Toyo Proxes T1 Sport

The Toyo Proxes T1 Sport is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Toyo T1R and this tyre has been replaced by the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 84%
Wear 67%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 74%

Tyre review data from 50 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 393,700 miles driven.

The Proxes T1 Sport is ranked 34th of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - High aquaplaning resistance, short dry braking, well priced.
  • Negative - Understeer and average grip in the dry and wet, slow steering, average comfort.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 - 11th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry
  • Negative - A little weak in the wet compared to the best on test, relatively high wear
View Full Test >>

2015 Australian Motor 235/35 R19 Tyre Test - 5th of 8 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/55 R16 94W XL   E B 71  
215/55 R16 97Y XL   E B 71  
245/40 R17 95Y XL   F B 71  
255/40 R17 98Y XL   E B 71  
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E B 71  
235/50 R17 96Y   E B 71  
235/55 R17 99Y   F B 71  
225/35 R18 87Y XL   F B 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E B 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E B 71  
245/40 R18 97Y   E B 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   F B 71  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E B 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E B 71  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   E B 71  
295/30 R19 100Y XL   F B 74  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   F B 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   F B 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E B 71  
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 70  
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E B 72  

Questions and Answers for the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport

2016-09-24 - Please advise if the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport is a run flat tyre or not?

The Toyo T1 Sport is not made in any runflat sizes.


2017-12-16 - I have bought a pair of Toyo 275/35 ZR 19 and a pair of Toyo 285/35 ZR 20 tires for my 2014 Shelby Mustang, which has a manufactures top speed of 202 mph (323kph) The horsepower at standard is 662 This has been raised to approx. 800. The question is, will these tires be safe at approx. 330-340kph, what is their maximum speed rating?

An interesting question. To obtain a speed rating, the tyre must be run at 6.2 mph steps for 10 minutes at a time, which means by the tyre has reached it's maximum speed rating, it will have been run for a significant time at high speeds. Z rated tyres are rated at 150 mph / 240 kmh +. As you are looking to take your tyres to such a high speed, it is my advise to speak to Toyo directly.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Proxes T1 Sport Prices

Size Price Range  
215/50 R17 £100.60 - £100.60 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £90.77 - £90.77 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £96.40 - £120.06 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 8 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo Proxes T1 Sport Reviews

Given 99% while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (235/35 R19) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
I put these on to replace the Bridgestone RE050 run flats. I find that these tyres absorb the road bumps far better than the Bridgestones, although that could be because these are not runflats. I find them to grip as good or better than the Bridgestones, with good steering feedback. Maybe the BMW is better insulated to sound, but I certainly don't find them to be noisy (as some people have suggested) in fact I think that on some road surfaces that these are quieter than the run flats. I cannot complain about wear either. I have about 15,000 klm's on them and they are hardly showing much wear at all. All up I'm extremely happy with them and would buy again
66 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2014   
Given 86% while driving a Audi A6 (225/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 2 average miles
Driven my Audi A6 on a set of michelins for less than a couple of years but wore fairly quick & was amazed to see they were cracking on outside walls! Replaced with Toyo Proxes tyres after a friends recommendation... Full set for £310. But budget tyres were £260 alone, so not much more. He was spot on in the last month I have had them drive is miles better the grip is great impressed so far!
29 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Skoda MK1 Octavia VRS (225/45 R17 W) on track for 0 average miles
the 3rd time tha i put it to my car Track day car and daily car no comments amzing tyre

18 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2016   
Have you driven on the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo Proxes T1 Sport >

