Avon ZZ3 Reviews - Page 2

Given 81% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
An excellent mid-range tyre. Far better grip in dry and wet over the Bridgestones fitted as standard. Allows quicker cornering, encouraging a more spirited and confident drive. No problems in the snow - as long as you drive to the conditions. Also appear to be wearing extremely well. Cannot fault the Avon ZZ3. Overall - really happy, great grip, great looks, great price. Will purchase again.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2013   
Given 46% while driving a Volvo 850 T5 Estate (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Not a tyre I would buy again. Not very progressive and no real feedback. Totally overwhelmed in most conditions by the 350+bhp shoved through the front wheels. Understeer and tram lining galore. Also very noisy and thump over road joints. 3000 miles has taken approx 4mm and they are wearing quicker as they get older.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2013   
Given 46% while driving a Mercedes Benz E280 (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Within 10000 miles tyres started getting noisy. Now, I had the wheels bearings replaced becuase of the noise. I could not believe tyres could make this kind of noise, but now I do. I am a very calm driver, tyres seem not worn or damaged but the noise and vibration are unbearable.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2013   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 91% while driving a Jaguar XJR (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Superb tyre, I quite enjoy a sporty run in the country and these are my tyres of choice, they are very predictable giving good feedback and I can honestly say they have never lost traction even in the wet, they sail through standing water like it isn't there. Even in the snow I found them to be pretty grippy. Very well priced too and tread wear wasn't too shabby, I highly recommend them.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2013   
Given 79% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto TJet (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I PURCHASED A SET OF FOUR AVON ZZ3s TO REPLACE THE ORIGINAL DUNLOP SP9000s,I THOUGHT OF GOING FOR ANOTHER PREMIUM BRAND, BUT WAS PUT OFF BY THE HIGH COST.

IN THE END, I DECIDED TO BUY THE ZZ3s FOR USE IN THE SPRING/SUMMER/AUTUMN & A SET OF HANKOOKs WINTER ICEPT TYRES FOR THE WINTER.

I CAN SAY I WAS SUPRISED HOW GOOD THE ZZ3s SEEM, GRIPPY IN THE DRY &THE WET,
WITH PLENTY OF PROGRESSIVE FEEDBACK.
MY MAIN RESERVATION WOULD POSSIBLY BE HOW THEY WEAR & WHAT THEY ARE LIKE IN SNOW.
AS THEY ARE SUMMER TYRES THE LATTER WOULD BE UNFAIR,WHICH IS WHY I GOT THE HANKOOKs FOR WINTER!
ALL IN ALL AN EXCELLENT SUMMER TYRE AT A VERY COMPETITIVE PRICE,WHICH IN MY OPINION,OUTPERFORMS THE ORIGINAL DUNLOP SP 9000s
I WOULD DEFINITELY BUY ZZ3s AGAIN,BUT DONT EXPECT A SUMMER TYRE TO BE GOOD IN SNOW/ICE IT WASNT DESIGNED TO COPE WITH WINTER CONDITIONS!!
0 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a BMW E39 5 series (255/35 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Been very happy with my ZZ3s. I bought my 528i with these fitted on the rear, 255/35/17s, so already part worn, and I've done 9000miles now with no concern for wear, I drive every day, I drive hard when the traffic allows, I turn off ASC for some fun sometimes, and yet the tyres are still going strong. I would suspect any issues people may have are due to incorrect suspension geometry on your car.
I'm not looking for replacements yet, but my wifes Saab needs tyres and am considering Avons again or Vredestein Sessanta due to a mate with a 530i highly recommending them too.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2013   
Given 44% while driving a Saab Automobile 93 Aero 1.9 TTiD (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 7,000 easy going miles
Very disappointed with the tyre wear - front tyres are 65% worn after 7000 driving locally only! When queried this with the UK company, spoke with the Customer Services Manager who thought they were racing tyres? Cost about £120 each; won't buy again.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a BMW E39 5 series (255/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 easy going miles
I put Avon ZZ3s all round on my BMW525 two years ago. Fronts still in really good condition but rears are now ready for replacement. Not too sure about the mileage I've had out of them but certainly more than 20k - maybe as high as late 20s.
Very happy with these tyres based on value, road noise, longevity etc and will replace with same tyre
0 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2013   
Given 89% while driving a Audi A6 (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
had these on audi A6 and wife,s slk. never had a problem. wear well and grip well. cost £62 each for 205/55/16 in wolverhampton. Bargain. I don,t over push the car at all but the slk has been pushed at times and you never have a problem in wet or dry.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2013   
Given 56% while driving a Subaru legacy (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
I've usually fitted Avons to my Subarus once the Bridgestones have worn out, but I have ben very disappointed with these ZZ3's. After 15,000 miles the tyres are completely mishapen - no kerbing - just can't take the load. Net result is vibration and road noise. inspection has proven that it's all four tyres that have distorted. Now have to replace prematurely to save on dental bills - can't afford to have my filling shaken loose.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2013   
Given 59% while driving a SEAT (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Well what can I say, expected so much more from these tyres and although my partner has done the majority of the mileage (excess of 15,000 miles in 12 months) Good grip in dry and the wet but these tyres have a tendency to go out of shape and cause horrendous (and this is no exaggeration) road noise!! Also although there has been some uneven wear (I'm not blaming the tyres on that note) the general wear rate is not as good as I was expecting and would push to get 20,000 out of the fronts on what is a light car on a relatively wide tyre...
0 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2013   
Given 93% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Loving these tyres so far, just replaced all four on my Mazda RX8. Waaaaay better in the wet then the factory tyres (Bridgestone Potenzas). i have been able to push my car way further then i was able to before. Pretty good in the snow considering the tyre they are, just road tested them with the recent white stuff, dont get me wrong they are not mucg good in the snow but i was able to move around the snobs starnded in their BMWs ha ha!
0 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2013