Avon ZZ3

The Avon ZZ3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Avon ZZ5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 75%
Wear 70%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 74%

Tyre review data from 115 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 1,643,400 miles driven.

The ZZ3 is ranked 64th of 129 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Avon ZZ3
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Avon ZZ3
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Avon ZZ3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Avon ZZ3 Reviews

Given 64% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
I recently bought a Mercedes C220 estate with Avon ZZ3 on the rear. When I got on the motorway after collecting the car I thought I'd bought a lemon with a worn diff or wheel bearings. The road noise from these tyres is awful.
40 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2015   
Given 64% while driving a BMW 520i (225/60 R15 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
These were initially very good and provided good grip on wet/dry. After around 5000miles the noise started to increase but the performance remained. I have driven on different road conditions and the tyre kept up very well. I have used Michelins, Bridgestone & Pirellis prior. They are still better as I bought this due to unavailability of those at the time of purchase.
4 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2017   
Given 44% while driving a Saab Automobile 93 Aero 1.9 TTiD (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 7,000 easy going miles
Very disappointed with the tyre wear - front tyres are 65% worn after 7000 driving locally only! When queried this with the UK company, spoke with the Customer Services Manager who thought they were racing tyres? Cost about £120 each; won't buy again.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2013   
Have you driven on the Avon ZZ3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZZ3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon ZZ3 >

Latest Avon ZZ3 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Citroën DS3 THP 150 (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Done over 500 miles and for the price they are a good tyre. Good amount of grip in the dry and they are fine in the wet (So far) I do lots of mixed driving and the wear rate is excellent
0 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2018   
Given 74% while driving a (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
I have these on a 600 kg kit car no problems on the road but no use on track days saying that they are not designed for that
0 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2016   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 84% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
Wow. These were great tyres . Lasted 28k miles. Were as good as the Pirelli's I have right now. I know that they have replaced the ZZ3 with the ZZ5 and I've already got a pair in the rear.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2016   
Given 76% while driving a SEAT Leon 140PD (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 18,000 average miles
Had these on the front of my Mk2 Leon, lasted for two years before they were at the legal tread limit, the sidewalls had started to crack by this point so they last well in that perspevtive and are grippy in the dry, bit loose in the wet for my liking. I never thrashed my car around but I did have plenty of spirited driving, and they seemed to cope well. Awful in the snow but they weren't designed for winter driving so can't moan about that.
Only negative was the sidewalls felt very soft, this may be because my Leon had a heavy TDI lump in it but when pushing the tyres to the linit round corners the sidewalls did feel like they flexed a lot, they did so progressively so nothing dangerous, just a bit too soft. Wet grip isn't great, would definitely recommend for summer tyres.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2016   
Given 96% while driving a Renault Megane Sports Tourer (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60 average miles
Fantatastic tyres, you certainly get what you paide for. On my Megane Estate im currently on 60k miles with plenty of tread left. Previous tyres on it were factory fitted and were changed at 12K.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2014   
Given 89% while driving a BMW 330 Ci Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Being a bit of a petrol head and having spent 3 yrs at Kwik fit in a previous life, at 43 I consider myself to have reasonable knowledge and passion about tyre performance. I put a pair of these on the front of my 330E46 convertible last year and they've done around 8K miles. They have been more than adequate in terms of level of grip that im prepared to push it to both In the dry and on the wet.I reckon they still have a good 5mm so have lasted really well considering my work journey is 9 miles of country lanes. Problem I have is that ive just hit a bloody great big pot hole and although the tyre didn't burst (another good point) it has put a massive egg on the side wall. Problem is they don't sell them anymore so it looks like i'll have to have odd tyres on the front.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2014   
Given 87% while driving a MINI Cooper S (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Put these on my wife's cooper s and have been delighted with their performance both in wet and dry conditions. Used them during the winter of 2012 and they performed well in the snow
Heard they were no longer available but will look to replace them probably after 20,000 miles or earlier depending on this winters conditions . Fantastic value for money and much superior to the previous run flats
0 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2014   
Given 91% while driving a Vauxhall (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 100,000 spirited miles
I've had these on my Vectra c 3.2 GSI since almost day one. I couldn't wait for the OE Uniroyal's to wear out - road noise was unbelievably high - and changed to the Avon ZZ3. I've used them almost 100% for the last 100000 miles. I did put a set of Kenda's on when money was tight - dire, especially in the rain. Just changed to ZZ5 Avons, so good so far.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2014   
Given 54% while driving a Audi A3 2.0 TDI 140 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
I do not rally my car around and drive on combination roads, despite this my 2 front tyres are needing changed after only 6000 miles. Shocked doesn't cover it.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2014   
Given 80% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Total shock! Avon zz3 saves day!
Got 4 new hancook tyres fitted as I read reviews and weighed up cost.

I've never experienced anything like it! The way the car handled was ruined! I checked pressures ok tracking ok had them put back on balancing machine else where ok.
It felt like the back end of the car was wobbling about when cornering and felt like the back was sort of steering too and felt really light and flighty.

Got the tyres off and had Avon zz3 fitted. It was obvious how much the hancooks tyre wall was weak compared with the Avon (same profile) the Avon was stiff and you couldn't move it much with your hand where as the hancook you could grab the wall and move it a lot easily.

Was totally relieved to get the handling back to norm as I like to push the car (where safe) and enjoy the type r as a 2nd car for fun really. Have not done many miles in the car since zz3 but just wanted to say they feel good and a million times better than the hancook disaster.

Could it have been a faulty batch? Are all hancooks walls weak? I don't know but I won't be buying them for this style car again that's for sure.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2013   
Given 81% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
An excellent mid-range tyre. Far better grip in dry and wet over the Bridgestones fitted as standard. Allows quicker cornering, encouraging a more spirited and confident drive. No problems in the snow - as long as you drive to the conditions. Also appear to be wearing extremely well. Cannot fault the Avon ZZ3. Overall - really happy, great grip, great looks, great price. Will purchase again.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2013   
Given 46% while driving a Volvo 850 T5 Estate (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Not a tyre I would buy again. Not very progressive and no real feedback. Totally overwhelmed in most conditions by the 350+bhp shoved through the front wheels. Understeer and tram lining galore. Also very noisy and thump over road joints. 3000 miles has taken approx 4mm and they are wearing quicker as they get older.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2013