Latest Toyo Proxes T1 Sport Reviews

Given 79% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
These tyres came on my factory new 2017 Mazda6 wagon. They performed quite well, with moderate road noise. Rotated every 10,000kms regularly. Achieved 50,000 KMs (30,000 miles). Probably would have got a bit more distance if I'd had a couple of wheel alignments. Replaced recently with Continental MC6's.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a BMW X6 M (315/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I love these tyres I used to buy run flats Bridgestone huellers but wanted to try these, I previous had some toyos on my evo and wanted to try them on my X6 and I was pleasantly surprised, they grip so well especially accelerating and cornering but a big heavy suv. So much quieter then my previous ones and smother on a run. Highly recommend these on a big car
9 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a BMW X6 M (315/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I love these tyres I used to buy run flats Bridgestone huellers but wanted to try these, I previous had some toyos on my evo and wanted to try them on my X6 and I was pleasantly surprised, they grip so well especially accelerating and cornering but a big heavy suv. So much quieter then my previous ones and smother on a run. Highly recommend these on a big car
1 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 34,000 average miles
I'm using Toyo Proxes T1 Sport in my Mazda 6. They are excellent in every sense. I've done 54,000 kms on them and they still look new (low wear level). Their noise level is also low and car run is very smooth. One of the best tyres I've used.
12 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2018   
Given 59% while driving a Alfa Romeo brera (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
I am really disappointed by the sensitivity to bumps and "channels" on the road. As soon as they enter the "channel" (usually left by frequent trucks' passes) the tyres become uncontrolable... At first I thought it had something to do with the car, but this stopped happening once I mounted the winter Kleber tyres. So evidently, it has something to do with this specific tyre. Hard breaking also often leads close to strong deviation to either side... Nothing that I would expect from Toyo. I will not buy them again
9 - tyre reviewed on May 23, 2018   
Audi TT (225/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 12,000 spirited miles
Replaced my Pirrelli P Zero’s on my Mk2 Audi TT Quattro Black Edition after getting annoyed with the noise of the Zero’s and quick wear at 12000 miles. Very impressed with the 71db and markedly quieter in the cabin with the Toyos Sport . Wear wise these again outdo the Zero with minimum 17000 a set before i change them out. At £120 a tyre fitted on Black Circles these are cheap. A good mid range tyre that ive happily had on my car several times and would do again happily.
9 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2018   
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Very good tyre!
My Merc had Goodyears, bud went all over the road.
Just fitted new Toyos. Now it handles sharp in the corners, and the steer wheel is "standing" now.

No idea of the wear out yet, 0 kms driven.
8 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2017   
Given 96% while driving a Audi TT (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I drive all year round in all types of weather. Long and short distances. Throughout all terains. I had these tyres on my Audi TT from new. I have used other tyres and go back to Toyo every time.. Great prices and quality, I will continue to be a loyal customer. Quotes vary from £345 per tyre to £102.00....Definitely shop around.
8 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2016   
Given 46% while driving a Volkswagen GOLF GTI MK6 remmapped (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 0 average miles
This tires is not good for high performances car especially if drive fast. The treadwear very fast wore out especially outside. Not more than 10k km i've to change tires already. This tire kinda noisy after 1500 to 2000km run. If you plan to race or hill speeding, I wouldn't suggest this model.

*All time summer drive*
0 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2016   
Given 66% while driving a Volvo V60 D2 (235/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 17,000 average miles
I bought a full set to replace a still (just) road legal set of Falken branded tyres that I inherited on a second hand four year old average mileage Volvo V60 1.6 D2. As luck would have it, the car had just received a 4 wheel alignment as part of warranty work, so I knew my four new tyres stood the best chance of even wear.

First impressions were positive overall, especially ride quality compared to the Falkens which were a bit 'crashy'. The Toyo's offered good grip in the dry (if a little soft on turn in) and decent enough in the wet on a mixture of roads and speeds. My only slight criticism was a 'grabby' feeling from the front end with the tyres keen to tramline a little, especially at lower speeds on urban roads, but other than this, I was very pleased for the money with excellent comfort when cruising on the motorway.

As mileage progressed the handling and ride stayed consistent, with no vibration or wheel wobble developing right up until they were replaced, so this shows the construction is very good. However my major criticism of these tyres would be the very high wear rate. Bearing in mind mine were fitted to a low power 115bhp 1.6 diesel (and they were used through the winter months) the fronts were pretty much done for in only 16K. The grabby nature had also worsened on the front, and was becoming a liability.

I fully realise many will hold the view 'you get what you pay for...' however the Proxes are a known brand, were not a price based purchase, and were only a little cheaper than equivalent Yokohama or Goodyear, so the savings were not huge, and in retrospect, any small incidental 'saving' made was lost with the high wear rate.

My summary of the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport would be a well constructed tyre with decent enough levels of grip and comfort in all conditions for the average motorist, however higher mileage drivers should look elsewhere.
8 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2016   
Given 56% while driving a Alfa Romeo (215/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 8 spirited miles
Good grippy tyres but would not buy again as the wear rate is ridiculous
1 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2015   
Given 88% while driving a Nissan Skyline R32 GTR (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
In straight line these tyres grip as good as P-Zeros, Michelin Supersport/Pilot Sports 2/3. A little softer in the side wall and therefore feels different in the corners but where the others tyres let go suddenly, you can predict more with the squirm/feedback from these. Wear is good for a tyre of this performance, I dont understand how some people can complain about the wear besides the price is brilliant. Over 8,000 kms and there is still a lot of tread. Cant comment on rain driving as I dont drive this car,(450 HP R32 GTR) in the rain but I see nothing different on a wet surface.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2015