can't judge wear, but so far I'd say they're the best tyres I've ever bought in nearly 30 years.
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-13 18:02:51
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre