Avon ZZ3 Reviews - Page 4

Given 77% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (205/40 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
These tyres are made in England and are designed for sporty hatchbacks, kit cars, etc. They are not as grippy as a track day tyre but inspire confidence due to their soft compound and great feedback.

Probably one of the best looking tyres available and reasonably priced too. Not designed for use in snow and ice, but due to soft compound are not as dangerous as cheap, chinese tyres which go like plastic below 7 degrees.

Average grip levels in wet conditions but very predictable. Driving style should be altered when roads are wet and tyres take over 500 miles to bed in. So judgement shouldn't be made on tyres until at least 2,000 miles.

Sidewalls are stiffer than Toyo's but rim protector isn't as pronounced. Braking is very good and traction is excellent in dry conditions. Takes a few miles to warm up the tyres and initial turn in is good.

I have purchased several sets of Avon ZZ3's due to changing tyres annually. I do not recommend using tyres below 3mm because it's your car's only contact with the road. These tyres will last 10k and grip should come before mileage.

I've used budget tyres before and do not recommend them to anyone. Buy the best tyres you can afford and always drive to the conditions. Any bad reviews of Avon ZZ3 tyres are down driving style not inferior quality rubber.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2012   
Given 96% while driving a MG ZR (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,000 spirited miles
I have 4 Avon zz3 on at the moment, car is remapped, inducted and got a straight through de cat exhaust on it(188bhp). Old tyres used to have alot of wheelspin at take off but the Avons can handle it quite easily for a 0-60 of 6.2secs.I would defianlty buy these tyres again and will do no doubt. The car is front wheel drive and the tyres havnt aged at all in 8000 miles. The old tyres i would have replaced by now (michelins) Rear tyres look brand new. Defo recommend the zz3
0 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2011   
Given 53% while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
One of the tyres started going soft quickly and when removed I could see they were also slightly mis-shapen. Glad that they are off now and I would not buy again. Probably not a good tyre for a heavy car such as mine.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2011   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 89% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2 spirited miles
Where i live is all tight country roads, and the reason i love the Avon zz3's is because of the direct feel i have with the front end of my car, they just dart into corners, i have a lot of faith that these tyres give me all the info i need, the RX8 handles fantastic and i will never change to a differant tyre, great price, looks and feel, also quite and smooth riding...but best of all is the way the front end tracks like an arrow.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2011   
Given 73% while driving a MG ZT 260 (225/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Cope very will the power of a V8 RWD saloon. Grip in the dry and wet is very good. The tail can still be made to brake away, but its progressive and controllable. Only real negative comment is that are quite a soft compound, and so longevity isn't that great (my rears only lasted 5K miles) but if your priority is grip rather then mileage, then I haven't a better tyre for the money yet. I replaced my last set of ZZ3's with Falken 452's, but that has proven to be a mistake as the 452's haven't performed well at all, being particularly poor in the wet, and really struggling for grip in cooler conditions. Will definitely be buying another set of ZZ3's in the spring when my winter tyres are removed, and the 452' will be binned or sold despite having lots of life left.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2011   
Given 33% while driving a Ford rs mk2 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
really really shocking! if you have a focus rs mk2 think twice about buying these tyres. i found them to be very bad in the wet with little or no feedback from them what so ever. the car has allmost slided out on more than one occasion. they aquaplane at the drop of hat. all this on roads that i allways drive every day and have never had prob with any other car or tyres. even my wife has noticed the lack of traction when shes been out. seems ok in the dry but dont trust them so has spoilt my drive a bit....
0 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2011   
Given 31% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VI GSR (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Dangerous, poor stability and no grip in any condition
0 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2011   
Given 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz C320 cdi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
best tyre ive come across and there british
0 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2011   
Given 80% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Had these tyres on the car when i bought it. Car's got 180bhp going throught frint wheels and these tyres gave good grip in the wet and dry and progessive breakaway when pushed too hard.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2011   
Given 81% while driving a Renault F1 230 team R26 (275/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
0 team r26
0 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2011   
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz C320 cdi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
very quiet, excellent grip, lasted longer than 3 sets of continentals and still plenty of tread left. and there made in england excellent
0 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2011   
Given 92% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector TiD (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 42,000 spirited miles
I’ve done 42k hard miles on my ZZ3’s and still have plenty of tread.
Vast majority on motorways so I don’t know if this has a bearing on wear? Never once missed a beat including thousands of miles in heavy rain from Scotland through the lakes and back (my usual drive).
I’ve just put 4 new Vredersteins Wintrack’s on as snow was their only downfall and we are meant to be in for another battering this year. They will live in the shed until I can put them back on in the spring.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2011