MG ZT 260 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the MG ZT 260.

Do you Drive a MG ZT 260? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a ZT 260 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Falken FK452 (211) 82% 72% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (214) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Altenzo Comforter (87) 78% 59% 69% 62% 75% 79%
Maxxis MA V1 (19) 69% 61% 61% 53% 65% 61%
Pirelli P6000 (175) 66% 46% 55% 48% 67% 60%
Rotalla F105 (29) 64% 31% 45% 41% 58% 58%
Admiral 712 (7) 50% 39% 47% 43% 51% 41%

MG ZT 260 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme given 88% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
First winter tyres I'd ever used. Very good in the snow on my MG ZT V8.Very good in the wet too.
However all four tyres have now split on the inside walls - they are dated 2010.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-08 01:26:40
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 54% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
I drive safely within the speed limits and have never spun the wheels on my rear wheel drive pride and joy, yet, the rears are bald after 6000 miles. The fronts have probably got 3000 miles left. Not worth the £700 pound I paid for the set of 4.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-19 13:23:19
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 80% (205-65-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 19600 spirited miles
These tyres were already fitted on my car when I bought it. At the time of purchase they had appx. 6mm of tread left. They have worn well, now finally needing replacement after nearly 20,000 miles of driving.

The dry grip is excellent, and the wet grip is great too - I have driven through monsoon like weather on the motorways, and these tyres have never let me down.

Feedback is great, road noise is minimal and the comfort level is good too.

I have noticed, though, that they are very "pressure affected" - that is, unless you check them often, and keep the pressures bang-on as small differences in pressure seem to make a biog difference in these tyres performance - do that and they are exceptional tyres for the money - being only about 10% more in cost than some 'budget' tyres.

I have already made up my mind to replace them with a set of the same.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-28 04:49:08
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 83% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Fitted instead of the Goodyear AS2 I had asked for as the local dealer could not source the AS2 within a week and these were my second choice. First drive was a spirited drive in cold 1C and damp/wet/slush covering some 170 miles. Initial impression is they look like they will live up to the hype. Bloody good!!

tyre reviewed on 2012-12-24 12:48:36
Writing about the Rotalla F105 given 34% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 easy going miles
Death Trap!

These tires endanger you, your passengers and other people on the road.

I bought an MG ZT 260 and these tires were already fitted. Driving in the dry wasn't too bad but in the wet it was scary. I had to take corners slowly... very slowly! Lost control momentarily a few times on roundabouts, luckily no accidents caused by it. I've given Progressiveness, Wear and Wet Grip all 1 star, reason being they should never be fitted to any car in the first place. I'm sure there must be laws against tires of such poor quality. Burning tires I think is illegal, it's certainly damaging to the environment, but I'm thinking it might be the best way to deal with any remaining F105's left in this world. It's one of those manmade items which makes me feel the human race has failed!
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-10 02:51:30
Writing about the Altenzo Comforter given 39% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
This is an honest appraisal not a dig at these tyres, DO NOT BUY!!!
They are lethal in the wet, the sidewall construction is weak, making the car judder on bumpy bends, and after just 13 months of running the car the inner sidewall has blistered 180 degrees around the circumference. Dangerous, and unsafe. Please for the sake of your family don't buy.
Car used, mg zt 260 v8 all tracking true at time of tyre fitment. Tyres 225/45-18.91.Y fitted to front only thank god.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-30 04:05:49
Writing about the Admiral 712 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-04 14:57:56
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 89% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
I drive a 4.6 V8 with rediculous amounts of torque. The Barum just handles it all with ease. Great tyres stupidly cheap. When the wife's SLK needs new tyres that's what I'll be putting on them - same pattern as Continentals.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-07 05:41:16
Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport given 92% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 850 spirited miles
To add to my initial review in December,I have now used them in the wet ! Also, they are fully "run in". They are FABULOUS - in the dry and in wet conditions. The handling/ cornering ability/ performance- of these tires-- is fantastic!

tyre reviewed on 2012-04-10 17:56:33
Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport given 90% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Absolutely f a n t a s t i c . Much much better than the old TIR'S. These new T1 SPORT'S.. are extremely rigid/ feel so solid. Bur they are not harsh.. like some Bridegstones. In fact it had RE040'S on before, and these TOYO'S are seriously better. At first, they feel a little less communicative than the RE40'S.. but when scrubbed in, after a couple of hundred miles or so.. good god, what tires !! I havn't been brave enough to find their limits yet. On some tarmac types.. they are noisy, but what the hell ! At 150mph.. the car feels 100% dead solid on the road. Really safe trustworthy tires. Havn't used em in the wet yet.. but they are supposed to be BETTER in the wet than the dry.. so lORD KNOWS what they will be like, when I eventually use in the wet, IF thet are this goood in the dry !!! The cornering with them on is miles better than the RE40'S.. which were supposed to be excellent on the 260'S !! Plus..the Tires look BIGGER, ie w i d e r than the RE40's on the car ( same size ). All in all.. the best Peformance Tires I have had.. and I have had the whole lot over the years. BUY EM !!!
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-21 15:41:18
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 73% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Cope very will the power of a V8 RWD saloon. Grip in the dry and wet is very good. The tail can still be made to brake away, but its progressive and controllable. Only real negative comment is that are quite a soft compound, and so longevity isn't that great (my rears only lasted 5K miles) but if your priority is grip rather then mileage, then I haven't a better tyre for the money yet. I replaced my last set of ZZ3's with Falken 452's, but that has proven to be a mistake as the 452's haven't performed well at all, being particularly poor in the wet, and really struggling for grip in cooler conditions. Will definitely be buying another set of ZZ3's in the spring when my winter tyres are removed, and the 452' will be binned or sold despite having lots of life left.
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-11 07:06:46
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 46% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
Fitted these to my MG ZT 260 to replace some fast wearing Avon ZZ3's after reading many glowing reports online. Only good thing I can say about the 452 is that it doesn't wear that quickly. Dry grip is average, but grip in wet or even damp conditions is pretty poor, for what is sold a high performance tyre. The feedback and progressiveness is not all that inspiring. I found grip levels in cooler conditions to be so poor that this year I invested in a set of winter tyres.
Fitting those has really highlighted just how much the 452's struggle for grip in the wet or cold. The winters have made a huge difference to the drivability of the car, I no longer have to tiptoe along damp or icy roads for fear of the back end stepping out.
Come spring when the winters come off, the 452's will be binned, despite having a good 15-20K miles of life left in them, and replaced with another set Avon ZZ3's, which although they wear pretty quickly, far out perform the 452.
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-11 06:51:50
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre